Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

MilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2009, 08:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 22 2009, 08:28 PM)
u mean cimb petronas right??but i dun pump petronas LOL. if i apply this card mean got rebate = no rebate =/ can suggest any other card? if really no other choice den i try to apply the CIMB petronas since im not qualify to apply DA...  cry.gif
HSBC Amanah also has cash back credit card.

vin_ann
post Jul 22 2009, 09:02 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 22 2009, 05:28 PM)
It is free for life without any string attached (no stupid minimum swipe). Loads of promotion year-round  rclxms.gif

I am however, will say goodbye to my supplementary CIMB Mastercard very soon as i get my own principle card from HSBC. Will apply for my own principle CIMB Mastercard using my HSBC credit card a year later  icon_rolleyes.gif

By the way guys, i just received a SMS from Maybank that i can redeem some stuff with my AMEX Green Charge Card Membership Rewards Points at Maybank Treats Fair this weekend  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 06:22 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
Yes that is right - I got that SMS too biggrin.gif  I think it's just them promoting their TreatsFair biggrin.gif
how come i never received any SMS 1?
Michael_G
post Jul 22 2009, 09:08 PM

160 posts

@MilesAndMore
tak boleh la. i not enough 24k sad.gif sad case.
eddievh
post Jul 22 2009, 09:26 PM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 22 2009, 08:28 PM)
thanks smile.gif
u mean cimb petronas right??but i dun pump petronas LOL. if i apply this card mean got rebate = no rebate =/ can suggest any other card? if really no other choice den i try to apply the CIMB petronas since im not qualify to apply DA...  cry.gif
What station did you use normally?
http://1-million-dollar.blogspot.com/2009/...etrol-pump.html
DarReNz
post Jul 22 2009, 10:35 PM

7,496 posts

for scb justone, did u guys call the CS to activate the card ? this is bcos one of my friend is able to use it without activating the card
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 10:42 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 09:34 AM)
@Shinichi,
Er.. the SCB JustOne is out of your reach but the Amex Gold CC isn't? *hMm* now that's a bit weird.. the criterias for the JustOne is so high meh?

*will go check it out later*
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 22 2009, 02:23 PM)
If you are qualified for Amex gold, you might be able to get SCB Just1 too, as the income requirements aren't far away. Amex Gold @36k/annum vs Just1 Titanium @40k/annum.
Haha, it's kinda unreachable for me now. For MBB Amex Gold, I only meet bold-ed requirement below.
Malaysians and expatriates with a minimum annual income of RM36,000 (Graduates RM30,000)

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jul 22 2009, 10:43 PM
zephyryu
post Jul 22 2009, 11:11 PM

176 posts

hmm i just received my DA statement and it seemed that the hypermarket rebate will be deducted from your points... so the 'rebate' is just like you redeeming your points...
hye
post Jul 22 2009, 11:16 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 22 2009, 10:35 PM)
for scb justone, did u guys call the CS to activate the card ? this is bcos one of my friend is able to use it without activating the card
No need to call CS to activate the card. The card is ready for use immediately. That's why they are so particular about delivering the card to you ... can''t redirect the letter and only cardholder can pickup mail. (Yeah ... although blocking the card prior to cardholder call in 1st would be a good idea)
arsenal
post Jul 22 2009, 11:22 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(zephyryu @ Jul 22 2009, 11:11 PM)
hmm i just received my DA statement and it seemed that the hypermarket rebate will be deducted from your points... so the 'rebate' is just like you redeeming your points...
Nope. It is not. You will get points after minus rebate for hypermarket.
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 11:23 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Its no good then... guess I should continue to archive DA Visa...
Michael_G
post Jul 22 2009, 11:48 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jul 22 2009, 09:26 PM)
shell station lor. but citibank i dunno i meet the requirement or not. den not convenient to pay la. everytime pay have to go to KL.. im staying near mid valley.. @.@
feralee
post Jul 23 2009, 12:30 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 22 2009, 08:18 PM)
@tinkerbel

wah, both friday & sunday tongue.gif
i'll go tomolo afternoon, just wanna redeem voucher, cancel my MBB petronas and apply AMEX biggrin.gif

Added on July 22, 2009, 8:19 pm

go for the auction ka icon_idea.gif
go there redeem watch for my mother.
try to get the Kaka jersi as well whistling.gif
SUSgroggysquirrel
post Jul 23 2009, 01:56 AM

40 posts

I'm going to start working and i'm planning to get a CC. and i need some advices on these
1. most CC applications require a one month income slip, since I'll only begin to work in the mid of august and most likely the amount i'll get for august will be half of my salary, in this case, can i use that income slip for applying CC at the end of august?

