Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

ntick
post Feb 6 2012, 01:28 AM

348 posts

I just ask rent a room in bedok reservoir and the agreement is start on 1 march 2012. SGD 700 exclude PUB

while my new job also start on 1 march 2012 near kaki bukit industrial.
I will be arrive in SG on 28 feb.
that means i need find a hotel nearby my company stay 2 nite.

Anyone can recommend budget hotel nearby or nearby MRT green line?
ntick
post Feb 8 2012, 11:40 AM

348 posts

Thanks 4 all bro comments.

I just receive email regards my future landlord tell me that i need purchase 2 set of
queen size mattress protector and 2 set of queen size bed sheet.

Can i know how much for the queen size mattress protector and bed sheet sales in SG?very expensive?
or i purchase in malaysia better?.

Please advise

This post has been edited by ntick: Feb 8 2012, 11:46 AM
ntick
post Feb 8 2012, 10:09 PM

348 posts

Hi all, I need some help from you guys.

I get the in principle approval letter in PDF format from my future employer.My future employer staff told me that i just need bring along this documents when enter to Singapore.

Is that really enough?
1)That means i just need bring my passport and this IPA enough already?
2)After that i need to go MOM get my EP? How long i can get the EP? 1 day?

Please advise what others things I need to take note/get or process.

Many Thanks

ntick
post Feb 8 2012, 11:01 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 8 2012, 10:48 PM)
The ipa is just to show ur EP is approve base on ur qualifications and u got no criminal records. U still need to fill up white card when coming into sg. U also need to go through a medical check up. If u fail the medical check, u cannot get ur EP as well
Thanks ur reply...where to go 2do medical check up?
MOM panel clinic or my future company panel clinic?

ntick
post Feb 14 2012, 12:12 AM

348 posts

Hi all, guys...

please share your experience when 1st time onboard t singapore.
You will purchase prepare card 1st or straight away go apply postpaid?

I only know need purchase ezlink card
ntick
post Feb 27 2012, 10:01 PM

348 posts

Hi guys....
Today is my last working day in Malaysia
Tomorrow i will come 2 SG join you all.......

Just change RM 4k=SGD 1654.
rate is 2.417...looks like drop already....

Just a question, i need bring along the IPA letter when in the SG immigration, the white card i need fill in 30 days is it? and for working?

Now pack all my things, I know that in SG rent a room need EP, however i only have IPA, did anyone use IPA letter rent a room during waiting EP process?

i think during early April i need go back Malaysia to submit the income tax, my employer not ready the EA yet.

This post has been edited by ntick: Feb 27 2012, 10:32 PM
ntick
post Feb 29 2012, 06:51 PM

348 posts

second day in SG.
2molo is first day working....
28th reach at house owner sign an rental agreement and listen the house owner discipline....few rules start with
Do not........blah .....

compare to malaysia.Food
In SG i need wlk 5-10 minutes go 2 food court eat dinner. Mamak stall.
and when i oder roti canai, it did not allow me order 1 roti canai....must order 2 roti canai.

In malaysia i always order 1 roti canai and 1 teh tarik for supper....

Compare to malaysia:Transport
Walk walk and walk....feel tired...however saw Many pretty and sexy lady dress very nice using MRT.....In Malaysia this kind of girls drive 2 work 1....now they same like me take MRT.....hehe

I Miss the Malaysia food in kuchai lama, SS2 Murni and Asia Cafe

And read chinese news paper in SG,similar with HK apple daily style, nothing big news but just gossip and realize that alot SG young lady easily cheated by guys....not handsome 1 and no money also....

Internet:
In SG every house wifi also got password protected.Not like Malaysia i scan the wifi can found many unify or streamyx user did not put the password and can easy use their network.
Even in Mcdonal we need request password from their staff, and i think is auto password genarated everyday.Very secure.

SG government education is good

Coming saturday will go geylang walk walk and eat recommenced foods...porridge
and will eat chili crab....

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ntick: Feb 29 2012, 06:59 PM
ntick
post Mar 4 2012, 11:45 AM

348 posts

Guys,
This is my forth day in SG, i found that not convenient if i din have internet to use..

Any one can recommend i can use any wifi that no need sign contract 1?
I need use it @ house.....my owner not allow to apply broadband line...

How do you on9 when u are new arrive in SG? beside go MCD
Any suitable plan?i don't want bond with contract because i don't know how long i will be stay in SG....if ecomomy bad, i mybe need tapau go back malaysia liao....

Plz share....

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 4 2012, 11:47 AM
ntick
post Mar 7 2012, 01:19 PM

348 posts

hi guys,Anyone work in Singapore frequently travel back to KL during weekend?
1)what are the best economic transport that can be use?

1 month i maybe travel 2 or 3 times back to KL.
Air asia is quite expensive.....no more as cheap price already.....

Any one can share your experience?

ntick
post Mar 9 2012, 12:11 PM

348 posts

hi guys...i just got my EP today . And need open bank account .

Just to ask few question.

