126 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Bottom

Runnerz... #3, All about running...

TSphoenix
post Mar 2 2010, 10:02 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

I just returned from Ironman Malaysia 2010 at Langkawi. Most of the Elites and Pros are all wearing K-Swiss shoes. If the shoe can take the punishment from the triathletes and Ironmans, what do you think marathon runners can benefit from it? It is just a wonderful wonderful shoe!
seanlel
post Mar 2 2010, 11:30 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Mar 2 2010, 09:55 PM)
Yes they are good running shoes.  PM me if interested and some of the runners here buy shoes from me.
Hehe... I visited your blog... K-Swiss quite pricey huh... tongue.gif
jack208
post Mar 3 2010, 03:52 AM

335 posts

From SCKLM to me... hohoho. There goes my bib num #0001 LOL

Dear Runner

We are in the midst of testing the database and registration process. We
spotted that you found a way to register already and secured the
development website accordingly smile.gif. Please note that your registration is
not valid because the official launch of the Marathon and the website will
be on March 15.

Your current registration details will be deleted.

We look forward to have you running on June 27, 2010.

Best regards
KL Marathon Help-Team

elgato
post Mar 3 2010, 10:48 AM

776 posts

chill la jack..u going for energizer ka?
ccube
post Mar 3 2010, 03:06 PM

1,074 posts

Singapore Passion Run 2010 Powered by NEWTON
http://www.singaporepassionrun.com/
elgato
post Mar 3 2010, 03:30 PM

776 posts

nice...but near to sundown laa...
Liuism
post Mar 3 2010, 04:47 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Mar 3 2010, 03:06 PM)
Singapore Passion Run 2010 Powered by NEWTON
http://www.singaporepassionrun.com/
Everything is SGD not cheap leh rclxub.gif
jack208
post Mar 3 2010, 06:10 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(elgato @ Mar 3 2010, 10:48 AM)
chill la jack..u going for energizer ka?
Yeah.. u going? see u there biggrin.gif
chinleong
post Mar 4 2010, 09:51 AM

240 posts

Hi guys, I have one new set of Polar FT80 + G1 GPS sensor to let go

Selling at RM1,450 firm, interested kindly check the link in garage sales:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1344354

TQ
d3vilzzzz
post Mar 4 2010, 10:49 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

PBIM is up for registration edi? seriously ..hmm

i dun tink i b running in SG anytime in the near future ..unless i got posted there or something ..yea ..its so so exp there sad.gif

looking forward to Energizer and Towerthon ..
din make it for Bareno
elgato
post Mar 4 2010, 11:57 AM

776 posts

larian diraja 10k....free. google it up...closing on the 10th i think
Liuism
post Mar 4 2010, 05:19 PM

1,866 posts

KL Towerthon consider tough?
GHV
post Mar 4 2010, 08:07 PM

Dear all runners,

Another promising product from GHV, FOOTCARE.

Is not only designed for comfort of your foot, it also absorb shock and minor impact. Suitable for all types of shoes, especially sports shoes and woman's high heels.

For more information, please visit the link below.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...388&hl=footcare

best regards,
GREENHILL VENTURES ENT.

All the best and happy running.
jamis
post Mar 5 2010, 11:50 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Hi runners,

I have a question on HIIT and i hope that this a right thread to ask for help.

I did my HIIT last night and i felt that i can hardly cope up with the hearth rate thou, i m trying the beginner's HIIT which is 30sec sprint (173bps) and 90sec brisk (125bps).

-1min warm up
-sprint 30sec - heart beat only reach 150 - 160bps
-brisk 1 min - 140+bps
-try to sprint for 30 sec - it only reach 150 -160bps again and tats the end of 30, the time to hit 175 needs to be more than 30sec ...

So i was wonder how can i hit 173+bhp ? during the intensive 30sec, the time seems to be so insufficient for me to hit 173+bps, and my brisk owas hit ard 145bhp. So how do u calculate ur heart ?

should that be in that 30 sec :--

first 10 - increase hearth beat
following 10 sec - catch up with the beats and reach the max beat
last 10 - cont with the max beat

is tat sounds alright? and i read from some other forum they claim that, shorten the rest time may be easier for me to cope with the hearth beat...
shahwan86
post Mar 5 2010, 12:14 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Mar 5 2010, 11:50 AM)
Hi runners,

I did my HIIT last night and i felt that i can hardly cope up with the hearth rate thou, i m trying the beginner's HIIT which is 30sec sprint (173bps) and 90sec brisk (125bps).

-1min warm up
-brisk 1 min - 140+bps
-try to sprint for 30 sec - it only reach 150 -160bps again and tats the end of 30, the time to hit 175 needs to be more than 30sec ...

So i was wonder how can i hit 173+bhp ? during the intensive 30sec, the time seems to be so insufficient for me to hit 173+bps, and my brisk owas hit ard 145bhp. So how do u calculate ur heart ?

is tat sounds alright? and i read from some other forum they claim that, shorten the rest time may be easier for me to cope with the hearth beat...
Try a 1:2 ratio, Jamis.
For example : 20 seconds sprint, 40 seconds jog;
What I do is 2:3 ratio but with a shorter sprint interval.....i.e I do 15 secs sprint (70% full effort) and 25 secs jog (5:00 min/km). I find that this interval training improved my performance substantially...probably u can try this out.

