◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

krk24
post Sep 11 2009, 11:13 PM

277 posts

VSIX all THE WAY PERSONARIANS !!!!

Added on September 11, 2009, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Sep 11 2009, 10:49 PM)
I drive a red SE since May.  My all average mileage (urban+hiway) is 9.6lt/100km, 100 % accurate!.  Assuming that my hiway mileage is 8.8lt/100 km, therefore a full tank worth of petrol at RM60.00 (33.33lts) would bring 378km only before the orange warning lamp lights up.

They say the Persona has a fuel tank capacity of 50 litres but I disagree as I cannot pump more than 65.00 (36.1lts) into my tank else it spills out.

OK so even assuming 50 litres of tank that would bring about 568km on the hiway, still a far cry from what Proton claimed.

The fuel consumption meter is not to be trusted.

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=89636

Added on September 11, 2009, 9:53 pmI have just went for my 3rd service @ 10000km.

I spent RM 14.75 for the oil filter and gasket drian plug.  The oil I bought outside at 42.00 (Castrol Extra 20-50).  I have specifically told the SC NOT to put in the engine and autotrans additives, accessories, car wash/engine wash etc etc etc.

Be prudent when you send in your car to Proton SC as they will slap you with a lot of hidden charges!
dude...you said you've done ur 3rd service...so, we can use our OWN oil rather then using SC's synthium 800 rite?
i will be doing my 3rd service in 2 mths time....so i can asked the SC not to put their preferred black oil? cuz they charged about rm90++ for syntium damn!

This post has been edited by krk24: Sep 11 2009, 11:18 PM
krk24
post Sep 11 2009, 11:36 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Sep 12 2009, 12:29 AM)
btw guys,

I am driving B-Line. Does the player support mp3? And where is the Aux?
Another thing, how come it does not have seat belt warning light?

Oh oh.... remember i said there was this "nyek nyek" sound at my right hand rear door??? I know what it was and it was solved by means of DIY. It was the sound of the door rubbers. What i did was i spray armor oil all over it and wiped it... So it leaves a little oily residue and makes it non squeaky.
I am driving B-Line. Does the player support mp3? And where is the Aux?
A: B-line does not support MP3, ONLY M & H line.....there is no AUX.

Another thing, how come it does not have seat belt warning light?
A: Even for the H-line it does not blink when seat belts are buckle-up. its just for "show"
krk24
post Sep 11 2009, 11:48 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Sep 12 2009, 12:41 AM)
Okay thanks dude for ur replies. And the seatbelt light thingy... wth man? Even H line do not have that light? I wonder what are those indicators for in the first place hahaha....
proton mah.......like tht want....no money to install an LED light also... vmad.gif
krk24
post Sep 13 2009, 03:04 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 12 2009, 05:14 PM)
depends on the SC......try taking eneos semi 10w40....for that, i had used before..the oil consider thin compare to different oils........its not bad....lighter pedal...or u can just get Mobil Super 2000.......its much better......im had changed 2times, engine remain smooth as baby butt brows.gif
dude..care to suggest more engine oil apart from eneos & mobil......if can recommend me best oil for persona.
thanks! smile.gif
krk24
post Sep 14 2009, 01:29 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 13 2009, 10:50 AM)
ok....based on my experience since i had used eneos 10w40 and mobil super 2000 10w40......well i would say both oils are good.....but due to the availability of the engine oils, mobil is easier to get and both are price around the same price Eneos RM97 & Mobil RM98(RM93 after using smiles card)....
acceleration wise both pretty much the same and i felt mobil super is much lighter and rev happy......if u want to get mobil, make sure purchase it ONLY @ petrol station.....
thanks for the reply dude...10w40 is semi / full -synthetic? is 10w40 considered as thin oil?.....few days back i just try caltex as u recommend...so far cant notice the different since there are few liters of petronas fuel too...i found out Havoline 10w40 is selling for rm97 at caltex station....thought of using caltex engine oil for my 3rd service....will the proton warranty void?

one more question:
is it true if my engine oil is Havoline(caltex) + my regular pump is caltex..then ONLY i will get the TRUE performance for my car. do you agree with this statement?
or it doesn't matter?

