Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

ghodul
post Oct 30 2015, 03:26 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

Hi all,

Just finish my 2nd iv around 12pm. The boss said to me that will proceed my hiring process after I manage to secure an accomodation in sg.

My working location would be at Changi South Lane. Could yoy guys suggest me a good place to rent around that area. My budget is around 600 SGD/mth...

Thanks...
TSdeodorant
post Oct 30 2015, 03:36 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Oct 30 2015, 03:26 PM)
Just finish my 2nd iv around 12pm. The boss said to me that will proceed my hiring process after I manage to secure an accomodation in sg. 

Something wrong here. You can't rent any long term accommodation without proper immigration status (i.e., you need to get a work permit of some sort, otherwise you're not allowed to rent room or hdb). So your hiring formalities including application of the work permit must be done first.
ghodul
post Oct 30 2015, 03:56 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 30 2015, 03:36 PM)
Something wrong here. You can't rent any long term accommodation without proper immigration status (i.e., you need to get a work permit of some sort, otherwise you're not allowed to rent room or hdb). So your hiring formalities including application of the work permit must be done first.
Will get back to the HR on this. I think my future boss just wanted my commitment to stay sg. Not janji kosong then stay at JB...
ghodul
post Oct 30 2015, 07:26 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

I just emailed my HR regarding issue above. Below are her reply,

Hi Ghodul,

You can proceed to hunt for a suitable accommodation and inform the landlord on the start date.

Once your work pass is approve, we will send you the IPA, this act as proof of your immigration status.

Update your landlord with your Work pass card once the registration is finalise.
Any comment guys?
KilJim
post Oct 30 2015, 09:58 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Oct 30 2015, 07:26 PM)
I just emailed my HR regarding issue above. Below are her reply,
Any comment guys?
So that means HR will proceed with your application anyway since there's nothing a landlord will give you to show you have "booked" a place to stay

Btw without your work pass approval your landlord wont be able to register you as a tenant
This means they wont "book" the place for your either

I suggest after a couple of weeks just tell your employer you found a place at XXX to rent and then chase them for the work pass
funkyme
post Nov 1 2015, 10:20 AM

109 posts

hi guys,
how do they calculate the tax in sg ?
same like msia ? below 4k no need tax ? hahaha
Mackiddo
post Nov 1 2015, 11:51 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(funkyme @ Nov 1 2015, 10:20 AM)
hi guys,
how do they calculate the tax in sg ?
same like msia ? below 4k no need tax ? hahaha
https://www.iras.gov.sg/

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 1 2015, 11:52 AM
studyboy
post Nov 1 2015, 09:50 PM

522 posts

Hi all, could you help me with a query? I found my current accommodation through an estate agent and the lease will end on 31st December.

Given that I don't intend to renew the lease, am I required to inform the landlord, the agent or both parties and when should I inform them?

Thanks in advance!
whatsayyou
post Nov 2 2015, 12:38 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Nov 1 2015, 09:50 PM)
Hi all, could you help me with a query? I found my current accommodation through an estate agent and the lease will end on 31st December.

Given that I don't intend to renew the lease, am I required to inform the landlord, the agent or both parties and when should I inform them?

Thanks in advance!
Common sense pls. Read the signed agreement. Courtesy says u inform the landlord a month or 2 before lease ends, so they can begin search for a replacement.
This kind of thing still need to ask?
bellion
post Nov 2 2015, 01:05 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Oct 29 2015, 11:52 PM)
after encountering every single traffic lights per 100m of roads, I not sure whether you still like to drive in SG.
Bullcrap.

Driving in Singapore is a bloody breeze compared to the sh&ate jams and mat rempits in Malaysia. Do you even live in Singapore?
yrh0413
post Nov 2 2015, 01:15 PM

12,214 posts

honestly other than speeding there is nothing I enjoy driving in Malaysia...

... and I just checked-in my car into the service center this morning, some warning lights on my dash after I ran through a pothole at high speed at Tebrau over the weekend. doh.gif
titarium
post Nov 2 2015, 01:41 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Nov 2 2015, 01:05 PM)
Bullcrap.

Driving in Singapore is a bloody breeze compared to the sh&ate jams and mat rempits in Malaysia.  Do you even live in Singapore?
Just ignore him la , never really experience driving in SG but exaggerating on the incompetence .

