Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 12:24 AM

255 posts

HAiyoo...complaint non stop la you guys... smile.gif

Consumer fight with money...don't subscribe if you don't think it's not worth it.

To me personally time is money. If I can watch any TV/programs ANYTIME I LIKE...then what is RM5 or RM10 a month?

And to those of you who bought the wrong HDD coz you guys never ever learn...then nasib laa...Complaint untill the goat comes home with the monkeys also no use. Go and buy WD HDD in LYN it's only RM265 the last time I checked.

For those who used to have Max then changed to B.yond already and interested to swap to PVR and still enjoy the privileges ...PM me your details...let me see if I can help you...no promises though. Don't complain to MCMC or SKMM...waste of your time only lah. Nothing the law can do for you guys.

Aside to Justin,
Metadata...get it done pls...can't wait for it to be up and running. biggrin.gif
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 12:26 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Jun 2 2010, 12:22 AM)
Time now is 12.23am.
My Byond is rebooting by itself and then now doing Software Update

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:24 am

77% now.
Can't wait to see your response (as well as the general public) on the latest software upgrade.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 12:29 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(fhdclub @ Jun 2 2010, 12:26 AM)
are we on the same page
are you referring to your astromax?
i am referring to byond pvr
and of course on linear you could only back track (since it could store up to 90min of spooled video on the channel it is switched-on on), pause (buffer) and play
but it ought to have ff to catchup especially through the commercial break, but from their marketing materials it appears there isn't a ff button
For recorded programs...you CAN fast forward...as in skip the commercial. There is a FF button. Look at the current B.yond Remote. all the buttons are there.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:01 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Jun 2 2010, 12:54 AM)
hi bro. Have sent u a pm. Kindly let me know what details u need. Thanks.
acc no and your HP would be good enough. Need to ensure the right people can call u later.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:06 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(nidunalza @ Jun 2 2010, 12:59 AM)
Firmware update complete.. stoopid zoom mode is back but at least they retain stretch mode altho picture looks cropped a bit.

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:59 amFirmware update complete.. stoopid zoom mode is back but at least they retain stretch mode altho picture looks cropped a bit.
there's no cropping for fit to screen mode. Don't start pls. Spend some time first before concluding.

QUOTE(klseet @ Jun 2 2010, 01:00 AM)
Now, no more FFSS liao, YESSSSSS  rclxm9.gif
Can't wait to call CS 1st thing tmr morning  tongue.gif
I have couple of external HDD, will test gao-gao  tongue.gif
don't waste your time. I can assure only WD my passport AV works. You end up damaging the HDD and/or the box later baru tahu. Been testing both pvr and byond with wd hdd since the last 2 months so trust me.

Added on June 2, 2010, 1:08 am
QUOTE(victorwan @ Jun 2 2010, 01:06 AM)
When I am in HD channel and I press the Fit-to-screen/PillarBox button, the selection is LetterBox/Fit-to-screen/CenterCut.....

What is this Center Cut option?

Anyone notice that?

Although there is no different in HD channel for this, but I wonder what is that...............
centre cut is the old Zoom mode that was introduced for a very short time previously. Created a lot of hoopla that time.

This post has been edited by lapaq: Jun 2 2010, 01:08 AM
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:19 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Jun 2 2010, 01:12 AM)
I See.............But why it is only available in HD channel But in SD Channel, it is LB Expand..............i still wonder why............hehe.
blargh! My mistake, centre Cut is for hd only where the box cut the left and right part of the screen to show full screen on sdtv instead of letterboxes.

Ur using sdtv?

Added on June 2, 2010, 1:22 am
QUOTE(klseet @ Jun 2 2010, 01:14 AM)
Er, you work for Astro like TallJustin? So you mean only that particular WD model runs well on Astro PVR?
Have you tested for other brands? blink.gif
other models wont work, even if it's the same brand. TallJustin? Umm sapa tu? smile.gif

This post has been edited by lapaq: Jun 2 2010, 01:22 AM
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:26 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Jun 2 2010, 01:22 AM)
No..........i am using a Panasonic Plasma HDTV.

