15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

SKYjack
post May 28 2012, 04:25 PM

367 posts

Yes the 408 is here. I was looking to get a used 407, but as soon as I got wind of the 408 and that too at $110k, just couldn't wait to see it in real life. Come launch day I was the early bird googling the 408 as if it was my prise calf.  You know what? I actually got disappointed. The car looked like a pumped up Vios. Man....that was a major setback for me,it was no where near the sleek  looks of the 407. However locked my disappointed emotions and took the turbo for a spin. This is when the smile came back to my face. The power,handling and feel were amazing. The 407 has very good handling, but with this car, Peugeot has raised the bar. The feedback by electro hydraulic steering is so precise, and has been tuned to the right tautness. There's heck of power ready at the tap to kick serious ass! The car is packed with various safety features which is important when you unleash those wild horses. I'm sold, the 407 may be a great looker,but the 408 takes you to another dimension in driving dynamics!Made my booking for the turbo today!

SKYjack
post May 29 2012, 12:56 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ May 28 2012, 04:33 PM)
bro.. fyi, you're comparing 2 different segment cars. the 407 is a d-segment car which is replaced by the 508. not the 408 smile.gif anyway am glad for your purchase.. how long before you get the car? 2 weeks? care to share/pm the details of your offer?
Hi bro, was told I'll get the car in 3 weeks. No price discount. Free Gamin GPS and $400 voucher for windscreen tint. Didn't ask for anything else!
As far as segments go, both these cars are kind of untraditional. . 407 being 2 litre falls in D but has a rather tight interior. The 408 NA also 2 litre falls in C,but has quite a comfortable and large interior. So want criteria sets the segments,especially when these 2 are concern.
Anyway my choice more than comparison was purely made on financial basis. I had looked at and in mind a 09 407 costing $90k. The 408 NA is priced at $110k. In reality the difference is much less than the apparent $20K and this is how it goes.
 Loan on old cars are higher,thus the monthly payments will differ very marginally. The 407 is 3 years on, no warranty and will have maintenance issues that I've got to stick out on top of the 90k!!! The decision was to get the 408 NA as it is brand new,5year warranty, at the end of loan period the margin would be even more narrow by virtue of lower interest on 408 loan. I know it's apple and orange here, but my point is value for money! 
Now all this was decided behind the arm chair. Inreal life and after the test drive, logic flew out of the window. Just got hooked on the turbo

Added on May 29, 2012, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(sleepy @ May 28 2012, 05:24 PM)
The 1.6T engine feels powerful enough in a 508, so it should do much better in a smaller bodied 408. But have you done research on the engine before committing? I did some research on the 508 before I bought it, and knew all the potential problems that could pop up and true enough my 508 is leaking oil after 6 months of ownership (10000km, went into workshop once, now leaking again. Going for second time smile.gif)

Some owners are not prepared for this, so err just wanted to give you some heads up. Not saying it will definitely happen to yours, but still there's a chance of it happening. Put that a side, peugeots are good to drive smile.gif
Tks for the warning bro. Yes I did a fair bid of research, am aware of the problems on the former THPs. From that time had decided to bypass the THP and actually go for the NA. I don't think all THPs are problematic and I'm quite surprised with the problem on your 508. 
On the other hand the EW10A engine has been quite reliable and as you know it's been tweaked for the 408 NA.This is the one I had set my eyes on,not the THP. 
However the THP apparently has been give a serious make over and puts out a few more horses than the one in the 508. I understand all the previous issues are successfully addressed, or at least they say! It was the damn test drive of this engine. It was like a bug bit me and I was in a trance,I just wanted it, nothing else made sense! 
Here's my take on the whole story. It's not the same THP. 5 year warranty is comforting.I've taken the plunge,hopefully all goes well. I am prepared for the unexpected! I think if you are not prepared for some pain then a conti is not your game! Plenty of plain Janes in the market! Nevertheless I appreciate your input and hope the same fate does not bestow upon me,touch wood! Hope you plug your leaky fella!

