AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

xxboxx
post Mar 27 2021, 05:08 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 27 2021, 02:11 PM)
Price won’t drop already. That’s kind of the new revised MSRP.
Rocket lake coming. Ryzen demand drop, price also will drop.
Bonchi
post Mar 27 2021, 05:51 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 27 2021, 05:08 PM)
Rocket lake coming. Ryzen demand drop, price also will drop.
with so many anti intel and rise of ryzen fanboys... you think demand will drop? so many are willing to wait and pay for 5600X eventho it cost more than a 10700 (and generally slower because of fewer cores).

kena cucuk by scalpers until longgar also still willing to pay for AMD brows.gif Brand and hype matters nowadays.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 27 2021, 05:55 PM
JohnLai
post Mar 27 2021, 07:00 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 26 2021, 10:07 PM)
I think this post #18 was one of it, but the info on "soc powerstates broken because of uncore oc enabled by AMD" is buried in the middle of that post sweat.gif
Well, I saw that option and I set it to disabled.
No changes. Zen 3 SOC still consume constant 18-20watts.
x800
post Mar 27 2021, 07:16 PM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 27 2021, 07:00 PM)
Well, I saw that option and I set it to disabled.
No changes. Zen 3 SOC still consume constant 18-20watts.
Yup coz that setting is broken by AMD coz they needed to fix some other things, which was the point i was trying to say

This post has been edited by x800: Mar 27 2021, 07:20 PM
xxboxx
post Mar 27 2021, 07:22 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 27 2021, 05:51 PM)
with so many anti intel and rise of ryzen fanboys... you think demand will drop? so many are willing to wait and pay for 5600X eventho it cost more than a 10700 (and generally slower because of fewer cores). 

kena cucuk by scalpers until longgar also still willing to pay for AMD brows.gif Brand and hype matters nowadays.
Still not finish with AMD hating?
1024kbps
post Mar 27 2021, 07:51 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 27 2021, 07:22 PM)
Still not finish with AMD hating?
Holding too much grudge is not good for health 🤔
raydenex
post Mar 27 2021, 07:57 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

Some folks here had their points on what was wrong with AMD beginning with Zen 2 and now Zen 3. Bonchi and gang is not wrong for what they raised. But you keep harping on it over and over and over again, bitter A F, it gets tiring for the rest of us. You throw shade at the AMD fanboys, defending AMD blindly. But your constant hating has put you on the other extreme end of that spectrum now.
edmund_yung
post Mar 27 2021, 09:23 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 27 2021, 03:48 PM)
GPU has more cores and faster than CPU, most expensive instruction are running on GPU, at higher resolution are GPU bound.
hence, games and mining are running on GPU, even your browser already utilize your GPU more than CPU now, because of ever increasingly complex web content.

Directx 12 and Vulkan made a lot of change to ensure low driver overhead, more draw call.
CPU wont be fully utilized by games, it will just need to be fast enough to pass the commands to GPU and run the games codes that are still in x86 instructions.
Some FPS games with high player counts actually quite taxing on CPU, and really need fast one to get upward of 160fps especially for someone already having a 2080 ti / 3070 or better and playing at low settings.

Right now there are already some games shows better 1% low FPS on 8-cores compared to 6-cores. It's totally up to the person where he plays that sort of games, and decide what CPU he wants.
targon
post Mar 27 2021, 11:09 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 27 2021, 07:57 PM)
Some folks here had their points on what was wrong with AMD beginning with Zen 2 and now Zen 3. Bonchi and gang is not wrong for what they raised. But you keep harping on it over and over and over again, bitter A F, it gets tiring for the rest of us. You throw shade at the AMD fanboys, defending AMD blindly. But your constant hating has put you on the other extreme end of that spectrum now.
If AMD has done it's work properly and release products without much issues for users to grapple with; we couldn't complain much.
BUT in reality, it's NOT smooth sailing.....and not very PLEASANT user experience.
raydenex
post Mar 27 2021, 11:51 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Mar 27 2021, 11:09 PM)
If AMD has done it's work properly and release products without much issues for users to grapple with; we couldn't complain much.
BUT in reality, it's NOT smooth sailing.....and not very PLEASANT user experience.
I hope you're not taking offense at my statement. I didn't say raising the issues and throwing shade was wrong. I readily admitted the few of you throwing constant hate at AMD on this thread have your points and you're not wrong. I'm just saying if its not apparent enough to yourselves, it has gotten rather sickening to the rest of us. We got the point already. Pages and pages ago.
1024kbps
post Mar 28 2021, 12:07 AM

