SeanChang
post Jan 8 2010, 08:54 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Jan 8 2010, 11:35 AM)
I just want the lap top.
After finish paying the lap top, I will terminate this DANGEROUS CC.. smile.gif
the cc is not dangerous at all, it's the person using it are dangerous tongue.gif
rizer
post Jan 8 2010, 10:12 PM

289 posts

guy
i need to pay around RM800 for petrol and around RM800 for hotel per month
does anybody know which bank's card will give me best benefit ?
roy918
post Jan 9 2010, 12:34 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 8 2010, 08:46 PM)
My parents just told me that my DA Platinum has arrived today. It's already 2 weeks!
Same here. Just got one (Visa) of the 3 pre-approved DA platinum cards today with same credit as in gold cards doh.gif . The letter was dated to 27th Dec.
I'm still thinking if want to cancel this platinum or transfer from gold card to platinum (can delay 3 more months before paying service tax). hmm.gif

This post has been edited by roy918: Jan 9 2010, 03:19 PM
eddievh
post Jan 9 2010, 12:34 AM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(rizer @ Jan 8 2010, 10:12 PM)
guy
i need to pay around RM800 for petrol and around RM800 for hotel per month
does anybody know which bank's card will give me best benefit ?
Maybank Gold Amex should be quite suitable.
joylay83
post Jan 9 2010, 01:06 AM

854 posts

Hi.. i currently hold MBB visa and ames.. the 2 'supposed to be free' but now RM50 yearly fee. can some1 provide a comparison MBB vs CIMB(DA) vs SCB?
hye
post Jan 9 2010, 07:07 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Jan 9 2010, 01:06 AM)
Hi.. i currently hold MBB visa and ames.. the 2 'supposed to be free' but now RM50 yearly fee. can some1 provide a comparison MBB vs CIMB(DA) vs SCB?
Don't be lazy. The info are available on each banks website and if you want something for your own benefit, do it yourself.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 9 2010, 07:21 AM
rizer
post Jan 9 2010, 11:33 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jan 9 2010, 12:34 AM)
Maybank Gold Amex should be quite suitable.
but only very limited retails accept Amex rite ?
zeroexz
post Jan 9 2010, 01:56 PM

283 posts

my friend has a DA plat @ 10k combined limit =..=
GuyzNexDoor
post Jan 9 2010, 03:05 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(rizer @ Jan 9 2010, 11:33 AM)
but only very limited retails accept Amex rite ?
Yup, most of the shops in LYP oso dun wanna accept AMEX. I can remember only All IT accept AMEX. But no problem to use it at most hyper market like carrefour, jusco etc..
yngwie
post Jan 9 2010, 05:48 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

posting a question on behalf of a impatient colleague sweat.gif he graduated sometimes last year and had been working in my company for the past 5 months.
while am canceling mine, he applied a new cc(citibank) for the 1st time last thursday.
problem was, during the application, he can't remember his wife's mykad no... tongue.gif
so he just thick the status as single. will this affect his cc application?

deeplyheartbroken
post Jan 9 2010, 05:49 PM

774 posts

saw something like 15% rebate for Amex advert at jusco. not sure how it works though.
hye
post Jan 9 2010, 06:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jan 9 2010, 05:48 PM)
posting a question on behalf of a impatient colleague  sweat.gif  he graduated sometimes last year and had been working in my company for the past 5 months.
while am canceling mine, he applied a new cc(citibank) for the 1st time last thursday.
problem was, during the application, he can't remember his wife's mykad no...  tongue.gif
so he just thick the status as single. will this affect his cc application?
No.
MilesAndMore
post Jan 9 2010, 06:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jan 8 2010, 12:56 AM)
Now SCB Plat cc only RM 60k per annum requirement? Looks like they dropped their standard already on Plat, maybe to give way for their Visa Infinite or attract more users.
It's been so for two years at least. The relaunched VISA Infinite is no longer open for public application. You will need to be SCB Priority Banking customer to be eligible for one.

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 8 2010, 10:56 AM)
That's true but no bank is going to offer such thing right? Any bank?
EON Bank, UOB Bank and HSBC. Got this info from the previous thread.