This post has been edited by shahwan86: Mar 5 2010, 12:15 PM
jamis
post Mar 5 2010, 12:18 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(shahwan86 @ Mar 5 2010, 12:14 PM)
Try a 1:2 ratio, Jamis.
For example : 20 seconds sprint, 40 seconds jog;
What I do is 2:3 ratio but with a shorter sprint interval.....i.e I do 15 secs sprint (70% full effort) and 25 secs jog (5:00 min/km). I find that this interval training improved my performance substantially...probably u can try this out.
I plan to do skipping next time, as there is no much place for me to sprint and i dont like the thredmill and the cycling machine.

Yeah i think i should do 1:2 and try it out. By the way, do u measure ur hearth rate?
tenno
post Mar 5 2010, 12:19 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Mar 5 2010, 11:50 AM)
Hi runners,

-1min warm up
-brisk 1 min - 140+bps

AFAIK, the only measurement for heart rate is BPM (beats per minute). If Ur heart beats at 173 beats per second (bps), it would've burst out of Ur chest already by now.

Did U use any instruments to measure Ur heart rate, i.e. heart rate monitor/wristwatch with heart rate sensor ?

I'm not familiar with HIIT concept of training, although I do regular intervals & fartlek in my training. If U can't reach certain heart rate during the run, causes might be :

1. Ur not running hard enuff;
2. U haven't warmed up enuff;
3. Ur too tired U can't reach certain heart rate.

Take my interval sessions for example:
I run 5 x 800m at 5:35/km pace, that would take me around 4:00 - 4:10 to complete each rep. My heart rate would top around 165-170bpm thruout the 4 mins. Between each rep I recover to about 110-120bpm in about 2mins or half the interval period. My max is 187bpm (age formula). Last Tuesday while doing fartlek, I hit 214 bpm... How ? I dunno .. hmm.gif

So U see, for me, it takes 800m/4mins (avg) to get me to 170bpm. Maybe in 30 secs, U need to really, really sprint to get up to 170bpm. Or maybe do hillsprints. I've hit 170bpm for hillsprints in less than a minute, no prob.

& U mentioned there Ur warm-up is only 1 min. U sure thts enuff ? Maybe U need to warm-up at least 10 mins by slow jogging to get warmed up. & I use Polar RS300sd for all my workouts.
shahwan86
post Mar 5 2010, 12:21 PM

222 posts

I didn't bother to check my heart rate like u stated there b/c I don't have any equipments.....I just check them with the distance and route that I use.
If I use the 2:3 ratio, I can only last about 3-4 km. (higher bpm)
If I use the 1:2 ratio, I'll last about 5 km. (lower bpm)

This post has been edited by shahwan86: Mar 5 2010, 12:22 PM
elgato
post Mar 5 2010, 01:05 PM

776 posts

guys...where is the best place to do long run?
jamis
post Mar 5 2010, 01:58 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Mar 5 2010, 12:19 PM)
AFAIK, the only measurement for heart rate is BPM (beats per minute). If Ur heart beats at 173 beats per second (bps), it would've burst out of Ur chest already by now.

Did U use any instruments to measure Ur heart rate, i.e. heart rate monitor/wristwatch with heart rate sensor ?

I'm not familiar with HIIT concept of training, although I do regular intervals & fartlek in my training. If U can't reach certain heart rate during the run, causes might be :

1. Ur not running hard enuff;
2. U haven't warmed up enuff;
3. Ur too tired U can't reach certain heart rate.

Take my interval sessions for example:
I run 5 x 800m at 5:35/km pace, that would take me around 4:00 - 4:10 to complete each rep. My heart rate would top around 165-170bpm thruout the 4 mins. Between each rep I recover to about 110-120bpm in about 2mins or half the interval period. My max is 187bpm (age formula). Last Tuesday while doing fartlek, I hit 214 bpm... How ? I dunno ..  hmm.gif

So U see, for me, it takes 800m/4mins (avg) to get me to 170bpm. Maybe in 30 secs, U need to really, really sprint to get up to 170bpm. Or maybe do hillsprints. I've hit 170bpm for hillsprints in less than a minute, no prob.

& U mentioned there Ur warm-up is only 1 min. U sure thts enuff ? Maybe U need to warm-up at least 10 mins by slow jogging to get warmed up. & I use Polar RS300sd for all my workouts.
Sorry sorry its bpm lol, by the way i dont have any hearth rate monitor i just take the reading from the cycling machine that i tried out.

Wow tats insane, 170bpm for 4 mins.

I m just wondering if that 30sec gona be my 170bpm or time for me to hit 170bpm?

QUOTE(shahwan86 @ Mar 5 2010, 12:21 PM)
I didn't bother to check my heart rate like u stated there b/c I don't have any equipments.....I just check them with the distance and route that I use.
If I use the 2:3 ratio, I can only last about 3-4 km. (higher bpm)
If I use the 1:2 ratio, I'll last about 5 km. (lower bpm)
icic, guess i better try out the 1:2 ratio first. It has been ages i never do my cardio. sweat.gif

126 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:28 AM