13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

loong2020
post Sep 11 2009, 11:52 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Sep 11 2009, 11:41 PM)
Okay thanks dude for ur replies. And the seatbelt light thingy... wth man? Even H line do not have that light? I wonder what are those indicators for in the first place hahaha....
for export purpose.... yawn.gif thumbup.gif
loong2020
post Sep 12 2009, 09:16 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Sep 12 2009, 07:53 AM)
From my many years of experience in driving and owning a new car before....

-  Engine oil
-  Oil filter
-  ATF oil (for auto obviously)
-  Brake oil
-  Radiator coolant

-  Power steering oil (very rarely to change)

The above is all there is to it. Nothing more. Yes they will push you to buy oil treatment etc etc etc to suck ur  moneyflies.gif . Just say no.  flex.gif
yeap.....the red ones are is decent to protect and keep the car in tiptop condition....and airfilter,sparkplugs as well laugh.gif
loong2020
post Sep 12 2009, 04:14 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(jack111 @ Sep 12 2009, 02:35 PM)
Anyone try the eneos semi 5w-30 on proton persona before? izzit suit for persona? If bring our own engine oil to sc to do the service will void the warranty? or they just record down what oils is using?
depends on the SC......try taking eneos semi 10w40....for that, i had used before..the oil consider thin compare to different oils........its not bad....lighter pedal...or u can just get Mobil Super 2000.......its much better......im had changed 2times, engine remain smooth as baby butt brows.gif
loong2020
post Sep 12 2009, 11:45 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(jack111 @ Sep 12 2009, 05:53 PM)
So the eneos 5w-30 is still suit to use and wont be too thin for persona rite? coz i just bought it and think to use it for my persona(which recommend by the spare part shop)........anyway, how much for the mobil 2000 ?
RM98....yeah..still ok..but 10w40 or 5w40 is the best in terms of protection and lightness.....

btw....with full tank of petrol, and driving style rev till 4000rpm, 80km-130km, 70% city ( mostly straight road but jam,slow traffic,heavy braking and housing area or street) and 30% highway...i can get 310km++...
aircond on all the time and automatic.....

and i feel that the higher the mileage the better fuel consumption and going topspeed is much faster....btw the current mileage is 38325km laugh.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 12 2009, 11:51 PM
loong2020
post Sep 12 2009, 11:57 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(seongmeng @ Sep 12 2009, 11:55 PM)
damn...my front passenger dock lock cannot go down or up automatically, have to do it manually...
connector loose...can diy or send to SC.....they will tighten by using wiring tape
loong2020
post Sep 13 2009, 09:50 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Sep 13 2009, 03:04 AM)
dude..care to suggest more engine oil apart from eneos & mobil......if can recommend me best oil for persona.
thanks! smile.gif
ok....based on my experience since i had used eneos 10w40 and mobil super 2000 10w40......well i would say both oils are good.....but due to the availability of the engine oils, mobil is easier to get and both are price around the same price Eneos RM97 & Mobil RM98(RM93 after using smiles card)....
acceleration wise both pretty much the same and i felt mobil super is much lighter and rev happy......if u want to get mobil, make sure purchase it ONLY @ petrol station.....
loong2020
post Sep 13 2009, 11:24 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Sep 13 2009, 11:01 AM)
hey guys whats the top speed for persona a/t ?? yesterday i tried till 180 but dont dare to go higher than that...tried to catch a saga BLM but the BLM is much faster than me lol...1.3 can tapau 1.6 anytime...even at 180 i cant potong that BLM...

any simple mod to make the persona pickup faster? can feel that the car a bit heavy...
mine is non-iafm automatic also.......most of the time will touch 190km with no dropping gear and hard revving...just smoothly pressing the pedal.....when wanna go topspeed, just turn off aircond...it give less stress on the engine and thus, it will give u more power.....if u on aircond, it will reach 190km or (195km) (tested on klia with 3people in the car) but slower compare to OFF completely..... brows.gif brows.gif

Added on September 13, 2009, 11:29 am
QUOTE(apahal @ Sep 13 2009, 11:10 AM)
turn off your a/c and you'll see that blm disappear from your sight .. plus, blm won't get  to do more than 180 i think... stability-wise, persona more stable at high speed.
nod.gif nod.gif .....even at 180/190km+++...the steering still did not vibrate...but stability definately persona much better than blm but neo,gen2 is much better than persona..so persona is in between.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 13 2009, 11:29 AM
loong2020
post Sep 13 2009, 01:08 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Sep 13 2009, 12:12 PM)
hi all persona owners, i hav questions about the tail light of persona. If I turn on the lamp is it all the 4 bulb of the tail lamp will be lights up?  I always observing GEN2/persona on the road at night or braking, one of the 4 bulb will not lights up. I checked mine yesterday and found out my left rear light one of the bulb didn't lights up. Mine is a SE 9 months, is it the tail light bulb so fast and easily to be burn? How much does it cost to replace the bulb?
total 2 bulbs on the left and on the right....the most outside bulb is braking and normal light......go get it replaced.....mine after so long nearly 2years..the bulbs still ok...havent burn yet.. wink.gif
loong2020
post Sep 13 2009, 04:19 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Sep 13 2009, 03:04 PM)
juz finish 1k serv yesterday.. no choice, have to take that syntium 800, since i didn bring my own motor oil..  felt so weird...  well.. for next service, i shall consider mobil 2000..