2. i'll only use CC for some products which the prices are too high than i can afford (below rm3k-4k im sure), which CC has a most suitable interest for me that i might have to pay the debt for about less than a year coz i dont want to get high interest on that.

3. who set the minimum monthly payment? what does it mean of 5% of outstanding balance?
Gen-X
post Jul 23 2009, 02:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(groggysquirrel @ Jul 23 2009, 01:56 AM)
I'm going to start working and i'm planning to get a CC. and i need some advices on these
1. most CC applications require a one month income slip, since I'll only begin to work in the mid of august and most likely the amount i'll get for august will be half of my salary, in this case, can i use that income slip for applying CC at the end of august?

2. i'll only use CC for some products which the prices are too high than i can afford (below rm3k-4k im sure), which CC has a most suitable interest for me that i might have to pay the debt for about less than a year coz i dont want to get high interest on that.

3. who set the minimum monthly payment? what does it mean of 5% of outstanding balance?
1. Tough for you to get a CC with 1/2 pay.

2. for your case, I would say better better to start saving for 6 months then only buy the RM3-4K stuff you want. Not wise to start praticing having debt the moment you start work. If you really want to buy something, better to get 0% installment plan but sometimes the price is higher compared to paying cash. For computer, harvey norman and get 0% interest installment plan.

3. Example, you charge RM1000 to the card, the minimum payment you need to pay is RM50 BUT you will be charged interest for the remaining RM950 at minimum stating from 13.5%, so better you pay in full what ever you charged to the card.

Bro, I will advise you again, don't start having debt the moment you start work. Start saving money from your salary and after 1 year see how much you can save even before getting a CC.
he-sham
post Jul 23 2009, 04:05 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

during treatsfair the instant approval cc can use other cc to apply ?
kneok
post Jul 23 2009, 07:29 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 22 2009, 07:24 PM)

okie now i wan to apply other card edi. i plan to go for DA CIMB but then i dont meet the requirement le. or can you guys give me some suggestion for rebate card?? back to DA, what is my chances to get it? 1%? and i saw in the DA website can apply online, is it safe?? and do i miss out anything if i apply online? i also went to cimb bank today the man told me that the normal cimb also got rebate is that true? i check the web not rebate info also..
I applied for DA card and received the card in 5 days. Very fast.
tachlio
post Jul 23 2009, 07:57 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(kneok @ Jul 23 2009, 07:29 AM)
I applied for DA card and received the card in 5 days. Very fast.
ya, DA with get very fast if you got proper document, i get mine in 3working day. thumbup.gif

the worse i get is MBB CC, took me about 2 month doh.gif
WoodStock
post Jul 23 2009, 08:49 AM

543 posts

American Express® Gold Credit Card

hearing so many member talking about this AMEX gold CC, i go check, and yes, it has quite a good deal..
but anyway, i heard, AMEX is still not commonly accepted in malaysia.. is this true?? or only limited to AMEX charge card (because i have one charge card, got rejected few times..)
petrol also accept like normal credit card??
ks98
post Jul 23 2009, 08:50 AM

460 posts

looks like we can get the credit card issued on the spot in Maybank Treat Fair, do we need to bring all the documents together, e.g pay slip, bank statement, etc.
winner
post Jul 23 2009, 09:10 AM

2,221 posts

It's a BAD deal! Last time HLB also practised this. They deducted part of your points for cash rebate. Some other banks are more generous, they give rebates plus points (except petrol) on every dollar you have spent.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 23 2009, 02:29 AM)
Bro, I will advise you again, don't start having debt the moment you start work. Start saving money from your salary and after 1 year see how much you can save even before getting a CC.
Your advice comes in time to somebody who hasn't started working but has already planned to have cc debt in exchange of luxury stuff beyond his means. smile.gif

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Jul 23 2009, 08:49 AM)
American Express® Gold Credit Card

hearing so many member talking about this AMEX gold CC, i go check, and yes, it has quite a good deal..
but anyway, i heard, AMEX is still not commonly accepted in malaysia.. is this true?? or only limited to AMEX charge card (because i have one charge card, got rejected few times..)
petrol also accept like normal credit card??
Yes, it is still not broadly accepted nationwide and worldwide. Hope more merchants would accept it soon. Give it some time.

125 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:26 AM