Peugeots are good to drive! You're sooooo damn right on this one! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by SKYjack: May 29 2012, 12:59 PM
SKYjack
post May 30 2012, 11:15 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ May 29 2012, 09:48 PM)
Have you test drive the 408 2.0? I know that it's not comparable to 408T but if you have tested both, please kindly share  rclxms.gif
I was eyeing for Elantra but then 408 comes with this incredible price and straight away I went for test drive but only the 408T is available for test drive. Drove it and like you said, logic flew out of the window. but i couldn't afford the 408T monthly commitment. waiting to test drive 408 2.0 before making my decision.
I went with the 408 NA firmly in mind. In Seramban they only had the turbo unit,so tested it. The rest of the story you know la. After that I was not interested in the NA at all. Btw bro, the difference in monthly payment is oly $100+ don't forget road tax is $300 cheaper. So do consider the turbo seriously,and you may get tired of the NA due to it's low power. rclxm9.gif

Added on May 30, 2012, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(kenso77 @ May 30 2012, 08:37 AM)
If you're using the turbo as the benchmark, you'll find the 2.0 to be severely underpowered. If compared against other 2.0 NA, I find the engine to have sufficient pulling power. This issue is most obvious at 0-60kph but once you hit cruising speed, mid to high range power is as good. The only thing I didn't like about the 2.0 is the super light steering which is great in city drives but not so good if you're speeding on winding roads since road feedback is poor and the accurate steering means you have to constantly pay attention to your car's angle. For an old man like me who no longer have the need for speed, I think the 2.0 is a good buy for the asking price. Most important is the fact that you'll NEVER have depollution problems with it.
Bro kenso kena Kau kau on the turbo already, now having nightmares la.....hehehe! Anyway after reading all the reports on 308 THP problems, I too firmly kept away form the turbo. Even after reading this THP as been given a serious make over and all issues settled,I was skecipital. If the problems still persist,then I guess I've made the wrong choice! I'll cross that bridge if I come to it. Hopefully not,touch wood!
The steering feel was one very strong reason for me to get this model. It was so precise and accurate!I'm not one who tears down the road,but good to know you have on the tap when you need it. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by SKYjack: May 30 2012, 11:38 PM
SKYjack
post May 31 2012, 09:17 AM

367 posts

[quote=kejusan,May 30 2012, 11:52 PM]
[quote=SKYjack,May 30 2012, 11:15 PM]
I went with the 408 NA firmly in mind. In Seramban they only had the turbo unit,so tested it. The rest of the story you know la. After that I was not interested in the NA at all. Btw bro, the difference in monthly payment is oly $100+ don't forget road tax is $300 cheaper. So do consider the turbo seriously,and you may get tired of the NA due to it's low power. rclxm9.gif

Road tax is yearly while loan commitment is monthly. It boils down to the fact whether I need the power and since I'm not the speeding type, I figure that I don't need the turbo and 2.0 should be sufficient since it has the space and comfort that I'm looking for. My hesitation is only on the 4 gears and lack of ESP on the 2.0. Got any advice from sifu here?

[/quote]
The turbo model is not all about speed only. Leather seats make it much more plush. I've said about the precise streering,which is very important to me. There are many subtle differences. More importantly the turbo model is packed with safety features. You said you are not the speeding type,which means you are cautious and prefer safety.
When you factories savings on road tax and savings from fuel,your monthly payment may be the same, or will differ very little. Don't forget the turbo model comes with 6 speed. Everymile you travel out station will cost less. Now surely that puts a smile on your face! biggrin.gif
SKYjack
post May 31 2012, 01:17 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ May 31 2012, 10:06 AM)
Poison...

Is the FC for turbo really good? I believe the maintenance cost for turbo and 6 speed gearbox is high.
Hehehe........I guess you have set your mind on the NA, in which case,go ahead you'll love the car. Good luck bro!
SKYjack
post May 31 2012, 07:58 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ May 31 2012, 04:53 PM)
ya, you're right.

the 1.6turbo i dont think is any fuel saving than normal 2.0 car la tongue.gif but power  confirm good la.
I give you a very simple scenario and you tell me. You are crusing 110kmh on the highway on your 408. Would you use less fuel on 4th gear or 6th gear.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: May 31 2012, 07:59 PM
SKYjack
post May 31 2012, 09:06 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ May 31 2012, 08:13 PM)
i'm not sure.

is 4inches longer or 6 inches longer?
I'm not sure.
Some apparently say there's no difference!
SKYjack
post Jun 1 2012, 08:57 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ May 31 2012, 09:18 PM)
skillful maybe?
Maybe.......what goes around comes around!

Added on June 1, 2012, 9:05 am
QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 1 2012, 07:58 AM)
Haven't decided yet. Have already considered 408T but doesn't seem financially feasible for me. If only the 408 2.0 comes with ESP and 6 gears, I would've booked it already.

