Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

titarium
post Dec 17 2014, 09:51 AM

683 posts

Hi Guys,

I am looking for a Sales Engineer in Singapore for Electrical Field.

Prefer with PR status, or currently working in SG + working experience in Technical Sales.

Experience Candidate may require to travel within S.E.A , Jr Candidate ( 1-3 experience) SG + JB/MY .

https://www.jobsbank.gov.sg/ICMSPortal/port...OB-2014-0130980
titarium
post Dec 17 2014, 05:32 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Dec 17 2014, 05:00 PM)
Just got offer letter. Submitted the WP application form to HR for them to process. May I know how long it will take to know i successfully got the WP ? And since I am getting WP, and not elligible for CPF , company decided to give 16% extra allowance to my salary .. Is it normal ?
not all company pays cpf to non pr or singaporean.

just consider yourself being bless.

WP 1 - 2 weeks , fast 3 days.
titarium
post Jan 19 2015, 04:04 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Jan 16 2015, 06:38 AM)
Hi guys, actually, once we become a PR, it is considered as  a permanent thing unless we renounce it (which means i will have to leave Singapore?) I am confused, because i have heard of "renewing" PR instead? What is this renewal thing? If i don't renew, that means i am renouncing?

Also, can i withdraw my application after i have applied?
You are still a Malaysian , PR is just a permanent resident which gives you a trial period for citizenship you may hold this trial period as long as you want if the Gov doesn't revoke your PR status.

PR must be renew every 5 years - it is just like you r driving license , you still hold the same driving license just that your eligibility on the road extends another 3- 5 years.

There's also basic T&C to ensure you can renew your PR.

Once you apply make sure you are serious about it , if you are given the approval you better accept it else you'll end up being black listed, getting black listed in Singapore is a very very thought to get out, so always think twice before doing alot of things.
titarium
post Aug 13 2015, 11:14 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(enigma666 @ Aug 10 2015, 09:11 PM)
Hi Mackiddo...Petrol Station Pump Attendant  biggrin.gif aduhhh

His background chemical engineering. Project management with testing & commissioning background in downstream (tank terminals) and subsea hardware.
Last held position as PM....i believe he willing to go down as project/field engineer post..
No need go down in ranks , if desperate just go down on pay cut .

Ask him to register a Linkedin account and start linking companies he knows , especially the HR department . Linkedin also post alot of job base on your experience.

He should know what company is within his field , engineering if have passion don't loose the touch.

Chemeical engineering in SG not only O&G , there's alot of chemical refining in SG it could be for F&B , medical and even for semiconductor requirement .
Hope isn't all lost . All these sector mention are located in Jurong, woodlands & Tuas (focus search for these area)
titarium
post Aug 13 2015, 11:53 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 13 2015, 11:44 AM)
ive got a question guys,
i went for 2 interviews
interview A - final interview
interview B - first interview

i'm more keen with company B but don't know how it will turn out but say company A offers and if i take and then comes along company B's offer should i go on with the process, is it advisable to take offer from company B after starting with company A? in terms of the pass application
Just make sure to do it during probation period , give yourself a chance give the company a chance also .
titarium
post Aug 13 2015, 11:55 AM

683 posts

Zhap Fan also you guys complain , the reason they scoop is due to hygiene requirement , also rules setup by NEA , if want more certain thing just as x2 or x3 lor .

titarium
post Aug 13 2015, 02:03 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 13 2015, 01:01 PM)
But what about the pass? I was made to understand that it's per company so say company A did it for me then I go company B I need to cancel the one I have with company A but will there be a risk of getting application for pass for company B to be rejected?
Yes pass approval are strict now days , so in this case advice not to take risk .

If offer came from company A , Ask the company give you some time to consider , and indicate to company B that you have a offer on hand but would sincerely like to consider them , if interested let's quicken pace .
titarium
post Aug 20 2015, 10:40 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(Patrick Star @ Aug 18 2015, 10:03 PM)
hi all..

what is the best place to apply and get a job in sg?

i applied thru jobstreet, jobsdb all no reply..

go there submit resume is it better?

my experience is in banking.. will bank there hire malaysian?

Banks here are very strict , if banks suggest apply direct go to their website but they are hiring mainly PR & Singaporean .

Which segment of Banking you are experience in ?

With experience still have chance , quite a slim chance but once come means they don't have right candidate yet from PR & SG pool .
titarium
post Aug 20 2015, 10:42 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(Manz2912 @ Aug 18 2015, 06:24 PM)
Hi all, I am going to work in SG and I holding a EP permit. Can I know if I drive my malaysia car in the charges is same like normally we drive in?
Yes you may , the suppose rule is to drive in and out within 24 hour and pay VEP like any other foreign vehicle , but this is still very grey not strictly enforce some drove part for days and weeks .

My advice never try your luck too long in SG the fines are quite heavy .
titarium
post Aug 20 2015, 04:39 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(carrer @ Aug 20 2015, 02:46 PM)
I have a similar question. I am planning to buy a motorbike in Singapore and use it in the island. Do I have to apply for a Singaporean license or can I just use the Malaysian license? Do I have to sit for an exam etc. ?
Just convert your license will do

1) Look for driving school - register to sit for exam : Basic Theory Test ( Undang - Undang )
2) Buy the book ( few dollars only)
3) Go JPJ get extraction letter
4) JPJ Letter + MY License + Pass Result = Apply SG License @ same driving school
titarium
post Aug 20 2015, 04:40 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Aug 20 2015, 01:35 PM)
Hi i have a relative who is PR reside in Malaysia (housewife not working), how can she get the letter from LTA to drive her malaysian car in Sg? Appreciate your reply pls.
SG PR ?

