Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

aceedburn
post Jun 3 2010, 12:46 AM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

QUOTE(luxasia @ Jun 3 2010, 12:27 AM)
i just bought aqous lcd with 100/120 hz resolution. through hdmi connection, it indicates I'm getting my byond at 1080i with 50hz. does that mean im getting a lower resolution in term of hz. might as well for me to get a 50/60 hz TV only.
Anyone can enlighten.. thank you in advance
astro is transmitting at 1080i and in pal format(50hz). Even if you have a 1000hz tv, you will still receive astro HD in 50hz only because PAL is the broadcast standard here and NTSC(60hz) is used in North America.
lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 01:00 AM

255 posts

The new FAQ is a little different. Looks like Astro has taken out some of the more obscure or should I say the less than frequently asked questions. I think it is the right move since they certainly do not want to confuse the general public.

What I'n not happy though why did they delay the launch of the 3 new HD channels?? It was supposed to be together with the availability of the PVR...! I wan't my CSI in HD!

minimize
post Jun 3 2010, 01:08 AM

1,543 posts

CSI in HD.. Yeah can't wait that
dxjb
post Jun 3 2010, 01:10 AM

807 posts

Astro new website looks cool..but so complicated..
Now I just want to mix and match my packages and so hard to do so..
shocking.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Jun 3 2010, 02:20 AM
whatsupbro
post Jun 3 2010, 02:20 AM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

no I think he want it rite from 1st june... rite after the update....
dxjb
post Jun 3 2010, 02:49 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Jun 3 2010, 02:20 AM)
no I think he want it rite from 1st june... rite after the update....
owh yeah..my bad.. notworthy.gif
Ahteh81
post Jun 3 2010, 04:06 AM

TVB Content On StarHub Gets Greater And Fresher‬‪

TVB’s TV content comes to Singapore faster

First in Singapore to offer TVB content in HD

Addition of new weekend primetime belt on VV Drama

Introducing TVB Video-On-Demand content on StarHub TV on Mobile

Singapore, 27 May 2010 – Local fans of TVB content will soon have cause for joy! From June 2010, StarHub will offer TVB content sooner so that its customers can enjoy fresh TVB content as early as one month after their Hong King debuts. An additional primetime belt will also be introduced during the weekend so that viewers can enjoy first-run TVB dramas every day of the week. In addition, StarHub will launch on-demand TVB content on TV on Mobile to cater to viewers on the move.‪

“As the leading pay TV operator in Singapore and the preferred partner of TVB, StarHub is delighted to deliver TVB’s premium content in larger quantities and a more timely fashion. There is a large following for TVB content in Singapore and StarHub wants to be the one-stop provider for these fans and give them the ultimate TVB entertainment experience,” enthused Mr Tan Tong Hai, StarHub’s COO.

“We are delighted to partner StarHub, who has contributed significantly to building a strong TVB presence in Singapore via its multi-platforms for more than 18 years. We grow, not only in market shares, but also the trust and confidence in each other. Moving into our 19th year of partnership, I believe that TVB and StarHub will keep strengthening our co-operation, expanding our business opportunities and striving for more remarkable accomplishments,” said Mr Sherman Lee, Controller of Telecast Licensing Division, TVBI Company Limited.‪

Shortened telecast window for TVB dramas and first to offer TVB content in HD
From 1 June, the telecast window for TVB dramas on StarHub TV’s Video-On-Demand (VOD) will be brought forward so that viewers can enjoy TVB dramas as early as one month from their debuts in Hong Kong and local video rental releases! TVB dramas on StarHub TV’s VOD are available in dual sound – both in its original Cantonese language and Mandarin, and TVB drama fans can choose from a wide range of as many as 10 dramas. StarHub TV is also the first in Singapore to offer selected TVB titles in HD (High Definition).

‪Following the shortened telecast window for StarHub TV’s VOD, StarHub will be adjusting its prices to $1.29 per episode (with GST) for standard definition content and $1.61 (with GST) for high definition TVB content. Those who purchase the entire series of a pre-cable drama will enjoy a discount of 10%. StarHub TV’s VOD is available only for customers with a Hubstation, Hubstation HD or HD interactive box.‪

In addition, the telecast window for TVB dramas on VV Drama (StarHub TV Channel 855) will be brought forward so that viewers can enjoy TVB dramas as early as six months from their debuts in Hong Kong and local video rental releases. This will be a substantial change from the current telecast window period of a year from video releases.‪‪

Addition of new weekend primetime belt on VV Drama‪
To provide more weekend entertainment choices for viewers who are fans of TVB dramas, a new TVB drama belt will be introduced on Saturdays and Sundays from 7pm to 8.45pm, where two back-to-back episodes will be shown on each day. Starting 19 June, this weekend primetime belt will feature first-run TVB dramas. With the introduction of the new belt, VV Drama viewers can enjoy first-run TVB dramas every day of the week.‪

Introducing TVB Video-On-Demand content on StarHub TV on Mobile
In order to deliver the ultimate TVB entertainment experience to our customers, StarHub will be boosting its offerings on StarHub TV on Mobile in July to include on-demand TVB content. Fans of TVB dramas and viewers who are constantly on the move will be able to catch as many as 10 pre-cable TVB dramas at their convenience. TVB dramas on StarHub TV on Mobile’s VOD will have the same shortened telecast window as StarHub TV’s VOD, i.e. as early as one month from their debuts in Hong Kong and local video rental releases. Currently, there are two linear TVB channels - TVBS News and TVBJ - available on StarHub TV on Mobile.‪ With this launch, on-demand TVB content will be available on all StarHub platforms - TV, Online and Mobile.

