QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Sep 13 2009, 12:25 AM)
hmm.. if like that I dont think my car got that sound "yet"◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy
◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy
Sep 13 2009, 12:35 AM
2,954 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Sep 13 2009, 03:04 AM
277 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 12 2009, 05:14 PM) depends on the SC......try taking eneos semi 10w40....for that, i had used before..the oil consider thin compare to different oils........its not bad....lighter pedal...or u can just get Mobil Super 2000.......its much better......im had changed 2times, engine remain smooth as baby butt dude..care to suggest more engine oil apart from eneos & mobil......if can recommend me best oil for persona.thanks! |
Sep 13 2009, 04:41 AM
346 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: On the Heavenly Cloud |
QUOTE(seongmeng @ Sep 13 2009, 12:16 AM) every persona owner will experience it gradually |
Sep 13 2009, 09:29 AM
570 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Sep 13 2009, 09:50 AM
771 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Earth |
QUOTE(krk24 @ Sep 13 2009, 03:04 AM) dude..care to suggest more engine oil apart from eneos & mobil......if can recommend me best oil for persona. ok....based on my experience since i had used eneos 10w40 and mobil super 2000 10w40......well i would say both oils are good.....but due to the availability of the engine oils, mobil is easier to get and both are price around the same price Eneos RM97 & Mobil RM98(RM93 after using smiles card)....thanks! acceleration wise both pretty much the same and i felt mobil super is much lighter and rev happy......if u want to get mobil, make sure purchase it ONLY @ petrol station..... |
Sep 13 2009, 11:01 AM
2,800 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL / SGOR |
hey guys whats the top speed for persona a/t ?? yesterday i tried till 180 but dont dare to go higher than that...tried to catch a saga BLM but the BLM is much faster than me lol...1.3 can tapau 1.6 anytime...even at 180 i cant potong that BLM...
any simple mod to make the persona pickup faster? can feel that the car a bit heavy... This post has been edited by Asus: Sep 13 2009, 11:02 AM |
Sep 13 2009, 11:06 AM
684 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Seremban, On Gixxer |
QUOTE(Asus @ Sep 13 2009, 11:01 AM) hey guys whats the top speed for persona a/t ?? yesterday i tried till 180 but dont dare to go higher than that...tried to catch a saga BLM but the BLM is much faster than me lol...1.3 can tapau 1.6 anytime...even at 180 i cant potong that BLM... i did 195 km/h already.bcoz one of myvi's pissed me off. any simple mod to make the persona pickup faster? can feel that the car a bit heavy... blm can reach 180 to..but took a long time to reach 180kmh. btw urs auto or manual? |
Sep 13 2009, 11:10 AM
33 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
turn off your a/c and you'll see that blm disappear from your sight .. plus, blm won't get to do more than 180 i think... stability-wise, persona more stable at high speed.
Sep 13 2009, 11:10 AM
7 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(nsty @ Sep 12 2009, 07:43 PM) Hey jack111, I just change the engine oil at proton sc by using the eneos 5w-30. The sc told me that they will record down that i bring my own oils so next time if any problem occur coz of the engine oil will void the warranty...... But since my car only 10month and just reach 15000Km, so do u think there is big problem to use the eneos oil?I think your SC might have problem with that lube because its too thin for Campro. Modern engines should be able to use thin lubes because they have much smaller manufacturing tolerance compared to the 90's, but honestly I would think its too thin for our engines. 30's have lower ability to withstand shearing at high temperature, and you know Campro is pretty hot after you run it for a while, plus our hot climate. However, if you still insist on using it and the SC says some crap about it, you can show your Persona manual pg. 123, "Selection of engine oil" and the only two requirements are API SJ and SAE 20w-50. Every SC has the tendency to treat you like they know more than you, but I would recommend our fellow forummers to build good relationship with your SC, if you want to get things done. If you think you've got a point, give them a smile and tell them why you think some things should be done in different way Proton has done good work in consolidating their vendors, and the next step moving forward would be to work on their after sales service, provide "customer service 101" to those sitting at the counters and provide incentives to keep the more experienced mechanics from running away from Proton SC. |
Sep 13 2009, 11:13 AM
2,800 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL / SGOR |
