AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

1024kbps
post Sep 5 2018, 01:11 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(mbr @ Sep 5 2018, 12:42 AM)
I reckon you will need 32 GB RAM, but you need to increase budget... Likely RAM will be RM1600 already, CPU 1450+ and mobo 600+
For video editing, the software must support gpu accelerated enc/decoding, else you prolly need threadripper but also slower than gpu acceleration sweat.gif
Check the ram usage, most likely the cpu doing all the works which cause the slow down, ram usage overload mostly will cause the app to crash only.
Video editing rarely use a lot of ram especially 1080p only.

Gpu acceleration is the way to go, nowadays not only video playback are gpu accelerated, web layout, font rendering, compositing, css animation and so on on your web browser, are already accelerated by GPU.
1024kbps
post Apr 7 2019, 10:54 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Acap1986 @ Apr 7 2019, 07:00 AM)
Hi all,  rm3.8k for intel 8700 set without gpu... And ryzen 2700x for rm3.7k...which one better... Iam sorry i dunno where to ask hahaha... And for 2700x,  come with asus strix b450f gaming good mobo or not? And the cpu cooler need i get better or stay with amd stock cooler? For cooler i going to h212x rgb
If you don't overclocking stock cooler is fine, amd cpu is slightly warmer as indicated on some review site.
And if you game on 1080p and above, the fps difference become minimal on both cpu, of course intel ipc still the king,

i dont know both cpu either, just watched some video lol https://www.google.com/search?q=intel%20870...vs%20r7%202700x
1024kbps
post Apr 30 2019, 02:44 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 29 2019, 09:57 PM)
After remove the side panel, the temp significant lower..

I was playing NFS Payback for a while..the temp for CPU n GPU go up until 80'c +- then i go and remove the side panel..both drop to 68-70'c like that..
If i add another 12CM fan at front for intake, will it improve? or what should i do to achieve similar temp with side panel remove?  hmm.gif
One single fan can hardly improve.
, you need at least 6 fans to improve ventilation.
The case i bought always has side panel fans, and top panel fans, 3 front intake is a must.
Even with stock cooler my 65w Ryzen only idle at ~37c, 40 to 50 on load.

With my Fractal design R6, my cpu idle at 32c (360 aio), Vega 64 idle at 36c only.

Also make sure the CPU Vcore is not set too auto, some board will increase vcore without good reason, like my B350 Mortar arctic,
The increased vcore will increase heat output as well.
1024kbps
post Apr 30 2019, 07:53 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 30 2019, 06:01 AM)
Currently i got 3 fans..1 for intake and 2 for exhaust..

Guess that adding another fan for intake wont make a lot diff..
What is your case?
because intake usually is filtered, meaning weaker air flow, that is why intake need at least 3.
one single fan can improve only if it's high airflow fan, Aka the infamous Delta, usually known with at least 260 cfm lol

or just upgrade your casing
1024kbps
post Apr 30 2019, 06:00 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 30 2019, 05:57 PM)
This a very good effective and 0 cost solution..  rclxms.gif
3 months later back with square one, because heatsink is full of dust lol tongue.gif
1024kbps
post Apr 30 2019, 06:21 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 30 2019, 08:15 AM)
Thermaltake Versa H17

I got 3 Delta high flow fans..extremely noisy..4000 or 4500rpm..not ideal for home use..  rclxub.gif
Delta fans with PWM can be tamed with pwm + 45 watt fan controller, but if your delta is 3 pins type, can only be used as emergency cooling lol (activate when temp reach critical.)

you can add 2 140mm fans but with at least 2000 rpm, larger fan has lower pitch noise than 120/92mm counterpart, but with lower static pressure.
top fan can be switch to intake, at least the cpu has fresh air. and rear exhaust remain same, but remember, hot air rise.
1024kbps
post Apr 30 2019, 06:55 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 30 2019, 06:26 PM)
Alright..can you recommend me some fans with 2000rpm and above? so these 2 units 2000rpm 140mm fans put at front as intake right?

