AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

zack.gap
post Mar 2 2021, 02:13 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 11:10 AM)
wont be in Malaysia. I got PR in those countries... so now choosing between job offers on where to go sweat.gif . But Aus really hard to buy PC stuff all go through amazon and taobao takes forever to reach and they dont have shopee.
Between the 2 countries I’d recommend Aussie. Their retailers are quite decent and local consumer laws are quite good. Sites like ozbargain and staticice are your friends.
yimingwuzere
post Mar 2 2021, 04:42 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 01:40 AM)
AMD itx better avoid X570. The super hot chipset will melt in that tiny package if your airflow is restricted or using AIO.... better opt for B550. asus B550i strix is probably the best AMD board on RAM OC thanks to asus bios and the 2 dimm slot.

ITX board stock for B550 should be plenty. Just try asking shop for ITX bundle like Czone and viewnet. I'm sure they will be happy to quote.
TBH unless you're chasing overclocks 4/5 of the B550 ITX boards are already solid enough, the Gigabyte and MSI ones, plus the Asrock Phantom Gaming too (but not the baseline ITX/ac one). Also, the Gigabyte and Asrock PG have passive cooling, Asrock and MSI have arguably better rear I/O port selection vs Asus too. None of the other brands are dependent on active VRM cooling either on the 12/16 core CPUs.

I'd go with Gigabyte if I was going to grab an AIO and use the NR200 case like what most people building ITX performance rigs are doing nowadays.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Mar 2 2021, 05:08 PM
Bonchi
post Mar 2 2021, 05:16 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 2 2021, 04:42 PM)
TBH unless you're chasing overclocks 4/5 of the B550 ITX boards are already solid enough, the Gigabyte and MSI ones, plus the Asrock Phantom Gaming too (but not the baseline ITX/ac one). Also, the Gigabyte and Asrock PG have passive cooling, Asrock and MSI have arguably better rear I/O port selection vs Asus too. None of the other brands are dependent on active VRM cooling either on the 12/16 core CPUs.

I'd go with Gigabyte if I was going to grab an AIO and use the NR200 case like what most people building ITX performance rigs are doing nowadays.
yeah B550 is the better choice for AMD itx builds, besides cant really benefit from the extra gen4 on X570 since ITX cant fit so many stuff anwyays.

X570i meanwhile is very known to melt... like literaly chipset temps reaching 80-90C kind.. I used to own the gigabyte B550i and id say this one have very good vrm cooling... chipset not too bad as well, loads at around 50+C.. however my ITX case has very good airflow over the chipset and vrm, so it might be worse in other cases.
yimingwuzere
post Mar 2 2021, 05:22 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 05:16 PM)
yeah B550 is the better choice for AMD itx builds, besides cant really benefit from the extra gen4 on X570 since ITX cant fit so many stuff anwyays.

X570i meanwhile is very known to melt... like literaly chipset temps reaching 80-90C kind.. I used to own the gigabyte B550i and id say this one have very good vrm cooling... chipset not too bad as well, loads at around 50+C.. however my ITX case has very good airflow over the chipset and vrm, so it might be worse in other cases.
Well the Gigabytes are extremely heavy by ITX standards, most of it went to the heatsink/heatpipes etc. The extra slab over the NVME slot is useless though.

Asus B550 still has the active fan design of their X570 board, but with downgraded VRMs so now the fan is used to keep the VRMs cool since they cut the VRM specs a lot from their X570 variant. A shame, since the X570-I on paper looks like the best board if not for that high X570 chipset power consumption.
Bonchi
post Mar 2 2021, 05:53 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 2 2021, 05:22 PM)
Well the Gigabytes are extremely heavy by ITX standards, most of it went to the heatsink/heatpipes etc. The extra slab over the NVME slot is useless though.

Asus B550 still has the active fan design of their X570 board, but with downgraded VRMs so now the fan is used to keep the VRMs cool since they cut the VRM specs a lot from their X570 variant. A shame, since the X570-I on paper looks like the best board if not for that high X570 chipset power consumption.
iinm, all x570 itx has active fans and they tend to scream due to the insane power consumption and heat output of the boards... knowing this back then, I was kinda forced to settle with a B450 while x470 itx stock is non existent at that time when I was looking for a board to pair with the zen2.

