Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

GHz
post Jul 22 2009, 08:43 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 22 2009, 08:05 AM)
My guess is still on the different management entity thing even though under the same umbrella.

CIMB and DA even though is under CIMB group but they're two different entities. Same goes to Maybank and Maybank Islamic.

Just my two cents.
Yes, exactly. That's why you can't share the CL. This is what CIMB CS to me before.
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 09:06 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 22 2009, 08:32 AM)
DA Visa 2% rebate
Spend RM200 will get you rebate of RM4
To note that you also be getting reward points. Assuming you redeem for Jaya Jusco RM100 voucher you need 20,000 points. That's equivalent to 0.5%.
AMEX Gold CC 5X MR
Spend RM200 gives you 1000MR points where you can redeem RM5 (200MR = RM1) or 2.5%
If you redeem for vouchers like Guardian, Dome, etc, then % will be higher by a little bit.

Therefore to answer your question, which is more worth, it is about the same and both also give auto AF waiver.
However, the pros of AMEX Gold CC vs DA Visa for groceries purchases as follows:

AMEX MR no expiry date whereas DA rewards points do have expiry date.
AMEX you can get 5X MR for groceries at more places whereas DA only at Giant & Tesco.
AMEX 5X MR not a promotion but DA 2% for groceries until year end unless they extend it.
AMEX do not charge courier fees for redemption whereas DA charges courier fee for vouchers.
Just to add AMEX you also get 5X for book purchases.

If comparing AMES Gold CC vs DA MC for 2% rebate then go for AMEX Gold CC as DA don't give you reward points for petrol transactions.

To add, SCB JustOne beats AMEX Gold CC and DA if you pump petrol and shop at TESCO/Giant on Fridays only laugh.gif
Thanks bro for feedback. notworthy.gif
Now I have more reasons to get the new MBB Amex Gold as it share CL with my existing MBB Petronas and the MR thingy seems good too. Only con I see is we cannot get MR and Treatpoints at the same time.
and for SCB JustOne, its out of my reach now.
ks98
post Jul 22 2009, 09:15 AM

460 posts

any good recommendation for a credit card now? I'm looking for a good credit card which give a good cash rebate...

I'm using Shell-Citibank Gold and Alliance Bank You:nique cards now, but the rebate is quite low 0.75% for Shell-Citibank and bored with the tier system from Alliance Bank You:nique...

However, i'm happy with the 2.5% Shell rebate from Shell-Citibank...
GHz
post Jul 22 2009, 09:30 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ks98 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:15 AM)
any good recommendation for a credit card now? I'm looking for a good credit card which give a good cash rebate...

I'm using Shell-Citibank Gold and Alliance Bank You:nique cards now, but the rebate is quite low 0.75% for Shell-Citibank and bored with the tier system from Alliance Bank You:nique...

However, i'm happy with the 2.5% Shell rebate from Shell-Citibank...
SCB JustOne Card
tinkerbel
post Jul 22 2009, 09:34 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Shinichi,
Er.. the SCB JustOne is out of your reach but the Amex Gold CC isn't? *hMm* now that's a bit weird.. the criterias for the JustOne is so high meh?

*will go check it out later*
Dannyl
post Jul 22 2009, 09:52 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Hi, wanna ask about SCB JustOne. Would it be better to have 1 principal and 1 supp, or 2 principal? Both applicants are qualified. What would be the advantage of one over the other? Points combination? Shared credit limit? Anything?

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jul 22 2009, 09:59 AM
tinkerbel
post Jul 22 2009, 10:02 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dannyl,
Get 2 principals and make each other your supplementary so U can qualify for more rebates? biggrin.gif Would that work, those who's got the card?
Dannyl
post Jul 22 2009, 10:20 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 10:02 AM)
@Dannyl,
Get 2 principals and make each other your supplementary so U can qualify for more rebates? biggrin.gif  Would that work, those who's got the card?
tinkerbel, I don't quite get you. Do you mean get 2 principals and 2 supplementary? If you do, then I don't think I need quite that many... it's either 2 principals or 1 principal/1supplementary smile.gif but don't know which one is more advantageous.
tinkerbel
post Jul 22 2009, 10:26 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dannyl,
I can't quite advise because I haven't done much research on the card. If only the principal cardholder can get the RM600 rebate then go for 2 principal cards; that way U can get RM1200 rebate mah.
cute_boboi
post Jul 22 2009, 10:30 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 22 2009, 07:52 AM)
I think it is the same reason as conventional/islamic card, CL cannot be shared, your DA CL already high & they not giving you extra CL for new card.

