Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

raptar_eric
post Jul 27 2009, 02:59 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

Yup, AFAIK, when I register as well, the maxis rep told me that only upgrades can be done, no downgrades can be done. Well, I guess that's business strategies by maxis =p

tink: I think you might want to re-consider checking with Maxis for the Value Plan downgrade matter. Cause it doesn't make much sense, when you're signing up for iData plan, supposingly, you cannot downgrade iData plan, but Value Plan is not affected. Best is to ask the Maxis rep, get his/her name, incase of anything, refer to the fella =)

This post has been edited by raptar_eric: Jul 27 2009, 03:00 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 03:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@raptar_eric,
Act, upgrades will also have termination fees but can be waived; as I've mentioned earlier - but when it's upgrade it means Maxis stands to make more $ hence should be no problems for upgrades.

What surprises me with jfoong's answer is that when U sign on the iData plan, Maxis locks U in with the VP plans too, which in my opinion is unfair.

Yes I'm gonna call 123 in a while (boss around right now) to clarify things and if I'm not happy with the answer I'll just call my Maxis Insider! *grins*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 27 2009, 03:03 PM
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 03:06 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 02:58 PM)
@jfoong,
U mean by signing on the iData plan, ur also locking the VP plan?! Now that is a little stewpid.  In that case, I want to revert my VP80 to VP30 and change my dad's one from VP30 to VP80 - our call rate remains the same plus monthly commitment also the same except I'm on a lower plan now !

Thanks for the information though and I'll check again when I call 123 to make sure our information is the same - as U know, the information we get always not standard one tongue.gif
Yeah, lol...I kept asking the CS person over and over again for confirmation because I really think it's illogical to get our VP plans tied down when we subcribe to iData hmm.gif where's the sense in that, really.

So yeah, do let us know later what's the outcome on your side cuz it would be interesting if we end up getting different answers @_@

tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 03:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
I'm on hold at the moment while waiting for CS to double confirm with the Management because the information she gave me was what we thought is right, hence is different from what U got.

She said:-
1) It is the iData plan that you're locking urself with
2) The VP plan remains un contracted hence U can downgrade from VP80 to VP30 anytime during the 12 months. U just cannot touch the iData plan.

As to the question I posed earlier, she recommended to call in to Maxis to stop the RM99 Unlimited plan either before I collect the i3GS or the day before so there won't be 'double' billing.

And for record purposes, the person who spoke with me is one Sharifah.
dan2020
post Jul 27 2009, 04:07 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 03:20 PM)
@jfoong,
I'm on hold at the moment while waiting for CS to double confirm with the Management because the information she gave me was what we thought is right, hence is different from what U got.

She said:-
1) It is the iData plan that you're locking urself with
2) The VP plan remains un contracted hence U can downgrade from VP80 to VP30 anytime during the 12 months.  U just cannot touch the iData plan.

As to the question I posed earlier, she recommended to call in to Maxis to stop the RM99 Unlimited plan either before I collect the i3GS or the day before so there won't be 'double' billing.

And for record purposes, the person who spoke with me is one Sharifah.
This is an interesting theory:

1. Buy iPhone via iData Plan at RM1990.
2. Since not stuck to the VP but the iData, keep paying the iData plan at RM99 per month (assuming this is the data plan subscribed to).
3. Later, switch to Prepaid and subscribe to Hotlink Youth Club (if eligible) and enjoy cheaper rates (especially, and more importantly so, for SMS).

Shouldnt this be possible? This came to my mind because my VP plan is raking up the bill esp for SMS's to non-Maxis (last month it was RM97 for sms's to non maxis numbers). Via my theory, ppl can get the subsidy AND possibly enjoy cheaper rates... Or am i wrong?
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 04:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@dan2020,
I don't think it works that way because in order for U to sign on the iData plan, U must have an active VP plan hence switching from VP to Hotlink will not be possible.

Ur other option is to subscribe to the 500 SMS for RM8. Or get another phone just for SMS. RM98 on SMS alone is damn a lot - what do U do lah?! Some activist or something is it? tongue.gif
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 05:05 PM

25 posts

Hey, tinkerbel...how did it go? See, it's getting harder to trust them completely nowadays, sigh...hope you got a more concrete outcome than mine.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 27 2009, 05:06 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 05:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
Er.. how did what go?! U mean the conversation with 123? Refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1091499/+651

U wanna give another call to do a third check ? *grins*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 27 2009, 05:08 PM
gloomygirlfromheaven
post Jul 27 2009, 05:17 PM

70 posts

thinking about taking the iValue plan
just wondering...for the free minutes of call Maxis to Maxis and the free data usage per month...
is that like forever or just in the duration of the contract...

enlightenment needed...tq notworthy.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 05:21 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@gloomygirlfromheaven,
U will be tied to that plan for the duration of the contract hence until U stop the plan (after the contract has ended) U will be on the same plan. I do however recommend U swap over to the ValuePlus plans once your contract is up cause that's a cheaper plan.
doomx
post Jul 27 2009, 06:59 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

if i use the ivalue plan 100 for the iphone 3g 8gb can i able to to collect my phone without any pre booking? smile.gif. thanks
sysh
post Jul 27 2009, 07:20 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 01:36 PM)
@doctorpopcorn,
I heard several forummers saying U can still change ur 'booking' at point of collection; then again some said cannot - best is to check with Maxis as they're the official source of information.
Yea. That's what the girl who took my booking told me, I could still change which iValue Plan that I wanted (decision to buy on that way was on impulse)
She better be right 'cos I am going to change it on that day itself
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 07:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@doomx,
I don't think U'll need to worry about the i3G stocks; should have no problems lah.

@sysh,
I hope U r right too cause I may just decide to swap from iData 3 to iData 2.
vixxiee
post Jul 27 2009, 07:31 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

just came back from maxis in alamanda, putrajaya...they said cannot book the 3gs anymore sad.gif is it only at that place? guess if like that have to wait when its out
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 09:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@vixxiee,
The i3GS online booking is still available; at least when I tried it this afternoon it's still working biggrin.gif
sysh
post Jul 27 2009, 09:46 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 07:27 PM)
@sysh,
I hope U r right too cause I may just decide to swap from iData 3 to iData 2.
Me too. I'll be mighty pissed off if I'm stuck with the plan or contract length that I'm not happy with
I'll probably pop by the Maxis Centre again and check it out again just in case
allornothing
post Jul 27 2009, 09:53 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

Honestly I do not see any reason at all why you can't change your plan. If anything, Maxis would rather sell to postpaid users than outright buyers.

But then again, additional confirmation is always better. Peace of mind biggrin.gif
Jacky96136
post Jul 27 2009, 09:53 PM

39 posts

I Have a very stupid question want to ask. Please don't scold me...

If I signed ivalue 100 plan with 333min free call and 500MB data. And sms fee is RM 0.10 per sms and excluded. Is it mean when I send 1 sms, my monthly fee is RM100.10?
Jacky96136
post Jul 27 2009, 10:03 PM

39 posts

So I better sign up RM 8 for 500 SMS right? If call rate? Since bundled with 333min call time. If I over 333min, so it will cost RM 100.15 for 334min?
holy_devil113
post Jul 27 2009, 10:04 PM

546 posts

i tot if you subscribe ivalue 100 plan you got RM100 to use for calling, sms, mms etc etc.
Correct me if i'm wrong.

128 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:18 AM