QUOTE(ryugan @ Sep 13 2009, 11:06 AM) i did 195 km/h already.bcoz one of myvi's pissed me off. oh really...didnt know that hahaha...i believe that BLM is on M/T...im driving A/T and got 3 of us in the car...the BLM 1 person only haha... blm can reach 180 to..but took a long time to reach 180kmh. btw urs auto or manual? QUOTE(apahal @ Sep 13 2009, 11:10 AM) turn off your a/c and you'll see that blm disappear from your sight .. plus, blm won't get to do more than 180 i think... stability-wise, persona more stable at high speed. nice tips there...will off my a/c later ahaha...Added on September 13, 2009, 11:14 amany of u guys changed filter to open pod style? any recommended brand to use for open pod / drop in? This post has been edited by Asus: Sep 13 2009, 11:14 AM |
Sep 13 2009, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(Asus @ Sep 13 2009, 11:01 AM) hey guys whats the top speed for persona a/t ?? yesterday i tried till 180 but dont dare to go higher than that...tried to catch a saga BLM but the BLM is much faster than me lol...1.3 can tapau 1.6 anytime...even at 180 i cant potong that BLM... mine is non-iafm automatic also.......most of the time will touch 190km with no dropping gear and hard revving...just smoothly pressing the pedal.....when wanna go topspeed, just turn off aircond...it give less stress on the engine and thus, it will give u more power.....if u on aircond, it will reach 190km or (195km) (tested on klia with 3people in the car) but slower compare to OFF completely..... any simple mod to make the persona pickup faster? can feel that the car a bit heavy... Added on September 13, 2009, 11:29 am QUOTE(apahal @ Sep 13 2009, 11:10 AM) turn off your a/c and you'll see that blm disappear from your sight .. plus, blm won't get to do more than 180 i think... stability-wise, persona more stable at high speed. This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 13 2009, 11:29 AM |
Sep 13 2009, 12:12 PM
68 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
hi all persona owners, i hav questions about the tail light of persona. If I turn on the lamp is it all the 4 bulb of the tail lamp will be lights up? I always observing GEN2/persona on the road at night or braking, one of the 4 bulb will not lights up. I checked mine yesterday and found out my left rear light one of the bulb didn't lights up. Mine is a SE 9 months, is it the tail light bulb so fast and easily to be burn? How much does it cost to replace the bulb?
Sep 13 2009, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(cktang @ Sep 13 2009, 12:12 PM) hi all persona owners, i hav questions about the tail light of persona. If I turn on the lamp is it all the 4 bulb of the tail lamp will be lights up? I always observing GEN2/persona on the road at night or braking, one of the 4 bulb will not lights up. I checked mine yesterday and found out my left rear light one of the bulb didn't lights up. Mine is a SE 9 months, is it the tail light bulb so fast and easily to be burn? How much does it cost to replace the bulb? total 2 bulbs on the left and on the right....the most outside bulb is braking and normal light......go get it replaced.....mine after so long nearly 2years..the bulbs still ok...havent burn yet.. |
Sep 13 2009, 02:03 PM
3,013 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Just now i overfill petrol, the pump noozle didn't click after full.. few hundreds Ml petrol spill out, my pants get dirty..very embarrass
total amount: rm66.01 total distance: 302km FC meter: 10.9L/100km average consumption: rm0.2185 cents Added on September 13, 2009, 2:07 pm QUOTE(cktang @ Sep 13 2009, 12:12 PM) hi all persona owners, i hav questions about the tail light of persona. If I turn on the lamp is it all the 4 bulb of the tail lamp will be lights up? I always observing GEN2/persona on the road at night or braking, one of the 4 bulb will not lights up. I checked mine yesterday and found out my left rear light one of the bulb didn't lights up. Mine is a SE 9 months, is it the tail light bulb so fast and easily to be burn? How much does it cost to replace the bulb? mine, 3rd brake light..2 bulbs already blow.. This post has been edited by ralf: Sep 13 2009, 02:08 PM |
Sep 13 2009, 03:04 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Pahang |
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 13 2009, 09:50 AM) ok....based on my experience since i had used eneos 10w40 and mobil super 2000 10w40......well i would say both oils are good.....but due to the availability of the engine oils, mobil is easier to get and both are price around the same price Eneos RM97 & Mobil RM98(RM93 after using smiles card).... juz finish 1k serv yesterday.. no choice, have to take that syntium 800, since i didn bring my own motor oil.. felt so weird... well.. for next service, i shall consider mobil 2000..acceleration wise both pretty much the same and i felt mobil super is much lighter and rev happy......if u want to get mobil, make sure purchase it ONLY @ petrol station..... anybody tried castrol? i saw at assembly plant of dmax.. they use castrol.. |
