Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

ameeyn
post Jun 3 2010, 10:58 AM

Amn85
394 posts

just got byond installed yesterday..

1) the pq is great but the volume of the sd channels are so low even in full volume..is there any way to rectify it?

2) can I get 5.1 sound if I connect the HDMI cable directly from the decoder to my av receiver and then the receiver to my tv?

3) is anyone selling coaxial cable to optical cable converter here?
dsubra
post Jun 3 2010, 11:07 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(meon17 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:02 PM)
so, should I upgrade the new astro byond PVR or just use the 'normal' byond one??  unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
Has anyone here already got byond pvr or wd passport av320, how is the recording? Pls give feedback if already has. hmm.gif
eMKs
post Jun 3 2010, 11:11 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Jun 3 2010, 10:58 AM)
just got byond installed yesterday..
1) the pq is great but the volume of the sd channels are so low even in full volume..is there any way to rectify it?
2) can I get 5.1 sound if I connect the HDMI cable directly from the decoder to my av receiver and then the receiver to my tv?
3) is anyone selling coaxial cable to optical cable converter here?

How many times you need to repeat LOL
1)I know volume level is low, but I didn't notice any different between SD & HD channel. Is your firmware updated to ver 2.0?
2)yes, provided you receiver support 5.1 from HDMI. But only certain HD program will be available for 5.1, normally NGC HD & HBO HD.
3)I don't think so, you need to find it online. But you don't need it if you use HDMI to your avr
ameeyn
post Jun 3 2010, 11:20 AM

Amn85
394 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Jun 3 2010, 11:11 AM)
How many times you need to repeat LOL
1)I know volume level is low, but I didn't notice any different between SD & HD channel. Is your firmware updated to ver 2.0?
2)yes, provided you receiver support 5.1 from HDMI. But only certain HD program will be available for 5.1, normally NGC HD & HBO HD.
3)I don't think so, you need to find it online. But you don't need it if you use HDMI to your avr
i repeated it coz no answers tongue.gif

1)How do I update the firmware? Is it automatically updated?

2)How about the sports channel,is it available in 5.1?

This post has been edited by ameeyn: Jun 3 2010, 11:21 AM
lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 11:24 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(y2k @ Jun 3 2010, 10:08 AM)
I have B.yond as the 1st decoder and AstroMax as a second decoder (@RM 38 per month).
When I called Astro about upgrading the AstroMax to the B.yond PVR, they said:
1. no charge for the PVR (RM 300 waived)
2. no recording charge for 12 months (RM 10 per month waived)
BUT
3. need to pay additional RM 20 per month for the B.yond service on the 2nd decoder. WTF!

I am thinking of canceling my 2nd decoder (hardly watch) and sell off my AstroMax decoder?
Haiyo y2k...why WTF like that...I can assure you y2k, the PVR option only have PVR RM 10 charge as mandatory, the HD SEervice Fee of RM20 is not mandatory. I know that for a fact. I sudah buat leesech.

You change to PVR, better bargain, no additional fee for a year. Then only pay RM10. But by that time you salary increase by a few hundreds or thousand already! The Box is damn good you know. I'm using it now!! biggrin.gif
y2k
post Jun 3 2010, 11:32 AM

87 posts

I think it is a bit too much to pay the HD Service fee of RM 20 for each of the 2 decoders.
eMKs
post Jun 3 2010, 11:37 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Jun 3 2010, 11:20 AM)
i repeated it coz no answers  tongue.gif
1)How do I update the firmware? Is it automatically updated?

1) Just leave your decoder in standby mode, in 5 minutes it will auto update. But if your firmware already have latest ver 2.0, no update will be perform.
2) not sure, i don't have 5.1 setup. you can test it. but i don't think so. you can get simulated 5.1 by setting your avr to Dolby ProLogic laugh.gif
marky
post Jun 3 2010, 11:51 AM

xoxo
893 posts

dolby pro logic cant beat the real deal 5.1 lol ><
writesimply
post Jun 3 2010, 12:07 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(king_kenny @ Jun 3 2010, 09:23 AM)
Most of movies are shot with aspect ratio of 21:9 not 16:9, because it was meant originally for cinema.

Therefore, even if you watch a movie, in so called 16:9 format, it is not the correct aspect ratio & cinematography effect intended by the movie director.

Incorrect. Most movies are shot in 1.85:1 (US) and 1.66:1 (some European countries). These includes dramas, comedies and some action movies. Most sci-fi and action movies are/were shot in 2.20:1 (Todd-AO process) and 2.40:1 (modern anamorphic and Super35 process). 2.35:1 is the Cinemascope aspect ratio, practically not used in modern filmmaking anymore. And 16:9 is 1.78:1.

Shooting using anamorphic lenses require more lights for the set, which means more money.

HBO HD does the 16:9 version of pan-and-scan in almost every HD film they show. Very few, such as the recently shown Caddilac Records, are shown in its original aspect ratio. HBO is afraid that people will complain about the black bars on their "expensive" HDTVs.