appreciate ur comments/suggestions smile.gif

Added on September 14, 2009, 1:44 am
QUOTE(nsty @ Sep 13 2009, 07:19 PM)
jack111,

Yes they will keep a record of what oil did you bring, but I can tell you that as long as its a API SJ or higher and the oil comes from a reputable company, you'll be safe. Surely they'll use scare tactics like voiding your warranty so that you'll buy oil from them. However you should always keep an eye on your oil level and always check using the dipstick if the engine consumes the thin oil. Once in a while you should take the dipstick out, hold the stick straight and see if the oil drips down quickly like water, if this is the case your engine will have higher wear than usual. Another indicator would be when you start the engine in the morning, you hear "chit chit chit" sound in the beginning then it goes away, sign that your oil isn't doing its job well.

Most of the engine wear occurs during cold starting in the morning, because throughout the night the oil will drop down along with the pull of gravity. In the morning when you start the engine, essentially your cylinder walls are almost dry (if your lube is too thin), but if you use a good lube, it will stick on the walls throughout the day, providing a "boundary lubrication" as we call it which prevents wear caused by engine cold start. So, take good note of the starting of your engine in the morning - if you hear a chit chit sound initially and then it goes away, it means the oil isn't doing enough to protect your engine smile.gif
nsty,

good share of experience there dude..

i do have experience a sound after cold start as you mention.....now i get an idea due to wht the sound occurs...anyway my 3rd service are coming soon....i would appreciate if you recommend me a reliable engine oil...cuz i dont want to use that damn syntium 800 which the SC provided.

Added on September 14, 2009, 1:49 am
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 14 2009, 12:59 AM)
[attachmentid=1196372]

Genting, conquered  flex.gif

was driving with almost a zero visibility due to the low clouds. The foglights were helping really much. Still can do a rapid climb on 2nd gear despite now on ron95. But caltex gave me slighter good power and less engine noise compared to petronas.

but nevertheless, with this kind of visibility, can only climb with the first gear. If 2nd, later scared hit the barrier  laugh.gif

Next climb, Balik Pulau, in the next 2 weeks  icon_rolleyes.gif
so u r a regular caltex user?

wht engine oil did u used?

care to clarify dude.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Sep 14 2009, 01:50 AM
krk24
post Sep 15 2009, 02:53 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 14 2009, 04:38 AM)
Nope, was a petronas user  laugh.gif  When they started the ron95, i was still using petronas. I can felt the lack of power and my engine was noisier. Plus, my engine and hood will normally resonate a bit loudly around 2800rpm on 1st gear. But when using caltex, the resonance sound reduced a bit and gained some power compared to primax95 (but if course can't beat ron97's power). I started to use caltex when saw the advertisement on paultan and also bro loong comment after using it  smile.gif (despite the nearest caltex station located around 4 - 5km from my house  sweat.gif  )

i'm using shell helix hx7 10w-40, provided by sc
thanks for da info bro! biggrin.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 3:02 am
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 14 2009, 06:20 PM)
erm, at first pump...the effect can felt a bit different...but after 2nd or 3rd tank....i feel its much better than bhp ron95x2......havent compare with shell or petronas so im not sure.... the 10w40 is semi-synthetic......the oil is just nice for FC and also protection for campro engines.....

well using caltex engine oil with caltex fuel.....maybe better...BUT i dont think it effect so much...some may say yes some may not..up to the people view......

Added on September 14, 2009, 5:22 pm
wow..congrats..urs manual right???.....got corner or not??... brows.gif
loong2020: currently wht 10w40 brand oil are u using? care 2 share? smile.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 3:04 am
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 14 2009, 04:38 AM)
Nope, was a petronas user  laugh.gif  When they started the ron95, i was still using petronas. I can felt the lack of power and my engine was noisier. Plus, my engine and hood will normally resonate a bit loudly around 2800rpm on 1st gear. But when using caltex, the resonance sound reduced a bit and gained some power compared to primax95 (but if course can't beat ron97's power). I started to use caltex when saw the advertisement on paultan and also bro loong comment after using it  smile.gif (despite the nearest caltex station located around 4 - 5km from my house  sweat.gif  )

