post Oct 28 2009, 11:08 PM

679 posts

i think is the button screwed up..
heavencloud
post Oct 29 2009, 12:44 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Oct 28 2009, 09:07 PM)
hi, so u regret ur purchase ma? am considering between this and blm, howwever need more input on issues. plan to get Bline manual, wat u think?
i have both blm and persona at my house, i owns the persona and my mum is the blm. My comparison, persona wins in term of cabin noise (thanks to the initial sound proofing by proton), performance, comfortable (for manual version, the blm stick feels odd. seat is wider than blm. low point of gravity = less body roll. easy to see the front compared to blm, especially when coming close to a car or object. have audio buttons and support mp3, m-line and above. Bigger boot space.

but what i like about blm is the rear legroom space, damn wide. So far i only see 3 cars with that kind of wide legroom space, blm, latio, and myvi.

fuel consumption wise, pretty much less the same.

Overall score, persona thumbup.gif

But what i think is the most important thing before u decide to buy, go and sit first inside the car, get the feel. See whether your body is comfortable with the seat, see whether your hands are easy to move, see whether you are comfortable with the steering distance and the pedal distance, see whether your eyes comfortable with the front view and the mirrors. It is safer to drive the car that comfortable with your body.

p/s: unless u really mind the 'xtra' metal clunking noise, go for vios then >.> last time i sat inside the new vios, the seat is not comfortable at all, making my back pain rclxub.gif

QUOTE(apahal @ Oct 28 2009, 09:36 PM)
the steering button.. i got the same problems also when i bought the car. went to SC, the change the whole set (as what they claimed coz I don't see the original parts bcoz they don't show you.. and you can't go inside the service area).

but nowadays, the same probs arise, but not always.. like when the car being exposed to hot sun for long time.. the button go crazy like urs too... and put under shade.. become normal again) .. so malas to go to SC as my car already out of warranty except for engine..

good luck in ur purchasing smile.gif
lulz... as for me, i always had to park under the sun in my house, the roof part reserved for my mum's blm. Not to mention when parking at office, also under the sun. So far no problem with the buttons *prays hard*

This post has been edited by heavencloud: Oct 29 2009, 12:57 AM
ruztynail
post Oct 29 2009, 08:55 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Oct 28 2009, 11:07 PM)
think got to send back to sc for checking, sscare will void the warraty if diy. today my player hang. even i switch off my engine the light n screen still on. end out to have to disconnet the battery and it work fine at the moment.
mine got hang once too. i was like wtf... off engine the player still on. did the same thing as u. disconnect the battery thn only boleh. sigh.
ralf
post Oct 29 2009, 10:51 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

something went haywired.. I pump full tank, after finish up one bar of petrol, check the FC meter and today i monitor it again....icon_question.gif ! A picture is worth a thousand words.. cry.gif

Of course i revv the engine but didn't expect the outcome like this..crazzzee icon_question.gif

alexliew
post Oct 29 2009, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(ralf @ Oct 29 2009, 10:51 AM)
something went haywired.. I pump full tank, after finish up one bar of petrol, check the FC meter and today i monitor it again....icon_question.gif ! A picture is worth a thousand words.. cry.gif

Of course i revv the engine but didn't expect the outcome like this..crazzzee icon_question.gif

this one is "hau siao" one...1st day until now my one is showing 6.4l/km...but actual is not...reset it also same..not use one...
ralf
post Oct 29 2009, 11:30 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(alexliew @ Oct 29 2009, 11:11 AM)
this one is "hau siao" one...1st day until now my one is showing 6.4l/km...but actual is not...reset it also same..not use one...
Err..to me, the accuracy is pretty good, variance is +-10%.
Half tank gone already after 100km..*faint*I blink.gif Normally, i can do about 120-130km, full tank 260km..
loong2020
post Oct 29 2009, 11:45 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

wah....mine stuck at 8.8/9.0....highway 30% and town with jam/slow traffic.... sweat.gif ....giving up on measuring FC d...just pump when the car hungry.... yawn.gif
heavencloud
post Oct 29 2009, 11:52 AM

346 posts

just 40km and the meter already dropped 1 bar!? shocking.gif
ralf
post Oct 29 2009, 12:04 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Oct 29 2009, 11:52 AM)
just 40km and the meter already dropped 1 bar!?  shocking.gif
4x-50km, drop one bar rclxub.gif rolleyes.gif yawn.gif
ipohmali70
post Oct 29 2009, 12:51 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Oct 29 2009, 12:44 AM)
...Overall score, persona  thumbup.gif ...

To be honest I do have a lot of gripes about the Persona but like heavencloud says overall, its okay.

Persona is a good car with modern technology and great handling characteristics let down by shoddy build quality and nitty gritty problems.