For more information on StarHub’s TV services, visit www.starhub.com/tv or call 1630.‪‪‪

We at singapore so lucky

TallJustin
post Jun 3 2010, 07:53 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jun 3 2010, 01:10 AM)
Astro new website looks cool..but so complicated..
Now I just want to mix and match my packages and so hard to do so..
shocking.gif
it's a massive change isn't it? Yeah a bit confussing at first but it's so different and is designed so you can customise it. I've got my facebook, gmail, programme guide, google and news feeds all there on one home page.

I actually love it and wait till the online B.player kicks in.

anfieldude
post Jun 3 2010, 07:57 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Jun 3 2010, 07:53 AM)
it's a massive change isn't it? Yeah a bit confussing at first but it's so different and is designed so you can customise it. I've got my facebook, gmail, programme guide, google and news feeds all there on one home page.

I actually love it and wait till the online B.player kicks in.
TallJustin,

What is the online B.player?

One question about the PVR, would it also be able to accommodate an external HDD?

I took a look at V2.0 last night briefly but did not see any major changes to the EPG. Is there more work being done on the EPG?
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 3 2010, 07:57 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(Ahteh81 @ Jun 3 2010, 04:06 AM)
TVB Content On StarHub Gets Greater And Fresher‬‪

We at singapore so lucky
really... how you watching world cup?
AjkR06
post Jun 3 2010, 08:26 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

Byond PVR has contract or not? I mean, like Byond, we need to stay for at least one year from the date of activation. Sorry guys, I didn't see any clause about contract on their FAQ and T&C. Just one I see is if you want to stop using the recording services, give at least one month notice before astro send out a person to collect the Byond PVR decoder and replace it with normal Byond... Hope someone can clarify this... hmm.gif
spikey2506
post Jun 3 2010, 08:30 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

TJ, I cannot see the upgrade package page on the new site. Or did I miss it? The link is there, but on the upgrade page, there's only the option for the sports pack upgrade.
dopp
post Jun 3 2010, 08:31 AM

1,733 posts

Do i need to return my old dish too if i upgrade to byond?
the web only says decoder..
ameeyn
post Jun 3 2010, 08:40 AM

Amn85
394 posts

just got byond installed yesterday..

1) the pq is great but the volume of the sd channels are so low even in full volume..is there any way to rectify it?

2) can I get 5.1 sound if I connect the HDMI cable directly from the decoder to my av receiver and then the receiver to my tv?

3) is anyone selling coaxial cable to optical cable converter here?

icon_question.gif

leecwai
post Jun 3 2010, 08:55 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 3 2010, 08:26 AM)
Byond PVR has contract or not? I mean, like Byond, we need to stay for at least one year from the date of activation. Sorry guys, I didn't see any clause about contract on their FAQ and T&C. Just one I see is if you want to stop using the recording services, give at least one month notice before astro send out a person to collect the Byond PVR decoder and replace it with normal Byond... Hope someone can clarify this... hmm.gif
About the contract, I checked with the Astro customer service, no contract for Byond PVR.
eMKs
post Jun 3 2010, 09:08 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Jun 3 2010, 08:31 AM)
Do i need to return my old dish too if i upgrade to byond?
the web only says decoder..

Yes, they change it with new 65cm dish. Dish, decoder, remote & smart card all need to return. If you not return it, they will charge RM80 but smart card is a must.
zwanvedder
post Jun 3 2010, 09:11 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

once downgrade u need to pay again for the new decoder...Astro will change normal decoder for u...
Ahteh81
post Jun 3 2010, 09:12 AM

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jun 3 2010, 07:57 AM)
really... how you watching world cup?
Catch 64 ‘LIVE’ matches on 4 World Cup Channels

* In High Definition
* 64 ‘LIVE’ matches
* 4 World Cup Channels – Ch 261, 262, 263^, 264^
* With free StarHub Mobile and MaxOnline simulcast

Catch the Pre-World Cup International Friendly Matches* ‘LIVE’ from 24 May to 5 June 2010. Only on StarHub TV Football Channel (CH 222) and SuperSports (CH 202).

Find out more on the match fixtures and telecast details.

* Only available to StarHub TV Sports Group customers.
Upgrade your set-top box to enjoy the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ in stunning HD

Enjoy 50% off the HubStation HD for 3 months!
Upgrade at only $7.49/mth (Usual price: $14.98/mth)

For existing customers, upgrade to HubStation HD at any of our Customer Service Centres or Exclusive Partners outlets.

For new customers, call 1630 to sign up today.

Don’t have StarHub TV?
/content/tv/worldcup/jcr:content/par/textimage/image/file

Get the StarHub TV Starter Pack
from only $22.47/month,

OR
/content/tv/worldcup/jcr:content/par/textimage_0/image/file

Get the World Cup Prepaid Pack now!

Terms & Conditions

^World Cup HD1 (Ch 263) and World Cup HD2 (Ch 264) are only available to StarHub TV customers with HubStation HD/HD Interactive set-top box/HD set-top box.

Got lah..hehe

king_kenny
post Jun 3 2010, 09:23 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Jun 2 2010, 06:09 PM)
Could be. I find it strange because almost all the programmes shown must have been filmed in 16:9 anyways. Why not just broadcast them like that.
Most of movies are shot with aspect ratio of 21:9 not 16:9, because it was meant originally for cinema.

Therefore, even if you watch a movie, in so called 16:9 format, it is not the correct aspect ratio & cinematography effect intended by the movie director.

lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 09:31 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(leecwai @ Jun 3 2010, 08:55 AM)
About the contract, I checked with the Astro customer service, no contract for Byond PVR.
Let me correct that, not contract if you upgrade from B.yond or from astro normal dmt. If you have no astro account and straight apply for PVR, you have to serve a 12 months contract.

144 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:21 PM