Typical sour grape syndrome
bellion
post Nov 2 2015, 02:25 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Nov 2 2015, 01:41 PM)
Just ignore him la , never really experience driving in SG but exaggerating on the incompetence .

Typical sour grape syndrome
Does that jealous idiot even stay in Singapore? Doubt it.

yrh0413
post Nov 2 2015, 02:48 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Nov 2 2015, 02:25 PM)
Does that jealous idiot even stay in Singapore?  Doubt it.
A lot of my Singaporean friends who ones nice cars love driving in Malaysia, only on NSHW. I have a friend who chalked up over RM5,000 of traffic summons (mostly speeding...), no intention to pay he said he is going to buy a new car plate if PDRM is really going after him. laugh.gif

As much as I strongly detest speeding of any form in any country, there are still some people who "loves" driving in Malaysia for whatever reason.
bellion
post Nov 2 2015, 03:55 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Nov 2 2015, 02:48 PM)
A lot of my Singaporean friends who ones nice cars love driving in Malaysia, only on NSHW. I have a friend who chalked up over RM5,000 of traffic summons (mostly speeding...), no intention to pay he said he is going to buy a new car plate if PDRM is really going after him.  laugh.gif

As much as I strongly detest speeding of any form in any country, there are still some people who "loves" driving in Malaysia for whatever reason.
If you like speeding, naturally a long and expansive highway is great.

To state that there are traffic lights for every 100 metres is pure baloney and smacks of jealousy of Singapore's first world infrastructure.
Mackiddo
post Nov 2 2015, 07:21 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Nov 2 2015, 01:15 PM)

... and I just checked-in my car into the service center this morning, some warning lights on my dash after I ran through a pothole at high speed at Tebrau over the weekend.  doh.gif
one of my colleague also rammed thru one, at Tebrau as well. Car total lost, engine cracked. But ok, just an Alfa Romeo.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 2 2015, 07:22 PM
studyboy
post Nov 2 2015, 07:26 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Nov 2 2015, 12:38 AM)
Common sense pls. Read the signed agreement. Courtesy says u inform the landlord a month or 2 before lease ends, so they can begin search for a replacement.
This kind of thing still need to ask?
Nothing of this sort was stated in the contract hence the question! Thanks for your reply though. I asked 'this kind of thing' because I have no experience in it and would appreciate confirmation from the more experienced lot of you out there. However, I do wish that you could frame your reply in a more tactful manner. smile.gif

This post has been edited by studyboy: Nov 2 2015, 07:41 PM
Dagger69
post Nov 2 2015, 10:00 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

After waiting for 2 weeks to advertise in SG job bank, my EP application is approved today. Applied on 30/10, so I am very happy with the efficiency.
Fiona Chin
post Nov 2 2015, 10:07 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Nov 2 2015, 01:15 PM)

... and I just checked-in my car into the service center this morning, some warning lights on my dash after I ran through a pothole at high speed at Tebrau over the weekend.  doh.gif
Back home at my state we drive 4WD in our pathetic mud road, ran through pothole no problem. Should try it one day.

SG drivers are awful. They bang into my old car twice side and back since I come here. So pity those little Japanese car after they whack into a German car. Crumple like Kancil. Lucky the driver and passenger still alive so we can claim insurance from them. Bought a bigger German car to make sure they won't survive the next time they anyhow cut lane.
bellion
post Nov 3 2015, 12:17 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 2 2015, 10:07 PM)
Back home at my state we drive 4WD in our pathetic mud road, ran through pothole no problem. Should try it one day.

SG drivers are awful. They bang into my old car twice side and back since I come here. So pity those little Japanese car after they whack into a German car. Crumple like Kancil. Lucky the driver and passenger still alive so we can claim insurance from them. Bought a bigger German car to make sure they won't survive the next time they anyhow cut lane.
You don't fit the typical profile of a LYN forummer in the "working in Singapore" thread i.e. someone who is either fresh on board in Singapore or is still in the early stages of their careers. I suppose you are married to a wealthy man and you come from a well to do family yourself.

196 Pages « < 187 188 189 190 191 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:37 AM