Runnerz... #3, All about running...

shahwan86
post Jul 13 2009, 08:12 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jul 13 2009, 02:47 PM)
fate has it.. i broke my personal best yesterday by breaking the hour.. & this morning while riding my motorbike to work, going at 80km/h+, my rear tire came off, & i went down crashing.. broke my left radius (arm). the doc said they need to insert a plate, right now it's in a partial cast. i dunno how long it's gonna take to heal.. i hope i can still make the adidas kotr. other than broken left arm, there are cuts & bruises everywhere ? a deep cut in my left toe, dislocated shoulder.. thts it i guess..  sad.gif
So sorry to hear that tenno sad.gif
I hope for your fast recovery....I've been there before. Left me inactive over a month.
shahwan86
post Jul 14 2009, 04:19 PM

222 posts

Ccube, I'm pretty much interested also in the Newton shoes that you are bringing in. I've read ur blog and you noted down that it is not suitable for wide feet like mine.
There really is no Newton shoes for wide feet?
shahwan86
post Jul 16 2009, 05:53 AM

222 posts

Runnerz, do you think it's advisable for me to go for my first full marathon debut at SCSM when the max I can go at my comfortable pace now is only <15km?

It's less than 5 months away but almost another 30 km to gain is the main question that's playing in my head. What do u guys think? Just do it?
shahwan86
post Jul 16 2009, 08:58 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(steveysl @ Jul 16 2009, 08:53 AM)
try a 21K first then go for the full.

I have registered 21k for BIM. now thinking should I go for SCSM for full.

first got to go back to training first.
Gonna do the half at the PBIM. Want to go a step further for SCSM. brows.gif
shahwan86
post Jul 16 2009, 04:37 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Jul 16 2009, 10:09 AM)
Shah,
4 months shud be sufficient to build up ur endurance.  But the only problem for you is the puasa month break, that will disrupt ur training. If u can hack it, then just aim for completion of the run with no timing in mind.  Taking into consideration ur endurance level is low ie <15k.

Aug - Sept: Base training ie make sure u can clock weekly mileage of 30k-40k.  And Sat/Sun will be a longer run of 15k to 20k

Oct - Nov: Your weekly mileage shud be hitting 40k to 50k.  Sat/Sun LSD shud be alternating between 25k, 28k and 30k+

This is a very tight program bcos you dont have a base foundation and the puasa month will disrupt ur training.  if u think u can hack it, i will draw out a more detail prg for you to follow.
Ccube, I think I can hack it. I want to give it a go. I think I can do it.
I'm aware of the one month puasa...it's going to hinder my training regime a little bit but I've made a proper training schedule for Ramadhan. I would to know ur suggested detailed prg though. Thanks smile.gif
shahwan86
post Jul 20 2009, 09:14 AM

222 posts

I was disappointed with my Siemens Run yesterday sad.gif
I was in the Mens A category.
I was targeting a time of 46 mins for my third running event.
Ended up doing 49 mins.

Multiple frustrations :
1. I felt very heavy (woke up at 450am in the morning and tried to clear my bowels for almost 30 mins but nothing sad.gif
2. My right feet gave in 2km from the end so I had to run that stretch awkward (my right feet landed oni on the outside)
3. I didn't reach my target! sad.gif
4. Was 10 seconds off from getting a medal (102 place)

Lessons learned :
1. Eat a lot of fruits the day before so that it's easier to clear my system the morning of raceday.
2. Go early so that can start at the front (I started at the middle again yesterday although I lapor diri at 705am - you guys so early laa haha)

Comments on race :
1. A lot of water stations. Very very good smile.gif
2. Love the cheering 1 km stretch from the end. Gave me an added boost. flex.gif
3. Can we stop making a mess at Dataran Merdeka? It's not hard to find a trash bin mad.gif Stop Littering!!!

This post has been edited by shahwan86: Jul 20 2009, 09:16 AM
shahwan86
post Jul 20 2009, 12:22 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Jul 20 2009, 09:52 AM)
Congrats to those who ran Siemens Run yday.  It was indeed a very well organised race especially for the Pom Pom gals who gave me extra booster for the final push.

SHAPE Run, we all from LYN gotta gather together and take a picture, what do u think.  Maybe we can park at the carpark next to the Palace Of Justice, and meet at a specific time.  Be early so that there is more time for us to lepak and sembang.  Deal??

Anyone still giving away or selling SHAPE Run bib (mens), plz let me know.
Good idea! I second that.
shahwan86
post Jul 20 2009, 02:32 PM

222 posts

A small request : Can we all meet up around 750pm to give way for muslim prayers?
shahwan86
post Jul 22 2009, 08:01 AM

222 posts

any of you guys/girls here have facebook? maybe we can keep closer tabs on each other
shahwan86
post Jul 22 2009, 11:05 AM

222 posts

FAcebook > Shah Wan
shahwan86
post Jul 26 2009, 09:41 PM

222 posts

Who wants my condoms from SHAPE run??? haha.
I'm not using it.

