132 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss thread v2, Ask all your weight loss questions here.

dvlzplayground
post Feb 12 2011, 09:51 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

just started using myfitnesspal today. can trust? :S eat kfc everyday also can lost weight meh? hehe

breakfast is at 9am, lunch at 12 (wasnt hungry at all), dinner around 6.30pm. no workout today

einoif
post Feb 13 2011, 12:48 AM

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 12 2011, 09:38 PM)
any protein shakes to recommend? anyway what's the verdict for these foods...good or bad?
- baked beans in tomato sauce
- tuna spread (w/o mayo)
- nutella
- 2x hotdogs for breakfast...okay or not?
- egg yolk... im really not sure abt this. some ppl say very good, some say very bad
- yogurt (not the low fat type)
baked beans : bad- high in sugar and sodium. unless you buy the low sodium one, but it doesnt taste the same.
tuna spread: good- if it's in olive oil or brine
nutella: bad.
hotdogs: bad-processed meat, high in sodium
egg yolk: good, but i try to keep it to 2 a day
yoghurt: good, as long as it's plain yoghurt.

of course, there are worse things that you can eat but there are also better things that you can eat. for me, i try to keep it as clean as possible, ie. least processed as possible. i believe that's the best way to eat and your body will thank you for it.

sweet_pez
post Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Feb 12 2011, 06:47 PM)
1.5 litres of plain water everyday is too little, I average about 5 litres easy. You might want to look into that

5L?! Seriously??? I think at best I take about 2L per day.

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Feb 12 2011, 06:47 PM)
Low fat peanut butter isn't necessary. Although they sound the same, 'fat' doesn't make you fat. The fat in food helps keep you full longer and staves off hunger pangs, I cycle a higher fat content instead of carbs on my off-training days to keep me full longer with a reduced amount of food. Multivitamin pills are no substitute for the nutrients or fiber in vegetables. You can supplement, but ensure your primary source from vegetables is there. From your admission, you realize the gap in your diet there so I'm sure you know what to do.
I see... I'd usually pry on everything with lower calories like skimmed milk, low fat peanut butter etc.

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Feb 12 2011, 07:15 PM)
uh okay .
so how about this .
morning : a slices of wholemeal bread (i dont have enough time to eat something else) and soya bean ?
lunch : still chicken soup . and some vegetables.
teatime : i dont know about this . oat?and milo
dinner : fruits?

how about that?
as for workout , im still new in jogging/walking so i need some time .
-sorry i didnt notice ur comment about my workout biggrin.gif
thanks for replying smile.gif
Morning seems alright. Soya bean is good, full with protein but are you going with the packet/ bottled ones? Try not to if you can. They are very sweet imo.

Lunch and teatime sounds fine to me but it's not healthy to only eat fruits for dinner. You must not deprive body of food; your diet is not balance. Eating too little is not going to help. My advice is that at least one meal in a day must contain some rice (half bowl) - carb, meat (chicken, fish etc)/ eggs and vege.

Gotta leave it to the guys to comment on workout ^^

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Feb 12 2011, 07:21 PM)
There's a point at reducing calories and carbs where it steps into starvation. You've covered the 'IN' portion of your body pretty well, it's time to work on the 'OUT'. Exercise will give you better results at this point in time than any further tweaks to your diet. Get it in.

On your low carbs and low calories diet, you are DEFINITELY going to crash during exercise. Your body has no fuel, and it can only convert so much fat for energy and take a battering before it collapses. Try this. Go on your normal low carb diet, but every FOURTH day you eat carbs normally. Three days low, one day normal. By the fourth day with exercise, your body will be very low on fuel source and it would be good to take some on to prevent crashes. And this will also help prevent your body from adapting to your reduction in carbs. So remember, it's every 4th day you need to refuel and reset your body. Not earlier, not later. Give it a go and see if it works for you.
Every fourth day... okay let me give it a shot starting next week XD thanks for the suggestion!