Added on October 29, 2009, 12:56 pm

Don't believe the meter. Believe in your own calculations.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Oct 29 2009, 12:56 PM
onlyforthecars
post Oct 29 2009, 01:52 PM

244 posts

Hey guys,

Today my 1.5 year old persona could not start. When i turned the ignition, a loud 'tak tak tak' sound came up. There was no sound of engine struggling to crank at all. After a jump start, the car was able to start as usual. This is the second time this happened. My headlights were definitely turned off last night when i reached home. Any idea what could be draining the battery? or is there some other explanation ? (faulty alternator perhaps?).

An interesting fact to note is that for both incidents, i found the boot not closed properly. Could the alarm be silently draining the battery if i happen to leave the boot opened?

Thank you for your assistance.
2fast2furious
post Oct 29 2009, 02:24 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Oct 29 2009, 01:52 PM)
Hey guys,

Today my 1.5 year old persona could not start. When i turned the ignition, a loud 'tak tak tak' sound came up. There was no sound of engine struggling to crank at all. After a jump start, the car was able to start as usual. This is the second time this happened. My headlights were definitely turned off last night when i reached home. Any idea what could be draining the battery? or is there some other explanation ? (faulty alternator perhaps?).

An interesting fact to note is that for both incidents, i found the boot not closed properly. Could the alarm be silently draining the battery if i happen to leave the boot opened?

Thank you for your assistance.
battery is dying. getting it checked and replaced if necessary...
ipohmali70
post Oct 29 2009, 02:26 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Oct 29 2009, 02:24 PM)
I agree. I'm 90% sure its a battery problem.

2fast2furious
post Oct 29 2009, 02:28 PM

32 posts

OMFG...... 14+ L per 100km?!

My 2 months old Persona b line is having constant 8.9L / 9.0L per 100km. Current mileage now is 2,034KM.

And humm... u still have those QC stickers there eh. hahaha

And how come ur meter lights are amber colored? Mine is red wor....

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Oct 29 2009, 02:29 PM
onlyforthecars
post Oct 29 2009, 02:29 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Oct 29 2009, 02:24 PM)
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Oct 29 2009, 02:26 PM)
I agree.  I'm 90% sure its a battery problem.
Alright. However, just want to know how long does a typical proton battery last? And how much will a new battery cost me (just to check to ensure SC don't overcharge me)?

Thank you very much guys.
heavencloud
post Oct 29 2009, 02:43 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Oct 29 2009, 12:04 PM)
4x-50km, drop one bar  rclxub.gif  rolleyes.gif  yawn.gif
wah... mine still average 1 bar 100++ km. Always filled up rm50 worth of petrol (4th bar), last up to 300 - 320km.

Nowadays always rev till 3 or 4 rpm before changing gear, syok drool.gif lucky the fc didnt change
darkorama
post Oct 29 2009, 02:52 PM

Need help from first batch manual tranny owners…any body knows how to smoothen the 70-80 km engine harshness? Im thinking of K&N drop in filter to make the engine breathe better.
Will it work??

2fast2furious
post Oct 29 2009, 03:09 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Oct 29 2009, 02:29 PM)
Alright. However, just want to know how long does a typical proton battery last?  And how much will a new battery cost me (just to check to ensure SC don't overcharge me)? 

Battery lifespan is very subjective and differs from every car brands out there. Different car brands have different designs which effects the battery lifespan. But normally is 1 year plus to 3 years if lucky. Some damn lucky fellas might even reach 4 years.

It differs from each drivers as well. Like for example, if the driver does a lot of start and stop / short trips. The alternator does not have enough time to charge the battery in such short time. If the car is fitted with aftermarket parts hooked onto the existing electrical grid, more power is consumed in which in return, well... u get the picture right?!

For battery check and replacement, do not go to SC. They will slaughter you while u are still breathing. Just go to the tyre shops / battery shops in ur area and have a look around for the pricing. Dry cell or wet cell. Your pick. Both more less the same in terms of life span. Dry cell is maintainence free, the later is not.

Cost wise.... you are looking in the range of 140 to 200 depending on brand and type eg. wet or dry cell. Happy shopping!!!!!

icon_rolleyes.gif
loong2020
post Oct 29 2009, 03:11 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Oct 29 2009, 02:29 PM)
Alright. However, just want to know how long does a typical proton battery last?  And how much will a new battery cost me (just to check to ensure SC don't overcharge me)? 

i change mine last may....i change to GP maintenance free battery DIN55 that costs RM240....but i advise you take water type battery as it would last longer maybe 2-3years or more compare to maintenance free ones that usually 1-2years... doh.gif ...just change at outside..la....SC will stock back the same battery or try to ask for claim....
ruztynail
post Oct 29 2009, 03:50 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

mine also same thihng. siao one. sometimes 50km drop one bar. but over all i can use 320km for full tank. sometimes even better 380.. but never gone above 400km bfr. hahaha

bro ralf ye sticker all still there on yr dashboard. like take new car.. haha 30k+ km di right?

127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0325sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:24 PM