李素裳
6,017 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 27 2021, 09:23 PM)
Some FPS games with high player counts actually quite taxing on CPU, and really need fast one to get upward of 160fps especially  for someone already having a 2080 ti / 3070 or better and playing at low settings.

Right now there are already some games shows better 1% low FPS on 8-cores compared to 6-cores. It's totally up to the person where he plays that sort of games, and decide what CPU he wants.
Welp, design choice, limitation of the game engine, optimization too expensive, deadline constrain etc, thus the cost are passed down to end user, us.
Game developer decided to stick with D3D12 because they already familiar with it, making new engine or integrate new stuff like DXR will save them a lot of time, result in shorter development time,
unless the team are really expert and decided to use alternative like Vulkan, people who played game with vulkan (Bethesha Id Tech 6)enabled will know you can just crank the graphic quality preset to highest level and your gpu still can take it like a champ.

You can even offloading the AI to cloud compute, Azure cloud, like the Titanfall and the sequel, resulted in less strain on end user system.

with the ever expensive hardware and scalper practice, Geforce now and Stadia starting to make more sense now lol
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 12:19 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 27 2021, 07:57 PM)
The thing is, it's no longer the crown in price to performance anymore and the hate for intel is more apparent to the point that many people are lead to pay more for less performance or waited for months due to stock shortage and even succumb to scalpers, even though there is a much better option.

And did you ever see any of my recent post complaining about the AMD bugs anymore? no right? In fact has been more constructive at providing tips on how I solved my AMD issues rather than praising AMD as the perfect system like all these fanboys. (Which is why i left AMD cuz im sick of these fanboys "AMD is perfect, i got no issues" not giving any troubleshooting advise.... in fact i got most of the working solution from nrw and ctskl who doesnt worship AMD) like with john's, about working with power settings and solving his sudden whea which is worth discussing.

Right now im just stating facts that price will not drop so i am advising the forumer to go ahead with the 5800x because he could get it right now instead of waiting dunno till when for a 5900x to get cheaper. And this xboxx fella butt hurt.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 28 2021, 12:36 AM
raydenex
post Mar 28 2021, 12:36 AM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

Was I being too optimistic to expect you guys to graciously accept someone pointing out that the constant banging on AMD has gone a little too far here? Your points are all valid, and most, if not all people here digested it many many pages ago. There is really no need to keep throwing shade.
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 12:44 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 12:36 AM)
Was I being too optimistic to expect you guys to graciously accept someone pointing out that the constant banging on AMD has gone a little too far here? Your points are all valid, and most, if not all people here digested it many many pages ago. There is really no need to keep throwing shade.
How is telling a forumer to go ahead with a 5800x instead of waiting a heavenly opportunity for a discounted 5900x banging on AMD?

Really.. so any troubleshooting inquiries or lower tier rig suggestions to match budget are treated as AMD hate huh? I guess AMD fanboys are all 5900x master race.
raydenex
post Mar 28 2021, 12:51 AM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 28 2021, 12:44 AM)
How is telling a forumer to go ahead with a 5800x instead of waiting a heavenly opportunity for a discounted 5900x banging on AMD?

Really.. so any troubleshooting inquiries or lower tier rig suggestions to match budget are treated as AMD hate huh? I guess AMD fanboys are all 5900x master race.
I'm not speaking in response to that. I have no issue with that at all. That's between you and whoever it was you're squabbling with.

Heck I use a 5800x myself. What 5900x master race? I'm making a general statement in this thread, banging on AMD over and over is not different than the fanboys who blindly defend AMD.