How long will it take for you to get your 408T? Mind sharing the interest rate?
Dilivery in 3 weeks. Interest at 2.44% Maybank,loan already approved,did not really shop around but understand all banks are about the same. Tried for www, prices are mad! If anything my delay will be in trying to secure a nice number.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 1 2012, 09:05 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 1 2012, 08:59 PM

367 posts

If you are asking about 408 spare parts, it will all from NASA at the moment. It should be reasonable as they will be made in China. Then again as only NASA is supplier,I don't know the pricing. Anyway the car carries 5 year warranty. By this time there will be sufficient volume for independent spare parts shops to appear. Then for sure price of parts will be reasonable. This car is being priced very affordable. Will not be surprised if it sells well.
SKYjack
post Jun 2 2012, 08:50 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Pogostik @ Jun 1 2012, 09:43 PM)
Of course the price is ridiculous if you bought from SC. Just buy outside la.
True it's just a battery,would cost 35% cheaper at least outside.

SKYjack
post Jun 3 2012, 11:05 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 2 2012, 10:53 PM)
Tested the 2.0 this evening and immediately booked the car!  rclxms.gif

The reason why I choose 2.0 over turbo is mainly due to financial reason. As expected, the RPM is quite high when I floored the pedal but the power is sufficient for me. When switched to 'light footed' mode, the RPM is decent. Hopfully the FC wouldn't be so high.

ESP? Hopefully I will not need it. Defensive driving is the best safety device one could rely on.
Congrats, what color you going for? Yeah don't worry too much about the ESP. It's a good safety feature to have, if you don't, it's not the end of the world. I'm sure you'll enjoy the car. I can't wait for my turbo charged bab!
SKYjack
post Jun 3 2012, 11:42 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(nicemamak @ Jun 2 2012, 09:57 PM)
Would the parts be reliable as it is made from china?

Just in case, the independent spare part shops never appear as many as i/we expect, i guess the replacement of spare parts after 5 years will be killing then...
To your question if Peugeot parts made in China will be reliable. The answer is yes ,if it is  manufactured under the control of Peugeot,which it is. 
Many well established brands have their products made in China. Don't go too far,iPad is made in China. Is it unreliable cos made in China. If any thing demand outstrips supply. Parts are made under the same quality control as in the parent company. That is not to say everything made in China is good. There will always be imitation.
Will Independent spare parts shops come up,I don't see why not. Look at BMW,  there are so many spare parts and workshops in the last few years. As a result parts are reasonable. Peugeot is really investing good money to establish itself here in ASEAN. 36 new service centres are to opened nation wide. With this Peugeot is going to establish itself as a strong brand in Malaysia. 
When there's money to be made,business with thrive!

SKYjack
post Jun 3 2012, 05:57 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jun 3 2012, 11:43 AM)
wonder how many booked the 2.0 vs the turbo

Turbo

1.SKYjack - blue
SKYjack
post Jun 3 2012, 06:20 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(CarFan @ Jun 3 2012, 06:11 PM)
The car is very nice and the price is also very good. Some issues I have with it are the glove compartment is really small (meant to keep gloves only I think) and no volume control etc buttons on the steering wheel. Nice car with good leg, head and boot space though.
Glove compartments are not meant for large things. It's really meant for small items like house keys & stuff. Volume control is on a lever behind the steering wheel. This does not spoil the sporty look of the steering wheel.
SKYjack
post Jun 4 2012, 09:27 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jun 4 2012, 07:44 AM)
thanks for the input kejusan. So the grey is more on the light side or darker side? Did any of you all bought the car that has the option to upgrade to GPS or any touch screen
if so how much?
I'm very keen on the GPS. Infact was very disapointed the Premium did not come with it. Peugeot could have easily done this and factor the cost. Understand it will cost $3k. It is not an option but an after market choice. So am concerned if it will affect warranty and what mods are needed to the electrical system to fit the unit. Will go for it after a year if it will not void warranty and only if it is a plug and play system. French electric systems are quirky,don't want to mess with them!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 4 2012, 09:30 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 4 2012, 05:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Jun 4 2012, 05:34 PM)
You call up HQ? So this is official then? I was thinking of calling the Balan guy and check the full mod pricing...