i'm using shell helix hx7 10w-40, provided by sc
dude..since ur engine oil is helix hx7....hows the engine performed?....and did felt any differences when u pump shell fuel compare to petronas & caltex.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Sep 15 2009, 03:04 AM
krk24
post Sep 15 2009, 04:51 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 15 2009, 01:24 PM)
using Mobil Super 2000 10w40 semi-synthetic....@ RM93 after discounted frm smiles points..... well i think will just stick to this engine oil as it give lighter acceleration and trusting that Mobil lubes are good....if you want better protection, can go for Mobil 1 0W40 which costs RM245.... whistling.gif
ur persona ia MT or AT?

mines is AT....now im in dilemma...dont know which brand oil tht i should use for my 3rd service....

whats the actual price of mobil super 2000? is it convenient to get at every stores?

normally 10w-40 oils can last till how many km's?

thanks again icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Sep 15 2009, 02:02 PM)
haha, maybe i went down a bit too fast, since that was my 2nd time in genting, still inexperienced about the corners there  laugh.gif

but if convert to 195/55, the speedometer's accuracy sure affected right?
since i never changed to any other brand of engine oil (yet), so i can't comment on its performance and i never so far use shell petrol for my persona  sweat.gif maybe later i'll try it, but a lot of comments on the new shell95 are bad  sweat.gif
ic...me 2 heard lot of bad comments on ron95 shell.... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Sep 15 2009, 04:53 PM
krk24
post Sep 17 2009, 07:34 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 15 2009, 09:33 PM)
doh.gif ......ask sifu cheean.... laugh.gif ..bro ralf if not wrong is brigdestone lover... brows.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 8:35 pm
mine is auto also......RM98...yeah,available at all esso/mobil station......lasting i normally change 5500-6500km....
thanks for the comment & u mentioned that every 1000km u will be servicing ur car right? it is ur time line or the oil's time line? rolleyes.gif
krk24
post Sep 18 2009, 02:55 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Sep 17 2009, 09:27 AM)
doh.gif i mean i'll change every after 5000 or 6500..... sweat.gif
miscommunication..hehe np dude...
krk24
post Sep 24 2009, 02:02 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Sep 24 2009, 12:54 AM)
hi personarians, is persona h-line still coming with gps navigator? is there any h-line buyer from east malaysia? i from east malaysia, and i check with some of the dealer and proton edar, they told me only se come with gps navigator. but i have read in v4 tht some buyer get it for h-line. just wanna confirm it before get one. thanks in advance...
my h-line does come with GPS....but better u asked the dealer properly! brows.gif
krk24
post Oct 12 2009, 02:18 AM

277 posts

will be heading for my 3rd service....any advice guys??
this will be my LAST stop at proton SC, after this will be just going for 3rd party SC much cheaper though... brows.gif

i will bring my own oil this time; Caltex Havoline 10w-40 wink.gif
krk24
post Oct 19 2009, 11:30 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Oct 18 2009, 01:34 PM)
im planning to install tint for my car...

my need is to reduce the "silau".. so my priority is my windcreen...

i saw last time price range from RM1++  to RM1+++.. and airkool it the easiest to get for branded product?

So, any recommendation?
my persona tinted by TINTMASTER which is about RM700++...the outcome was AWESOME! thumbup.gif

whats ur budget bro?.....sometimes u have to be balance between BUDGET & PREFERENCE...bcoz its a long-time journey...7-9yrs...

krk24
post Oct 21 2009, 11:44 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Oct 22 2009, 12:40 AM)
just get my persona today, btw how to switch the display on the meter? how to change the clock display, KM/L & KM left before fuel indicator light up?should they any manual book come with? i cant find any manual which teach me those thing, thanks in advance.
check ur manual my fren....patiently the answers will come out... brows.gif

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:46 pmanyone know how much does PROTON SC's labour charge for 1k, 5k, 10k service....?
since now i left my 10k voucher that have to used for my 3rd service...so i just want to know the price of labour charge...otherwise better skip the 10k voucher & go service at 3rd party center??

