Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

jackhammer84
post Jul 27 2009, 10:17 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Jacky96136 @ Jul 27 2009, 09:53 PM)
I Have a very stupid question want to ask. Please don't scold me...

If I signed ivalue 100 plan with 333min free call and 500MB data. And sms fee is RM 0.10 per sms and excluded. Is it mean when I send 1 sms, my monthly fee is RM100.10?
haha yes that's right

@Jacky96136
yes that's right. oh, pls remember that the RM8 for 500 SMS, it's only to Maxis numbers.

@holy_devil113
please read the Rate Plans Terms & Conditions on the Maxis page. no. 3

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 27 2009, 10:17 PM
holy_devil113
post Jul 27 2009, 10:36 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Jacky96136 @ Jul 27 2009, 10:03 PM)
So I better sign up RM 8 for 500 SMS right? If call rate? Since bundled with 333min call time. If I over 333min, so it will cost RM 100.15 for 334min?
Is this also true?

Can someone explain to me difference between ivalue and value plan.
I tot its about the same.
Right now i using value150.
Already read the T&C but dont understand.

This post has been edited by holy_devil113: Jul 27 2009, 10:37 PM
sysh
post Jul 27 2009, 10:43 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(holy_devil113 @ Jul 27 2009, 10:04 PM)
i tot if you subscribe ivalue 100 plan you got RM100 to use for calling, sms, mms etc etc.
Correct me if i'm wrong.
That's the catch. No SMS built into the plan.
If you're a moderate user, just get the iValue 100 + 500 SMS (Maxis to Maxis) for RM8
elico
post Jul 27 2009, 11:01 PM

749 posts

tat y i dun take the iValue plan... coz no SMS included... it was made for data and calls

i personally would suggest that if u a heavy SMS and less call user like me... consider taking Value Plus plan or prepaid... it will be more price wise...
sysh
post Jul 27 2009, 11:15 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Jul 27 2009, 11:01 PM)
tat y i dun take the iValue plan... coz no SMS included... it was made for data and calls

i personally would suggest that if u a heavy SMS and less call user like me... consider taking Value Plus plan or prepaid... it will be more price wise...
You mean, for example..take the Value Plan Plus 50 + iData2 = RM100?
So essentially for a new user, signing up for their "normal" plans then get the phone after that for RM2,590 (12 months, 32Gb 3GS)
A premium of RM300 over the iValue plan. Wonder whether it's worth it.

Edit: The Value Plan Plus.. say for RM50, that would give you to credit for both calls, sms, mms etc? Sorry, nvr been a Maxis user before

This post has been edited by sysh: Jul 27 2009, 11:22 PM
NXaqua
post Jul 27 2009, 11:21 PM

921 posts

QUOTE(holy_devil113 @ Jul 27 2009, 10:04 PM)
i tot if you subscribe ivalue 100 plan you got RM100 to use for calling, sms, mms etc etc.
Correct me if i'm wrong.
Hi friend,

I have similar query and after calling up 123 ( been calling up 2 -3 times this week from complaining to seeking clarification of statement charges ) about my iValue 100,and the comment is :

RM100.00 is monthly commitment,RM50.00 for call charges and the other RM50.00 for internet data.
E.g. My call charges was RM75.00 and in this instances,they give rebate of RM50.00 back to me.
As for data,I have just terminated my RM99.00 Unlimited Data Plan yesterday,but presume it will run similarly like the above.

For sms,I have incurred 750 sms ( guess I must really keep track ) and since I am on RM8.00 plan for first 500 sms foc,therefore the
balance of 250 smses will be chargeable based on 0.10 0r 0.15cts..

Correct me if I am wrong here.Thanks.
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 11:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@NXaqua,
Yes that is absolutely right. And if your data utilisation exceeds what's given (I believe in ur plan, it's 500MB, right?) U will be charged 0.5sen/kb.
cksia
post Jul 27 2009, 11:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Jul 27 2009, 11:21 PM)
Hi friend,

I have similar query and after calling up 123 ( been calling up 2 -3 times this week from complaining to seeking clarification of statement charges ) about my iValue 100,and the comment is :

RM100.00 is monthly commitment,RM50.00 for call charges and the other RM50.00 for internet data.
E.g. My call charges was RM75.00 and in this instances,they give rebate of RM50.00 back to me.
As for data,I have just terminated my RM99.00 Unlimited Data Plan yesterday,but presume it will run similarly like the above.

