Maxis Connect to Maxis using Custom Router!, Guidelines

thamch
post Jul 26 2012, 06:27 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Jul 26 2012, 04:56 PM)
Guys, I have an Asus RT-N16 with Shibby's Tomato firmware but couldn't get it to work with the Huawei ONT (HG8240). I follow this settings:
The PPPoE connection remain in Connecting status....

Any clue?  icon_question.gif
Wiind, initially this setting works for me. But after I reset the NVRAM, it no longer work already.
erichhl
post Jul 26 2012, 09:27 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Jul 26 2012, 04:45 PM)
Erichhl,
My friend tried with his MicroTik(+Wifi) to Internet.  No problem.  But VoIP not working.  The setup is BTU<-->MicroTik+Wifi(Internet), LAN Port<-->Thomsom Router(WAN)<-->Phone1, no dialtone at all.
Do you have a guide on how to setup the MicroTik to have VoIP via Thomson router?
sorry bro, i don't have microtik router.
I just read what bro kurogane did on his setup & i think he can't use VOIP with microtik setup too... sad.gif

hush_1982
post Jul 26 2012, 10:52 PM

Hello all...

I have to admit i am not good with all this, but can anyone advise or guide me how to connect to maxis using my syslink router?

I saw TS's guide which is very in detail.. however my Huawei is HG850a. Thus, can i still follow TS's guide start from beginning?

Really appreciate if anyone out there can advise and help out? The current router is doing badly especially at my living room (downstairs).. maxis fibre was installed in my room (upstairs).. its a double-storey..

sad.gif
thamch
post Jul 26 2012, 10:59 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(hush_1982 @ Jul 26 2012, 10:52 PM)
Hello all...

I have to admit i am not good with all this, but can anyone advise or guide me how to connect to maxis using my syslink router?

I saw TS's guide which is very in detail.. however my Huawei is HG850a.  Thus, can i still follow TS's guide start from beginning?

Really appreciate if anyone out there can advise and help out? The current router is doing badly especially at my living room (downstairs).. maxis fibre was installed in my room (upstairs).. its a double-storey..

sad.gif
If you want easy, plug your syslink router WAN port to the Thomson LAN port.
Then set your Syslink router to DHCP instead of PPPoE.
hush_1982
post Jul 26 2012, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(thamch @ Jul 26 2012, 10:59 PM)
If you want easy, plug your syslink router WAN port to the Thomson LAN port.
Then set your Syslink router to DHCP instead of PPPoE.
Hi thamch...

Thanksss biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

that's it? i can just plug in my syslink router WAN port to Thomson LAN port.. then change PPoE to DHCP... then i will be able to use my syslink??

I'll try that.. but hmm just curious.. what's the different of doing this easy way and the way like TS did? just want to understand..

thamch
post Jul 26 2012, 11:43 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(hush_1982 @ Jul 26 2012, 11:15 PM)
Hi thamch...

Thanksss  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

that's it? i can just plug in my syslink router WAN port to Thomson LAN port.. then change PPoE to DHCP...    then i will be able to use my syslink??
I'll try that.. but hmm just curious.. what's the different of doing this easy way and the way like TS did? just want to understand..
TS wants to get rid of Thomson router.
kenjixx
post Jul 27 2012, 07:01 AM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(hush_1982 @ Jul 26 2012, 11:15 PM)
Hi thamch...

Thanksss   biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

that's it? i can just plug in my syslink router WAN port to Thomson LAN port.. then change PPoE to DHCP...    then i will be able to use my syslink??
you cannot follow thread starters way..There's no way for end user to access HG850a it was block with firewall
1.you dont have access to the modem like TS. So no you dont have an easy way
2.you can plug your linksys router to thomson router, but not doing pppoe just as a router. Thomson router will do the pppoe dialling.
3.If you linksys router capable of doing vlan tagging then there's a way for it to dial up the connection

This post has been edited by kenjixx: Jul 27 2012, 08:58 AM
wiind
post Jul 27 2012, 11:20 AM