The gigabyte's thick slab of metal over the nvme actually help absorb some heat as well as it is screwed on pretty tight to its mount.. it does get warm so it is a sign that it is absorbing some of the heat.
timeonce
post Mar 2 2021, 08:36 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 05:53 PM)
iinm, all x570 itx has active fans and they tend to scream due to the insane power consumption and heat output of the boards... knowing this back then, I was kinda forced to settle with a B450 while x470 itx stock is non existent at that time when I was looking for a board to pair with the zen2.

The gigabyte's thick slab of metal over the nvme actually help absorb some heat as well as it is screwed on pretty tight to its mount.. it does get warm so it is a sign that it is absorbing some of the heat.
I run MSI X570 unify. the fan dont spin most of the time except gaming. So i think depends on mobo. But my CPU is running hot at 55 degree.

Bonchi
post Mar 2 2021, 10:17 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Mar 2 2021, 08:36 PM)
I run MSI X570 unify. the fan dont spin most of the time except gaming. So i think depends on mobo. But my CPU is running hot at 55 degree.

that's a full ATX board, what I meant is those tiny 17cm X 17cm mini ITX board that the person wants to get... it wont end well with X570, especially if shoved into a casing the size of a shoebox.
hashtag2016
post Mar 3 2021, 03:12 AM

511 posts

sb just start an interesting experiment.. (result: TBD) brows.gif brows.gif
---
AMD Ryzen 5000 Long Term OC Testing - Will the 7nm CPUs degrade over time? (by der8auer)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2kgi5tMfDc

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Mar 3 2021, 03:39 AM
yimingwuzere
post Mar 3 2021, 08:12 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 05:53 PM)

I heard they have fan stop and it isn't an issue until PCIE4 devices using the chipset are in use. Correct me if I'm wrong on that, going off what I read on forums only.

It'll definitely absorb some heat when it's screwed on - point is, is it actually any meaningful result or just absorbing the heat that would have otherwise have dissipated out to air. I don't think it has contact to the NVME drive, just the screw only. Got another friend who just bought that board too - perhaps I'll take a closer look at it in a few days.
Bonchi
post Mar 3 2021, 10:34 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 3 2021, 08:12 AM)
I heard they have fan stop and it isn't an issue until PCIE4 devices using the chipset are in use. Correct me if I'm wrong on that, going off what I read on forums only.

It'll definitely absorb some heat when it's screwed on - point is, is it actually any meaningful result or just absorbing the heat that would have otherwise have dissipated out to air. I don't think it has contact to the NVME drive, just the screw only. Got another friend who just bought that board too - perhaps I'll take a closer look at it in a few days.
well, there’s nvme that’s pcie gen4 and file transfer will get it up to temp. The cpu is communicating to the chipset through pcie gen4 as well, so a cpu load will also heat it up. Full ATX x570 board definitely wont be an issue. but an itx with a heatsink slightly bigger then a thumb is not a good news laugh.gif

well, the gigabyte B550i contacts with the chipset through the screws and there’s a heatpipe there as well. It is a pretty cool board. Anyways you can always sandwich a slice of thermal pad in between and it will become a functional heatsoaker.
x800
post Mar 3 2021, 11:09 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

I'm using the gigabyte b550i right now. Yes its really solid, the fullsize backplate, the heavy vrm+m.2 heatsinks. Have a 140mm fan blowing directly from my mesh sidepanel onto the board and VRM temps never went above 52 in a room without aircond (only 5600x tho)