anybody tried castrol? i saw at assembly plant of dmax.. they use castrol..
try to avoid castrol if can....cause there are too many imitations/fakes...which you cannot even differentiate it well....but the oil is good..la...but for me, i rather get some other brands that can purchase @ trusted shops like petrol station kiosk where the chances of getting fake is unlikely....
loong2020
post Sep 14 2009, 05:20 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Sep 14 2009, 01:29 AM)
thanks for the reply dude...10w40 is semi / full -synthetic? is 10w40 considered as thin oil?.....few days back i just try caltex as u recommend...so far cant notice the different since there are few liters of petronas fuel too...i found out Havoline 10w40 is selling for rm97 at caltex station....thought of using caltex engine oil for my 3rd service....will the proton warranty void?

one more question:
is it true if my engine oil is Havoline(caltex) + my regular pump is caltex..then ONLY i will get the TRUE performance for my car. do you agree with this statement?
or it doesn't matter?
appreciate ur comments/suggestions  smile.gif

erm, at first pump...the effect can felt a bit different...but after 2nd or 3rd tank....i feel its much better than bhp ron95x2......havent compare with shell or petronas so im not sure.... the 10w40 is semi-synthetic......the oil is just nice for FC and also protection for campro engines.....

well using caltex engine oil with caltex fuel.....maybe better...BUT i dont think it effect so much...some may say yes some may not..up to the people view......

Added on September 14, 2009, 5:22 pm
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 13 2009, 11:59 PM)
[attachmentid=1196372]

Genting, conquered  flex.gif

was driving with almost a zero visibility due to the low clouds. The foglights were helping really much. Still can do a rapid climb on 2nd gear despite now on ron95. But caltex gave me slighter good power and less engine noise compared to petronas.

but nevertheless, with this kind of visibility, can only climb with the first gear. If 2nd, later scared hit the barrier  laugh.gif

Next climb, Balik Pulau, in the next 2 weeks  icon_rolleyes.gif
wow..congrats..urs manual right???.....got corner or not??... brows.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 14 2009, 05:22 PM
loong2020
post Sep 14 2009, 07:26 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 14 2009, 05:40 PM)
lulz.. yea manual. Well, to be honest, the downhill part was the scariest. My tyres locked a few times, lucky got a bit skills and the engine braking to save my arse  sweat.gif  Basically, i think persona way too much weight on front. Abs and Ebd suppose to be a-must for each persona (want to buy h-line, but no manual  rclxub.gif )
me ok je......coming down the highest part i drop to L and let the car roll by itself and with some braking (cornering or humps) and slowly switch to 2 when the rpm is high...and i dont experience lock tires....using stock brakes?? and what tires??? brows.gif
loong2020
post Sep 14 2009, 08:09 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 14 2009, 07:52 PM)
haha, u sifoo mah, sure no tyre lock  tongue.gif i just maintain 2nd gear all the time (3rd gear when a bit long straight). persona brake not really makan like saga blm, if pressed too hard, lock pulak  rclxub.gif

yup, stock brake pads and tyres  laugh.gif  goodyear nct5, so-so on the grip, quite good in wet. Oh yea, u are using pp2, no wonder tyres still can maintain >.> Haih, my tire 195/60 really lack of choice compared to 195/55  cry.gif
previously was conti cc1.....went up 2times with my friends......ok..la..i would say BUT...its also easier to lock if the road wet and want to corner... rclxub.gif but never experience it on genting trip..... now with PP2 havent test yet on going up...maybe when holiday... laugh.gif but PP2 on wet even brake harder it wont easily lock.... brows.gif ......aiya..persona stock tires 195/60.....change it to 195/55 like me....comfort wise still not bad and better handling also...less floaty feel when speeding........ laugh.gif
loong2020
post Sep 15 2009, 12:24 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Sep 15 2009, 02:53 AM)

Added on September 15, 2009, 3:02 am
loong2020: currently wht 10w40 brand oil are u using? care 2 share? smile.gif
using Mobil Super 2000 10w40 semi-synthetic....@ RM93 after discounted frm smiles points..... well i think will just stick to this engine oil as it give lighter acceleration and trusting that Mobil lubes are good....if you want better protection, can go for Mobil 1 0W40 which costs RM245.... whistling.gif
loong2020
post Sep 15 2009, 01:05 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 15 2009, 01:02 PM)
haha, maybe i went down a bit too fast, since that was my 2nd time in genting, still inexperienced about the corners there  laugh.gif

but if convert to 195/55, the speedometer's accuracy sure affected right?
since i never changed to any other brand of engine oil (yet), so i can't comment on its performance and i never so far use shell petrol for my persona  sweat.gif maybe later i'll try it, but a lot of comments on the new shell95 are bad  sweat.gif
erm....yeap..but not much around 1-2km.........but its ok..la.......... brows.gif but frm my gps, lets say meter is pointing 100km/h...the gps unit will show around 97.1km/h laugh.gif

