Maxis Connect to Maxis using Custom Router!, Guidelines

gogetter83
post Jun 16 2012, 02:01 PM

32 posts

Nice! Of course it's possible...all you need is a router that you can configure VLAN tagging and p-bit marking....

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Jun 16 2012, 02:02 PM
gogetter83
post Jun 18 2012, 09:05 PM

32 posts

actually...regardless of modem or ONT, the basic principal is that your router is transmitting WAN traffic tagged with the correct vlans and p-bit, so kurogane's method will work regardless whether the setup used VDSL modem or fiber ONT as access.
gogetter83
post Jun 21 2012, 01:35 PM

32 posts

actually Huawei HG850a is ONT, the whole fiber thing is still proprietary. The provisioning (configuration and authorization) is done remotely by OLT, so most probably you won't be able to log in and configure it to your liking
gogetter83
post Jun 21 2012, 07:42 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(kurogane @ Jun 21 2012, 06:36 PM)
No. Unless you can configure the Huawei to dial in PPPoE for you.
Or the PC could dial the PPPoE
gogetter83
post Jun 28 2012, 09:28 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jun 28 2012, 11:21 AM)
Guys,

Can someone help to provide guide step by step on how to configure Alcatel Lucent BTU to output  VLAN 621 to port 2 and other VLAN (i.e VOIP) to other port

I have my own router with DD-WRT; however it doesnt really support VLAN tagging

Note Alcatel Lucent only works using command prompt; hence the guide in this page is not gonna work
All ONT's are proprietary ( for now) regardless Huawei or ALU. If you read up on how last mile fiber to the home works, you'll know that provisioning is done by the OLT remotely...so even if you can manually set it temporarily, most probably when you reboot, the setting will be overwritten.

gogetter83
post Jul 11 2012, 02:25 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(silveraider @ Jul 11 2012, 02:03 PM)
still try for the voip adapter, maybe my setting wrong so cannot call
What's your setting?... How much does the voip adapter cost?

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Jul 11 2012, 02:26 PM
gogetter83
post Jul 20 2012, 09:32 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jul 20 2012, 09:15 AM)
bro i don't think that is so cooling , see here .. smile.gif  and as you can see it sits deep in the cab but still i'm able to get the signal downstairs in my dining area...

Added on July 20, 2012, 9:21 am

Product Name:  TG784n

Software Release:  8.4.H.8
You're on maxis own fiber network? I see the ONT has maxis logo...
gogetter83
post Jul 28 2012, 03:30 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 27 2012, 11:32 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2441911
you can see from this thread that thomson router gives very bad latency hmm.gif
i seriously dun think that it is worth to do a connection like that  icon_rolleyes.gif
that's not really accurate actually....a router may behave differently towards a traceroute and normal ping.

If you compare a normal ping to 192.168.1.254 and the results of a traceroute's first hop, you'll notice the difference. Do it over wired LAN of course

Traceroute's are blocked in some network (I think streamyx does that). Maybe Maxis might end up doing that some day.

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Jul 28 2012, 03:32 AM
gogetter83
post Jan 21 2013, 01:58 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(axcel_1921 @ Jan 20 2013, 10:22 PM)
Hey guys i tried to port forward some ports following all the instructions to the letter, but it still doesnt work. If i change to a custom router will it work??? many people faced the same problem, as they cant seem to get their ports forwarded mayb a firmware problem.
private or public IP account?
gogetter83
post Feb 6 2013, 10:26 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Feb 6 2013, 09:48 AM)
wow! is it too bad?

my thomson on 24/7 with no aircond no fan just a default setup, running smooth without any problem related to router
mines stable too, but i guess everybody has their own definition of what's hot. Probably, these thomson routers generally run hotter than what most people are used too. But I don't think they'll catch fire, haven't heard such a thing happening to these thomson routers online, so must be still within their design expectation.
gogetter83
post Jun 22 2013, 08:29 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(hchoox @ Jun 22 2013, 06:12 AM)
Hello sifu out there,

If i use Maxis Fibre with custom router, will it solve the high ping rate/latency that i've been reading around at other thread? Please advice if anyone did a pingtest to other location.....thanks.
Nope, problem is not at last mile, but international routing
gogetter83
post Dec 13 2013, 10:48 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(shangyi @ Dec 13 2013, 09:57 PM)
Hi guys, can you help me with a problem? I have a Tp link wr1043ND and I want to use it as an AP but not replace the Thomson router. Disabled dhcp and set ip address to be in the same network as the Thomson one.  I am able to get internet but my TV doesn't work anymore.
I noticed that under iptv the multicast is shown as cross:

if I disconnect the tp link router from the LAN port it turns back to a check and my tv is working fine.

How do I fix this issue?  rclxub.gif  your help would be gladly appreciated!  thanks!
Be careful to use routers as APs unless they have a configuration mode specifically to set it as bridge/AP. Doesn't matter if you disable DHCP server, routers have other features that can conflict with another router.
My suggestion, connect the WAN port of your TP-Link to the Maxis router. Then run the quick setup on TP-Link and select "Dynamic IP". Connect to the Wi-Fi of your TP-Link for use.

0.0421sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:38 PM