Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

GHz
post Jun 23 2009, 11:34 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jun 23 2009, 11:08 AM)
Just one credit card max is 5% rebate on friday and 2% on other day right?
Yes.

My first usage last Friday. Pay my TNB, Streamyx & Cecom bill through SCB website. They pay the rebate on the same day of the transaction.
GHz
post Jun 25 2009, 09:28 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jun 24 2009, 10:58 PM)
hey guys wanna ask bout younique 2% rebate. the 2% include petrol or not ah?? the web said purchase from retails only. and i wanna apply CC but my company only give the normal printed A4 paper cut into half payslip.
I do not have younique but I have normal alliance visa card, but it should be the same, the rebate is on all transaction including petrol but remember it is up to 2%, not really 2% on all transaction. The average is about 1.3% if you spend RM5k per month.

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jun 25 2009, 08:17 AM)
was just wondering, with all the day-specific offers (Just1, RHB Travel Money), do you get the discount  based on transaction date or posting date?
I have JustOne. Its should be on the day of transaction.
GHz
post Jun 25 2009, 01:26 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jun 25 2009, 10:45 AM)
urm.. 5k per month only get 1.3%?? lol. if i spend RM0.5k a month how many % rebate do i get averagely ah? urm now bank dun open on saturday anymore.. got any alliance bank booth in shopping mall this coming weekend ah? i know applying CC require payslip. may i know how many month payslip require? and my company only issue me the normal A4 paper payslip. still can apply?
If you only spend 500 per month you only get a peanut, 0.6% per month.
GHz
post Jun 25 2009, 03:10 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 25 2009, 02:17 PM)
This is still better than HSBC Amanah (0.5%) or SCB Business (0.5%) and more importantly better than 0% if you use other cards !
And don't lah compare with promotion specific cards which give you large discounts ... these are cards which does not discriminate your spendings.
Yes I agree. if card holder can spend RM15000 (to avoid AF) per year than better use JustOne. You will get better rebate.

GHz
post Jun 26 2009, 04:15 PM

1,139 posts

For JustOne card, if you go overseas & want to get 5% rebate on Friday, make sure that the transaction in on Friday Malaysian time. I just ask CS about this.

One more thing the CS told me that the cash back limit RM600 is total including all the supplementary. Now it is contradict, before when I get the card the CS told me that the cash back limit is not shared.
GHz
post Jul 13 2009, 08:32 PM

1,139 posts

I encounter another inconvinience while using JustOne card. I went to Toyota Service center today & pay using my JustOne card. The card terminal which come from AmBank, don't even recognize the card. It straight away give error when the cashier slot in the card. Luckily the service center have another terminal from CIMB which is working properly.
GHz
post Jul 18 2009, 11:05 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 18 2009, 10:50 AM)
Just saw ad in The Star for DA, promotion period 18 May to 18 Aug

Spend >20K Free MEndoza Back Pack
Spend >40K Free Olympus FE45 DC
Spend >60K Free SE F305
Spend >80K Free Toshiba 19" LCD
Spend >100K Free Dell Mini 10

Above guaranteed free gife unlike HSBC and Citi need to sms and limited.
Good. thumbup.gif However I am not spending that much even over 3 months period. blush.gif

This post has been edited by GHz: Jul 18 2009, 11:09 AM
GHz
post Jul 19 2009, 10:52 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 19 2009, 04:17 AM)
Quoted from Public Bank website :
For Public Bank Fixed Deposit (FD) customers who opt to apply PB Credit Card secured by FD, the credit line assigned will be based on the FD Pledged amount at a ratio of 1:1. To apply, please personally submit your application at your FD account holding branch and bring along your FD certificate for verification and photostat copy of your NRIC (both sides).

Public Bank Credit Card

I do this before. I have XX CL in my card & I want to increase to YY Credit limit. So I make an FD the different between XX & YY. Now my card have YY credit limit. For your information YY is 2.5 times higher than XX.

One drawback is when you uplift the FD, you won't get the money instantly. The bank officer told me that it takes up to 2 months to get the money released.
GHz
post Jul 20 2009, 07:57 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 19 2009, 11:50 PM)
Any reason given ?
They want to ensure that no big outstanding transaction unpaid.
GHz
post Jul 20 2009, 12:16 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 12:05 PM)
@Gen-X,
Er.. not U ah?! Well someone mentioned it; thought it was U [MUaHAHahAHha] OopS.. sorry .. you're right it's Monday morning + I didn't get much sleep over the weekend; bz with friends' wedding.

