4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

zweimmk
post Sep 13 2012, 06:50 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Sep 13 2012, 05:49 PM)
just a reminder for you....
changing the rim / tyre size will void warranty if any claims regarding accident...
unless approval from peugeot.
icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Want to scared then don't mod, want to mod then don't scared, a good advise I read on the VW forums. Since Jessy change her rims then means she not scared la haha.
zweimmk
post Sep 14 2012, 06:31 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Sep 13 2012, 07:23 PM)
true also. If really *touch wood* accident and void warranty then what my insurance for??
Mod rims kill warranty for whole car? If they do that, it's going to be a huge PR nightmare for Nasim Peugeot.

Do already then don't think too much into it.
zweimmk
post Sep 22 2012, 09:46 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 22 2012, 08:30 AM)
Yes they are really improving. If u can wait for the 2014 models, u might be able to taste the world's first 10 speed gearbox on Hyundai cars.  drool.gif

But if u want something current, then go for the upcoming Kia K9 with 8 speed gearbox and many other top class features.  biggrin.gif
The K9 won't be cheap I bet. It really has to be something very special if they expect the Malaysia public to pay over 170k or more for a Korean car. Definitely not going to be a volume pusher.
zweimmk
post Sep 22 2012, 06:02 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 22 2012, 11:17 AM)
Yes la. Engine can't match for sure la. NA engine cant compare with a Turbo. But specs, interior space and exterior design wise, the Forte 2.0L is quite a match for a 29K cheaper price tag.

With the 408T priced at 125,888, i would top up 18K and go for the Optima. But that's just me i guess.
It's never ending one la. After I top up 18k for the Optima, why not I top up XXk for the Peugeot 508 instead then? But why stop there? Why not top up another XXk more for a Mondeo and then another XXk more for the Audi A4 and another XXk more for the 5 series and so on and so forth.

At the end of the day, regardless of how value for money the forte is, you just can't argue against individual preferences.

Added on September 22, 2012, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 22 2012, 11:23 AM)
The K9 is a 3.8L V6 GDI with 334HP & 395Nm torque. Has a length of 5090mm and wheelbase of 3045mm. Plus comes fully laden with features like 8 speed gearbox using shift by wire tech, Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot Detection, Surround View with 4 cameras, Adaptive smart cruise control, advanced vehicle safety management system, adaptive LED headlights, 12.3 inch LCD display and 17 speaker Lexicon Harman sound system. It surely wont be less than 220K.
Still a tough sell IMO, apart from size and engine power - people who are able to spend over 200k on a car will first and foremost either take brand power into consideration or is looking at a performance perspective, at least for me - it would be the case. Feature wise, a lot of what you mentioned are already found in entry level luxury cars so it's not so big of a deal if it lacks like 2 cameras or has a smaller LCD display or doesn't come with branded sound system.

However, if I was an American, the K9 would definitely be seen as a great buy for the asking price and the premium level of comfort and features offered.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Sep 22 2012, 06:08 PM
zweimmk
post Sep 23 2012, 10:13 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Sep 22 2012, 11:51 PM)
So far I'm very satisfied with my ride as in C segment. Do more homework and survey. If want to buy,dont complaint. Want complaint, take taxi.
Wrong attitude. You don't complain, how you get better cars in the future? Always exercise your consumer right to complain about the things you don't like about your car then Peugeot can improve their future models brows.gif
zweimmk
post Sep 24 2012, 11:50 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Sep 24 2012, 11:00 AM)
Maybe you didnt see my previous post. Nvm, that's my attitude. Take it or leave it.
I saw your previous post, it was posted way after my post which I don't understand why you are addressing this to me now? LOL

At the end of the day, it's your car and if it has problem and you don't want to make noise then good for you la for being the tahan queen! brows.gif
zweimmk
post Sep 24 2012, 06:46 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 24 2012, 04:15 PM)
You want to see improvements in a product,there are proper channels to lodge a complaint. Not come here and get on every body's butt about it. By this action,your message has not reached the proper place except a pain on ppl butt!

