Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 20 2012, 07:04 AM

4,135 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Dec 19 2012, 05:59 PM)
I believe 3+2 is for early birds like me, even have to top-up to get it. Haha. So unfortunate of me, this is what I get by purchasing their flagship model at launch. Tsk tsk tsk
mind sharing how much you have to top up. I always wonder what is the value/ cost the +2 subsequent years worth... When you say flagship does that mean 308?

If there is any consolation, I too envy those newbies who get 408 with 1st year insurance and road tax FOC! So cheer up bro
Pogostik
post Dec 20 2012, 10:24 AM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 20 2012, 07:04 AM)
mind sharing how much you have to top up. I always wonder what is the value/ cost the +2 subsequent years worth... When you say flagship does that mean 308?

If there is any consolation, I too envy those newbies who get 408 with 1st year insurance and road tax FOC! So cheer up bro
He means 508.
Kanasai79
post Dec 20 2012, 11:52 AM

28 posts

Cheers.

2L NA:
1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue
7. GenY@MY - black
8. Zumaidi - aster grey
9. Matsukatsu - aster grey
10. EnergyAnalyst - silver
11. ATEC - aster grey
12. ahui - aster grey
13. Pugbunny - Bourrasque Blue
14. genojk - black
15. kanasai79 - Silver

Turbo:
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
21. cityofdevils - Aster grey
22. Skysiow - blue
23. pakwong - white
24. Puggie - Aster grey
25. Anfieldrock - White
26. baha5699 - Black
27. azmirMD - White
28. samchia - White
29.RON408 - Aster grey
30. kanasai79 - Aster grey

jfcheong
post Dec 20 2012, 11:56 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Dec 20 2012, 11:52 AM)
Cheers.

2L NA:
1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue
7. GenY@MY - black
8. Zumaidi - aster grey
11. ATEC - aster grey
12. ahui - aster grey
14. genojk - black
15. kanasai79 - Silver

Turbo:
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
22. Skysiow - blue
23. pakwong - white
24. Puggie - Aster grey
25. Anfieldrock - White
26. baha5699 - Black
27. azmirMD - White
28. samchia - White
29.RON408 - Aster grey
Haha...finally, a owner of both T and NA!!!
sleepy
post Dec 20 2012, 12:59 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 20 2012, 07:04 AM)

Like what pogostik said, it's 508. Err, they wanted something around 1300 bucks. But then looking at the competency of nasim's workshops, I didnt pickup this "opportunity". I rather get my car fixed in specialist shops that knows what they're doing instead of randomly pointing at all possible faults.
jfcheong
post Dec 20 2012, 01:04 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Dec 20 2012, 12:59 PM)
Like what pogostik said, it's 508. Err, they wanted something around 1300 bucks. But then looking at the competency of nasim's workshops, I didnt pickup this "opportunity". I rather get my car fixed in specialist shops that knows what they're doing instead of randomly pointing at all possible faults.
Talking about specialist workshop. Anyone know any workshop in JB familiar with Lion? At least I know other options other than SC just in case. .
zumaidi
post Dec 21 2012, 11:10 PM

86 posts

Already become 2nd hand ? 99k only at mudah.com.my

SKYjack
post Dec 22 2012, 09:30 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(zumaidi @ Dec 21 2012, 11:10 PM)
Already become 2nd hand ? 99k only at mudah.com.my
This is an NA, depreciation here is 10K. This is fair price if anyone wants to sell his car the 1st year.In this particular case I think it's a repossessed car.Lots of youngsters live beyond their means these days. They often fall prey to easy finance. After a couple of months when things don't tieup,reality hits them.

Finance Co. only wants to recover it's investment. You could probably knock another 1K off the price. All depends how much of the loan the owner has paid. I'd be very keen on this car if I was in the market for a car!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Dec 22 2012, 09:38 AM
Bliz
post Dec 22 2012, 09:34 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 19 2012, 03:03 PM)
Really? I stand corrected then . thanks for pointing it out. But err why limit to 200k km ? SD also limit its 5 year warranty /capped at 300k km for Hyundai when Naza gives 5 year unlimited for both peugeot and Kia? anyway Competition is good!!!!!
Competition is always good, now only the Jap doesnt offer 5 years warranty (Except for civic and city i think ), nowadays u dont really see that much Jap car on the road compared to 10 years ago.. Abundance of Ford/Peugeot/Kia/Hyundai/VW thumbup.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 22 2012, 10:25 AM

4,135 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Dec 22 2012, 09:34 AM)
Competition is always good, now only the Jap doesnt offer 5 years warranty (Except for civic and city i think ), nowadays u dont really see that much Jap car on the road compared to 10 years ago.. Abundance of Ford/Peugeot/Kia/Hyundai/VW  thumbup.gif
Hahaha if Honda can give 5 year unlimited mileage that will only makes Ford, hyundai both by Sime Darby looks silliy and gimmicky with their km limits.

Personally I have more confidence with conti CKD cars assembled in Msia then those assembled in Thailand. I think my Peugeot SA was right when he said the steel thickness is thinner for Thai-assembled ford focus. VW also show this solid body steel thickness. I recall I can't sense the solid door and body-feel for all japs and Koreans brands.

