Nice specs...but must wait for the price...
Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D
May 16 2012, 10:57 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Nice specs...but must wait for the price...
May 16 2012, 06:08 PM
May 18 2012, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(sleepy @ May 18 2012, 10:36 AM) Still no indication on the pricing yet. But rumor has it, it's around 130k. I did find things funny though in the brochure. Combined fuel consumption is 8.2L/100km vs 7.1L/100km on the 508. Same engine, same gearbox, weights similar to the 508, but higher FC. 508's FC has been over-exaggerated I guess. My 308T worst..Too bad the 2.0L model is still running on dinosaur 4-speeder gearbox, else it'd be a better choice in terms of reliability Actually, driving below 50km/h start stop is the worst, you might think you are saving fuel going slow but actually you are not. |
May 22 2012, 12:00 AM
err...sorry to say...for me 407 looks better anytime
May 22 2012, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(LLH @ May 22 2012, 03:38 PM) I see, but i thought i saw a sticker written AL4 sticked on the gear knob when i went to see the car Difference between the 4AT and the 6AT is 4AT is super cheap to maintain but crude, 6AT cost 10X more to maintain but have more gears to play with and is much smoother.This post has been edited by azbro: May 22 2012, 06:51 PM |
May 22 2012, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(ferrari38 @ May 22 2012, 08:24 PM) Did a test drive just now. You can actually floor it more for immediate Turbo...seems like the accelerator is two steps type. Try it...but make sure the road is clear. Tested the turbo version,it was powerful and impressive with the NVH Comfort wise so so...becoz of the sportier suspension setup,but I m ok with it Overall is a valuable choice. Wondering the cost of maintenance is anyone know roughly how much it is? |
May 23 2012, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 22 2012, 09:40 PM) I am interested in getting the car (turbo) and before test drive, maybe I can help to test out certain features or issues not detected previously. Since you are the first to test drive, do you mind sharing where you test drive the car, distance of test drive and when you mean comfort wise so so, can you elaborate a little bit on the statement? I don't much feel good about the conti handling....where got conti handling these days? You drive 200+km/h on Malaysia roads with bumps seems like not worth the effort to make a car so fast.I like the front more than the back, but I am not looking for sporty design, else I would have selected elantra already. But, looking at 163hp and maximum torque is 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm...I bet the pick-up at traffic light is fantastic and would beat all C-segment drive. Further more top speed at 215 is no slow couch either and even on par with some D-segment drive. Might not win on the best spec and cabin design, but sure the hell beats all the Jap cars. Furthermore, conti drive and handling wor, at RM126K, fuh yoh... Now just wanting for someone to convince me on the reliability of the engine and after sales service... Since I'm driving 308T I can tell you it beats almost all C segment you will find on the road...and most ppl after getting smoked seeing the Turbo badge will bow down to it...except if you encounter a Turbo Kancil..hehe..that one becareful. Yes. can go 215km/h but not as easy as flooring the pedal. If you wanna know, there are many cases it can go only until 170km/h...this is because you always drive slow in traffic jam and very seldom do highway driving...so the car will adapt to it. Some extreme cases you need to reset back the adaptive gearbox and hentam kaw - kaw then only can get 215km/h. But seriously...215Km/h is really too fast for Malaysian highways for a standard car. Lorry, bus and slow moving cars always suddenly change lanes and travelling so fast, you will not have time to react. Even when travelling very fast on the back lanes, going up and down hill also you need to slow down because not sure on the road ahead. The cabin is very nice..pictures don't do justice to it...so far no owner of the 308 have even negative comment of the dash... |
May 23 2012, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(ckwong111 @ May 23 2012, 10:58 AM) Bro, thank you for your comment. This is my 1st time considering buying Peugeot car. Have never driven one, only see on the road. But price vs performance, I believe 408 offer the best. As for conti driving, only see from forum users many give good comments on conti cars handling, true or not, dunno yet. 408T good for 150km/h~170km/h cruising. I think for NKVE thats fast enough.As for highway driving, I use the MEX highway for daily driving from home to work (2-way), and I occasionally travel to North and South via NSE, traveling alone mostly, means to stay awake, I like to drive fast. Manage to borrow company's 323i recently and travel to North doing between 140km/h to 200km/h, great feeling, so alive! But, if one value their live and wants to drive fast, consideration like ESP, EBD, BA, etc. and 6 airbags can be a lifesaver. All presence on the 408T. Driving in KL, you be lucky to be able to do 110km/hr (constantly) in the city center, and as I work nearby KLCC area, I fully agreed with your point. I assume you are driving a Peugeot You see, I am driving a current gen CRV (before facelift) and looking for something more powerful to trade car with the HM CRV is a good family car, but performance, road handling (esp. body roll) and NVH to me just ... sucks! Anyone can share 308T FC? Since I believe 408T sharing the same engine, might give good indication of the FC. China market 408 says 8.2L/100km...dunno how true? My current FC on CRV with 50%/50% city/hw works out to about 10.1L/100km...(I am heavy footed) My 308T is about 8~9km/l (11~12l/100km)...I drive in the worst place...most of the time below 50km/h in jam In that situation, its even worst than having a heavy foot....can even go up to 5km/l in jam!! QUOTE(LLH @ May 23 2012, 12:15 PM) Depends on which you take...6speed ones cost more because the gearbox oil...4 speed ones lesser.Yes, major service cost that much...but currently I'm on the 3 year warranty and 3 year free service/parts plan...I might additional another 2years warranty by Nasim |
May 25 2012, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(kenso77 @ May 23 2012, 03:21 PM) It's not a lever, button or menu. When you switch off the car and wait till everything becomes dark on the ODO meter, simply depress the gas pedal until the end for a few seconds. You will then hear a faint click sound. When this happens, you have effectively reset the GB and the ECU will start recording a new drive pattern. Did that on my 308T....engine now very revy...doesn't feel like my normal gear changes..loving it...thx |
May 25 2012, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(xoxoyyy @ May 25 2012, 09:25 PM) The specs seem like great value especially against the likes of Honda Civic and Toyota Altis.. Specs mean nothing bro....test drive one!!...especially the Turbo one....pedal to the metal!!2012 Peugeot 408 Launched In Malaysia, Now Offers Most Value In C-segment? |
May 25 2012, 10:41 PM
May 26 2012, 11:56 PM
Actually, 308 sedan and 408 are actually different.