1st of all, must own the car to make the complaint. Not a owner but just want to   make noise cos frustrated! What twisted logic is that everyone here must get on that sick boat too!
No I disagree. You can complain proper channels and you should also complain on forums. If they are smart, they will monitor the major motoring forums in Malaysia in regards to feedback. It's customer's service job to figure out what people dislike about their cars aside from just going through the proper channels, why do you think they have focus groups as well asking about what people like or dislike about their latest product launches? Not everyone will express what they feel face to face, but online anonymity can at least guarantee what owners have to say about their car both with and without bias.
zweimmk
post Sep 26 2012, 07:14 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Sep 25 2012, 09:20 PM)
Another thing worth mentioning is, this car is really not meant for our tropical weather here. Everytime I leave the car under the hot sun for a long time, when I get back to my car and start it up, can here some minor creaks on the piano black inserts on the dashboard as well as the aluminium trim on the aircond vents. But once the cabin is cooled down, no more funny noises.
It seems like all Continentals also got this kind of problem. Tinting your car will definitely reduce this problem, the faster the car cabin cools down, the quicker the sounds disappear.
zweimmk
post Sep 26 2012, 01:00 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Sep 26 2012, 12:41 PM)
Lately i accompany my fren test try some cars like VW's polo sedan, jetta, passat, Peugeot's 408T and Hyundai's Elantra.

My findings so far (for C segment cat): -

Jetta - nice car with TSI engine, not much fancy gadgets while focus more on build quality, expensive.
Elantra - more gadgets, big, futuristic body design, good price range but not so good in terms of ride and sound proofing.
408T - nice handling, amazed by its turbo engine + sport mode, spacious, up to date technology, competitive price. personally i think it's better if the rear part of the car could be more 'aggresive look'.

apparently, both of us fall in love with 408T  drool.gif

We din try honda & toyota, perhaps feel bored with those japs car already  biggrin.gif
The Jetta engine has the same engine as the Golf TSI. It's a twincharged 1.4 TSI engine that is both turbocharged and supercharged at the same time. It does 0 to 100 just 0.1s shy of a full second faster than the 1.6L prince turbocharged engine found in the 408T. The smaller engine means it will also be more frugal with FC and the 7 speed DSG is pretty good too (if it doesn't suffer the infamous mechatronic failure). If the price wasn't so expensive for the frugal equipment offered - this car will easily be one of the top sellers in the C-segment. IMO, I think VW screwed up the Jetta pricing :/
zweimmk
post Sep 26 2012, 02:22 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 26 2012, 01:38 PM)
Yes i agree. RM 156K (OTR with insurance) seems a bit steep for the 1.4 TSI Jetta. A price tag <150K would be more appropriate. I also find the overall design of the Jetta slightly better than the Passat. No offence to you bro.  icon_rolleyes.gif
None taken, beauty really is in the eye of the beholder. One man's meat is another man's poison as they say.

zweimmk
post Sep 26 2012, 08:44 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 26 2012, 07:16 PM)
Booklyn M has to step up it's game if it wants to make a mark with Citroen in Malaysia. Customer support and properly trained service staff are so important for the survival of this make. In the past attempts have been rather feeble. I'd like to see this make become a serious player in Malaysia. DS5 is a sweet babe,certainly my choice in the D segment. Love the 2 litre turbo diesel!
Naza taking over Citroen already, Peugeot plans to consolidate their dealerships and Brooklyn motors is the casualty. Apparently, it's going to happen at the end of the year.
zweimmk
post Oct 4 2012, 11:06 AM

512 posts

Yes, the price should be between about 20cents more than the standard V power 97. So the price should be around RM3.10 to RM3.30