Ford focus also look very gimmicky to me, the Dashboard, with all the techy stuff. I asked the ford SA, wouldn't those features strain the battery faster like smartphones ? No confirmation was given.

408 is a really solid piece of body work, may be that is why the curb weight is heavier.
zweimmk
post Dec 22 2012, 10:38 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 22 2012, 10:25 AM)
Hahaha if Honda can give 5 year unlimited mileage that will only makes Ford, hyundai both by Sime Darby looks silliy and gimmicky with their km limits.

Personally I have more confidence with conti CKD cars assembled in Msia then those assembled in Thailand. I think my Peugeot SA was right when he said the steel thickness is thinner for Thai-assembled ford focus. VW also show this solid body steel thickness. I recall I can't sense the solid door and body-feel for all japs and Koreans brands.

Ford focus also look very gimmicky to me, the Dashboard, with all the techy stuff. I  asked the ford SA, wouldn't those features strain the battery faster like smartphones  ? No confirmation was given.

408 is a really solid piece of body work, may be that is why the curb weight is heavier.
Oh I don't think they (Ford) would compromise on safety just to save a few bucks. It's not necessary to use thicker steel if they use better strength steel hence the thinness, and if it is indeed thinner.

And whether gimmicky or not, all these features was already present in the Mercedes Benz S class almost 10 years back so it's not new, it's just something that will eventually make way into all our future cars when it becomes viably cheap enough, lol!
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 22 2012, 12:16 PM

4,135 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 22 2012, 10:38 AM)
Oh I don't think they (Ford) would compromise on safety just to save a few bucks. It's not necessary to use thicker steel if they use better strength steel hence the thinness, and if it is indeed thinner.

And whether gimmicky or not, all these features was already present in the Mercedes Benz S class almost 10 years back so it's not new, it's just something that will eventually make way into all our future cars when it becomes viably cheap enough, lol!
I was not implying ford does that to save bucks. With USD rate falling, it is not much to save anyway. What I am saying is I think it is the local sourcing that translate into quality and reliability. I am patriotic when it comes to local sourcing... Hence I said it as my personal preference. Body is one, quality of material is another, and the level of workmanships. Thai can produce thing may be cheaper but quality? You can draw your own conclusion.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Dec 22 2012, 01:08 PM
zweimmk
post Dec 22 2012, 01:12 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 22 2012, 12:16 PM)
I was not implying ford does that to save bucks. With USD rate falling, it is not much to save anyway. What I am saying is I think it is the local sourcing that translate into quality and reliability. I am patriotic when it comes to local sourcing... Hence I said it as my personal preference. Body is one, quality of material is another, Thai can produce thing may be cheaper but quality? You can draw your own conclusion.
While it is good to be patriotic, your statement carries both strong bias and unfairness towards the Thais, even if it isn't done on purpose, there's a very strong implication of it as well. They have a much bigger and more robust automotive market over there than here, so what makes you think they aren't able to produce a product that is as quality as the once made here but cheaper?

The Japanese having been producing quality cars in Thailand for so many years and it's also has to do with government business policies, scale of production and how much money they are willing to pump in to get the kind of quality that's expected. It's just like saying just because a product is made in China, it cannot be of any quality tongue.gif

They can always get a better deal in obtaining quality raw materials if they have the volume, it has always been that way and unlike semi-conductor, microchips assembly or biotechnology, car assembly is not a high tech field and does not require highly skilled workers so this isn't a problem for them. They can always maintain quality by adding more checks along the production line. It is the same with their local sourcing partners, they have to meet their quality standards or it will get rejected.

Btw, if Thai's can't produce the kind of quality as you have said, then our business man would not have setup his factories over there.
http://www.cbt.com.my/2012/09/29/rejected-...ss-in-thailand/

EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 22 2012, 02:38 PM

4,135 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 22 2012, 01:12 PM)
While it is good to be patriotic, your statement carries both strong bias and unfairness towards the Thais, even if it isn't done on purpose, there's a very strong implication of it as well. They have a much bigger and more robust automotive market over there than here, so what makes you think they aren't able to produce a product that is as quality as the once made here but cheaper?

The Japanese having been producing quality cars in Thailand for so many years and it's also has to do with government business policies, scale of production and how much money they are willing to pump in to get the kind of quality that's expected. It's just like saying just because a product is made in China, it cannot be of any quality tongue.gif

They can always get a better deal in obtaining quality raw materials if they have the volume, it has always been that way and unlike semi-conductor, microchips assembly or biotechnology, car assembly is not a high tech field and does not require highly skilled workers so this isn't a problem for them. They can always maintain quality by adding more checks along the production line. It is the same with their local sourcing partners, they have to meet their quality standards or it will get rejected.

