130 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

mrgekko81
post Dec 21 2009, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 21 2009, 07:55 PM)
Mind posting the amount in Rupiah and RM? Also the posting date for the transaction. There is a 1.5-1.9% diff from the numbers you posted above.

The details are as follow

Maybank Visa
IDR : 660,176
MYR : 241.46
Posting Date : 12-11-2009

SCB Master
IDR : 2,508,000
MYR : 921.09
Posting Date : Not specified posting or transaction date in statement. 08-11-2009 was listed

Alliance Visa
IDR : 306,130
MYR : 114.20
Posting Date : 11-11-2009

Gen-X
post Dec 22 2009, 12:23 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mrgekko81 @ Dec 21 2009, 11:33 PM)

The details are as follow

Maybank Visa
IDR : 660,176
MYR : 241.46
Posting Date : 12-11-2009

SCB Master
IDR : 2,508,000
MYR : 921.09
Posting Date : Not specified posting or transaction date in statement.  08-11-2009 was listed

Alliance Visa
IDR : 306,130
MYR : 114.20
Posting Date : 11-11-2009
based on the above posting dates and forex from http://www.oanda.com/currency/converter/

Exchange rate on 11-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003598 MBB rate 0.0003658 or 1.65%
Exchange rate on 12-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003601 Alliance rate 0.000373 or 3.56% shocking.gif
based on exchange rate on 11/11 and 12/11 SCB about 2%

Yah Alliance rate damn high for your case.

For me case where transactions was in USD months ago, MBB rate lower than Alliance but Alliance lower than DA. HSBC and UOB.

Guess David83, if you reading this, better delete the Alliance - NIL as it is incorrect - my bad.
zenquix
post Dec 22 2009, 12:37 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

You swapped the posting date. Alliance looks to be even higher.
Gen-X
post Dec 22 2009, 12:42 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 22 2009, 12:37 AM)
You swapped the posting date. Alliance looks to be even higher.
yah lah, you right i swapped the posting , me blur lah doh.gif but the forex is correct

it should read

Exchange rate on 12-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003598 MBB rate 0.0003658 or 1.65%
Exchange rate on 11-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003601 Alliance rate 0.000373 or 3.56%
miaomiaolala
post Dec 22 2009, 10:21 AM

23 posts

was wondering, not all banks allow you to cancel the card and continue to send you statements everymonth to settle the outstanding balances.

Anybody knows which banks that allows us to do so? To cancel the card now but continue to send statements every month
hye
post Dec 22 2009, 10:28 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(miaomiaolala @ Dec 22 2009, 10:21 AM)
was wondering, not all banks allow you to cancel the card and continue to send you statements everymonth to settle the outstanding balances.

Anybody knows which banks that allows us to do so? To cancel the card now but continue to send statements every month
The quick answer is no. But I do know of such practice but I don't think you want to be associated with it. Banks will do this to their customers who are defaulters and your name will be listed. Just pay off your debt lah ... or execute a Balance Transfer.
mrgekko81
post Dec 22 2009, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 22 2009, 12:42 AM)
yah lah, you right i swapped the posting , me blur lah  doh.gif but the forex is correct

it should read

Exchange rate on 12-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003598 MBB rate 0.0003658 or 1.65%
Exchange rate on 11-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003601 Alliance rate 0.000373 or 3.56%
Haha,.... i guess the best card to get for foreign trips is still MBB. tongue.gif

However anybody tried to check the rates for credit card n debit card? Mastercard for example?

Is it the same administration fee charged to both cards or is it different when used overseas?
miaomiaolala
post Dec 22 2009, 10:34 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 22 2009, 10:28 AM)
The quick answer is no. But I do know of such practice but I don't think you want to be associated with it. Banks will do this to their customers who are defaulters and your name will be listed. Just pay off your debt lah ... or execute a Balance Transfer.
thanks for the clarification. My friend was asking me regarding this matter and I was curious as well.
hye
post Dec 22 2009, 10:35 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mrgekko81 @ Dec 22 2009, 10:28 AM)
However anybody tried to check the rates for credit card n debit card?  Mastercard for example?
Slightly OT ... if you are using a debit card then might as well do a ATM withdrawal overseas. Conversion rates are better than the money changer, up to RM15 ATM fee per withdrawal charges - works out well if you are withdrawing a certain sum. (But not for small withdrawals as you incur ATM fee each time)

Credit card is useful if you don't want to carry large sum of cash and to provide protection while you are overseas.
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 22 2009, 11:37 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

if you have balance in the card, the banks will ask you to pay up in full before letting you cancel the card. Otherwise they will not let u cancel it at all.
alexwsk
post Dec 22 2009, 11:38 AM

4,093 posts

hehe, i managed to squeezed another RM13++ from JustOne
my last transaction before reaching RM600 is on last friday, 5% for RM868
so total rebate from JustOne = RM613++

wondering whether I can get more rebates since my billing date is on 10th next month hmm.gif
winner
post Dec 22 2009, 12:03 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 22 2009, 11:38 AM)
hehe, i managed to squeezed another RM13++ from JustOne
my last transaction before reaching RM600 is on last friday, 5% for RM868
so total rebate from JustOne = RM613++

wondering whether I can get more rebates since my billing date is on 10th next month hmm.gif
If my memory serves me right, my JustOne stopped giving me cash back when the accumulated rebates reached RM610 approximately.
alexwsk
post Dec 22 2009, 12:35 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 22 2009, 12:03 PM)
If my memory serves me right, my JustOne stopped giving me cash back when the accumulated rebates reached RM610 approximately.
ic, i'll try again these few days, see still have rebates or not
santaclaus
post Dec 22 2009, 02:16 PM

310 posts

i got a primary n supp scb justone cc , so it is the 600 rebate is shared by both card?

my total rebate is way over 600 but up to date i stil get rebates from it ... thumbup.gif
winner
post Dec 22 2009, 02:45 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Dec 22 2009, 02:16 PM)
i got a primary n supp scb justone cc , so it is the 600 rebate is shared by both card?

my total rebate is way over 600 but up to date i stil get rebates from it ...  thumbup.gif
SCB JustOne supplementary card has a different RM600 cash rebate which is not shared with the principal card.
pizza0502
post Dec 22 2009, 03:28 PM

213 posts

what is the benefit of rhb bank credit card(standard)?

alexwsk
post Dec 22 2009, 03:40 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Dec 22 2009, 03:28 PM)
what is the benefit of rhb bank credit card(standard)?
nothing special whatsoever
see here
Yapmy
post Dec 22 2009, 05:19 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

The RM50 service tax is charged on the anniversary of the card issued. So my question is, lets say if your card's anniversary falls on 08/10 but you cancel the card 1month earlier than the date so do we still need to pay the Service tax? If no need then quite lucky for December 2009 applicants tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Yapmy: Dec 22 2009, 05:21 PM
DarReNz
post Dec 22 2009, 05:32 PM

7,496 posts

as long u cut before the anniversary month, u don't get charged

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Dec 22 2009, 05:32 PM
elru
post Dec 22 2009, 05:35 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

lucky for my DA card just got it this month too, but definitely terminate it next year november. regretted tat didnt manage to apply the visa IN. thou...

130 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:25 PM