Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

doctorpopcorn
post Jul 27 2009, 01:57 PM

169 posts

@tinkerbel
Thanks for the feedback. As for being able to change the booking at the point of pickup, it only apples for the iValue/iData/Hotlink Plans but not for the hardware. Which means if you chose 16GB White, you have to stick with that but you can change the plans that you chose. I asked about this at Maxis Center edy.

Also, on the data usage, will Maxis show how much data I have used in one month on the invoice? If not, how can I measure/estimate how much I'm using per month?
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 01:59 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@doctorpopcorn,
I'm on the RM99 Unlimited data plan and they don't give U the breakdown. teikwing is on the 5MB @ RM8 plan and he does get a breakdown.

U can alwiz get an indication from Settings of ur iPhone 3GS.
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 02:13 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 27 2009, 11:42 AM)
@jfoong:
your current plan is VP80 and usage will cost up to RM100+, if you were to opt for iValue 155, do u utilize that much of free calls? and SMS charges will cost extra. you might save more on the phone but in the long run, you might be paying extra on your bills which does not justify your usage.

i think VP80 + iData 50 is a better option. or even VP50 + iData 50. you get to enjoy same calls rates, SMS usage included and most of all, cheaper monthly bills. and you get to save on the iPhone 3GS as well. smile.gif
teikwing, thanks for that.

Yeah, I'm not feeling too comfortable with the iValue 155 compared with the latter option...

By the way, I'm planning to book it today and possibly make the deposit payment RM200 in the service centre. Since I'm currently at the Value 80 plan, I should downgrade it to Value 50 first before making the booking. Will that be right? Gosh, I wonder how long the process will be and if it works that way...

Anyone who knows, please let me know while I call up 123 again (sometimes their info can be inaccurate...)
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 02:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
I don't think U need to change ur plan from VP80 to VP50 before placing your booking because whichever plan Ur on U be able to qualify to purchase the i3GS. It will also take about 24hrs before the plan can be shifted from VP80 to VP50.

IMHO it shouldn't make a difference to ur i3GS booking/purchase if U shift from VP80 to VP50 - in fact, U can keep with ur VP80 plan and should U decide to want to shift to VP50 U can just contact Maxis and ask them to downgrade your plan. The contact in which U will be signing is really the iData plan hence the ValuePlus plans shouldn't be affected.
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 02:26 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 02:20 PM)
@jfoong,
I don't think U need to change ur plan from VP80 to VP50 before placing your booking because whichever plan Ur on U be able to qualify to purchase the i3GS.  It will also take about 24hrs before the plan can be shifted from VP80 to VP50.

IMHO it shouldn't make a difference to ur i3GS booking/purchase if U shift from VP80 to VP50 - in fact, U can keep with ur VP80 plan and should U decide to want to shift to VP50 U can just contact Maxis and ask them to downgrade your plan.  The contact in which U will be signing is really the iData plan hence the ValuePlus plans shouldn't be affected.
Ohhhh yeahhhh..............it is the iData plan that I'm tying myself to, not the Value50/80. Mmm, my bad.
All these iPhone analysis is making my head crack over the past week, I'm telling you. Not fun =[
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 02:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
What I like to know is this:-

Situation
- I'm on the VP80 + RM99 Unlimited plan
- I now sign up to purchase an i3GS under iData 3
- When should I deactivate the existing RM99 Unlimited plan?

If Ur calling 123, it'll be great if U could check the above information for me but otherwise nm, I'll get it figured out somehow biggrin.gif
sysh
post Jul 27 2009, 02:33 PM

265 posts

Hmm.. really contemplating whether should i go for 24 or 12 months contract.
Not sure whether the RM300 is worth saving or otherwise since I expect call rates to drop in the future *ponders*
soonwai
post Jul 27 2009, 02:41 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(sysh @ Jul 27 2009, 02:33 PM)
Hmm.. really contemplating whether should i go for 24 or 12 months contract.
Not sure whether the RM300 is worth saving or otherwise since I expect call rates to drop in the future *ponders*
Go for 12 months then next year you can sell off the 3GS and get the new iPhone. 24 months is too long to be tied to a telco. Some people don't even stay married for that long. :-)
abubin
post Jul 27 2009, 02:48 PM

10,429 posts

yah..i agree..i mean the phone contract and not the marriage contract...24 months is too long. Anything can happen after 1 year. Maybe by that time, you can switch to other more saving plans. Me going to 12 months only.

I also called up call center and asked whether I can change my plan. The operator said can but not in a very convincing manner. But I don't see why not. Only phone cannot change. I booked black 16gb... tongue.gif
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 02:53 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 02:29 PM)
@jfoong,
What I like to know is this:-

Situation
- I'm on the VP80 + RM99 Unlimited plan
- I now sign up to purchase an i3GS under iData 3
- When should I deactivate the existing RM99 Unlimited plan?

If Ur calling 123, it'll be great if U could check the above information for me but otherwise nm, I'll get it figured out somehow biggrin.gif
Oh no! Sorry, tinkerbel....just saw your post after I finished the call with 123.

I had a long call with them and guess what...

IMHO it shouldn't make a difference to ur i3GS booking/purchase if U shift from VP80 to VP50 - in fact, U can keep with ur VP80 plan and should U decide to want to shift to VP50 U can just contact Maxis and ask them to downgrade your plan. The contact in which U will be signing is really the iData plan hence the ValuePlus plans shouldn't be affected.