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Feb 12 2011, 07:30 PM)
thanks smile.gif

as for workout , i dont know what to do except walking/jogging yawn.gif.
i've googled about exercises for obese but most of them said the best way is walking .
well . since other people have different opinions.
I think one of the best way is walking too but aerobics, bikram yoga, swimming and dancing also helps to burn calories pretty well.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 12 2011, 09:38 PM)
lol ok i guess lunch at 12pm is still the best smile.gif peanut butter isnt the low fat type. so banana should be for breakfast? got it.

oh ya i actually like sengkuang. is it okay to just have sengkuang and protein shake for dinner?
eh i always thought 1.5 litres is the minimum. okay, will target 5 litres at least per day. ill add sengkuang for my dinner, n bananas only after heavy workouts.

any protein shakes to recommend? anyway what's the verdict for these foods...good or bad?
- baked beans in tomato sauce
- tuna spread (w/o mayo)
- nutella
- 2x hotdogs for breakfast...okay or not?
- egg yolk... im really not sure abt this. some ppl say very good, some say very bad
- yogurt (not the low fat type)
Ah basically it's just merely my opinion to have banana for b'fast. I avoid taking any banana for dinner because I usually take rice at home. These days I'll eat rice on alternate days (Monday rice, Tuesday no rice etc). Also, when I do take them, I'd eat very little; about half a bowl and sometimes lesser than that.

Only sengkuang and protein shake for dinner? You might get hungry when it gets a little later and you'll be craving for supper? Try having protein shake + 1 slice of wholemeal OR banana (as per statikinetic). be free to snack on sengkuang when you have cravings/ hungry in between meals ^^

Just my opinion:-

- baked beans in tomato sauce : as per einoif, high in sodium and it's preserved. No good.
- tuna spread (w/o mayo) : Okay
- nutella : Very bad!!! Although cover says "skimmed milk" it has high sugar and fat content.
- 2x hotdogs for breakfast...okay or not? : Try to avoid preserved goods. If you must, take only 1 hotdog and eat it with a thin slice of bread.
- egg yolk... im really not sure abt this. some ppl say very good, some say very bad: Yolk is good but it has cholesterol. Do not take it excessively (?). I limit myself to 2-3 eggs maximum per day.
- yogurt (not the low fat type): go for the low fat type; they taste just as good. You can also buy plain yoghurt and throw some fresh fruit slices you cut on your own.

goleng2001
post Feb 13 2011, 05:05 PM

43 posts

some tip:

eat only when you are hungry and stop before you are full. cool2.gif
besides, you also can try fasting every monday and thursday, it should work.

This post has been edited by goleng2001: Feb 13 2011, 05:18 PM
statikinetic
post Feb 13 2011, 06:57 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM)
5L?! Seriously??? I think at best I take about 2L per day.
I find it imperative at a personal level to keep myself well hydrated, as I get headaches when I'm dehydrated.

I keep a 1L water bottle beside me a work and I take a swig every now and then because water is placed at an accesible place (Right beside me). I refill it 3 times a day so by the time I'm heading home, that's 3L right there. Another litre is downed during my workouts and I'm estimating the remainder after workouts, dinner and before bed. Piss is almsot always clear so I'm happy with hydration.

I find that during my non-working days my hydration drops and I put it down to accesibility. Because I have to walk to the kitchen to pour myself a cup. Even worse when I'm out. At the office the bottle is always beside me to taking a sip becomes 2nd nature. I'm on a high protein diet so I'm downing more water for protein synthesis. You remember those myths where people say too much protein or creatine damages your kidneys? They don't. Not drinking enough water does. Because these nutrients require more water to process, a lot of people forget to increase their water intake and put their kidneys under stress to work with all that waste with a small amount of water.

Added on February 13, 2011, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(goleng2001 @ Feb 13 2011, 05:05 PM)
Fasting will turn your weight into a yoyo and you'll rebound with more weight than you wanted.

Your body activates it's starvation mode to preserve itself in the absence of food. Your metabolic rate drops. Your body is adapting to run on lower amounts of energy. Which means a bigger portion of your next meal is going to be kept around for the weighing scale.

This post has been edited by statikinetic: Feb 13 2011, 07:02 PM
Xypheria
post Feb 13 2011, 07:24 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM)

Morning seems alright. Soya bean is good, full with protein but are you going with the packet/ bottled ones? Try not to if you can. They are very sweet imo.

Lunch and teatime sounds fine to me but it's not healthy to only eat fruits for dinner. You must not deprive body of food; your diet is not balance. Eating too little is not going to help. My advice is that at least one meal in a day must contain some rice (half bowl) - carb, meat (chicken, fish etc)/ eggs and vege.