Anyway, no HU option also good (if official), at least can "mati jantung" and no need "hati gatal" to think should or should not go for the HU and body kit upgrade at RM6K+

No choice, if HU upgrade must get from HQ/branch/authorized dealer, provided they provide warranty, else void warranty then really die looorrrr...
Yes don't fit stuff at random. Check with HQ on warranty contracts first. It will be a shame to loose 5 year warranty. Don't forget to let's us know.

Added on June 4, 2012, 5:52 pm
QUOTE(CarFan @ Jun 4 2012, 12:09 PM)
ok tq bro. Didn't realise the volume control is behinde the steering wheel. Good info. On the glove box, I normally keep a torch and my smarttag in it. Don't think it will fit into this glove box though.
I did not realise the glove cmpt was that small. Looks like I too have to get a smaller torch......hehehe!

Added on June 4, 2012, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jun 4 2012, 05:43 PM)
skyjack mention it was not an option but aftermarket choice. So i guess there isn't any option to include gps because the SA i asked didnt mention any upgrade options for 408
I'd say use a portable GPS. After a while I'm quite sure GPS and some other goodie will come as an upgrade. Then your warranty will not void. NASA milks this cash cow.Why do you think the price is very reasonable,more money on the way! Exactly how it happened on the 407!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 4 2012, 06:06 PM
SKYjack
post Jun 4 2012, 06:27 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Jun 4 2012, 12:38 AM)
If mod everything, the car becomes like close to RM140K, then might as well consider K5...it has almost everything except Kimchi brand and performance on the lower end of the torque because the car is more heavy...
My 2nd choice is the K5. The is a D segment car and does cost a bit more. Don't look down on the Kimchi brand, they have walked over the Japs and are closing the Conti gap. I was very impressed! rclxms.gif
My only hesitation was the loud engine roar upon hard acceleration, infact this was rather uncomfortable. The 408t is silky smooth which convenced me to sign on the dotted line! biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 6:37 pm
QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Jun 4 2012, 06:24 PM)
Most popular colours being ordered now are white, black and blue. Personally, I like the Aster Grey...
Rumour has it the blue and gold may be discontinued due to low demand. Better get your order in, just in case the grey faces the same fate!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 4 2012, 06:37 PM
SKYjack
post Jun 4 2012, 07:49 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(wendyl1ng @ Jun 4 2012, 05:06 PM)
i just went to test drive today..i like 408T design..but it is not as comfort as 308T..dunno which to choose..dilemma..
Don't understand what you mean by 308t being more comfortable. 408 is a much larger car with much larger cabin and boot! However if you are set on the 308t,better get it now. I understand this model will be discontinued.
SKYjack
post Jun 4 2012, 08:04 PM

367 posts

Added on June 4, 2012, 7:53 pm

Really? nasim salesman telling me that facelift version of 308 will be launching soon

[/quote]
Not sure you can call it a face lift. It's a 308 sedan and a completely different face. Must admit it looks more sleek than the 408. The present 308t is on it's way out.you may only be able to get existing stock, no new production. I'll be seeing my agent next week for signing of loan docs,will ask him about the 308t.
SKYjack
post Jun 4 2012, 08:39 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Jun 4 2012, 07:23 PM)
Test driven both 408 2.0 and 408T, true to the findings of most forumers, the 2.0 is tuned to have a more comfortable ride while the 1.6T is tuned to be more sporty. I think the main difference is that the 1.6T steering feels heavier, but very powerful. Personally I prefer the 2.0.
NA uses hydraulics to steer the wheels. This eliminates the heaviness,however tends to loose feel,ie the steering is light.
The turbo model uses electro-hydraulic system. The muscle to move the heavy wheel is hydraulics. The command and feedback signals are electronically transmitted. The feedback can be tuned to provide an accurate feel. As such the steering feel is much more precise as to exactly what the car is doing.

Added on June 4, 2012, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(wendyl1ng @ Jun 4 2012, 08:26 PM)
ya..peugeot 308T stop production..coming up facelift with LED lights and leather seat in his thursday..of course the price will increase..the salesgirl said bout RM123k..i hv no idea..coz 1st time to buy car.. sad.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 8:26 pmya..peugeot 308T stop production..coming up facelift with LED lights and leather seat in this thursday..of course the price will increase..the salesgirl said bout RM123k..i hv no idea..coz 1st time to buy car.. sad.gif
It's going to be very interesting to see how Naza slots this model with price and engine choice. It is of smaller cabin size than the 408.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 4 2012, 08:49 PM

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0496sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:19 AM