The above can't be done. Apparently, as what the CS guy said, if I were to subcribe to iData 50 now with my current Value 80, then I can't downgrade my Value 80 as it's tied to shakehead.gif I think it's quite dum dum.

So, what I did was, I downgraded to Value 50 just now and in case I need to upgrade it anytime, then it's okay to do so. No logic, huh?
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 02:58 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
U mean by signing on the iData plan, ur also locking the VP plan?! Now that is a little stewpid. In that case, I want to revert my VP80 to VP30 and change my dad's one from VP30 to VP80 - our call rate remains the same plus monthly commitment also the same except I'm on a lower plan now !

Thanks for the information though and I'll check again when I call 123 to make sure our information is the same - as U know, the information we get always not standard one tongue.gif
raptar_eric
post Jul 27 2009, 02:59 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

Yup, AFAIK, when I register as well, the maxis rep told me that only upgrades can be done, no downgrades can be done. Well, I guess that's business strategies by maxis =p

tink: I think you might want to re-consider checking with Maxis for the Value Plan downgrade matter. Cause it doesn't make much sense, when you're signing up for iData plan, supposingly, you cannot downgrade iData plan, but Value Plan is not affected. Best is to ask the Maxis rep, get his/her name, incase of anything, refer to the fella =)

This post has been edited by raptar_eric: Jul 27 2009, 03:00 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 03:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@raptar_eric,
Act, upgrades will also have termination fees but can be waived; as I've mentioned earlier - but when it's upgrade it means Maxis stands to make more $ hence should be no problems for upgrades.

What surprises me with jfoong's answer is that when U sign on the iData plan, Maxis locks U in with the VP plans too, which in my opinion is unfair.

Yes I'm gonna call 123 in a while (boss around right now) to clarify things and if I'm not happy with the answer I'll just call my Maxis Insider! *grins*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 27 2009, 03:03 PM
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 03:06 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 02:58 PM)
@jfoong,
U mean by signing on the iData plan, ur also locking the VP plan?! Now that is a little stewpid.  In that case, I want to revert my VP80 to VP30 and change my dad's one from VP30 to VP80 - our call rate remains the same plus monthly commitment also the same except I'm on a lower plan now !

Thanks for the information though and I'll check again when I call 123 to make sure our information is the same - as U know, the information we get always not standard one tongue.gif
Yeah, lol...I kept asking the CS person over and over again for confirmation because I really think it's illogical to get our VP plans tied down when we subcribe to iData hmm.gif where's the sense in that, really.

So yeah, do let us know later what's the outcome on your side cuz it would be interesting if we end up getting different answers @_@

tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 03:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
I'm on hold at the moment while waiting for CS to double confirm with the Management because the information she gave me was what we thought is right, hence is different from what U got.

She said:-
1) It is the iData plan that you're locking urself with
2) The VP plan remains un contracted hence U can downgrade from VP80 to VP30 anytime during the 12 months. U just cannot touch the iData plan.

As to the question I posed earlier, she recommended to call in to Maxis to stop the RM99 Unlimited plan either before I collect the i3GS or the day before so there won't be 'double' billing.

And for record purposes, the person who spoke with me is one Sharifah.
dan2020
post Jul 27 2009, 04:07 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 03:20 PM)
@jfoong,
I'm on hold at the moment while waiting for CS to double confirm with the Management because the information she gave me was what we thought is right, hence is different from what U got.

She said:-
1) It is the iData plan that you're locking urself with
2) The VP plan remains un contracted hence U can downgrade from VP80 to VP30 anytime during the 12 months.  U just cannot touch the iData plan.

As to the question I posed earlier, she recommended to call in to Maxis to stop the RM99 Unlimited plan either before I collect the i3GS or the day before so there won't be 'double' billing.

And for record purposes, the person who spoke with me is one Sharifah.
This is an interesting theory:

1. Buy iPhone via iData Plan at RM1990.
2. Since not stuck to the VP but the iData, keep paying the iData plan at RM99 per month (assuming this is the data plan subscribed to).
3. Later, switch to Prepaid and subscribe to Hotlink Youth Club (if eligible) and enjoy cheaper rates (especially, and more importantly so, for SMS).

Shouldnt this be possible? This came to my mind because my VP plan is raking up the bill esp for SMS's to non-Maxis (last month it was RM97 for sms's to non maxis numbers). Via my theory, ppl can get the subsidy AND possibly enjoy cheaper rates... Or am i wrong?
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 04:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@dan2020,
I don't think it works that way because in order for U to sign on the iData plan, U must have an active VP plan hence switching from VP to Hotlink will not be possible.

Ur other option is to subscribe to the 500 SMS for RM8. Or get another phone just for SMS. RM98 on SMS alone is damn a lot - what do U do lah?! Some activist or something is it? tongue.gif
jfoong
post Jul 27 2009, 05:05 PM

25 posts

Hey, tinkerbel...how did it go? See, it's getting harder to trust them completely nowadays, sigh...hope you got a more concrete outcome than mine.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 27 2009, 05:06 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 27 2009, 05:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jfoong,
Er.. how did what go?! U mean the conversation with 123? Refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1091499/+651

U wanna give another call to do a third check ? *grins*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 27 2009, 05:08 PM
gloomygirlfromheaven
post Jul 27 2009, 05:17 PM

70 posts

thinking about taking the iValue plan
just wondering...for the free minutes of call Maxis to Maxis and the free data usage per month...
is that like forever or just in the duration of the contract...

enlightenment needed...tq notworthy.gif

128 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:51 PM