For sms,I have incurred 750 sms ( guess I must really keep track ) and since I am on RM8.00 plan for first 500 sms foc,therefore the
balance of 250 smses will be chargeable based on 0.10 0r 0.15cts..

Correct me if I am wrong here.Thanks.
Hang on there, i dont understand what u mean. I thought you pay RM 100 per month and get 333 mins of calls free and 500MB worht of data every month. WHy is there a need to break down 50/50 for calls and data?

If they gve you a RM 50 rebate does that mean you still have to pay the extra RM 25? DOes that mean you will have to pay RM 125?
holy_devil113
post Jul 27 2009, 11:41 PM

546 posts

Ok understand. Two more question.
1.Can i add Value Extras to my ivalue plan?
2.Currently i'm using value150 plan and have one supplementary line. Can i still maintain my supp line and enjoy the free voice calls, video calls & SMS?
dan2020
post Jul 27 2009, 11:44 PM

88 posts

@ Tinkerbell

Lol.. not quite an activist yet but very busy. Always mass-smsing my colleagues to update on program progress etc.

RM97 for SMS to non-Maxis numbers. My sms to Maxis users is RM 73.00. So, just SMS for last month was RM170!! My calls was RM146.

So u can tell i am a heavy sms-er. tongue.gif

So, if the iData plan is hinged upon the VP, that means that we are stuck with VP. The only thing that can be changed from my understand is within the VP itself- ie. can change from VP150 to 80 and vice versa but not from VP to prepaid.

Nevertheless, however u look at it, both dont effect the iData plan (the rationale to have a VP plan isn't very concrete considering a user can have prepaid and a data plan. Right?)

elico
post Jul 28 2009, 12:06 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(sysh @ Jul 27 2009, 11:15 PM)
You mean, for example..take the Value Plan Plus 50 + iData2 = RM100?
So essentially for a new user, signing up for their "normal" plans then get the phone after that for RM2,590 (12 months, 32Gb 3GS)
A premium of RM300 over the iValue plan. Wonder whether it's worth it.

Edit: The Value Plan Plus.. say for RM50, that would give you to credit for both calls, sms, mms etc? Sorry, nvr been a Maxis user before
you actually can calculate based on ur current usage

ok let assume that i (heavy SMS user) send 200 SMS to Maxis per month, and 200 SMS to other operator, 15 minutes calls to Maxis, and 15 minutes call to other operator

Value Plus 50 + iData 50 16GB iPhone 3GS 12 months contract: RM2090, saving RM400
iValue 100 16GB iPhone 3GS 12 months contract: RM1990, saving RM500

assuming i do take Value Plus 50 + iData 50:
- Value Plus 50 SMS rate: 5 sen to Maxis, 15 sen to others
200*0.05 + 200*0.15 = RM40

- call rate 12 sen to Maxis, 18 sen to others
15*0.12 + 15*0.18 = RM4.5

total use: 40+4.5 = RM44.5, which Value Plus 50 covered

at the end of the month i still paying RM100

but if i were on iValue plan, i still keep my habit of SMS heavily, and i take the RM8 500 SMS package
- SMS Rate: 10 sen
SMS sent to other operator : 200*0.10 = RM20
SMS sent to Maxis: RM8 (as below 500 SMS)

- calls 333 minutes included in iValue 100

total payment: 100+8+20 = RM128

at the end of the month i need to pay RM128, with extra RM28 per month, if u doing this for 12 months
12*28 = RM336 <-- rough calculation

u will be paying more RM336 at the of the year, minus out the saving of RM500

500 - 336 = RM164

you only get RM164 saving

as compare to ur RM400 saving on Value Plus, u only able to save RM164 on iValue, IF u an heavy SMS user like me.