Well, there is no different at all when I select these in HD channel.
yup that is it. It is designed for hd programs in 16:9 to be croppwd to 4:3 in sdtv while still maintaining the aspect ratio and shown without the black bars.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:28 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Jun 2 2010, 01:22 AM)
yo.. about the FOX HD thingy... is it coming from reliable source??

how did u said Astro confirm these things... are u working with em??
just wait for an announcement lah. Don't speculate. Just a few more days what. If nothing happens then it's not true lah.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:52 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Jun 2 2010, 01:34 AM)
How did you manage to test it 2 months before it launch?
Could you explain further on why other HDD won't work?
other hdd wont work simply because the byond box software has be hardcoded to only accept specific model of the hdd. the wd my passport av has been tested and proven to be very stable in every possible condition. I.e. Tested to be fully compatible. Also the fact that the power requirement is very stable and is able to work with non stop recording for a very long time.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 02:07 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jun 2 2010, 01:36 AM)
Thanks for the reply, Justin. Appreciate it. I guess RM10 a month for B.yond PVR is for the ability to record using two tuners instead of one on B.yond.

The following paragraphs is my deduction and customer feedback, but I understand if you take it as a personal attack.

I personally think that the reason for the recommendation for the WD AV HDD is to discourage subscribers to buy the HDD and instead get B.yond PVR. The price is practically the same yet by paying for the B.yond PVR you get 200 GB more and the dual-tuner. The reason is to sell more B.yond PVR while the 320GB stock is still sitting in the warehouse. We all know that HDD size and price change a lot within six months but Astro can't possibly keep changing the B.yond PVR to newer drives each month.

Astro tech people I spoke to at Mid Valley said I can't change the internal HDD of B.yond PVR to a larger one either unless the B.yond firmware allows it to. But there's already a WD AV 2TB 3.5" HDD (drive only) out there, designed specifically for PVRs. Granted it costs more than B.yond PVR but I predict future owners would want the ability to upgrade easily.

Tivo allows for this and that's why they left the upgrade options open. They go so far as to include an e-SATA port at the back of their Tivo HD units; B.yond PVR does not have an e-SATA port at the back. And Tivo certainly did not specify that the HDD has to be from WD nor did they say that it must be an AV HDD. As a point of reference, Tivo US records in MPEG-2 bitstreams higher than 8Mbps that the B.yond HD channels on air. For Tivo to not demand that the HDD be of a specific model means they understand what their customers demanded. Even Sony doesn't dictate which SATA drive you can use with the PS3; as long as data can flow uninterrupted, it is a valid drive. Using PlayTV/Torne boxes (connected via USB), users can turn the PS3 as a PVR in Europe, Australia and Japan.

I believe that it is wiser for Astro to leave the choice of external/internal HDDs to the subscribers. They can have a recommended list to cover their asses, but leave the decision to the consumers. If the consumers are not satisfied with the quality of their recording, they can change to a recommended drive.

EDIT: I was told by the Astro tech person at MidValley that FX HD would be in the Family package, AXN HD in the Variety package and that Chinese HD channel in Dynasty. He didn't say when but I guess the 16th is as good as any launch date.
fuad
fuad,

your deduction is not entirely correct. I can say that much. Ask yourselves this question. Out of 3 mil Astro customers, what's the percentage of customers who would require an upgradable pvr box? The answer? Personally i only see a small fraction. Those as techie as you and me will never really need it simply because we have our PS3, HD media player HTPC and etc to play our bluray, HD Movies and etc.

Ask yourself, what would an average joe use it for? To record indefinitely and fill the hdd within the first week N never delete anything?

Having 500gb is more than enough for today's customer. If one day Astro decided to fit a PVR with a 1 TB hdd it can be done just like the PS3 and xbox 360, those who bought first will get only 500gb and those who bought later will get 1TB. Astro just need to update the software.