Gotta leave it to the guys to comment on workout ^^

yeah the boxed 1 . yeo's brand . i usually bought it in school .

so eggs are important in a day?

thanks for reply biggrin.gif

sweet_pez
post Feb 13 2011, 07:55 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Feb 13 2011, 06:57 PM)
I find it imperative at a personal level to keep myself well hydrated, as I get headaches when I'm dehydrated.

I keep a 1L water bottle beside me a work and I take a swig every now and then because water is placed at an accesible place (Right beside me). I refill it 3 times a day so by the time I'm heading home, that's 3L right there. Another litre is downed during my workouts and I'm estimating the remainder after workouts, dinner and before bed. Piss is almsot always clear so I'm happy with hydration.

I find that during my non-working days my hydration drops and I put it down to accesibility. Because I have to walk to the kitchen to pour myself a cup. Even worse when I'm out. At the office the bottle is always beside me to taking a sip becomes 2nd nature. I'm on a high protein diet so I'm downing more water for protein synthesis. You remember those myths where people say too much protein or creatine damages your kidneys? They don't. Not drinking enough water does. Because these nutrients require more water to process, a lot of people forget to increase their water intake and put their kidneys under stress to work with all that waste with a small amount of water.

Added on February 13, 2011, 7:02 pm

Fasting will turn your weight into a yoyo and you'll rebound with more weight than you wanted.

Your body activates it's starvation mode to preserve itself in the absence of food. Your metabolic rate drops. Your body is adapting to run on lower amounts of energy. Which means a bigger portion of your next meal is going to be kept around for the weighing scale.
Good insight and info, thanks loads! Sometimes I'm out with my boss to client's office. I know it would be good to drink more water but travelling makes drinking a little inconvenient. If I drink too much, I'm always looking for the ladies (sigh) and sometimes everyone (my bosses, clients) gotta wait for me to come out from the ladies to have lunch together; especially this particular office where there's only 1 lady's toilet sweat.gif at times I find these situation(s) a little embarrassing so I'll restrain myself a little. Yeah I do client servicing several times a week, not everyday though. I do drink more water on days I'm in the office. Haha another thing would be travelling from work -> home takes me 1-1.5 hours due to the distance and jam.

Yeah agree on the fasting comment. True it's not a good idea.

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Feb 13 2011, 07:24 PM)
yeah the boxed 1 . yeo's brand . i usually bought it in school .

so eggs are important in a day?

thanks for reply biggrin.gif
Oh no, don't misunderstand. What I mean is that protein is important/ good for you. If you eat chicken/ fish, there's plenty of protein. Otherwise you can get them from eggs as well. So maybe day 1 you take fish, day 2 eggs and day 3 chicken etc with rice and vege to keep yourself from getting bored with the menu wink.gif

Ummm I wouldn't encourage soya bean from packet drinks. they contain a lot of sugar. When I compare Yeo's Soya Bean (low sugar range) with 100 Plus, Yeo's (kononnya low sugar) actually contains more sugar than 100 Plus. Go for an alternative. I'll be taking Soyo's Slim SoyPlus (in sachet) in replacement to milo. Hope it works well.

Sometimes i take 2 hard boiled eggs (only 1 yolk though) + 1 slice of bread for breakfast and it keeps me full for several hours.
Xypheria
post Feb 13 2011, 08:03 PM

745 posts

ahhh i see..
so , i should drink plain water instead in school ?

okay..now i get it .
many thanks to you smile.gif
ELM0
post Feb 13 2011, 08:47 PM

Senior Noob
719 posts

hmm guys need some help here
OMG la touching 95kg+ !!!!!!and i need get it down by june!!!!

not to say im lazy bump dont want to exercise but i seriously dont have time , mostly my working hours 7am to 10pm, finish work , dinner and bath will be 11+ and get to sleep next day same routine , usually if OT until 1 or 2am

and now adays im getting fatter!!!!! any idea how to loose weight??

breakfast : sometimes i take cereal/oat sometimes none
lunch: mix rice 2 veg 1 meat with rice and fruit: apple/orange
dinner: box rice - curry rice

any options available for me??
dvlzplayground
post Feb 13 2011, 09:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

wah i always thought baked beans are good +_+. yeah i always like plain yoghurt, never liked those with fruity flavour haha not sure why. i think i'll just have 1 hotdog during breakfast juz for the flavour. should be okay la right?