This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 15 2009, 01:06 PM
loong2020
post Sep 15 2009, 08:33 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 15 2009, 02:22 PM)
ooooo... fine, u managed to poison me  mad.gif  so need to save at least 2k to change new set tyres and rims all together starting now. ad07? re001? pp2?  drool.gif
doh.gif ......ask sifu cheean.... laugh.gif ..bro ralf if not wrong is brigdestone lover... brows.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 8:35 pm
QUOTE(krk24 @ Sep 15 2009, 04:51 PM)
ur persona ia MT or AT?

mines is AT....now im in dilemma...dont know which brand oil tht i should use for my 3rd service....

whats the actual price of mobil super 2000? is it convenient to get at every stores?

normally 10w-40 oils can last till how many km's?

thanks again icon_rolleyes.gif
mine is auto also......RM98...yeah,available at all esso/mobil station......lasting i normally change 5500-6500km....

This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 15 2009, 08:35 PM
loong2020
post Sep 17 2009, 08:27 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Sep 17 2009, 07:34 AM)
thanks for the comment & u mentioned that every 1000km u will be servicing ur car right? it is ur time line or the oil's time line? rolleyes.gif
doh.gif i mean i'll change every after 5000 or 6500..... sweat.gif
loong2020
post Sep 19 2009, 12:48 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(takashi87 @ Sep 19 2009, 01:06 AM)
Woah.. someone talking about Genting Trip With Persona.. hehehe..
Go check youtube by search Persona Genting, Video uploaded by takashisupreme
i own persona also.. But Auto Trans. Get going to upgrade soon.. but donno about the engine tongue.gif
My friend suggest me to change the pulley ~.~.. donno what cost.. seem like extractor 4-2-1 can increase the acceleration.  Which better tyre. Hankook ventus V8 or Yokohama Pagoda
laugh.gif ..i watch a few videos of urs.....but why dont u take manual??..its better for acceleration and power..... so far hows ur automatic gearbox despite u revving non stop uphill and downhill every week right???....

tires, hankook nowadays not bad...why not try some other brand besides the two u mentioned??..if budget nt a problem get better sets....
loong2020
post Sep 19 2009, 06:15 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Sep 19 2009, 05:48 PM)
persona use multilink or torsion beam for its rear suspension?
multilink..la bro....only saga blm,savvy,exora uses torsion beam

This post has been edited by loong2020: Sep 19 2009, 06:16 PM
loong2020
post Sep 19 2009, 10:01 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Sep 19 2009, 09:49 PM)
hi there, im soon to be owner of persona, i choosed the ready stock one coz i need urgently coz no transport to go to work as my motorcyle been stolen, im not car enthusiast that even basic think such as engine oil ive no idea about, i want to ask fellow persona owner here, do ive made the right choice by choosing the ready stock one and what the do's and dont's for a new car, ive heard people saying i cant drive my new car exceeding 80km/h before my first service, is it true, im very noob about car, please help me
as my mileage when i got is around 38km..so try to check the mileage if its too much lets say 150km/200km above then it could be some other unit (but i may be wrong).....
below 1st service which is 1000km, try to be gentle on the engine and accelerate below 3000rpm and speed below 110km/h as what normally people say...but for me,i had speed up to 150km before 1st service....i dont think is an issue....
as for the service at Service Center....reject those useless item like "engine treatment,oil cleanner,screen washer and etc"...normally for 1000km,5000km,10000km.....the item need to be change is only "engine oil and oil filter" other than that is not necessary... and after 15000km, items like sparkplug,air filter is only needed to be change for 15000km service..even u can change these at 10000km but its up to you...... brows.gif
loong2020
post Sep 19 2009, 10:27 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Sep 19 2009, 10:14 PM)
thank bro loong,err what u mean some other unit if the mileage is above 100km? ive read some post here saying we can bring our own engine oil at sc, is it true, can i bring my own engine oil at first service, and another thing is what do i hav to check strightly after i receive the car?
erm....maybe some unit is test drive as the mileage is high....but im not sure also..haha... yeah u can bring ur own oil, normally the SC will use petronas or shell oils....checking the car,erm basically check everything that is workable... laugh.gif ...eg: like power window,lights,engine oil,coolant,brake fluid, those switches,panel indicator, slam the door for few times see any problem with it, bonnet....and interior parts whether is fitted correctly...

and since u said want to use ur own engine oil, what brand u want to use???.....as normally semi-synthetic is sufficient enough for daily driving which cost around RM80-RM100....and the 1000km,5000km,10000km service cost will be around RM 100-130if u select "engine oil and oil filter only" just to advise u, if SC ask u do take service package, just tell them, you want to do oil change only..as i think the 1st 3 service is enough for oil change....

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0492sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:33 PM