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 8 2010, 01:27 PM)
Bankcrupt jor is it this CIMB? doh.gif
Impossible lah. It has BN standing behind it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cantona7 @ Jan 8 2010, 02:29 PM)
does anyone know how much
Maybank AMEX gold cc

charge for oversea spending?
AMEX with Maybank logo > 1.5%
AMEX without Maybank logo > 2%

**Got the info from my mom's old statement.

QUOTE(cantona7 @ Jan 8 2010, 02:29 PM)
does anyone know how much

Direct Access gold cc

charge for oversea spending?
1%

QUOTE(zeroexz @ Jan 9 2010, 01:56 PM)
Oh my God ! We are becoming Singapore ... whistling.gif

hye
post Jan 9 2010, 07:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(zeroexz @ Jan 9 2010, 01:56 PM)
Still have have a lot of people scrambling for this so called "Platinum" status. A couple of threads ago, we find forummers getting excited over nothing due to the "One Platinum" from UOB. Product is called One Platinum but there's nothing about it which is worth mentioning of equivalent Platinum status.

Now banks like CIMB is further diluting the Platinum brand by offering it to retain customers due to the RM50 service tax fiasco. I think a lot of the old Platinum card holders sure feel upset coz their cards no meaning anymore. The last undisturbed frontier is now the VISA Infinite and the Mastercard World. Hope it stays that way ...

Shinichi
post Jan 9 2010, 07:44 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, does SCB give RM150 welcome bonus for successful new card application? How about other banks? How much do they give? I search Citibank, HSBC and SCB but cant seem to find this info from their site.
ellimist
post Jan 9 2010, 08:01 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Diner's Club (yes, i know it's actually a charge card) sent me a new card which gives me updated "Discover" and "Pulse" features. Received the card today in the mail. Thing is, I was looking at my old card, and it does already have these 2 logos on the back of the card.

Not that I know what the above is anyways, the thing I'm interested in is that they dated the letter and card in December 09. And it's specifically stated that GST will only be charged in Dec 2010.

Which got me thinking, banks should actually have done this. Might just get ppl to stop cancelling the card since they can wait to end of next year. And if the card is decent enough, ppl will use it, accumulate points and eventually decide to stick to the card. tongue.gif

andrekua
post Jan 9 2010, 08:22 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 9 2010, 07:44 PM)
Hi all, does SCB give RM150 welcome bonus for successful new card application? How about other banks? How much do they give? I search Citibank, HSBC and SCB but cant seem to find this info from their site.
I got RM100 for my Plat and for gold is RM50 only. Not bad... literally paying my service tax for two years.
leongal
post Jan 9 2010, 10:14 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

is there a trend that credit card limits have been increased lately? Most of my friends say so....

I am not a big spender with the credit card, do u think it is safer to lower the credit card limit or leave it as it is - which is rm9k?
Shinichi
post Jan 9 2010, 10:48 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jan 9 2010, 08:22 PM)
I got RM100 for my Plat and for gold is RM50 only. Not bad... literally paying my service tax for two years.
Thanks for feedback. Considering service tax being charged for new card issuance, I think cards that offer $$ as welcome bonus would be a good choice to apply. But so far I only know SCB giving $$ as welcome bonus.

For those planning to buy from Sony, I think its best to apply for MBB SonyCard since it offer 10x points for every RM1 spent. Eg. a 4k laptop will earn you 40k treatpoints which you can use 10k to waive service tax for 1 year...
Gen-X
post Jan 9 2010, 11:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jan 9 2010, 08:22 PM)
how about annual fees for next 2 years?

Added on January 9, 2010, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(joylay83 @ Jan 9 2010, 01:06 AM)
Boy, did you read the first page?

I will assume you have AMEX Gold CC. I don't have SCB so can't comment but do check if their annual fees are waivable.

Benefit of Amex Gold CC:
1. 5X reward points for petrol, MPH & Borders and groceries or 2.5% cash back (if redeem 200 MR = RM1). However can't use at Petronas.
2. 2X reward points for other transactions. This itself give you unlimited 1% cash back if you convert points to cash.
3. Tol Free CS line
4. Membership reward points no expiry.

Benefit of CIMB/DA Mastercard (forget about Visa) for now. Go to their website as hye mentioned lah.
1. 2% cash back at ALL petrol stations.
2. 0% Interest for Education, Hospital and Insurance Transactions.
3. 0% Balance Transfer for 6 months vs. MBB/AMEX 3 months
4. Saturdays and Sundays cash rebate at KFC, Isetan, Bonia, Guardian and Cold Storage.
5. Can use at places where AMEX not acceptable smile.gif
6. If you have their World Mastercard, free coffee at DOME thumbup.gif

Cons of CIMB/DA
1. No TOL free line for CS, so you pay for the calls and usually DA got to wait longer.
2. Redeem voucher got to pay for courier charges.
3. Reward points have expiry date.

I am going to cancel my MBB Petronas Plat soon since I have Mesra Card and DA have extended the 2% rebate for Petrol.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 9 2010, 11:40 PM

130 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:30 PM