good info about yeo's soya bean. gotta stop drinking that. will look into better brands around

any exercise ideas for non-workout times? e.g. parking further so i walk more. dumbbells during watching tv?
tedisgodlike
post Feb 13 2011, 10:03 PM

582 posts

guys , i can you all help me?

before university : around 60kg-70kg
now working : 114kg

working as engineer make me so pressure. pressure =eat.
i want to gain back my old body. now only 23years old. want to have healthy life. can help me with my routine and food?
statikinetic
post Feb 13 2011, 10:12 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Feb 13 2011, 08:47 PM)

not to say im lazy bump dont want to exercise but i seriously dont have time , mostly my working hours 7am to 10pm, finish work , dinner and bath will be 11+ and get to sleep next day same routine , usually if OT until 1 or 2am

breakfast : sometimes i take cereal/oat  sometimes none

You let your work dictate your life. So if your work environment is condusive for getting fat, get fat you will.
"Don't have the time" means that isn't high up on your list of priorities. Sorry. Can't help you.

Added on February 13, 2011, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Feb 13 2011, 10:03 PM)

i want to gain back my old body. now only 23years old. want to have healthy life. can help me with my routine and food?
Reread the past 64 pages. All the routines and food/diet plans are there.

This post has been edited by statikinetic: Feb 13 2011, 10:12 PM
leong2084
post Feb 13 2011, 10:18 PM

89 posts

Hi all...i'm new to this so i hope i can get some help smile.gif

i've been reading up here and there with regards to healthy weight management breakfasts and all but i just can't really relate to my limited choices that i have for breakfast..

My schedule goes like this:
Every weekday morning i wake up at 5.45am and get to the gym by 6.30am
I do my workouts till about 7.30am where i take my shower etc and by 8am i get myself to the only place which is open at that time as i work at mid valley (the Indian store called 'Al-something' sorry, i still can't remember the name...its next to the fountain in between mid valley and the gardens)

I do know that there is another morning store opens in the gardens at that time too which serves noodles and stuff...

I do not have the time to make my own breakfast at home as any delays can cause me to be late to work which is a big nono...

Thus i can only eat at these two locations for breakfast on the weekdays....

So by weekday 8am i usually go to the Indian restaurant and would pick just the least oiliest food....which is...Chephati if i spelled that correctly :S which i eat with the dalh

and have like milo kosong or nescafe kurang...extra kurang.....lagi kurang manis.....

I would think that it would not be recommended as it really does lack a lot of nutrition rite...sad.gif

so thats where i need help with...

what should i choose to eat that can help with weight loss and provide healthy breakfast?

really appreciate for any advise smile.gif

thanks in advance!

[i do my heavier workouts on weekdays after work, on Mon, Wed, Fri, so usually on these days where i know i'm going to do heavier workouts after work i tend to eat a heavier carbo and protein lunch meal with 50% portion of vege]

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 13 2011, 10:20 PM
king_lover23
post Feb 14 2011, 12:44 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(goleng2001 @ Feb 13 2011, 05:05 PM)
some tip:

eat only when you are hungry and stop before you are full.  cool2.gif
why must be monday n thursaday?
any particular reason ? brows.gif

Added on February 14, 2011, 12:46 am

dude... u gain too much weight...
seriously need to work out and diet for a healthy life..
goodluck ~~ smile.gif

This post has been edited by king_lover23: Feb 14 2011, 12:46 AM
einoif
post Feb 14 2011, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Feb 13 2011, 10:18 PM)

what should i choose to eat that can help with weight loss and provide healthy breakfast?
really appreciate for any advise smile.gif

if i were you, i'd pack my own food.

if you need ideas, i can tell you my favourite breakky i prepare almost everyday biggrin.gif
leong2084
post Feb 14 2011, 02:34 PM

89 posts

haha i understand your viewpoint smile.gif

yeah i would love to be able to spend time to make proper breakfast and pack to eat after the morning workout, but apparently i'm up 5.45am in the morning and i only get to the gym at 6.30 and finish up aprox 7.30 where i take my shower etc and be out of the gym by aprox 8am
where i need to be in the office by 8.30

so i simply can't have the luxury to make my own breakfast sad.gif

Any ideas what can be served in the indian mamak restaurant that is suitable?

really appreciate your advise smile.gif
einoif
post Feb 14 2011, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Feb 14 2011, 02:34 PM)

have you thought about preparing it the night before? a good healthy breakfast doesn't have to take long to prepare.