Try reduce your DA CL and apply for lower grade(classic) petronas card & see what going to happen.
Nevermind lah. At that time, I thought to get a backup petrol card on top of MBB Petronas Visa. Now Amex's Amex Credit Card comes out, it becomes primary. MBB Petronas becomes backup.
bluffy83
post Jul 22 2009, 10:35 AM

481 posts

where can i get info about this amex card? any link guys?
alexwsk
post Jul 22 2009, 11:09 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Jul 22 2009, 10:35 AM)
where can i get info about this amex card? any link guys?
aiyo, search a bit first in this thread doh.gif

anyway, the link is here
MilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2009, 12:49 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Jul 22 2009, 08:06 AM)
Hi, guys, between AmBank classic CC & EON Bank classic CC, which one is better? plz advise me!
Neither ! CIMB Mastercard is the best ! Period !

Dannyl
post Jul 22 2009, 12:53 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 10:26 AM)
@Dannyl,
I can't quite advise because I haven't done much research on the card.  If only the principal cardholder can get the RM600 rebate then go for 2 principal cards; that way U can get RM1200 rebate mah.
I've called and asked, 1 principal and 1 supp can combine the reward points and yet still can have individual max RM600 rebate. But the thing I don't like is the statement cannot be separated and will be under the principal. So decided to go for 2 principal. Their office boy came to collect my photocopied IC and CC and let me sign some docs and my application is underway smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 22 2009, 01:15 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dannyl,
Ah well if a decision's been made then good. I would however prefer 1 account cause that would enable me to collect more points.
alexwsk
post Jul 22 2009, 01:49 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 01:15 PM)
@Dannyl,
Ah well if a decision's been made then good.  I would however prefer 1 account cause that would enable me to collect more points.
well, they do hv platinum/infinite share points for principal holders rclxms.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 22 2009, 02:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@alexwsk,
Er yeah but that's what most banks have. Dannyl by opening 2 separate principal accounts will just be diluting his points.
winner
post Jul 22 2009, 02:23 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 22 2009, 08:32 AM)
AMEX MR no expiry date whereas DA rewards points do have expiry date.
AMEX you can get 5X MR for groceries at more places whereas DA only at Giant & Tesco.
AMEX 5X MR not a promotion but DA 2% for groceries until year end unless they extend it.
AMEX do not charge courier fees for redemption whereas DA charges courier fee for vouchers.
Just to add AMEX you also get 5X for book purchases.

If comparing AMES Gold CC vs DA MC for 2% rebate then go for AMEX Gold CC as DA don't give you reward points for petrol transactions.

To add, SCB JustOne beats AMEX Gold CC and DA if you pump petrol and shop at TESCO/Giant on Fridays only laugh.gif
Your points are solid and well-put. It makes me feel that I should get myself an Amex gold cc too, for petrol purchase on non-Fridays. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 22 2009, 09:06 AM)
Thanks bro for feedback. notworthy.gif
Now I have more reasons to get the new MBB Amex Gold as it share CL with my existing MBB Petronas and the MR thingy seems good too. Only con I see is we cannot get MR and Treatpoints at the same time.
and for SCB JustOne, its out of my reach now.
If you are qualified for Amex gold, you might be able to get SCB Just1 too, as the income requirements aren't far away. Amex Gold @36k/annum vs Just1 Titanium @40k/annum.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 22 2009, 12:49 PM)
Neither ! CIMB Mastercard is the best ! Period !
Any reasons?

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 22 2009, 12:53 PM)
I've called and asked, 1 principal and 1 supp can combine the reward points and yet still can have individual max RM600 rebate.  But the thing I don't like is the statement cannot be separated and will be under the principal.  So decided to go for 2 principal.  Their office boy came to collect my photocopied IC and CC and let me sign some docs and my application is underway smile.gif
Somebody have mentioned that 1 principal can have up to 6 supp cards, and all cards will be carrying a max annual rebate of RM600 each. It is too good to be believed.
fauzistt
post Jul 22 2009, 02:23 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 22 2009, 11:09 AM)
aiyo, search a bit first in this thread doh.gif

anyway, the link is here
..has anybody got their American Express® Gold Credit Card application approved?

i've sent mine 3 weeks ago through a telemarketer, no news so far...

tinkerbel
post Jul 22 2009, 02:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@fauzistt,
Yes.. a couple of the forummers here have reported they've received their Amex Gold CC oredi. I think it's best if U checked with ur agent.

125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:09 AM