Let me clarify that......I can't yet use it. haha
shahwan86
post Aug 3 2009, 04:35 PM

222 posts

http://starbucks87dude.blogspot.com/2009/0...eon-robert.html

Gary Leon Robert was a UNITEN student at Bangi campus.
He was in one of my classes this semester.
He was a very nice guy. He will be sorely missed sad.gif
shahwan86
post Aug 10 2009, 12:25 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Aug 10 2009, 12:08 PM)
wazzaaaaaa runners

im on the last phase of quitting smoking(one cig a day/every few days) gonna go full quit now. been exercising and what not trying to improve my cardio fitness lvls iuh and in the process of losing weight as well, down to 77 from 110 last year.

so yeah, right now i can only jog for about 10-15 minutes tops without stopping before i feel like dying. so yeah, what should i do so that i can join my first half marathon next year, soemtime around june(and does that seem like a realistic goal?) or hopefully sooner.
Wow!!! Congrats dude on ur mighty effort to quit smoking! I know it must be hard since I was a smoker too!
Kudos man! Kudos!
shahwan86
post Oct 17 2009, 10:40 AM

222 posts

I'm desperately looking for a Mizuno Wave Run (mens) bib.
email me at :
shahwan_bobo21@yahoo.com
shahwan86
post Jan 23 2010, 04:23 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Jan 19 2010, 07:10 PM)
Borneo International Marathon 2010 (at KK) will be on 2nd May 2010!
Registration will start on 1st Feb 10. It's nice race to join, and KK is nice place to visit.

Anybody going to join?
I'm definitely going to join that one!

I've also thought that it would be nice to climb up Mount Kinabalu as well as tht is one of the things tht I've always wanted to do.
Anybody here have any experiences???
And better still, anybody here care to join me???
A show of hands here....the more the merrier smile.gif
shahwan86
post Feb 1 2010, 02:29 PM

222 posts

Hi everyone! smile.gif
Do you guys know where I can do a 'sole test' or whatever u call it, here in KL?
I want to know what exactly is my foot type. And what shoes to buy to suit my foot type and also my running style.
I run landing on the balls of my foot aka 'POSE Technique'.
I'm planning to get a new pair of shoes next week and I'm willing to spend around RM 350. Any brand I don't mind.
Thank you.

P.S have anyone tried registering for Borneo Marathon yet??? It said on it's website that registration commences on 1st February. I've tried but nothing came out.

This post has been edited by shahwan86: Feb 1 2010, 02:30 PM
shahwan86
post Feb 2 2010, 02:26 PM

222 posts

Thank you CCube. I'll go to Gardens then. If anything, I'll give u an sms.

Anyone want to sell their Adidas Sundown Marathon Singapore running bibs :
1. Full marathon (men)
2. Half marathon (men)

Really really want to run the race. smile.gif
shahwan86
post Feb 23 2010, 10:37 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Feb 22 2010, 10:08 PM)
Wow! Finally they start the registration!
Great! I dun have to change my plan.

Added on February 22, 2010, 10:11 pmOps! I tot can register oredi, register halfway then cannot continue liao. NVM, wait for it.
toto4d,
read a lil bit of ur training log. rclxms.gif
what's ur condition now???
i plan to climb mount kinabalu 1-2 days after borneo marathon. u wanna join?
shahwan86
post Mar 2 2010, 04:52 PM

222 posts

Yeay!!!
I managed to register for the Penang Bridge Marathon (full) this november.
This will be my first full marathon ever!!!!! Woohoo super excited!

Training must go on! Impossible is nothing!
shahwan86
post Mar 5 2010, 12:14 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Mar 5 2010, 11:50 AM)
Hi runners,

I have a question on HIIT and i hope that this a right thread to ask for help.

I did my HIIT last night and i felt that i can hardly cope up with the hearth rate thou, i m trying the beginner's HIIT which is 30sec sprint (173bps) and 90sec brisk (125bps).

-1min warm up
-sprint 30sec - heart beat only reach 150 - 160bps
-brisk 1 min - 140+bps
-try to sprint for 30 sec - it only reach 150 -160bps again and tats the end of 30, the time to hit 175 needs to be more than 30sec ...

So i was wonder how can i hit 173+bhp ? during the intensive 30sec, the time seems to be so insufficient for me to hit 173+bps, and my brisk owas hit ard 145bhp. So how do u calculate ur heart ?

should that be in that 30 sec :--

first 10 - increase hearth beat
following 10 sec - catch up with the beats and reach the max beat
last 10 - cont with the max beat

is tat sounds alright? and i read from some other forum they claim that, shorten the rest time may be easier for me to cope with the hearth beat...
Try a 1:2 ratio, Jamis.
For example : 20 seconds sprint, 40 seconds jog;
What I do is 2:3 ratio but with a shorter sprint interval.....i.e I do 15 secs sprint (70% full effort) and 25 secs jog (5:00 min/km). I find that this interval training improved my performance substantially...probably u can try this out.

This post has been edited by shahwan86: Mar 5 2010, 12:15 PM

0.0437sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:56 PM