of course different user have different cases, this case applies to mine... this is just serve as a reference to u

This post has been edited by elico: Jul 28 2009, 12:13 AM
sysh
post Jul 28 2009, 12:47 AM

265 posts

@ elico
Thanks for the illustration. I didn't know I could sign up for the Value Plus Plans + iData instead of just the iValue Plan since I'm gonna be a new Maxis member. Will try to determine which plan suits me well smile.gif
doomx
post Jul 28 2009, 01:11 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

@elico
now i have hard time choosing which plan i want. earlier wanted to go for the iValue 100 but since u break the calculation till like that i have to rethink. What i like about the iValue is the iphone is much cheaper which is easier to convince my parents to get me 1 smile.gif.
tinkerbel
post Jul 28 2009, 10:11 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@cksia,
The 333 minutes = RM50
The 500MB data = RM50
Hence as long as U don't overuse the above U won't be charged additional. U will be charged once U exceed 333 minutes of call usage + 500MB of data usage. Also, please bear in mind, SMS charges are separate.

@holy_devil113,
I'm not sure if U can add ValueExtras to your existing plan but I think should be possible since the RM8 for 500 SMS is a Value Extra plan. You can still maintain the supp line but U won't be able to enjoy the Family Plus plans; the iValue plans are independent of any other plans.

@dan2020,
I didn't double confirm with Maxis 123 if the VP plans can be cancelled and moved to prepaid but from my understanding, I don't think Maxis will allow it.

@sysh, doomx,
The iValue plans have a higher rebate on the i3GS only because those plans, IMHO are cut-throat plans. I, for sure wouldn't wanna go with those plans but again it depends on usage. It's best to work out which plan will suit U best and do an overall calculation to see what the nett pay out to Maxis at the end of the contract.
ah1
post Jul 28 2009, 11:09 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jul 28 2009, 01:11 AM)
@elico
now i have hard time choosing which plan i want. earlier wanted to go for the iValue 100 but since u break the calculation till like that i have to rethink. What i like about the iValue is the iphone is much cheaper which is easier to convince my parents to get me 1 smile.gif.
Phone is cheap, but maintain is very expensive. Unless u got freaking high usage, or else not preferable to take iValue.
good luck in convince.. rclxub.gif
elico
post Jul 28 2009, 12:35 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jul 28 2009, 01:11 AM)
@elico
well all i can say is that you do a rough calculation on your overall purchase + maintaining the phone and line, then u will know that which plan serve you the best.

after my own calculation, i stick back to Hotlink, and since i on Hotlink Youth Club, it has the best rate for both call and sms...

for mine i comparing it with my current Hotlink and Value Plus 50 + iData 50 on the same case as previous:

Value Plus 50 + iData 50:
Phone: RM2090
Maintaining the contract for 12 months: 100*12 = RM1200

Total money spend in a year: RM2090 + RM1200 = RM3290

Hotlink on Youth Club Plan:
SMS to Maxis 1 sen, SMS to others 5 sen
Call to Maxis 12 sen, Call to others 15 sen

- SMS usage per month: 200*0.01 + 200*0.05 = RM12
- Call usage per month: 15*0.12 + 15*0.15 = RM4.05
- Total use per month = RM16.05
- Data 500MB: Free for 12 months

Total cost maintaining for 12 months: 16.05*12 = RM192.60

Total money spend in 12 months: RM2490 + 192.60 = RM 2682.60

so for me, as you can see Hotlink serve better on RM/year comparison. after a year i will be having the trouble over data charges tongue.gif, by then re-plan everything again la... whistling.gif

of course again as i said, this is calculated based on my usage, different user has different usage. this serve as a reference only...