But since it most of the parts are very similar, most will say is the 308 with a boot. |
May 27 2012, 12:56 PM
I wonder if the 408T and 308T share the same steering wheel....err I mean size...was thinking of getting the 408T steering with the chrome bits for my 308T. RCZ one too expensive.
This post has been edited by azbro: May 27 2012, 01:05 PM |
May 31 2012, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(kejusan @ May 30 2012, 11:52 PM) Road tax is yearly while loan commitment is monthly. It boils down to the fact whether I need the power and since I'm not the speeding type, I figure that I don't need the turbo and 2.0 should be sufficient since it has the space and comfort that I'm looking for. My hesitation is only on the 4 gears and lack of ESP on the 2.0. Got any advice from sifu here? I drive pretty fast with my 308T, corner like crazy and the ESP only once lite up when I was going 30km/h (!) in Tesco parking after it rained. 4 speed is very crude compared to 6 speed, but then, what is 6 speed? I can only say it gives smoother acceleration/deceleration. The FC between 308T4 and 308T6 are very similar, cornering is also a problem with 6 speed...since they are so many gears, you will be changing it like crazy to find which is best for what. Tiptronic isn't actually similar to a manual stick....far from it. 4 speed cornering is easier, just drop 1 gear. And most importantly, 6 speed gearbox service cost is 10X more than 4 speed. |
Jun 2 2012, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(pg84 @ Jun 2 2012, 07:16 PM) Just went for a test drive this afternoon at plentong jb. 408 turbo . The good : powerful turbo, handling , quiet , rear legroom very good.The not so good : heavy steering at low speed , suspension a bit hard, sitting tall feels like driving a 3008 . Actually, you can adjust the seats to make it much lower....too low in fact, until cannot see the side and front of the car which makes it difficult to judge corners and parking at tight situations. I scrape my 308T tire/wheel on a kerb due to this....the best sitting position is middle setting...not to low and not to high.Reason why they set it to high for the test cars so that ppl can judge the front and sides more easier This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 2 2012, 11:10 PM |
Jun 5 2012, 04:11 PM
For those who wanna know mods like HU with GPS, ECU DTUK, Suspension, tires/rims, LED lights, car care, air filters, TT, fun drives, servicing, OBDII, warranty issues and other performance parts etc, since 408 are almost similar to 308, can join Peugeot 308 Club of Malaysia in FB...dun worry, we not only discuss abt 308...other cars as well
See you there This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 5 2012, 04:12 PM |
Jun 5 2012, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jun 5 2012, 05:54 PM) That went on to be the 508 sedan....there is also 301 and 208 sedan to look forward in 2013....if Nasim decide to bring in...but those are compact types. Not same class as 408Added on June 5, 2012, 6:35 pm QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 5 2012, 05:14 PM) Some pictures taken from Peugeot old HQ. For those who want to see the white and grey, I've snapped those pictures for you. May not be the best represntation. I believe you should not make decision just by seeing this picture, see it on the metal itself. I can tell you about the White...damn sexy...but damn hard to take care off...every day I wipe clean my car, weekend DIY wash.[attachmentid=2877436] And the grey comes with bodykit. Kinda like the grey pulak... Trouble with white cars is the water streaks that tend to become grey after dust stick on it. So after a wash, I go for a drive to let the water out, and then wipe dry again...a lot of work to make it look perfect...but its worth it. Grey comes with body kit?....MOAR pictures pls.... This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 5 2012, 06:35 PM |
Jun 5 2012, 09:14 PM
Guy....I hope you wont be jelly when you open the spoilers
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jun 5 2012, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 5 2012, 09:50 PM) But dark colour also needs extra care I believe. The one with bodykit is just demo/showroom unit. The bodykit haven't arrived as they say. I think its comes with newer rims, Gti spoiler, LED, and other features.No picture from the front? what's the difference from the discontinued 308? I was hoping 408 comes with the red colour. Although I like red cars....I dun like Peugeot red so much...the red is to dark or dull for my liking...on the other hand the dark red for Proton Neo R3 rocks |
Jun 6 2012, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(d1rTyd6n @ Jun 5 2012, 11:27 PM) My 1st impression was that the rear of the FL 308T looked somewhat like the Latio HB. At a glance, that is. Just my RM0.02 though =D Just ask shop to paste similar color stickers to cover it up.Added on June 5, 2012, 11:30 pm Nice... I was wondering, a nooby question I have here. Is there any possibility to have those chrome strips along the bumpers and the doors to be removed? Should anyone do so, does that affect the warranty? |
| Change to: | 0.0512sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:00 PM |