I do agree about the SD widescreen broadcast. Just as Astro is steering Malaysians into HD broadcast, they should steer the way to SD widescreen broadcast.

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Jun 3 2010, 11:20 AM)

I can't tell if the sports channel are mixed in 5.1. But the Dolby Digital stream that is being fed into your receivers are DD 5.1, whether it has actual 5.1 tracks or not.

fuad
SQL INJECTION
post Jun 3 2010, 12:10 PM

34 posts

aduhh...dah ada features record la plak...charge lagi....setakat 5 hengget kasik free je la kan baguss...astro dah untung banyak woooo doh.gif
Ahteh81
post Jun 3 2010, 12:12 PM

Hey guys, we are not comparing but i think the starhub is exccllent
The picture quality of starhub better is better and sounds better. im a doctor dunno technical stuff well but i know how to tell the difference. Sumore no interuption during rain. We are using cable point whereas astro using satellite disc.
My mum in malaysia subscribe to HD. She regreted because one of the astro pl told her got TV HD. Now she wants to cancel but have to pay charges.
Even the SD channel at starhub is nice...but overall i think our price is reasonable with so mny channels. OUR HBO no delay. The sound better. The surround better.
It's not about comparing but i pities you guys. You are consumers. i think by the time you have 10 HD channels, i think all of our channel is HD and we might not be payin for extras.
Sorry for my sarcasm.
P.S: If Astro is listening, it's not about making money but making the fans happy.
Cheers

Added on June 3, 2010, 12:18 pmsorry i meant astro ppl told my mum got TVB HD ad

This post has been edited by Ahteh81: Jun 3 2010, 12:18 PM
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 3 2010, 12:21 PM

1,976 posts

ok, let's stop this comparison... as in all things some plus, some minus

However, I like the fact that for Starhub, you only have one subscription and can rent as many decoders as you need, instead of having multiple subscriptions. This is really gouging the customers, Astro.

Ahteh81
post Jun 3 2010, 12:23 PM

yes once the govt stop your subsidies i think the astro rent and equipment will shoot up.

.M6
post Jun 3 2010, 12:31 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Ahteh81 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:12 PM)
Hey guys, we are not comparing but i think the starhub is exccllent
The picture quality of starhub better is better and sounds better. im a doctor dunno technical stuff well but i know how to tell the difference. Sumore no interuption during rain. We are using cable point whereas astro using satellite disc.
My mum in malaysia subscribe to HD. She regreted because one of the astro pl told her got TV HD. Now she wants to cancel but have to pay charges.
Even the SD channel at starhub is nice...but overall i think our price is reasonable with so mny channels. OUR HBO no  delay. The sound better. The surround better.
It's not about comparing but i pities you guys. You are consumers. i think by the time you have 10 HD channels, i think all of our channel is HD and we might not be payin for extras.
Sorry for my sarcasm.
P.S: If Astro is listening, it's not about making money but making the fans happy.
Cheers

Added on June 3, 2010, 12:18 pmsorry i meant astro ppl told my mum got TVB HD ad
You're a doctor? Now I feel pity for Singaporeans for having a doctor who can't even type and spell nicely, what if you spell the wrong prescription? But hell if you're a doctor, I'm a space scientist!
Chyan
post Jun 3 2010, 12:41 PM

4,221 posts

How much time do you guys spend on Astro?

I still don't feel the need to upgrade. Will wait for more new channels.
Although I'm an avid HD-goer. & I'm not saying the crappy YouTube type but the Real Deal.

Added on June 3, 2010, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(.M6 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:31 PM)
You're a doctor? Now I feel pity for Singaporeans for having a doctor who can't even type and spell nicely, what if you spell the wrong prescription? But hell if you're a doctor, I'm a space scientist!
You don't have to be so pumped up do you? wink.gif

This post has been edited by Chyan: Jun 3 2010, 12:44 PM
TSapexg2
post Jun 3 2010, 12:47 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

something xtra have to pay....its normal ma.....even u ask mamak to put extra lauk on ur nasi, u pay extra rite.....dun 4get, this is oni here but worldwide.....not defending 'they' but its a real world.....
writesimply
post Jun 3 2010, 12:47 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(.M6 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:31 PM)

We seriously don't need personal attacks here.

So far the only Malaysian company that can/should compete with Astro is TM Net. Beyond Unifi, they can install FIOS; it's a substantial long-term investment but if they can do it, Astro would seem second rate. Once Astro's monopoly clause is over, TM can launch their own satellites to cover Sabah and Sarawak (limited FIOS access) and regional countries (satellite only). But this discussion is not this thread.

fuad
kianwee
post Jun 3 2010, 01:03 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

RM280 is the best price I find for WD Passport AV 320GB from forumer bruceleestore. Anyone found a cheaper source?
sufian89
post Jun 3 2010, 01:26 PM

45 posts

is it me only or everyone cannot access to astro byond subscribe form.?
baowen
post Jun 3 2010, 01:33 PM

1,048 posts

i can't as well, might be website issue.

144 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:04 PM