https://noctua.at/en/nf-a14-industrialppc-2000-pwm Noctua IndustrialPPC 2000rpm rclxms.gif
https://noctua.at/en/nf-a14-industrialppc-3000-pwm 3K rpm versioon
https://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=366&area=en this one is 38mm thick, so check clearance first.
1024kbps
post Apr 30 2019, 10:24 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Apr 30 2019, 09:22 PM)
Nah, maybe in 1 year but it only take like 30 mins to clean it. GPU nowadays come with 0dB fan, after 2+ years my 980Ti barely have any dust on it but my 212x need cleaning in like every 9-12 months. laugh.gif
2 of those already cost more than his casing. laugh.gif
Most people be like, i got R6 2600 and some thousand dollar GPU but using cheap casing, later will complaint pc running too hot. sweat.gif
Case cooling performance are most often ignored when people buying new casing.

Open air casing depends on environment, my area definitely cannot due to sticky yellow dust, it does not work with everyone.

Also buying the Noctua definitely is an investment, the fans has 6 years warranty and very long life, Thought Im only like noctua lol,
also i'm not aware of any other brands that make 140mm fan with 2000 RPM.
1024kbps
post May 1 2019, 01:33 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 30 2019, 10:33 PM)
You do not need to worry about the CPU temperature.

Ryzen runs at low temperature with pathetic OC headroom.

So,
1) You do not need Noctua. Just mid-end HSF will do. You don't get much OC headroom anyway. The reason is the CPU itself.
2) You do not need to buy expensive casing. Cheaplug casing with 2 x 120MM casing fans + PSU fan is more than enough.
3) Spend the money on high quality motherboard. I would say most of low-mid end mobos have shitty and overheat VRM. High quality mobo gives you stability and very slight better OC headroom (again, the limitation is the CPU itself).
4) Spend the money on high end ram modules. You get more performance penalty if you use low end ram modules. Get high end ram modules for performance.
This sounds a bit unrealistic, what about GPU?
Most gpu dumps heats back into casing, even blower type gpu still radiate heat.
1024kbps
post May 1 2019, 01:33 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 30 2019, 10:33 PM)
You do not need to worry about the CPU temperature.

Ryzen runs at low temperature with pathetic OC headroom.

So,
1) You do not need Noctua. Just mid-end HSF will do. You don't get much OC headroom anyway. The reason is the CPU itself.
2) You do not need to buy expensive casing. Cheaplug casing with 2 x 120MM casing fans + PSU fan is more than enough.
3) Spend the money on high quality motherboard. I would say most of low-mid end mobos have shitty and overheat VRM. High quality mobo gives you stability and very slight better OC headroom (again, the limitation is the CPU itself).
4) Spend the money on high end ram modules. You get more performance penalty if you use low end ram modules. Get high end ram modules for performance.
This sounds a bit unrealistic, what about GPU?
Most gpu dumps heats back into casing, even blower type gpu still radiate heat.
1024kbps
post May 1 2019, 01:16 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 1 2019, 10:30 AM)
It depends very much on the fan model and placement

This means fan CFM / Static Pressure, this means size is also a factor.

Some casings are good, 3 fans at the front also super airflow already. Some casing, 2x 200mm fan already still lousy airflow.
I'm favor for silence cooling hence the multiple fans.

Suggesting 2x120mm fan is enough without any recommendation isn't very convincing .
1024kbps
post May 4 2019, 01:25 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 1 2019, 09:13 PM)
Multiple fans also doesn't mean more silent, in some cases worse if it's cheapo fans, suggesting 6 without models event worse. tongue.gif

That's why have to see model, can check out various Corsair, Be Quiet and Noctua models. I think CM also has some pretty neat fans.

For me I shop looking at RPM vs CFM, then see price.

Just 2 of those fans already cost more than a cheap casing, like I bought the Noctua NF-F12 last week https://noctua.at/en/nf-f12-industrialppc-3...m/specification  moneyflies.gif

I'd go with what ALeUNe mentioned.
It really is, and will work well if you know what you're doing.
I own a lot of fans, seriously, i can build a casing with just fans, lol

For silent fan spins at 5V,
1. Gelid series
2. Xigmatek
3. Fractal Design 12/14cm
4. Silverstone 141AP, but noisy at full speed, Noctua P14 also fall into this category, high start up voltage.

