Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

jackhammer84
post Jul 16 2009, 12:53 AM

209 posts

hey guys,

if i'm using a value plus 80 at the moment, how come i can't seem to select the iData plan? it says there "Our system has detected that your number does not meet the requirements for iData plans." anybody knows why?
jackhammer84
post Jul 16 2009, 11:00 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 10:46 AM)
@Superman7,
Er.. I haven't checked your calculations but if it is right, then the Hotlink plans are more worth it because:-

1) You pay RM200 less (U said "You only pay additional RM200 in comparison with the Hotlink plan")
2) The Hotlink plans come with 500MB of FOC data usage.
i agree with tinkerbel too. the Hotlink plans are more worth it. but if you're like me, who's very nostalgic about their current number and already have it for years and don't want to change, think of the RM200 as the cost of keeping that little piece of nostalgia, haha wink.gif

but then leh, Hotlink call charges are nearly double the rates of the Value Plan call charges right? if you're heavy on the calls, you gotta consider that too, no?
jackhammer84
post Jul 16 2009, 11:12 AM

209 posts

@tink

haha i can imagine carrying the extra SIM card and the little SIM ejector tool everywhere i go, lol.

i'm still trying to register for the iData plan for myself, a supp line, by using my principal line's details (with proper permission of course tongue.gif). i still can't select iData in the form, only prepaid option available. very weird lo. if by 12 pm cannot, planning to head to Maxis KLCC later during lunch to make noise.
jackhammer84
post Jul 16 2009, 05:07 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 16 2009, 04:58 PM)
if there is any easy payment for the iphone for sure i will take, cant get 2.4k lump sum for the phone...
for those constantly (x3) asking for an easy payment plan, here you go: DirectAccess

any further questions about anything regarding Direct Access, please direct them to CIMB callcentre / sales personnel / website. please don't ask them here.

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 16 2009, 05:10 PM
jackhammer84
post Jul 19 2009, 11:21 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(wayne78 @ Jul 19 2009, 01:46 AM)
cksia.....

make sure u counting in the data usage cause if for maxis non-jailbroken phone the data will run all the time without u notice, even those check under setting /usage is not accurate.... last time i been charging extra almost RM300 just only for data usage.... now my edge is 24/7 off... bare in mind....
hi wayne78,

just curious, how were you charged extra to almost RM300 just for data usage? coz the T&C and the FAQ both state that "The maximum charge for local usage is up to RM250. "
jackhammer84
post Jul 23 2009, 12:57 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Jul 22 2009, 11:51 PM)
i know the rates will be diff from current existing, but now i m a subline....so how if i wan change and get the iValue plan??

izzit i need cancel the subline?? then take again the iValue plan???
it is actually possible for you to upgrade your subline to a principal line (main line) while keeping the same number, and then you can get the iValue plan.

you can do this when you book online on the Maxis website. the name/number/IC you gotta fill in according to your current main line's details first, then tick the "register for supplementary number" and fill in your subline number too.

once you get to the next page, there's an option saying if you want to UPGRADE to PRINCIPAL (mainline). tick that.

then you can register for iValue plan. and don't have to change your phone number. and you are no longer a subline of course.

PS: if you're not confident with doing the booking process, you can always go to the Maxis centre itself and ask them to guide you through. i'd recommend you to do that. That way, you can also one shot pay your deposit and collect it from there on collection day.

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 23 2009, 01:00 AM
jackhammer84
post Jul 24 2009, 01:02 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 24 2009, 12:35 AM)
@teikwing,
As to instalments, Amex Gold Credit Card is having a promotion at the moment.  They're offering 0% interest rates for purchases made through that credit card up to December 2009.  If U think that information is of use U can put it up lah.

Those who want more information about the 0% interest instalment plan, get them to contact Amex.
hey, you can also add Direct Access MasterCard to the list. They're also offering 0% interest rate for ANY purchases made to the card. Also up to December 2009.

comes in 2 flavours:
10 months instalment = minimum RM1000
20 months instalment = minimum RM3000

also, more information, contact CIMB.

jackhammer84
post Jul 24 2009, 04:00 PM

209 posts

hey guys, avars may be right about the instalment only given for everything else in the shop except the iphone. and i think it's applicable for ALL Machines outlets.

coz the last time i went there to enquire at Machines KLCC if purchasing an iphone there can still help me get rebate points (Machines membership program), and they say only iPhone cannot. coz it's handled by Maxis. they're merely sort of hosting Maxis to sell the iPhone in their respective shops, and it's not considered one of their products. so since it's not considered one of "their products", i have a feeling the instalment plan won't cover the iphone.

so better double-check with your respective Machines branches before you plan on doing the instalment.

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 24 2009, 04:10 PM
jackhammer84
post Jul 24 2009, 04:45 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(cksia @ Jul 24 2009, 04:40 PM)
yalor this is so shit....means if u divide by 2, it means u only get 250MB worth of downloadin la, is that how it is counted ah?
why divide by 2? they just total up your download and upload at the end of the month. there's no even split between download and upload quota.

standard web browsing/youtube-ing takes up much more download bandwidth than upload. even if you're sending email, or submitting forms, it doesn't use up alot of upload bandwidth. unless you're constantly uploading huge pictures/videos all the time, then yes, your upload bandwidth is gonna slightly higher.

and 500 MB is actually quite alot for standard web browsing, apps and GPS usage, and a little YouTube, judging from some other comments from previous iphone users here in this threads.

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 24 2009, 04:46 PM
jackhammer84
post Jul 27 2009, 10:17 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Jacky96136 @ Jul 27 2009, 09:53 PM)
I Have a very stupid question want to ask. Please don't scold me...

If I signed ivalue 100 plan with 333min free call and 500MB data. And sms fee is RM 0.10 per sms and excluded. Is it mean when I send 1 sms, my monthly fee is RM100.10?
haha yes that's right

@Jacky96136
yes that's right. oh, pls remember that the RM8 for 500 SMS, it's only to Maxis numbers.

@holy_devil113
please read the Rate Plans Terms & Conditions on the Maxis page. no. 3

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 27 2009, 10:17 PM
jackhammer84
post Jul 30 2009, 01:26 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 30 2009, 12:49 PM)
What about those who are under supplementary lines?

When register i needed to bring the Main line to come to register for me (his IC and driving license).... do i need to do the same for pickup?

Currently i have a receipt for the 200 deposit... what is the conformation letter?
yes, i can confirm that you need to bring the the person who's the main line along as well for pickup. Make sure the Main Line brings his/her IC together.

This information has been relayed to me by various Maxis KLCC staff on the day I went to pay my deposit.

Before anyone asks if this is only applicable to Maxis KLCC, or only Maxis official outlets and etc., I can tell you I do not know, but why not you just bring the Main Line person along in any case, either Maxis centre or MEP, just to make sure nothing goes wrong k? smile.gif

EDIT: apologies to the moderator. this is not rate plans related, but it's an answer to the post above. feel free to move this (plus the question post above) to the other thread.

This post has been edited by jackhammer84: Jul 30 2009, 01:35 PM

0.0202sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:08 AM