Btw, if Thai's can't produce the kind of quality as you have said, then our business man would not have setup his factories over there.
http://www.cbt.com.my/2012/09/29/rejected-...ss-in-thailand/
I am not sure what background and experience you have when it comes to doing biz and working with Thai people from a regional perspective... I unfortunately have the privillege with Thai people almost on a day to day basis. I am not a blind patriot. My patriotism is have been working with my THAI counterparts... All I am telling you is that at any given day, I would rather not having any thing to do with them, they are great friends and pals but not necessary Good pal and frend make good biz associates. Again, we are all creature of our experience. And the last I checked, we can still make statement about our preference, so before u judged and labelled me bias, perhaps what I have spoken is the only the truth from my Experience or if you prefer or as how i see it. i don't ask any one to subscribe to what i believe and I don't advocate hatred towards our neighbour. But when it comes to spending my hard earned dough.., all I have done here is merely stating my preference and the reason behind my choice. So i welcome your disagreement and ask you to make your own conclusion.. And about Thailand greatness as Detroit of the east ... Well, they don't have national car to protect , do they?

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Dec 22 2012, 03:15 PM
RON408
post Dec 22 2012, 07:40 PM

[quote=EnergyAnalyst,Dec 19 2012, 05:37 PM]

Added on December 19, 2012, 5:41 pm

Hi there,
Thanks for the advice.

My bulb (RHS) burnt on the same day I collect my car. Just realized it on that night. Ask my SA and she told me the SC will replace it for free. I don't know wether it's covered under warranty or not.

[/quote]

If they charged u for the light bulb for 1st 2500 km inspection. Then tear down their 5 year warranty claim banner before u pay them. Some folks here have their battery change FOC because it is unnaturally to have light bulb burnt so fast and battery so per-maturely burnt out

[/quote]

Just sharing my 1st 2500km inspection checklist:

(1) bulb (RHS) replaced amounted RM6.20. sad.gif
(2) rattle sound came from left passengers - discovered screw for sun visor was slightly un tighten. (No rattle sound anymore). smile.gif
(3) ask for checking battery condition - was checked n in good condition. smile.gif
(4) scratching sound when applied break pedal (break pad) - still exist. sad.gif

Check-in at 10.30am n finish at 1pm. Balakong SC

Cheers.

This post has been edited by RON408: Dec 22 2012, 07:42 PM
azbro
post Dec 22 2012, 08:38 PM

4,403 posts

[quote=RON408,Dec 22 2012, 07:40 PM]
If they charged u for the light bulb for 1st 2500 km inspection. Then tear down their 5 year warranty claim banner before u pay them. Some folks here have their battery change FOC because it is unnaturally to have light bulb burnt so fast and battery so per-maturely burnt out

[/quote]

Just sharing my 1st 2500km inspection checklist:

(1) bulb (RHS) replaced amounted RM6.20. sad.gif
(2) rattle sound came from left passengers - discovered screw for sun visor was slightly un tighten. (No rattle sound anymore). smile.gif
(3) ask for checking battery condition - was checked n in good condition. smile.gif
(4) scratching sound when applied break pedal (break pad) - still exist. sad.gif

Check-in at 10.30am n finish at 1pm. Balakong SC

Cheers.

[/quote]

My 308 battery was also all good...that's until after 10K KM...then all hell broke loose, I've used the car for 10 months...3rd battery oledi...lucky its still free

The scratching sound will go away...i'm sure..dun worry

This post has been edited by azbro: Dec 22 2012, 08:38 PM
sivananthan
post Dec 24 2012, 01:46 AM

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Dec 20 2012, 11:52 AM)
Cheers.

2L NA:
1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue
7. GenY@MY - black
8. Zumaidi - aster grey
11. ATEC - aster grey
12. ahui - aster grey
14. genojk - black
15. kanasai79 - Silver

Turbo:
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
22. Skysiow - blue
23. pakwong - white
24. Puggie - Aster grey
25. Anfieldrock - White
26. baha5699 - Black
27. azmirMD - White
28. samchia - White
29.RON408 - Aster grey
31. Siva - blue

Added on December 24, 2012, 1:55 am
QUOTE(sivananthan @ Dec 24 2012, 01:46 AM)

Congrats to me....I got my car on Friday. Added my name in the list already.
Meanwhile I will list down my observation of any abnormalities on my new car soon in this forum. So far the SA have very been supportive in sense of fulfilling my demands earlier by providing all . Also he is showing his concern since these 2 days by calling me and finding out if the car is having issues or not since 1st day. Bravo to him for his service. I have mention to him already the observations and he asked me to come to centre tomorrow to check

This post has been edited by sivananthan: Dec 24 2012, 01:55 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 24 2012, 08:16 AM

4,135 posts

Interesting crash test result in USA
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=20&t=2636057
lunchtime
post Dec 24 2012, 09:16 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 24 2012, 08:16 AM)
Interesting crash test result in USA
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=20&t=2636057
where is the 408t crash result?
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 24 2012, 09:21 AM

4,135 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 24 2012, 09:16 AM)
where is the 408t crash result?
U won't find it here or in any euro ncap result as 408 is NOT sold in both region.

If u want to see one, I can only see one Brazilian low speed crash test (not the same thing) it is in YouTube

130 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:51 AM