Sep 13 2009, 03:49 PM
3,506 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Lumpur |
QUOTE(ralf @ Sep 13 2009, 02:03 PM) Just now i overfill petrol, the pump noozle didn't click after full.. few hundreds Ml petrol spill out, my pants get dirty..very embarrass about my mileage...hmmtotal amount: rm66.01 total distance: 302km FC meter: 10.9L/100km average consumption: rm0.2185 cents Added on September 13, 2009, 2:07 pm mine, 3rd brake light..2 bulbs already blow.. |
Sep 13 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Sep 13 2009, 03:04 PM) juz finish 1k serv yesterday.. no choice, have to take that syntium 800, since i didn bring my own motor oil.. felt so weird... well.. for next service, i shall consider mobil 2000.. try to avoid castrol if can....cause there are too many imitations/fakes...which you cannot even differentiate it well....but the oil is good..la...but for me, i rather get some other brands that can purchase @ trusted shops like petrol station kiosk where the chances of getting fake is unlikely....anybody tried castrol? i saw at assembly plant of dmax.. they use castrol.. |
Sep 13 2009, 06:19 PM
9 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Malaysia |
jack111,
Yes they will keep a record of what oil did you bring, but I can tell you that as long as its a API SJ or higher and the oil comes from a reputable company, you'll be safe. Surely they'll use scare tactics like voiding your warranty so that you'll buy oil from them. However you should always keep an eye on your oil level and always check using the dipstick if the engine consumes the thin oil. Once in a while you should take the dipstick out, hold the stick straight and see if the oil drips down quickly like water, if this is the case your engine will have higher wear than usual. Another indicator would be when you start the engine in the morning, you hear "chit chit chit" sound in the beginning then it goes away, sign that your oil isn't doing its job well. Most of the engine wear occurs during cold starting in the morning, because throughout the night the oil will drop down along with the pull of gravity. In the morning when you start the engine, essentially your cylinder walls are almost dry (if your lube is too thin), but if you use a good lube, it will stick on the walls throughout the day, providing a "boundary lubrication" as we call it which prevents wear caused by engine cold start. So, take good note of the starting of your engine in the morning - if you hear a chit chit sound initially and then it goes away, it means the oil isn't doing enough to protect your engine |
Sep 13 2009, 08:29 PM
68 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
The funny thing is bulb wasn't blown...the 4 bulbs and tail lamp from left to right, A B C D. When I turn on the lights only B, C, D lights on. When I press the brake pedal, all A, B, C, D lights up. Should be something wrong with the electronic's configurations.
For engine oil I used syntium 800 syntectic@rm98 at the SC. The grade should be 15w - 50. I think the grade like 5w - 30 is not suitable as it's for 3 cylinder car like kancil, kelisa...according to mechanic at the tyre shop. Lower number is to protects the engine when cold, it can be 0w no matter but the higher number should be 50 or at least 40 for persona to protect against high temperature running. Just did the 10,000km service last month and the next service should be 20,000km told by the SC. But the oil changed sticker stated there 15,000km, last time at SC I saw a customer bringing the car for service at 15,000km and the SC told her it's unnessary. I think I'll do the oil change in tyre shop and do the alignment & balancing together. Plan to shift to shell helix when reaching 15,000km as I always used shell petrol. Using shell RON 95 now, does feels abit sluggish when pick up or 'naik bukit'. FC meter showns 7.6l/100km but the last tank I pumped RM65@RM1.80/l aroung 36 litre runs until 375 km. So actual FC is around 9.6l/100km. Haven't tried to fill in petrol more then 40 litre, the petrol will spilled out from the tank. Highest I filled is rm68@rm1.75/l ron 95 38.85 liter after running another 60km after the fuel warning lights on and refuel again after 350km. The car never be able to fill in more the 40liter fuel although stated 50 liter fuel tank capacity. Never able to runs over 400km for a full tank, highest only reaching 380 km. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 13 2009, 10:50 PM
2,948 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Am considering normal clutch lock club & installation type clutch lock, would like to know which one is better?
Do normal clutch/brake lock compatible on personas, I saw 1 selling at rm129? The installation type is double the price but don't need to remove just use the key to unlock. |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:38 PM |