That's equally as bad, just on different ends of the spectrum. The point has been driven to everyone. Don't have to take opportunity once or twice every Thread page to insert a negative comment towards AMD, how you moved on to Intel and life is great now, how AMD this, how AMD that. Many people see it. We don't speak up and now when someone does, don't get triggered please. Just cut it out already. Your points were ALL VALID. Can you not see I am agreeing with you, Targon, whoever else on your camp. I am. You guys just have to ease up on the negativity towards AMD already. We get it. We do. Chill out lah.
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 01:06 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 12:51 AM)
I'm not speaking in response to that. I have no issue with that at all. That's between you and whoever it was you're squabbling with.

Heck I use a 5800x myself. What 5900x master race? I'm making a general statement in this thread, banging on AMD over and over is not different than the fanboys who blindly defend AMD.

That's equally as bad, just on different ends of the spectrum. The point has been driven to everyone. Don't have to take opportunity once or twice every Thread page to insert a negative comment towards AMD, how you moved on to Intel and life is great now, how AMD this, how AMD that. Many people see it. We don't speak up and now when someone does, don't get triggered please. Just cut it out already. Your points were ALL VALID. Can you not see I am agreeing with you, Targon, whoever else on your camp. I am. You guys just have to ease up on the negativity towards AMD already. We get it. We do. Chill out lah.
Altho i should be tagging @xboxx because he's the one butthurt, not you.

Im already long chill thus no more personal complains for weeks already since ive already moved on. I get that my previous comments were harsh when i was still using AMD which is inevitable because i was voicing out as a user back then... But that was in the past.

Now for the past weeks, just simply telling a user to get 5800x because it is available, or telling john to check power settings because of idle voltage problem, and discussions about the good idle behavior of the monolithic renoir 4000G series are all considered AMD hate?
raydenex
post Mar 28 2021, 01:20 AM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 28 2021, 01:06 AM)
Altho i should be tagging @xboxx because he's the one butthurt, not you.

Im already long chill thus no more personal complains for weeks already since ive already moved on. I get that my previous comments were harsh when i was still using AMD which is inevitable because i was voicing out as a user back then... But that was in the past.

Now for the past weeks, just simply telling a user to get 5800x because it is available, or telling john to check power settings because of idle voltage problem, and discussions about the good idle behavior of the monolithic renoir 4000G series are all considered AMD hate?
When I finally posted just now its my general comment on all the past hate many pages back, that went on for quite a bit. You said it yourself, it was rather harsh. I'm happy you've found peace with your i5 10400 now on a stable that meets your standards platform. I am genuinely glad you don't face issues anymore. However I would like to just kindly remind us all, there would be no 6c12t i5 if it weren't for AMD. Nor a 8c16t i7. i9 would be HEDT segment only. As much as we MUST raise issues when AMD falters, we must also give credit where credit is due. Peace.
1024kbps
post Mar 28 2021, 01:24 AM

李素裳
6,017 posts

All hardware have bugs, some have negligible impact on performance but for developer are big headache because they have to read the CPU errata (some are really long lol) to get a workaround for the cpu bug, hence do not buy the cpu and mobo when they hit the shelve because rev1 always have bug.
they will fix it on later cpu stepping, driver, mirocode and BIOS update

Just dont be early bird , because your are always their guinea pigs and free QA tester lol
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 01:42 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 01:20 AM)
When I finally posted just now its my general comment on all the past hate many pages back, that went on for quite a bit. You said it yourself, it was rather harsh. I'm happy you've found peace with your i5 10400 now on a stable that meets your standards platform. I am genuinely glad you don't face issues anymore. However I would like to just kindly remind us all, there would be no 6c12t i5 if it weren't for AMD. Nor a 8c16t i7. i9 would be HEDT segment only. As much as we MUST raise issues when AMD falters, we must also give credit where credit is due. Peace.
That's why quite recently we were talking about the renoirs which are actually very decent spec wise and probably a much better option than 3000 series as low power itx builds when nrw mentions that it doesnt have the boosting bug and much easier to cool. However it's OEM only but you know la... can ahemm those cpu from shops.
raydenex
post Mar 28 2021, 01:58 AM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

Would love to get my hands on a Renoir as well. Hopefully we see some new retail APUs out in near future.

475 Pages « < 384 385 386 387 388 > » Top

0.0189sec    1.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:28 PM