Anyway I'm using an ATX case and have no plans to migrate to ITX form factor. Using this board right now since I got this board 2nd hand for cheap. Anyone with full ATX B550 wanna swap? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by x800: Mar 3 2021, 11:30 AM
edmund_yung
post Mar 3 2021, 11:58 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 10:34 AM)
but an itx with a heatsink slightly bigger then a thumb is not a good news laugh.gif
Waiting for the day mobo maker design their cooling by taking advantage of the flowing air from top down cooler such as Noctua NH-C14S, Thermalright AXP90, because there is a niche market like you who uses sandwich case, but doesn't use AIO.
Bonchi
post Mar 3 2021, 12:32 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 3 2021, 11:58 AM)
Waiting for the day mobo maker design their cooling by taking advantage of the flowing air from top down cooler such as Noctua NH-C14S, Thermalright AXP90, because there is a niche market like you who uses sandwich case, but doesn't use AIO.
vrm can be solved via active cooling... a tiny fan blowing onto a bare metal plate is more than capable to tame a 250w overclocked 10900K draw down to 70C.

chipset on the otherhand... only AMD runs hot hahaha, my z490i max load at 45C-50C jer. Idle is 38C.

At the moment, most ITX board take advantage of it already as they carve fins on the side of the heatsoakers which are facing the cpu. However it is now depended on the direction of the fins... L9 and axp90 tend to blow towards the ram instead of the chipset for amd. intel meanwhile thanks to the symmetrical mounting holes means the user can rotate the airflow direction.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 3 2021, 12:32 PM
edmund_yung
post Mar 3 2021, 12:44 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 12:32 PM)
At the moment, most ITX board take advantage of it already as they carve fins on the side of the heatsoakers which are facing the cpu.
Most of the B550 and Z490 ITX board has their own active cooling... really hate that huge block at the IO.
SSJBen
post Mar 3 2021, 01:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

X570 chipsets are HOT AF.

On my CH8, idle is 58c lmao in a room where ambient is 21c. And yes my case is well optimized for positive air flow and I do have air passing over the chipset areas.

And no, it doesn't get much cooler than that no matter what you do.
Bonchi
post Mar 3 2021, 01:28 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 3 2021, 01:13 PM)
And no, it doesn't get much cooler than that no matter what you do.
*cough cough* waterblock
yimingwuzere
post Mar 3 2021, 02:01 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 3 2021, 11:58 AM)
NH-C14S is too thick for sandwich cases though, the ITX cases designed for that is mostly NR200 and NCase M1.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 12:32 PM)
vrm can be solved via active cooling... a tiny fan blowing onto a bare metal plate is more than capable to tame a 250w overclocked 10900K draw down to 70C.

chipset on the otherhand... only AMD runs hot hahaha, my z490i max load at 45C-50C jer. Idle is 38C.

At the moment, most ITX board take advantage of it already as they carve fins on the side of the heatsoakers which are facing the cpu. However it is now depended on the direction of the fins... L9 and axp90 tend to blow towards the ram instead of the chipset for amd. intel meanwhile thanks to the symmetrical mounting holes means the user can rotate the airflow direction.
Depends on Noctua brackets used too, it's possible to get some of their coolers rotated 90 degrees.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 01:28 PM)
*cough cough* waterblock
Or Aorus Xtreme, heatpipe connected to the fancy finned VRM heatsink for maximum heat dissipation.
SSJBen
post Mar 3 2021, 02:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 01:28 PM)
*cough cough* waterblock
My bro in law lives in Texas. The recent snow storm he had to use his system to heat up the room. Water block ain't gonna do shit. laugh.gif
Bonchi
post Mar 3 2021, 03:13 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 3 2021, 02:57 PM)
My bro in law lives in Texas. The recent snow storm he had to use his system to heat up the room. Water block ain't gonna do shit.  laugh.gif

If can heat up the room in a -18C cold snap in texas... our lovely 34C malaysia weather can become fat burning sauna room laugh.gif

but damn.. if the room is really -10C, imagine the liquid inside the loop all froze up shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 3 2021, 03:15 PM
Current Events guy
post Mar 3 2021, 03:21 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 2 2021, 05:16 PM)

X570i meanwhile is very known to melt... .
I haven't seen this in the community before. Care to share some examples of x570i chipsets melting?

475 Pages « < 374 375 376 377 378 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:33 PM