SG PR arn't suppose to drive or own any foreign vehicle in Singapore .
titarium
post Aug 27 2015, 10:18 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Aug 25 2015, 11:28 PM)
1 year plus. Currently senior associate.

KPMG rejected, PWC is kind of you need a world prize to get in if your a malaysian, most malaysians i know that entered PWC have world prizes.

Most of the Big 4 in singapore not hiring unless your rank is quite high or lubang, my senior with 2 plus year only got interview offer from RSM Chio Lim.

Will be trying the lower end firm.

I actually got a semi firm offer to be a paid Insurance Agent for prudential SGD2.2k basic. Not sure if i should go for it and chiong for other job at the same time.
For accounting ... I have friends that join small firm in SG first before joining Big 4 in SG , all banks and accountancy firm with names they only highly consider experience in SG , so direct apply could be harder , even obtained usually salary as a start is place on a lower tier ( but will be adjusted after 1 year you are there - but must perform la ) .

Experience in MY will be consider if : internal transfer , via recommendation -> usually these group are top notch fellas

Luck also play a huge part .
titarium
post Sep 2 2015, 03:19 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 2 2015, 12:48 PM)
Anyone for badminton? Next game 6th Sept (Sunday) 12-2pm Bedok View Secondary School. If interested pls PM your phone number to AlaskanBunny.
Interested ... junior player can join anot ?

cause long time never play d , as in years ... so may pancit any time

This post has been edited by titarium: Sep 2 2015, 03:20 PM
titarium
post Sep 2 2015, 03:28 PM

683 posts

Since last year WP / EP even PR are being strictly review , even there's offer from employer doesn't mean that they will grant WP/EP, company's quota is secondary here.

Even stayed years in SG , PR may not be granted as well , it's very strict these days .
titarium
post Sep 2 2015, 03:52 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Sep 2 2015, 03:48 PM)
ive been in sg for like few months.should try apply PR? :/
Min 6 month salary slip , and supporting letter from company , at least paid Income tax before.

titarium
post Sep 21 2015, 02:57 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Sep 18 2015, 02:49 PM)
Just wonder, if to work in SG and to bring along wife & 2 kids with $6k salary enough to survive? So far, I know renting a 3R flat and sending kids to childcare already cost $2.5k & $2k respectively. Any advice is very much appreciated
with non working wife ? suggest to stay in JB .

Hard to survive with whole family on rental @ 6k

2.5k HDB Rental
2k Child Care
300 ( Uti , bills and transport )
500 - meals (excluding child's additional requirement Milk Powder , Diapers ..... )

Left with 700 ( likely lesser )

Strongly suggest to come alone first or stay in JB if family were to come along the 1.5k rental saving is huge !
titarium
post Sep 21 2015, 05:22 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Sep 21 2015, 04:14 PM)
Thanks for all the comments. my eldest child is 3yo and the youngest is 10mo. I know as a foreigner, then childcare fee is killing, and the same as schooling. I don't think staying in JB is a viable option with family.

I didn't expect that medical cost is also another killing part as a foreigner. Seems like to spare more $$$ for medical insurance.
You doesn't sound like a Malaysian
titarium
post Sep 22 2015, 09:27 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 21 2015, 09:09 PM)
Newly arrive Malaysian in Singapore is a foreigner what...
Malaysian should be able to adapt to JB life , get a place near borders travel in and out at least still can be with Fam members at night and weekends.

With the extras Financial are well taken care off .... at 6K able to bring back 5k -> that's 15k in MYR

5k for housing and car , there's still 10k for monthly spending , insurance , savings ......

titarium
post Oct 9 2015, 01:55 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(beancountz @ Oct 9 2015, 10:33 AM)
I called up LTA customer service. They told me if the resident address in my EP is a Singapore address, I am considered a resident in Singapore and I can't drive a Malaysia car into Singapore. For my case, MOM did not even ask me what's my resident address, they automatically put my company's address (a singapore address) on my EP.

Is the LTA customer service telling me the right thing? Do the immigration check my EP address?
Resident address in SG means staying in SG lor so definitely will exceed 18 hours

Tourist : drive in for 30 days no problem as long you pay for the remaining 10 days .

EP/WP : Foreign car drive in and out daily ( 18 hours cap ).

EP/WP ( staying in SG ) : buy SG car else take public transport

PR / SGrian : only can drive SG car plate
titarium
post Oct 14 2015, 03:44 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 12:04 PM)
I dont mind HDB. But if HDB I prefer 1 bedroom HDB housing.

Anyways thanks for the clarification. I kinda know what to look for now.
The're no 1 Bedroom HDB for rent to public ( only valid for SG Old ppl and under certain income - such flat are subsidies by Gov )

Your budget 1 - 1.5k - rent master room can d , you want a studio prepare 2 - 3.5k

0.0570sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:53 PM