This post has been edited by elico: Jul 28 2009, 12:36 PM
cksia
post Jul 28 2009, 12:35 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Jul 28 2009, 12:06 AM)
you actually can calculate based on ur current usage

ok let assume that i (heavy SMS user) send 200 SMS to Maxis per month, and 200 SMS to other operator, 15 minutes calls to Maxis, and 15 minutes call to other operator

Value Plus 50 + iData 50 16GB iPhone 3GS 12 months contract: RM2090, saving RM400
iValue 100 16GB iPhone 3GS 12 months contract: RM1990, saving RM500

assuming i do take Value Plus 50 + iData 50:
- Value Plus 50 SMS rate: 5 sen to Maxis, 15 sen to others
  200*0.05 + 200*0.15 = RM40

- call rate 12 sen to Maxis, 18 sen to others
  15*0.12 + 15*0.18 = RM4.5

total use: 40+4.5 = RM44.5, which Value Plus 50 covered

at the end of the month i still paying RM100
but if i were on iValue plan, i still keep my habit of SMS heavily, and i take the RM8 500 SMS package
- SMS Rate: 10 sen
  SMS sent to other operator : 200*0.10 = RM20
  SMS sent to Maxis: RM8 (as below 500 SMS)

- calls 333 minutes included in iValue 100

total payment: 100+8+20 = RM128

at the end of the month i need to pay RM128, with extra RM28 per month, if u doing this for 12 months
12*28 = RM336  <-- rough calculation

u will be paying more RM336 at the of the year, minus out the saving of RM500

500 - 336 = RM164

you only get RM164 saving

as compare to ur RM400 saving on Value Plus, u only able to save RM164 on iValue, IF u an heavy SMS user like me.

of course different user have different cases, this case applies to mine... this is just serve as a reference to u
Wow...that's a very thorough calculation, welll done elico.
Perhaps i can further summarise by making a direct comparison between the two plans instead...

Addtitional payment of ivalue plan in the above scenario for 12 months = RM28*12= RM336
Savings on the 16 G iphone 3GS = Price of phone bought under ivalue 100 - price of phone bought under idata 50
= 2090 - 1990
= RM 100

Nett saving= Savings on phone - Additional payment of ivalue 100 plan in the above scenario for 12 months
= RM100 - RM336
= -RM236, which means you will end up paying RM 236 more under ivalue 100.

That is also to say the savings u get on the phone is insufficient to cover for the expenses you make on calls and sms etc under ivalue 100.

Hope this helps...
deepan84
post Jul 28 2009, 02:02 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(cksia @ Jul 28 2009, 12:35 PM)
Wow...that's a very thorough calculation, welll done elico.
Perhaps i can further summarise by making a direct comparison between the two plans instead...

Addtitional payment of ivalue plan in the above scenario for 12 months = RM28*12= RM336
Savings on the 16 G iphone 3GS = Price of phone bought under ivalue 100 - price of phone bought under idata 50
                                                = 2090 - 1990
                                                = RM 100

Nett saving= Savings on phone - Additional payment of ivalue 100 plan in the above scenario for 12 months
                = RM100 - RM336
                = -RM236, which means you will end up paying RM 236 more under ivalue 100.

That is also to say the savings u get on the phone is insufficient to cover for the expenses you make on calls and sms etc under ivalue 100.

Hope this helps...
if u compare dat wth d 32gb, u get freakin 700bucks saving on ivalue1 compared to idata.
doomx
post Jul 28 2009, 03:08 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Jul 28 2009, 02:02 PM)
if u compare dat wth d 32gb, u get freakin 700bucks saving on ivalue1 compared to idata.
im pretty sure if im taking any of the plans im taking a 24 months contract because would be sticking to it for a long long time. so now im recalculating which is best for me. lol
abubin
post Jul 28 2009, 03:38 PM

10,429 posts

huh? That means idata plans need to pay RM50 on top of the existing value plus plan that I am using??! Darn!

That would be RM100 per month already.

I am already value plus plan user and will sign up with idata 50. That means I have to pay RM100?? I always though only need to maintain RM50 commitment. If like that the extra paying of RM50 for idata50 is paying for nothing!! Only 500mb data. Save RM400.

Might as well change to prepaid. Can get 500mb for free but pay RM400 more to buy the phone outright. Jeez...I have to rethink again.

Hmm...dilemma again!

128 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:12 PM