care to comment anyone?? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Oct 21 2009, 11:46 PM
krk24
post Oct 26 2009, 09:34 PM

277 posts

anyone know how much does PROTON SC's labour charge for 1k, 5k, 10k service....?
since now i left my 10k voucher that have to used for my 3rd service...so i just want to know the price of labour charge...otherwise better skip the 10k voucher & go service at 3rd party center??

care to comment anyone?? shakehead.gif
krk24
post Oct 30 2009, 03:57 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(bryanwong3 @ Oct 30 2009, 02:15 PM)
around RM70 is ok.. but how many km can a full tank goes?? i know it's a bit too late for me to ask as i'm getting my car tomorrow morning! just some preparations. thanks btw!
my full tank was:

36.54 litres(spill out abit) = RM 65.77

can go up to 450KM biggrin.gif

p.s. next time just fill till RM65 for full tank without spill out the petrol.

It seems persona's tank is small not even reach 40 litres but in the manual it claimed it has 50 litres. vmad.gif

Added on October 30, 2009, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Oct 26 2009, 11:00 PM)
1k,5k,10k free of labour charge...just pay parts like engine oil,filter,etc....but for 15k onwards labour will be charge around rm60++..but may be different for every SC......but for me after the 25k service i skip and service at normal workshop where i buy the parts i wanted where i feel even better rather than using those oil provided by SC.....cheaper as well.....but if warranty then abit problem...

Added on October 26, 2009, 10:01 pm
haha..where ah???...hw much???leather right???...
bro, is it better i skip my 10k voucher & service my car at 3rd party service center? i wanna use my own oil. not sure the SC at my place would allow it...pls advise. blink.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Oct 30 2009, 04:11 PM
krk24
post Oct 31 2009, 01:13 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(bryanwong3 @ Oct 30 2009, 05:16 PM)
yours is manual or auto? if according to ur record, then u can say ur car is consider save fuel!
mine is AT brows.gif

Added on October 31, 2009, 1:15 am
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Oct 31 2009, 12:56 AM)
for me....i service at 3rd party after 15000km....its much cheaper and my mechanic charge labour rm10 or sometime buy stuff from him...no labour charge.....but once u service at 3rd party..ur warranty will void....its up to you...but thank god,my car everything is allright...no problem which all minor minor solve during 1st 3 service....this 2years of usage everything still new.... brows.gif
thx 4 da info...then i will do my 10k service at SC (last attempt) hope no issues in future. blink.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Oct 31 2009, 01:15 AM
krk24
post Nov 28 2009, 06:57 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Nov 27 2009, 09:48 PM)
guys, anyone mind to share their persona tinting experience? brand, type, price wise for all round car???

thx...
mine was tinted bt TINTMASTER - BLACK GOLD - RM 700++ its awesome whistling.gif

Added on November 28, 2009, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 28 2009, 11:30 AM)
a clearer picture..for you guys that shock automatic can reach 190km.... rolleyes.gif ....this is 190km....the picture was last year mileage around 14k...done at klia... sweat.gif
wa lao...how come bro??? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by krk24: Nov 28 2009, 06:59 PM
krk24
post Dec 17 2009, 11:07 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Dec 16 2009, 06:25 PM)
Erm, guys,
any sc around puchong area that allow bring own engine oil?
got one at bdr puteri bro..yes care services center; i had done service there thrice previously..they allowed you to bring our preferred engine oil...but the SA will tell you if anything goes wrong with ur engine...the warranty void for engine oil part ONLY. PM me if you want more details on this place.

This post has been edited by krk24: Dec 17 2009, 11:07 PM
krk24
post Dec 19 2009, 01:27 AM

277 posts

i want to install windscreen sticker on my persona, any suggestion guys? with normal black sticker or with after-market names on it e.g. R3

welcome any ideas icon_rolleyes.gif
krk24
post Dec 20 2009, 01:47 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Dec 20 2009, 01:46 PM)
how about the front wheel metal-metal sound when doing the turning? i faced that problem before, but so far very rare happen... just hope i can prevent it.

anyway.....

past

present

tongue.gif
how much u bought the whole audio system bro?

0.0205sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:34 AM