Frankly, I believe turbocharged cars will have some gains with higher octane fuels but I doubt it will be worth paying so much more for 0.x second faster in acceleration. If you can do 0 to 100 in 9.8s, then maybe with such fuels, your gain will be 9.6 or 9.7s. There's no way just using better fuels will give you a full 1s increase in performance.
zweimmk
post Oct 9 2012, 10:42 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 9 2012, 10:11 AM)
This will be a very interesting case to see how Peugeot handles the situation. There in lies the value of the 5 year warranty.
There is no provision in the S & P for a replacement unit upon return within a specific period of time. The manufacturer is obliged by warranty to repair/replace defective parts as the case may be. The owner however may claim compensation for the period of loss usage.
Let's be fair though, 3 weeks and no response or solution is still really quite bad. At the very least, if his SA offered him a courtesy car, it would have at least generated less ill will. I really pity the owner, no one wants to get a lemon and it's quite unfortunate he's been hit with one.
zweimmk
post Oct 9 2012, 12:23 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 9 2012, 11:57 AM)
Maybe demand driven?  hmm.gif
I believe the market is starting to mature and demand for better car products and not the just the rubbish spewed for ASEAN countries from companies like Toyota. Peugeot cars aren't bad looking in the first place and the features given are also world class, the icing on the cake comes with the excellent pricing that undercuts their Japanese rivals. It's not surprisingly that they have a large number of likes when you put all these factors in together.

Even Honda is waking up to give better safety features and product warranty shows that they know the competition is here to stay. 12 years ago, the thought of buying a Hyundai was madness to begin with, but look at how the situation has changed.

On a more serious note though, I'm really not liking how Nasim Peugeot is handling the situation with an unhappy customer - certainly deleting his comments off their facebook page is totally unprofessional and unethical. It's exactly this sort of service that people steer clear away from Peugeot.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Oct 9 2012, 12:29 PM
zweimmk
post Oct 10 2012, 07:59 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Oct 10 2012, 12:47 AM)
No problem, just be peace of mind. 5 year warranty is good enough la. Car are mean like tear and wear. Its sure breakdown 1 day. Just hope that wont breakdown during rainy days only. haha..
All of us who buy continentals (regardless of whatever marque) will surely think the same way. 5 year warranty is good, what's there not to like? Anything go wrong within the warranty period, just claim warranty only, no worries there!

But when breakdown occurs then:

1. Hope you're not stuck on some ulu place in the middle of the night with either your parents or a screaming baby
2. How long will it take for help to arrive?
3. Can repairs be carried out in a reasonable time frame? Reasonable time frame to you and to the manufacturer are usually very differing numbers wink.gif
4. Will they offer a courtesy car?
5. Is there a provision to claim loss of use?

At the end of the day, there are many things that they don't specifically state in the warranty terms so it's still good to have a toll truck number kept in your hand phone just as a precautionary measure. Since there aren't any lemon laws here in Malaysia (unlike Singapore), consumers usually have to suck it up when something bad happens.

So yeah, 5 year warranty is good, but I would surely rather go by these 5 years without needing to even claim warranty just to avoid the hassle in the first place.
zweimmk
post Oct 10 2012, 10:25 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 10 2012, 09:56 AM)
Any car that beaks down in the middle of no where, will be a problem to owner. The advantage with Peugeot is the immediate tow service. This is a big peace of mind for me! So with this car, more happy la bro! biggrin.gif
Sure and if they tell you it will take about 3 hours to arrive as compared to a towing service that you know who can do it in 1 hour, would you still want to use Peugeot's towing service? As evidenced by the FB 508 owner, I think it's a good idea and good practice to have a handy backup number just in case your big peace of mind decides to act up that day.

zweimmk
post Oct 11 2012, 11:02 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 11 2012, 10:39 AM)
Lets be factual. I do not know the details of what happened with Kwan (508 owner) However I do know a Peugeot owner who called for assistance at NS hwy, got his car towed in 20 mins of his call. This incident is quoted at Autoworld forum, not something fabricated!
Peugeot has out sourced this facility. Any private contractor will come as soon as he can cos it's money for him!
Right, but does it hurt to have a backup number as well? It's not a big deal to have an extra roadside assistance number (eg. AAA) on hand to call just in case your primary helpline number goes haywire or something. No need to get so defensive.
zweimmk
post Oct 16 2012, 11:06 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 16 2012, 09:09 AM)
Tks for your input bro. Always good to hear from owners who are factual based on real experience!
Here's some factual experience for you

1. As a co-owner of the new FB Civic 9th gen, the 5 speeder is by far the smoothest I've driven so far. It doesn't jerk or drag and the car never feels slow despite it being having only an NA engine. Acceleration is nicely linear and robust, this is a very nice car to drive if you don't mind the loud road and wind noise that kicks in once you hit 120km/hr and beyond.