Malaysian is not ready to have that options yet especially when it comes to astro. Then again, as astro said it during the launch event, they are going to add more hdd in the list to be compatible with byond in the future. Just let them do the testing and ensure that consumer and the company interest is protected. That is all.

This post has been edited by lapaq: Jun 2 2010, 02:14 AM
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 07:20 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jun 2 2010, 02:24 AM)
which part of the below post don't you understand?
WHAT???!! where's the funding go?
shakehead.gif  ok, that's it... the lot of you better look for new jobs next week.

wink.gif

you just KNOW some people are going to complain about this  vmad.gif
you can be sure od that Justin! We Malaysians like to complain. Looking at what is happening, you beeter go apply for a job in MCMC they will need more people. biggrin.gif
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 10:34 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jun 2 2010, 09:05 AM)
Your argument here cancels each other out. I wouldn't need an upgradeable because I have a ___ device yet I can't transfer any of the recordings from B.yond to my ____ device to free up the HDD space. Essentially, what I delete will be lost forever and I'm supposed to be happy with that.

Regardless of the percentage of customers that would require an upgradeable PVR, it is another feature that is user-friendly. Most people don't know or care that their DVD player can play DIVX content but at least it's there if/when they need it, just like most laptop owners don't burn lots of DVDs either even though their drives are perfectly capable.

I said that about my 20GB HDD. Then my 80GB HDD. Then my 1TB HDD. Those who have lots of CDs to rip or Tivo-ed content would always want a bigger drive.

I know they said that. They also said that 1) you can't open up the B.yond PVR and upgrade the HDD yourself and 2) you can buy your own WD AV HDD 320GB and activate the recording function. 1 discourages user participation while 2 encourages it, thereby sending conflicting signals. As I said, they should open it up so that users can add whichever HDD they want.

By the way, you can't remotely program your B.yond PVR or B.yond + HDD using the internet. That means if you forgot to do it at home, you better hope Astro repeats the broadcast. They should have put this feature in at launch.
fuad
Hi Fuad,

My points is do we 'techie' really need to keep all these recordings, we value a movie enough that we will buy the bluray or like everyone nowadays, just download unrated bluray rip from the net to be played using our media player. The Astro PVR I see it only as a temporary recording so I can watch later. Things like sports events or news or just several episodes of a series that I miss.

It's not designed to be the media player to keep everything. It would be hell to nagivate thru it. because you can't sort, you can't search and you obviously can't have folders to separate movies according to genre, or series or etc for the time being. Who knows what can Astro do in the future.

As for the External HDD argument, I totally agree with you that they should open it you have valid points however let's give Astro some time to get their act together, no one have done this before. LEt's give them some time yeah..I'm sure in a few weeks/monts they will add more HDD to the "Astro Compatible" list.

To other whi came in late.

1. B.yond with External HDD only works with WD My Passport AV 320GB currently. No other HDD will work with the B.yond Box at this juncture. It's not only about teh power stability but other criteria as well. For the time being, the B.yond Box is configured to only accept My Pass Port AV 320GB. no other brands or models from teh same brand.

2. B.yond PVR on teh other hand will only work with the HDD that it comes with, It's hardcoded already. It does have a USB port however the USB port will not be able to be used to connect another HDD.

Whether the above will change in teh future depends Astro. but I don't think anything will change in the near future except adding more HDD to be compatible with the existing B.yond Box.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 10:49 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Jun 2 2010, 10:18 AM)
Good point, if cannot backup or copy to another HDD, then 500GB where got enough?!

Yaloh, if life-time warranty, after paying additional RM10 monthly, why we still have to pay the RM300 ?? hmm.gif
The RM300 is installation and ODU equipment fee. There will be 2 cables coming down from the ODU and the ODU will be replaced with the B.yond ODU and the LNB will be replaced with either Dual or Quad LNB depending on how many decoders you have in your house. That is where the RM300 goes to.

The PVR box belongs to Astro so RM300 is not us paying to own it.

