Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

abgkik
post Feb 5 2012, 03:21 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Feb 3 2012, 03:29 PM)
my friend left sg for good, got RM8k/month. In sg, he is P1 qualified with S$8k/month. He said 8k in sg is nothing, room rent already 2.5k, 2k for others. left 3.5k but cannot live like a KING.
wallawei.. add another SGD 1k can rent 2+1R 2B (with utilities) high end condo.. share with another 1P max pay SGD 2k/month per person..
SUSMaterazzi
post Feb 5 2012, 10:43 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Feb 5 2012, 02:11 AM)
^

btw, I just ask opinion. from myself it's no brainer la, i will choose sg over my.

Btw, have a gf studying medicine in unrecognize university by the Singapore Medical Council, do you think she be able to work in Sg? In 2 yrs she will finish her medicine degree. I hope I can settle with her in Sg and she can work at sg too. No point to continue the r/s if we each other at our ego and kill our careers.

source: http://www.doctor-jobs-in-singapore.info/

Holds at least a relevant Bachelor degree awarded by a university recognised by the Singapore Medical Council (please refer to the List of Registrable Basic Medical Qualifications and the List of Registrable Postgraduate Medical Qualifications {this is in the process of being updated}, which are recognised by the Medical Council currently)

http://www.healthprofessionals.gov.sg/cont...lifications.pdf
no one reply?
r1v3r
post Feb 5 2012, 10:50 PM

1,305 posts

Today SG radio news said causeway toll will increase by 5 times, I also read a line from ahjib kor that remind us drink water must think of its source, must replay the kindness of BN gov that dig the well (right into rakyat pocket).

So, let's remember to meet at GE13 to repay his kindness even at the 5x the current causeway toll charge.

Added on February 5, 2012, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Feb 5 2012, 10:43 PM)
no one reply?
What else you want since you already said it is no brainer?

Need some one to confirm the brain part? Or another doc friend of mine who leave SG for better pay in other country kind of story?

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Feb 5 2012, 11:26 PM
deodorant
post Feb 5 2012, 11:46 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 5 2012, 10:50 PM)
Today SG radio news said causeway toll will increase by 5 times

Because of EDL? Most brilliant crony songlap-ism ever. Build a billion ringgit highway so that KL people going to Singapore can skip JB town ... but charge the toll at the Causeway so that even people who don't use the new highway need to pay for it.

Random Marina Bay shot. Was in a rush, didn't have time to set up properly sad.gif

Marina Bay 2012 by shuigao25, on Flickr
reign226
post Feb 5 2012, 11:50 PM

804 posts

Same deodorant at Clubsnap pentax section?
deodorant
post Feb 5 2012, 11:58 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 5 2012, 02:56 PM)
now we just need to know which company and avoid it.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Nola, just need to avoid the finance section smile.gif

QUOTE(reign226 @ Feb 5 2012, 11:50 PM)
Same deodorant at Clubsnap pentax section?

Nah, I don't go to clubsnap sad.gif
seantang
post Feb 6 2012, 12:26 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 5 2012, 11:58 PM)
Nola, just need to avoid the finance section smile.gif
Have to leh. If he's CFO, he's basically second in command. You don't want to be in a company where the 2nd man thinks $4 meals for life is a good retirement and transporting your family around in a cargo truck is a good deal, do you? Think of all the tremendous payroll and benefits policies that he'll put in place, man.
ntick
post Feb 6 2012, 01:28 AM

348 posts

I just ask rent a room in bedok reservoir and the agreement is start on 1 march 2012. SGD 700 exclude PUB

while my new job also start on 1 march 2012 near kaki bukit industrial.
I will be arrive in SG on 28 feb.
that means i need find a hotel nearby my company stay 2 nite.

Anyone can recommend budget hotel nearby or nearby MRT green line?
tailtwist
post Feb 6 2012, 02:56 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Feb 6 2012, 01:28 AM)
I just ask rent a room in bedok reservoir and the agreement is start on 1 march 2012. SGD 700 exclude PUB

while my new job also start on 1 march 2012 near kaki bukit industrial.
I will be arrive in SG on 28 feb.
that means i need find a hotel nearby my company stay 2 nite.

Anyone can recommend budget hotel nearby or nearby MRT green line?
how come u rent a room exclude PUB?...u renting master room ah?700 bucks?
have you tried asking to move in a day or 2 earlier? Some of them wouldn't mind...then you can save up some $$ and the hassle

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Feb 6 2012, 02:57 AM
bellion
post Feb 6 2012, 10:45 AM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 6 2012, 12:26 AM)
Have to leh. If he's CFO, he's basically second in command. You don't want to be in a company where the 2nd man thinks $4 meals for life is a good retirement and transporting your family around in a cargo truck is a good deal, do you? Think of all the tremendous payroll and benefits policies that he'll put in place, man.
Who is this nincompoop who advocates 4 dollar chap fan type meals for life as good enough for a retirement lifestyle?

r1v3r
post Feb 6 2012, 11:33 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 5 2012, 11:46 PM)
Because of EDL? Most brilliant crony songlap-ism ever. Build a billion ringgit highway so that KL people going to Singapore can skip JB town ... but charge the toll at the Causeway so that even people who don't use the new highway need to pay for it.
MY lousy contractor keep thinking I owed him big time for diging my back yard at my expense, should I send him back by MAS?.... fly kite him.