2. Every once in awhile, I'll drive my relative's Audi Q5. The 7 speed S-tronic (DSG) is silky smooth when I drove it. But I've been told during the 1st few months of ownership, the car also jerky at low speeds. However, these days the car has much less incidence of jerkiness at low speeds because it has since adopted to the driving style of the owner. He has never complained the car feeling draggy at low speeds.

3. My own Passat - This car is noticeably more draggy and jerky at low speeds, particularly on 2nd gear when it appears more frequently during the 1st 2 months. I've owned my car for nearly 4 months now and the incidence has reduced although it is still appears every now and then especially in start stop traffic. Like the Q5, I believe the onboard computer is learning and adjusting to the owner style of driving and likely such incidence will reduce as time goes by.

4. The family Polo Tsi which my parents drive (owned for slightly over 2 years) - This car too comes with a 7 speed DSG like the Passat but unlike the Passat, I have not noticed any drag or jerk at low speeds whatsoever. And I drive this car when I just want to go out for a quick errand especially in places where there are lots of cars and parking can become a problem. The only thing I hate about this car is how it will roll back/forward on an incline because there isn't a hill assist/hold mode.

5. My old Corolla Altis 2008 current gen pre-facelift - Like the FB Civic, the gearbox on this car is fairly smooth but since it is only a 4 speeder, accelerating from the 40km/hr mark is a little slow. It's a competent car but when you need speed, the rev counter will jump to 4k and up which isn't that nice since the engine roar is louder at high revs.

Btw, the jerky and drag on the DSG is something you will notice at low speeds. In my experience, it most appears during start stop traffic but surely not something that is difficult to adjust or ruin the whole driving experience. The jerk only happens for a second or so while the drag is something that can go on until you can accelerate faster. There are no loud engine noises or vibrations just in case anyone is wondering.

The FB Civic gear change is definitely the smoothest overall but I'd still prefer my 7 speed DSG anytime because nothing beats the feeling turbo torque and the quick shifts of the DSG to bring in that power.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Oct 16 2012, 11:08 AM
zweimmk
post Oct 16 2012, 03:05 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Bearheart @ Oct 16 2012, 03:00 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience, man! Ok, that settles it. My next car will be a Q5. ;-)

Hmmm... Seems that I should drive for a couple of months more before complaining. Have just driven 1.5k km. :-P
Q5 has a different DSG gearbox compared to the regular Passat/Golf/Polo. It's a wet clutch but it too suffers from mechatronic failure although it is very much less common. The newer FL models are all using 8 speed AT (Tiptronic), DSG is not longer offered as a standard.
zweimmk
post Oct 17 2012, 11:33 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 16 2012, 05:19 PM)
Tq ,
You have cleared doubts on issues pertaining to DSG gearbox and koniglee on Fords dual clutch, once and for all! I appreciate this!
To clarify:

The DSG gearbox behavior responds to how you put your foot to the accelerator. More specifically, it senses when you lift your foot off the pedal or ease off the accelerator and that's when the gear shift occurs. In my case, my gear changes will always usually occur under 2000RPM, if the speed is fast enough to go to a higher gear then it will switch when I ease off the accelerator. If I were to find fault with the DSG, it's definitely in start stop traffic, at slow speeds, the 2nd gear always feel draggy especially when i ease off the accelerator, you can feel the car slowing down because of the gearing. Other than this, it just works and feels great.

I don't know how the powershift in a Ford functions because koniglee make it sound like a nightmare to work with but I assume the 6 speeder in the 408 should function like the typical automatic should, gear change once a certain RPM and certain speed has been reached. If it's adaptive, then it should function similar to how the DSG in my vehicle works.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:34 PM