Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

hye
post Dec 22 2009, 05:51 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just now when I called the bank to cancel my credit card, the CS officer asked "May I know whay are you cancelling the card?"
I answered with "The same reason why all Malaysians are now cancelling the card - Don't want to pay service tax!"

The CS officer laughed and proceed to assist me with my card cancellation.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 22 2009, 05:52 PM
arsenal
post Dec 22 2009, 07:09 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

All,

CIMB and DA extend interest free 10 months payment for insurance,education and medical.

Cheers
santaclaus
post Dec 22 2009, 07:16 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 22 2009, 02:45 PM)
SCB JustOne supplementary card has a different RM600 cash rebate which is not shared with the principal card.
oh now onli i noe this ... no wonder the rebates stil on ... definitely the best card available liao thumbup.gif
Darkmage12
post Dec 22 2009, 08:33 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Dec 22 2009, 05:19 PM)
The RM50 service tax is charged on the anniversary of the card issued. So my question is, lets say if your card's anniversary falls on 08/10 but you cancel the card 1month earlier than the date so do we still need to pay the Service tax? If no need then quite lucky for December 2009 applicants tongue.gif
Those applied now get charged immediately doh.gif
winner
post Dec 22 2009, 08:57 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Dec 22 2009, 07:16 PM)
oh now onli i noe this ... no wonder the rebates stil on ... definitely the best card available liao  thumbup.gif
I was even told that each principal card were allowed to apply for up to 6 supplementary cards, and every supplementary card was entitled to RM600 each. However, I can't confirm this as SCB had already stopped issuing this card when I wanted to apply for supplementary cards in Aug.
ronnie
post Dec 22 2009, 09:28 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(mrgekko81 @ Dec 22 2009, 10:28 AM)
Haha,.... i guess the best card to get for foreign trips is still MBB. tongue.gif

I totally agree... Alliance having NIL admin charges is totally not right.
I was informed by MBB Customer Service that MBB only charge what Visa/MC forex conversion rate only. no admin fee.
AMEX does have admin fee.
hye
post Dec 22 2009, 09:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Tuesday December 22, 2009
BIMB too won’t absorb credit card service tax
By AU KA-SHING

It says it has other perks for credit-card holders

KUALA LUMPUR: Bank Islam Malaysia Bhd (BIMB) has announced that it will not “cover” the proposed service tax on credit cards, saying it already has enough other incentives for its credit card customers. It is the second bank to annouce this after Malayan Banking Bhd.

The Government will soon impose a RM50 tax on primary credit cards and RM25 on supplementary credit cards, as announced during the unveiling of Budget 2010.

A random survey by StarBiz found that banks like Citibank and RHB Bank were also not in favour of covering the tax for their customers.

Indications are that banks are only willing to waive annual fees (if not already waived) and/or allow customers to use their points collected to help pay for the tax.
Khairul Kamarudin (2nd from right) poses with the winners of BIMB’s ExtraBagAnza campaign

“BIMB has always had annual fee waivers and rebates way before the Government considered implementation of the credit card tax,” Khairul Kamarudin, BIMB’s consumer banking division general manager, told reporters at a prize-giving ceremony at BIMB’s ExtraBagAnza campaign yesterday.

He said covering the tax would not be in the “spirit of the tax,” which aims to discipline spending among Malaysians.

“Most banks are not looking to cover this tax, but BIMB on the other hand is providing cash rebates for customers to decide if they want to cover the tax or not,” he said.

Khairul said BIMB had not experienced any decline in the number of credit card users, but acknowledged that a reduction in credit card applications could happen in the months ahead due to the introduction of the tax.

He added that BIMB had several products in the pipeline to counteract the problem, with debit cards among the new products.

Meanwhile, BIMB aims to increase its personal financing portfolio to RM2bil for the financial year ending June 30, 2010, from RM1.5bil previously. To achieve this, Khairul said the bank would execute an aggressive and effective marketing campaign to attract customers.

He noted that under the bank’s ExtraBagAnza campaign, RM30mil in loans had been disbursed under its Personal Financing-I facility up to Nov 30 from the campaign’s kick-off on Sept 1.

kei18kun
post Dec 22 2009, 09:53 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 22 2009, 09:28 PM)
I was informed by MBB Customer Service that MBB only charge what Visa/MC forex conversion rate only. no admin fee.
hidden charges, very dishonest and tricky of Alliance Bank sweat.gif
FD2r
post Dec 22 2009, 10:58 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 22 2009, 08:57 PM)
I was even told that each principal card were allowed to apply for up to 6 supplementary cards, and every supplementary card was entitled to RM600 each. However, I can't confirm this as SCB had already stopped issuing this card when I wanted to apply for supplementary cards in Aug.
Winner,

I can confirm on tat, as i hav family members tat lucky enough to applied 3 sup card before they stop issuing new card.. i only manage to get 2 approved, 3rd wan, can't get through, they hold the application.. and I can confirm that every card is entitled for RM600 of rebate or even more if u know the trick.. nod.gif
MilesAndMore
post Dec 22 2009, 11:11 PM

9,301 posts

Believe you have been misinformed. Maybank does have foreign currency conversion administration fee. For VISA and Mastercard, the admin fee is 0.5% and 1.5% for all range of AMEX cards bearing the "Maybankard" logo. As for a true AMEX cards without any Maybank logo, the admin fee is 2.5%.