If there are other affortable alternatives such as MRT, ferry and pedestrian link along current causeway then I don't mind a hike in private car toll fee to increase public transport usage, I get faster clearance time for a fee but definately not in this robbery manner.

Can ask the JB police to rest for good, what's the point to catch small thieve in dark alley while allowing big robber operating 24/7 in front of Johor Istana... Oh.. the crime rate does not include bluntant corruption/robbery... ah I'm sooo forgetful near GE.

Added on February 6, 2012, 11:36 am
QUOTE(bellion @ Feb 6 2012, 10:45 AM)
Who is this nincompoop who advocates 4 dollar chap fan type meals for life as good enough for a retirement lifestyle?
maybe one of the sapu Malaysia restaurant owner? One meal RM4, 1st class... too cheap?

maybe the 1st class brand CFO?

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Feb 6 2012, 11:41 AM
L7Awesome
post Feb 6 2012, 12:00 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 5 2012, 10:50 PM)
Today SG radio news said causeway toll will increase by 5 times, I also read a line from ahjib kor that remind us  drink water must think of its source, must replay the kindness of BN gov that dig the well (right into rakyat pocket).

So, let's remember to meet at GE13 to repay his kindness even at the 5x the current causeway toll charge.

Added on February 5, 2012, 11:26 pm

What else you want since you already said it is no brainer?

Need some one to confirm the brain part? Or another doc friend of mine who leave SG for better pay in other country kind of story?
Yes, quite confirmed that they will increase the toll to RM15++. Not only that we have to pay the toll when we do not use EDL, the money goes to somone's pocket instead of to the nations. Counted if it's 22 working days, it will cost about RM350 extra monthly.
MPIK
post Feb 6 2012, 01:06 PM

1,838 posts

So can anyone summaries the cost of driving to and fro from JB to SG everyday for work? Thanks.
L7Awesome
post Feb 6 2012, 01:11 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 6 2012, 01:06 PM)
So can anyone summaries the cost of driving to and fro from JB to SG everyday for work? Thanks.
Well, driving into SG
Malaysia Side:
Current Toll: RM2.90 X 22
New Toll: RM16 X 22
Patrol: Varies

SG Side
Toll: SGD1.20 X 22
If Malaysian Car: SGD20 X 22
ERP: Varies
Parking: Varies

So it actually depend on a few factors. For me, I need to pay about SGD850 when the new toll rate kicks in.
ivanswk
post Feb 6 2012, 02:00 PM

+J
2,110 posts

http://scottthong.wordpress.com/2007/06/13...-car-rape-girl/
saw this and just kill my interest to move to jb sweat.gif
paranoid
post Feb 6 2012, 02:06 PM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

johor has one of the highest criminal rates in Malaysia, no?
is it really that feasible to stay in jb and work in sg? saves that much? despite the trouble?
L7Awesome
post Feb 6 2012, 02:12 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ Feb 6 2012, 02:06 PM)
johor has one of the highest criminal rates in Malaysia, no?
is it really that feasible to stay in jb and work in sg? saves that much? despite the trouble?
Well, depending on how you look at it. I think one will still need to take extra precaution to it. During my days back in KL, there were car jack cases happened as well.
extremepower
post Feb 6 2012, 02:49 PM

545 posts

IMO, JB is scarier than KL.

Anyway, it depends on luck lar.. so far so good.

OMG, toll going up?? kns... wink.gif

Lucky I didn't stay in JB. I guess those stayed in JB must be enjoying the bakuteh there. I envy you bros... lol. wink.gif
metalslug
post Feb 6 2012, 02:55 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 6 2012, 02:00 PM)
http://scottthong.wordpress.com/2007/06/13...-car-rape-girl/
saw this and just kill my interest to move to jb  sweat.gif
that was 2007. i believe 2011 is much lesser right?
r1v3r
post Feb 6 2012, 03:37 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Feb 6 2012, 01:11 PM)
Well, driving into SG
Malaysia Side:
Current Toll: RM2.90 X 22
New Toll: RM16 X 22
Patrol: Varies

SG Side
Toll: SGD1.20 X 22
If Malaysian Car: SGD20 X 22
ERP: Varies
Parking: Varies

So it actually depend on a few factors.  For me, I need to pay about SGD850 when the new toll rate kicks in.
for SG car

Custom Only: (RM16 + (S$1.2 x 2.4) ) x 22 = RM415.36 or S$173.07

estimated 70,000 cars/day so it is RM1,120,000 each day for the work of maintaining 8km highway. More than enough to buy a N35 GTR each day.

124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:06 AM