during uni, when i almost never had time in the morning to prepare/eat breakfast, i always do it the night before. and it's incredibly fast too, 5 minutes max. what i did was combine oats + peanut butter + honey + hot water in a thermos mug, and then put it in the fridge. the next morning, i just grab the mug and bring it along to uni so i can eat it then.

fruits are perfect for on-the-go too. zero preparations needed. i recommend bananas biggrin.gif

chicaman
post Feb 14 2011, 07:10 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Feb 13 2011, 08:47 PM)

breakfast : sometimes i take cereal/oat  sometimes none

We give you option, but it wont suit you. Verdict, reschedule your own work and time if you are serious with your health.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 13 2011, 09:26 PM)
wah i always thought baked beans are good +_+. yeah i always like plain yoghurt, never liked those with fruity flavour haha not sure why. i think i'll just have 1 hotdog during breakfast juz for the flavour. should be okay la right?

good info about yeo's soya bean. gotta stop drinking that. will look into better brands around

any exercise ideas for non-workout times? e.g. parking further so i walk more. dumbbells during watching tv?
Park further to walk more is RUBBISH. How the h3ll people could think of ways to cheat themselves. Even jogging in the park for 30mins would not be enough to burn the fats and what more walk a few extra steps?

That totally bullshit. No offense.

Dumbbell watching TV? Dude how heavy is the dumbbell? 5LB? If you are serious about exercise, stop sticking the ass at the sofa. If you have time to watch TV, might as well go out and exercise. AGAIN, no offense.

No one can help you, dude, common sense would tell you that, EAT LESSER!! Routine? Go exercise, workout in gym. Stop asking for advise, it would be a waste of time for us to give you advice if it goes down the drain.

Why not you tell us what you did and let us correct you instead? You are engineer, and please learn how to do your homework.

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Feb 14 2011, 02:34 PM)
haha i understand your viewpoint smile.gif

yeah i would love to be able to spend time to make proper breakfast and pack to eat after the morning workout, but apparently i'm up 5.45am in the morning and i only get to the gym at 6.30 and finish up aprox 7.30 where i take my shower etc and be out of the gym by aprox 8am
where i need to be in the office by 8.30

Any ideas what can be served in the indian mamak restaurant that is suitable?

really appreciate your advise smile.gif
No time to make breakfast? Not even 5 minutes for a can of tuna?

If you opt for mamak, ask them to make you half boiled eggs. How bout 5-6 in the morning before work? That gives you enough protein for your workout.

Oh wait, are you loosing weight? Eat some instant oat then, go office earlier and prepare in the pantry.
king_lover23
post Feb 14 2011, 07:18 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Feb 14 2011, 07:10 PM)
We give you option, but it wont suit you. Verdict, reschedule your own work and time if you are serious with your health.
Park further to walk more is RUBBISH. How the h3ll people could think of ways to cheat themselves. Even jogging in the park for 30mins would not be enough to burn the fats and what more walk a few extra steps?

That totally bullshit. No offense.

Dumbbell watching TV? Dude how heavy is the dumbbell? 5LB? If you are serious about exercise, stop sticking the ass at the sofa. If you have time to watch TV, might as well go out and exercise. AGAIN, no offense.
No one can help you, dude, common sense would tell you that, EAT LESSER!! Routine? Go exercise, workout in gym. Stop asking for advise, it would be a waste of time for us to give you advice if it goes down the drain.

Why not you tell us what you did and let us correct you instead? You are engineer, and please learn how to do your homework.
No time to make breakfast? Not even 5 minutes for a can of tuna?

If you opt for mamak, ask them to make you half boiled eggs. How bout 5-6 in the morning before work? That gives you enough protein for your workout.

Oh wait, are you loosing weight? Eat some instant oat then, go office earlier and prepare in the pantry.
whoo~ dude.. ur sentences sound so vmad.gif vmad.gif
come on guys who r overweight...
we can do it.. so do u... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by king_lover23: Feb 14 2011, 10:32 PM
pedro
post Feb 14 2011, 07:42 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(king_lover23 @ Feb 14 2011, 07:18 PM)
whoo~ dude.. ur sentences sound so  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
come on guys who r overweight...
we do do it.. so do u...  rclxms.gif
I agree 101% with what Chicaman said.

This post has been edited by pedro: Feb 14 2011, 07:43 PM

132 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:19 AM