500GB translates to 100 HD hours or 290 SD hours. No enough?
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 10:55 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jun 2 2010, 10:45 AM)
I am qualified for free pvr and no monthly fee for one year, may get it in the near future brows.gif , but can I pay RM80 and keep the max?
The offer is only if Max customer return the Max box. If you keep you need to pay RM400 installation Fee and not 1 year free.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 11:29 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jun 2 2010, 11:13 AM)
If I upgrade from max, how can I transfer old recordings to PVR's harddish?
No can do...kenot transfer...have to bear with it.

QUOTE(edmundq @ Jun 2 2010, 11:23 AM)
I tried to plug in my Seagate Freeagent Go 320GB 2.5" HDD. The system will detect the drive and then come out with a warning:

Validation Failed: This USB device cannot be used.

So its confirmation. unless we use the exact drive ASTRO recommends, the system will not accept it. but the question is.. can we use the exact WD My passport AV model but 500GB, 640GB or even 1TB?

Hehehe... apart from sugar shortage, there will be a WD My passport AV 320GB in the market very very soon.
Confirm kenot use other size of the same model like 500GB or 1TB since verificcation is based on teh model number and model number changes acccording to the size as well.
lapaq
post Jun 2 2010, 01:21 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jun 2 2010, 01:15 PM)
Last time Astro shit said the next firmware upgrade can enable the recording through ext usb hardisk . Now they are selling the firmware for RM 300 . It's identical and looks exactly the same only the firmware inside it the enable the recording
MX your post does not make any sense. Astro is not selling the HDD. WD is and the firmware is made available for free. but teh PVR service is chargeble for RM5 each month.

Go and bug WD to lower the price lah...why Astro?
lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 01:00 AM

255 posts

The new FAQ is a little different. Looks like Astro has taken out some of the more obscure or should I say the less than frequently asked questions. I think it is the right move since they certainly do not want to confuse the general public.

What I'n not happy though why did they delay the launch of the 3 new HD channels?? It was supposed to be together with the availability of the PVR...! I wan't my CSI in HD!

lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 09:31 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(leecwai @ Jun 3 2010, 08:55 AM)
About the contract, I checked with the Astro customer service, no contract for Byond PVR.
Let me correct that, not contract if you upgrade from B.yond or from astro normal dmt. If you have no astro account and straight apply for PVR, you have to serve a 12 months contract.
lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 11:24 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(y2k @ Jun 3 2010, 10:08 AM)
I have B.yond as the 1st decoder and AstroMax as a second decoder (@RM 38 per month).
When I called Astro about upgrading the AstroMax to the B.yond PVR, they said:
1. no charge for the PVR (RM 300 waived)
2. no recording charge for 12 months (RM 10 per month waived)
BUT
3. need to pay additional RM 20 per month for the B.yond service on the 2nd decoder. WTF!

I am thinking of canceling my 2nd decoder (hardly watch) and sell off my AstroMax decoder?
Haiyo y2k...why WTF like that...I can assure you y2k, the PVR option only have PVR RM 10 charge as mandatory, the HD SEervice Fee of RM20 is not mandatory. I know that for a fact. I sudah buat leesech.

You change to PVR, better bargain, no additional fee for a year. Then only pay RM10. But by that time you salary increase by a few hundreds or thousand already! The Box is damn good you know. I'm using it now!! biggrin.gif
lapaq
post Jun 3 2010, 02:18 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(sharp56 @ Jun 3 2010, 02:00 PM)
I have just requested for Beyond to be installed. Astro told me that the installation is free if I swapped the decoder, remote controller and the satellite dish. However if I intend to keep the decoder and remote I have to pay RM100 for the installation.

Is there any use if I keep the decoder? Can I bring to another room or another house to watch Astro if I keep the decoder? If there is no use for it then I might as well swap them for a free installation of Beyond.

Your advice is much appreciated.
Sharpy,

Just let go of teh decoder lah. No point keeping it. The new B.yond Box is paired with the SMC. That means the card can't be used with any other box. If you keep as a spare also no use. If sell outside also people will only buy it for RM30-RM50. No reason to keep if you ask me.

0.0704sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:52 AM