To make it simple for you all to compare :
Maybank VISA/Mastercard - 0.5%
AMEX with Maybankard logo/Ikhwan AMEX - 1.5%
AMEX (green/gold/platinum charge card & gold/platinum credit card without Maybank logo) - 2.5%

ronnie
post Dec 22 2009, 11:33 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 22 2009, 11:11 PM)
Believe you have been misinformed. Maybank does have foreign currency conversion administration fee. For VISA and Mastercard, the admin fee is 0.5% and 1.5% for all range of AMEX cards bearing the "Maybankard" logo. As for a true AMEX cards without any Maybank logo, the admin fee is 2.5%.

To make it simple for you all to compare :
Maybank VISA/Mastercard - 0.5%
AMEX with Maybankard logo/Ikhwan AMEX - 1.5%
AMEX (green/gold/platinum charge card & gold/platinum credit card without Maybank logo) - 2.5%

Does MBB use the Visa/MC forex rate or MBB Forex rates ?
zenquix
post Dec 22 2009, 11:38 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

One thing to compare is whether all the cards were Visa or a mix between Visa and MC..
MilesAndMore
post Dec 23 2009, 02:00 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 22 2009, 11:33 PM)
Does MBB use the Visa/MC forex rate or MBB Forex rates ?
As far as i am concerned, regardless what bank your credit card is issued by, the foreign currency exchange rate will be determined by VISA International/Mastercard Inc.

pizza0502
post Dec 23 2009, 02:55 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 22 2009, 03:40 PM)
nothing special whatsoever
see here
I've read that link when i google rhb bank credit card.
it seem like not so many benefit like discount when purchase stuff.

I've found out HSBC is the best for ladies, cuz it can get discount or collect more point when purchasing stuff like clothing.
Is there another bank's credit card is as good as HSBC that got alot of shop that can use for discount?

I've another question here.
I'm a HSBC supplement card holder for 1 year+ already. Is this will gonna make me easier to apply a main card from HSBC?
How much is the card limit i'll get after i applied the main card? can i straight away sup a card to another person after i get approved?
hye
post Dec 23 2009, 06:44 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Dec 23 2009, 02:55 AM)
I've read that link when i google rhb bank credit card.
it seem like not so many benefit like discount when purchase stuff.

I've found out HSBC is the best for ladies, cuz it can get discount or collect more point when purchasing stuff like clothing.
Is there another bank's credit card is as good as HSBC that got alot of shop that can use for discount?

I've another question here.
I'm a HSBC supplement card holder for 1 year+ already. Is this will gonna make me easier to apply a main card from HSBC?
How much is the card limit i'll get after i applied the main card? can i straight away sup a card to another person after i get approved?
Card selection is very much an individual choice. What you like and want in a card would not be applicable to all.

Let's go over to your next question. NO ... it won't make it easier for you to apply for HSBC card. You need to be a principal card holder of any cards to make it count towards your financial history. Once you are approved as a principal, you are free to sub it to another person - in fact that can even be done at the point of your own application.
GHz
post Dec 23 2009, 07:19 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(FD2r @ Dec 22 2009, 10:58 PM)
Winner,

I can confirm on tat, as i hav family members tat lucky enough to applied 3 sup card before they stop issuing new card.. i only manage to get 2 approved, 3rd wan, can't get through, they hold the application.. and I can confirm that every card is entitled for RM600 of rebate or even more if u know the trick.. nod.gif
Let us know what is the tricks too.
alexwsk
post Dec 23 2009, 09:42 AM

4,092 posts

that's bs for me, MBB charge 1%, contrary to the 0.5% on the first page
i went to Best Western Hotel in Wuhan twice, both time in the receipt the amount is shown in RM and RMB
guest what, each time when posted, the amount is 0.999 something percent more than the amount in RM

the CS defnitely don't know what are they talking about

Added on December 23, 2009, 9:43 am
QUOTE(hye @ Dec 22 2009, 09:30 PM)
Tuesday December 22, 2009
BIMB too won’t absorb credit card service tax
who cares about BIMB yawn.gif

Added on December 23, 2009, 9:45 am
QUOTE(hye @ Dec 22 2009, 05:51 PM)
Just now when I called the bank to cancel my credit card, the CS officer asked "May I know whay are you cancelling the card?"
I answered with "The same reason why all Malaysians are now cancelling the card - Don't want to pay service tax!"

The CS officer laughed and proceed to assist me with my card cancellation.
and which bank is that tongue.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Dec 23 2009, 09:45 AM
FD2r
post Dec 23 2009, 09:47 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 23 2009, 07:19 AM)
Let us know what is the tricks too.
this is from my personal experience, try at ur on risk, every card holder got only 1 chances.. I think might b repost..

-monitor closely ur rebate, once up to RM599, swap a big spending into single transaction. eg 5k on friday, u will get rm250 instead of RM1.
personally i manage to get extra of around 170 rebate coz I swap a 3.8k on last transaction which i should around RM10 only..

Happy spending..

This post has been edited by FD2r: Dec 23 2009, 09:47 AM
alexwsk
post Dec 23 2009, 10:15 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(FD2r @ Dec 23 2009, 09:47 AM)
this is from my personal experience, try at ur on risk, every card holder got only 1 chances.. I think might b repost..
-monitor closely ur rebate, once up to RM599, swap a big spending into single transaction. eg 5k on friday, u will get rm250 instead of RM1.
personally i manage to get extra of around 170 rebate coz I swap a 3.8k on last transaction which i should around RM10 only..

Happy spending..
nod.gif
i shud hv hold my last transaction until I can find something big
SUSsilentpeas
post Dec 23 2009, 10:23 AM

22 posts

is that every of u has like 5-10 cards? hmm.gif when all malaysian are canceling their cards, i am applying for new card, is that wise? so far i have only 2 cards.

130 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:02 AM