SoOoo.. whoever that mentioned 1:1 CL can please comment a bit ah? tongue.gif
Yes, at Public Bank you get 1:1 CL. I do this before. I increase my CL through FD.
GHz
post Jul 21 2009, 05:13 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2009, 05:00 PM)
Hi..

For those who applied for the SCB JustOne CC, am wondering, did U get an SMS to tell U your CC application's approved?!
Yes, I did. smile.gif
GHz
post Jul 21 2009, 10:18 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 21 2009, 08:58 PM)
Hello,
Just now call the customer service, they say cannot apply one more cc, which mean you can only have one credit card.
You want a petronas cc, cancel islamic cc or if you want to apply islamic cc, cancel your extant pertonas cc.
I will cancel my islamic cc and go for petronas blush.gif
Actually you can have both islamic & conventional credit card with maybank. My wife have both amex ikhwan cc & one conventional cc. Maybe the cs lazy to explain why.

ok, this is what i experience with cimb. i think it is similar with maybank. the cs at cimb told me that cl for islamic cc &conventional cc cannot be shared. so each one must have separate cl & total cl for both cannot exceed cl that the bank willing to give based o your income. so if you want both card, you have to lower down the cl to satisfy max cl that bank willing to give you.

hope that helps
GHz
post Jul 21 2009, 10:49 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 21 2009, 10:47 PM)
The AMEX Gold Card is free for life (with no strings attached), right ?
Then can apply just to keep the card in Mint wink.gif
The credit card yes but the charge card is only 3 years free.
GHz
post Jul 22 2009, 07:52 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 21 2009, 11:55 PM)
I have both DA master and visa. I tried applied CIMB Petronas and is rejected. CIMB says cannot have both DA and CIMB Petronas
rclxub.gif
I think it is the same reason as conventional/islamic card, CL cannot be shared, your DA CL already high & they not giving you extra CL for new card.

Try reduce your DA CL and apply for lower grade(classic) petronas card & see what going to happen.
GHz
post Jul 22 2009, 08:43 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 22 2009, 08:05 AM)
My guess is still on the different management entity thing even though under the same umbrella.

CIMB and DA even though is under CIMB group but they're two different entities. Same goes to Maybank and Maybank Islamic.

Just my two cents.
Yes, exactly. That's why you can't share the CL. This is what CIMB CS to me before.
GHz
post Jul 22 2009, 09:30 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ks98 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:15 AM)
any good recommendation for a credit card now? I'm looking for a good credit card which give a good cash rebate...

I'm using Shell-Citibank Gold and Alliance Bank You:nique cards now, but the rebate is quite low 0.75% for Shell-Citibank and bored with the tier system from Alliance Bank You:nique...

However, i'm happy with the 2.5% Shell rebate from Shell-Citibank...
SCB JustOne Card
GHz
post Jul 23 2009, 08:05 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jul 23 2009, 06:51 PM)
I want to ask if I withdraw my paypal funds into my credit card account, is it possible to transfer these funds from my credit card account into my savings account ? Assume that the cc account and savings are from the same bank.
No, i don't think you can do that. if you want the cash, you need to do cash advanced where bank going to charge you.

Why not getting visa debit card such as the one from maybank or public bank. it is a better choice for withdrawal.
GHz
post Jul 23 2009, 09:48 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jul 23 2009, 09:04 PM)
I see, so only cash advance from debit cards would not be charged interest? Does this apply to prepaid credit cards as well?
if it is debit card, it is your money, so no charge on the withdrawal. we don't call it cash advanced. yes should be similar to prepaid card but i don't see any prepaid visa card yet.
GHz
post Jul 23 2009, 10:48 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 23 2009, 10:21 PM)
I believe this is only applicable if we withdraw with same bank ATM. If other bank through MEPS will be charged RM1, and if overseas via other bank ATM will be charged...
Yes you are exactly right. thumbup.gif
GHz
post Jul 24 2009, 11:02 AM

1,139 posts

I have cancelled my maybank petronas visa card more than one year ago but it still show in my m2u. Anyone know how to remove it?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0656sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:37 AM