1) local address normaly fill in with company address or ur rental house address?
2)which bank is suggested?

thansk
ntick
post Mar 9 2012, 06:19 PM

348 posts

EP holder can do any part time job or not such as insurance agent/property agent/unit trust agent?

come 2 sg just want earn money...planning do some part time...duno can sell burger ramli beside 7-11 or in and out Malaysia/sg buy and sell product such as cigarette/tongkat ali in orchard road...or selling some juice .....

anyone can share how 2 earn do part time or not?

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 9 2012, 06:20 PM
ntick
post Mar 10 2012, 10:22 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 9 2012, 06:33 PM)
Your EP is tied to company so no part time legally.
Cigarettes?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  Lets see you bring that over customs and how much you going to sell.
icic...by right cannot 1...

but by left........erm... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

any one here just start work then sign out a mobile broadband plan with 2 years contract....actually i lost my galaxy s in malaysia...now just use laoya phone in sg....always go mcD on9....

it was too high risk for me to take to 24 month plan....
i actually i like the HTC sensasi phone...

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 10 2012, 10:35 AM
ntick
post Mar 11 2012, 12:34 PM

348 posts

when economy down EP people will die 1st....

Saturday just went to IT show, very disappointed....Compare to Malaysia....the SG IT show girls quality...is like cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

But looks like SG people like iphone alot..50% stall sell ipad/iphone related product...

And in KLCC conventional hall more organize...in SG just like pasar malam....

just that feeling....... sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

ntick
post Mar 26 2012, 11:37 AM

348 posts

hi is me....

I will fly back malaysia on 31 March and back on 2 April...
my flight ticket is around sgd 120.

I would like to ask anyone who is frequesntly travel normally take this opportunity buy&sell items which can declare or offset the air ticket?
international trade. Malaysia<->SG

Like Flight attendants when they travel they go purchase LV and sell back @ their country earn some side income.
I just want offset my air ticket onli....

Which Item can i buy in SG and sell @ Malaysia.
Actually i plan buy ipad 3 and go sell to lowyat but out of stock in sg.

Any idea?

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 26 2012, 11:42 AM
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 11:28 AM

348 posts

sgd 2k is really not enough...
unless u sahre room with others.

My expenses
room rent 700
PUB 50
foods and drinks 500
transport 80
HP/broadband 50++
parents- 400
MISC- 100
expenses is around sgd 2k per month

when i work in malaysia my 1st job (6 / 7 years ago) is rm 1.8 k and i can save 1 k per month....amazing...
while my salary reach 4k++ i only can save max 2k mostly is 1.5-2k

the more you earn...the less you can save....
the less you earn the more you save

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 28 2012, 11:31 AM
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 11:43 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 28 2012, 11:36 AM)
why people nowadays dont like to share room in order to save money???
Its about privacy....
i don't mind share room with the person that i know such as friends...
but share room with others that i don't know is quite risky for me.....

ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 12:03 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 28 2012, 11:48 AM)
i think cant go wrong with either one, since u jobless now
both choice also u will be able to sustain at the moment

is a matter of opportunity for higher income, i am not in automative
so i can only share my experience which is now 10 year ahead from wheer u now  
what i did was i spend 4+ plus year in sg, then 5+ years in kl, almost 2 year now back in SG

every transition is very painful at the beginning, u can share a room with fren, to bring down your cost
i started by sleeping in a living room on floor  sweat.gif

GF wise, just say i change a few and happily marry now with kid, dun let them hold u back  rolleyes.gif
why you SG first then gop back malaysia and come back SG again?
Marriage with SG people?

just curious why you every 5 years transition change ?

From this stage i think i will not go back Malaysia while BN still manage Malaysia.....
I am PKR supporter..and always vote PKR...

If 1 day PKR win, i definately go back...wawasan 2020 is achievable....
From what i see now...penang gov is doing a wonderful job and keep going the right track...selangor also the same things

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 28 2012, 12:07 PM
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 12:15 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 28 2012, 12:13 PM)
I think sgd2k is pretty low. no much left after deducting food and lodging expenses.
FYI...
my young brother get sgd 1250 and he can survive and save money also...he also manage contribute RM 500 per month for parents....

Its about how you do it....
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 03:40 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 28 2012, 02:46 PM)
u need to learn from your brother  rolleyes.gif
As mentioned above, Different people living in different income brackets see things differently.

Added on March 28, 2012, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 28 2012, 03:34 PM)
different people different choice.....some may say yes....but majority may say no.....but i dont see whats wrong with it......sometimes is to help people.....for example.....before that, i live alone in a whole house and got 3 extra rooms.....and many of my colleagues ask me to sub set one room to them and i relucant but at the end let go because see them without a proper place to stay also "susah".....end up each room i just collect 100 and 50 for the smallest room as a token and that includes water and eletricity....and this is in KL lar.....

But when one by one of them resigning, i take back all the rooms.

And yes earning 2k, is no choice but many still want to rent a room for him/herself lar... doh.gif
walau..you own a house in SG?
No need work liao...can go back malaysia goyang kaki

This post has been edited by ntick: Mar 28 2012, 03:41 PM
ntick
post Mar 28 2012, 04:49 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 28 2012, 02:00 PM)
move because better $ and hitting the ceiling, not going anywhere
marry kl gal, 5 years transition is co-incidence  rolleyes.gif
Now u still rent a house or own a house?

0.0473sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:20 AM