219 posts

hmm, since we are not able to connect our router to the ONT directly, means the only way left is to connect it to the Thomson instead and set the WAN connection type to DHCP. The clients will then connect only to the custom router and routing/connection will be all handled in the custom router and forward only WAN packet to Thomson. I'm wondering whether we still benefit from better processing power in custom router by using this method hmm.gif Any thought?
erichhl
post Jul 27 2012, 11:29 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Jul 27 2012, 11:20 AM)
hmm, since we are not able to connect our router to the ONT directly, means the only way left is to connect it to the Thomson instead and set the WAN connection type to DHCP. The clients will then connect only to the custom router and routing/connection will be all handled in the custom router and forward only WAN packet to Thomson. I'm wondering whether we still benefit from better processing power in custom router by using this method  hmm.gif Any thought?
the only benefit is u get better wifi experience than using the wifi from the thomson router. Remember if you are doing this method please off the wifi function on the thomson router, just let your custom router to handle all the wifi function.
and i believe by doing this the thomson router will be litter bit more stable because less workload less heat.
kenjixx
post Jul 27 2012, 11:32 AM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Jul 27 2012, 11:29 AM)
the only benefit is u get better wifi experience than using the wifi from the thomson router. Remember if you are doing this method please off the wifi function on the thomson router, just let your custom router to handle all the wifi function.
and i believe by doing this the thomson router will be litter bit more stable because less workload less heat.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2441911
you can see from this thread that thomson router gives very bad latency hmm.gif
i seriously dun think that it is worth to do a connection like that icon_rolleyes.gif

wiind
post Jul 27 2012, 11:42 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Jul 27 2012, 11:29 AM)
QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 27 2012, 11:32 AM)
i seriously dun think that it is worth to do a connection like that  icon_rolleyes.gif
ok, perhaps the only benefit is really the better WiFi experience, until we can finally get rid of Thomson blush.gif
gogetter83
post Jul 28 2012, 03:30 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 27 2012, 11:32 AM)
i seriously dun think that it is worth to do a connection like that  icon_rolleyes.gif
that's not really accurate actually....a router may behave differently towards a traceroute and normal ping.

If you compare a normal ping to 192.168.1.254 and the results of a traceroute's first hop, you'll notice the difference. Do it over wired LAN of course

Traceroute's are blocked in some network (I think streamyx does that). Maybe Maxis might end up doing that some day.

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Jul 28 2012, 03:32 AM
kenjixx
post Jul 28 2012, 07:28 AM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Jul 28 2012, 03:30 AM)
that's not really accurate actually....a router may behave differently towards a traceroute and normal ping.

If you compare a normal ping to 192.168.1.254 and the results of a traceroute's first hop, you'll notice the difference. Do it over wired LAN of course

Traceroute's are blocked in some network (I think streamyx does that). Maybe Maxis might end up doing that some day.
my point is that the router have bad latency... not only trace route
ping is also higher than mine
angelic-x
post Jul 28 2012, 03:37 PM

Not a member
644 posts

Will TP-Link TL-WR1043ND & TL-WDR4300 work on maxis home fiber?
karhoe
post Jul 29 2012, 01:38 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Jul 27 2012, 11:20 AM)
hmm, since we are not able to connect our router to the ONT directly, means the only way left is to connect it to the Thomson instead and set the WAN connection type to DHCP. The clients will then connect only to the custom router and routing/connection will be all handled in the custom router and forward only WAN packet to Thomson. I'm wondering whether we still benefit from better processing power in custom router by using this method  hmm.gif Any thought?
Not advisable, Thompson will still be doing routing to custom router and custom router routes to the remaining pc
kenneth686
post Jul 30 2012, 05:36 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jul 13 2012, 01:15 PM)
Yeap
Hi, May i know how to set for the Vlan ID.
What is the VLan ID need to put?
Can show for your print Screen.

Thank You
angelic-x
post Jul 30 2012, 08:52 PM

Not a member
644 posts

Please help me,I'm stucked into this step..

ronnie
post Jul 31 2012, 12:22 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(angelic-x @ Jul 30 2012, 08:52 PM)
Please help me,I'm stucked into this step..
There's a hidden step not written in the post #1
You have to "remove" ptm1.621 first.
Then you add again as per screenshot.
Ahn3hn3h
post Jul 31 2012, 07:29 PM

82 posts

Guys, I'm trying to push TM to see if their allow their technicians to set up their BTU similar to what is displayed on page 1 to help those who wants their internet port on the BTU to connect your favourite routers to it upon request.

That is your choice if you want of leave it if you want things as it is.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2444049

If they insists of moving the ports let them get it set at port 1 but make sure that port binding is SET but tagging is NOT CHECKED.

I'm sure during the first time they caome and install those who wants this can ask for permission for it to be done?
sayboon
post Jul 31 2012, 11:38 PM

30 posts

Anyone using the TM's Fiberhome modem? Apparently that one you need to use a proprietary adapter to connect to it sad.gif

70 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:57 PM