Exotic fan / Rare
Noiseblocker, the cheaper series perform quite well, also owned the multiframe S series, good shit
Prolimatech USV14,
Sony SFF21C/ Scythe S-FLEX, still have few of them,
NMB Matsushita (Panasonic), the 12v fans also good, plenty of airflow even at 5v.
San Ace also good, used a while and sold them off, also goodding lol.
Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoon thumbup.gif

Those rare 12cm fans i owned perform really well, better than those branded fans. although some of them are industrial/OEM fan.
14cm fans i have no recommendation, need to try out more 14cm fans.

Generally, low powered fan will works even at 5V, those below 1A will always work and can be powered up with just USB cable.
1024kbps
post May 4 2019, 05:43 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ May 4 2019, 05:28 PM)
So u mean the stock cooler isnt perform well? Or just my cooler?
the stock cooler is just a chunk of aluminum block with 2k rpm silent fan
while beneath it is a 6 cores 95w cpu, it will do fine if you put it into a fridge wink.gif
1024kbps
post Jun 12 2019, 12:54 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Kenneth85 @ Jun 10 2019, 07:44 AM)
Does AMD ryzen fully stable for ubuntu 18.04? gcc segfault already patched?
hoping to know, because tempting to change to ryzen when ryzen 3rd gen arrive.
Which compiler generate segfault and what version,
pretty sure they patched it fast as GCC 9.1 just released.

For me i would just try different build rather than waiting for patches.
1024kbps
post Jul 8 2019, 09:04 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(khiunngiap @ Jul 8 2019, 03:58 PM)
[attachmentid=10279266]

I just bought Vega 7 ... Looking at the performance of upcoming GPU launching cards. Feel like money wasted.
Most games are still runs better on Nvidia GPU due to more raw power, thats a hard-to-swallow pill.
unless your games use Vulkan, AMD GPU runs much faster with Vulkan Renderer.

Another positive points for AMD GPU is Radeon Chill, built in overclocking and tweakin, FreeSync2.

RTX may be cool but iirc it still cant run most game smoothly with highest RT quality.
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1089130/Quake_II_RTX/
1024kbps
post Jul 10 2019, 12:02 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jul 9 2019, 11:32 PM)
3700X only gaining 10 to 20% over 2700X
If using X470 mobo I wonder will the result still the same.
Feels like too small improvement to justify the cost of few hundreds ringgit to upgrade.
That's a lot for AMD processor already, also quite impressive consider only one generation gap.
1024kbps
post Jul 11 2019, 11:03 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

Damn, I got this board like almost 2 years and ryzen 3000 I supported, daaaammmnnn

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jul 11 2019, 11:03 PM
1024kbps
post Jul 14 2019, 10:13 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Jul 14 2019, 09:50 PM)
Things get weirder and weirder.. so I decided to rebuild my raid0.. so after went on my backup, I tried to plug other/new HDD with fresh sata cable.. my mobo doesnt detect it either.. it has 4 sata ports, only sata0 working, the rest are not.
So I went on replugging other HDD to p0, the mobo detects.. the hell is going on.
if this is about flashing bios with zen 2 cpu support, raid doesn't work yet.
at least on my b350 mortar artic
1024kbps
post Jul 15 2019, 01:06 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 15 2019, 12:10 AM)
are the b450 mobos in the shop already flashed to accept ryzen 3rd gen or do I have to ask the shop to do it?
Depends on the production date?
if your mobo does not support BIOS flashback, you need a cpu to update BIOS, https://www.msi.com/blog/the-latest-bios-fo...ies-motherboard
1024kbps
post Jul 25 2019, 10:41 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Jul 24 2019, 09:57 PM)
Anybody got problem with X570 pair up Ryzen 3700x? Every time I press the power button, it will run the fan to full speed then only goes down back
If you have low speed fan, it wont be audible,
I have one server fan, it will ramp up the speed to 100% for less than a second before going down, no matter what mobo i use.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:40 PM