Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

Shinichi
post Jun 21 2009, 01:56 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 21 2009, 11:36 AM)
Congrats on yr new Macbook! I'm slightly green with envy.
Better to pay it off with cash if you have it. Better not to start having this debt positions.
For me, if i have the cash to pay if off, I would rather swipe my card to earn points, then only make full payment back to the card.
Shinichi
post Jun 22 2009, 12:11 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 21 2009, 11:58 PM)
Do any of you guys ever experienced a faulty chip with your credit card(s) ? My 15-month old CIMB Mastercard has recently gone dead and i am pretty sure it is due to faulty chip. The credit card processing terminal can't no longer detect the card. As far as i know, most banks are charging RM50 for every card replacement and according to CIMB, the first one is RM10 then subsequent replacement (includes misplaced or stolen) is RM50. Do i need to go to a nearest CIMB Bank branch to get a replacement or just by calling them up will do ? And is there a way to get them waived the card replacement fee ? Thanks in advance  tongue.gif
If they are charging us for replacing faulty card, why not telling them we will cancel the card cause not usable. They might give free replacement this way.
If not might as well cancel the card then apply again...
Shinichi
post Jun 22 2009, 10:08 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 22 2009, 09:54 AM)
@Shinichi,
Btw are U aware of Citibank's new policy of reissuing new CCs?  Assuming you're a previous CC holder with them and cancelled your card, U will need to wait out a cooling period of 1 year before any new cards from Citibank will / can be approved.
Nop, something new to me. But not affecting me yet as I do not own Citibank CC now biggrin.gif
I think we can have this info posted at first thread so all Citibank CC users are aware of this.
Shinichi
post Jul 1 2009, 11:18 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 1 2009, 09:00 AM)
Direct Access Mastercard
5% Petrol Rebate on the 1st of the month (1 July till 31 December 2009)
2% Petrol Rebate on other days of the month (1 July till 31 December 2009)

Direct Access Visa
5% Rebate at Tesco & Giant on the 1st of the month (1 July till 31 December 2009)
2% Rebate at Tesco & Giant on other days of the month (1 July till 31 December 2009)
Curious, where you got this info? Too bad I did not see your post or else I'll pump petrol today sweat.gif
Shinichi
post Jul 1 2009, 11:30 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 1 2009, 11:21 PM)
QUOTE(arsenal @ Jul 1 2009, 11:22 PM)
Hi all,
Please refer to the attachment for the DA ....Thanks.
Thanks for the info notworthy.gif

Arghhh... I shopped at Tesco just now, and I have planned to pump petrol tomorrow. cry.gif Missed this month's chance to earn 5% rebate...

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jul 1 2009, 11:31 PM
Shinichi
post Jul 1 2009, 11:42 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jul 1 2009, 11:39 PM)
Lucky I just pumped petrol with my DA MC biggrin.gif
I should have do it today if i know earlier. sweat.gif
Shinichi
post Jul 13 2009, 10:18 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jul 13 2009, 10:09 PM)
any other card..apart from direct access that has free for life waiver?
maybank petronas gold and play, maybank amex gold, all cimb CCs...

correct me if im wrong
Shinichi
post Jul 21 2009, 11:28 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 21 2009, 11:10 PM)
Nonsense!

I have two CC from Maybank and one CC from Maybank Islamic.

I have using these 3 cards for months.
I believe MBB Islamic card has separate CL from the other 2 CCs?

I'm currently using MBB Petronas, if I apply for MBB Amex Gold, will it share CL with my current card?
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 12:14 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 21 2009, 11:31 PM)
You're absolutely correct. The limit is seperated between Maybank CC and Maybank Islamic CC.

For Maybank AMEX Gold CC (new one), I believe the limit is going to be shared among other CC from Maybank (conventional) if you have any.
Thanks David smile.gif

Stupid question here, for Giant/Tesco purchase, if we compare DA Visa 2% rebate and MBB Amex Gold 5x MR Points, which is more worth?

Added on July 22, 2009, 12:15 amAlso does DA Visa 2% rebate apply for purchase at Tesco Extra?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jul 22 2009, 12:17 AM
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 09:06 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 22 2009, 08:32 AM)
DA Visa 2% rebate
Spend RM200 will get you rebate of RM4
To note that you also be getting reward points. Assuming you redeem for Jaya Jusco RM100 voucher you need 20,000 points. That's equivalent to 0.5%.
AMEX Gold CC 5X MR
Spend RM200 gives you 1000MR points where you can redeem RM5 (200MR = RM1) or 2.5%
If you redeem for vouchers like Guardian, Dome, etc, then % will be higher by a little bit.

Therefore to answer your question, which is more worth, it is about the same and both also give auto AF waiver.
However, the pros of AMEX Gold CC vs DA Visa for groceries purchases as follows:

AMEX MR no expiry date whereas DA rewards points do have expiry date.
AMEX you can get 5X MR for groceries at more places whereas DA only at Giant & Tesco.
AMEX 5X MR not a promotion but DA 2% for groceries until year end unless they extend it.
AMEX do not charge courier fees for redemption whereas DA charges courier fee for vouchers.
Just to add AMEX you also get 5X for book purchases.

If comparing AMES Gold CC vs DA MC for 2% rebate then go for AMEX Gold CC as DA don't give you reward points for petrol transactions.

To add, SCB JustOne beats AMEX Gold CC and DA if you pump petrol and shop at TESCO/Giant on Fridays only laugh.gif
Thanks bro for feedback. notworthy.gif
Now I have more reasons to get the new MBB Amex Gold as it share CL with my existing MBB Petronas and the MR thingy seems good too. Only con I see is we cannot get MR and Treatpoints at the same time.
and for SCB JustOne, its out of my reach now.
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 10:42 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 09:34 AM)
@Shinichi,
Er.. the SCB JustOne is out of your reach but the Amex Gold CC isn't? *hMm* now that's a bit weird.. the criterias for the JustOne is so high meh?

*will go check it out later*
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 22 2009, 02:23 PM)
If you are qualified for Amex gold, you might be able to get SCB Just1 too, as the income requirements aren't far away. Amex Gold @36k/annum vs Just1 Titanium @40k/annum.
Haha, it's kinda unreachable for me now. For MBB Amex Gold, I only meet bold-ed requirement below.
Malaysians and expatriates with a minimum annual income of RM36,000 (Graduates RM30,000)

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jul 22 2009, 10:43 PM
Shinichi
post Jul 22 2009, 11:23 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(zephyryu @ Jul 22 2009, 11:11 PM)
hmm i just received my DA statement and it seemed that the hypermarket rebate will be deducted from your points... so the 'rebate' is just like you redeeming your points...
Its no good then... guess I should continue to archive DA Visa...
Shinichi
post Jul 23 2009, 10:21 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Is MBB TP fair only available in KL/Selangor area?
Did they ever have it in Penang or other states before?

Added on July 23, 2009, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 23 2009, 09:48 PM)
if it is debit card, it is your money, so no charge on the withdrawal. we don't call it cash advanced. yes should be similar to prepaid card but i don't see any prepaid visa card yet.
I believe this is only applicable if we withdraw with same bank ATM. If other bank through MEPS will be charged RM1, and if overseas via other bank ATM will be charged...

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jul 23 2009, 10:25 PM
Shinichi
post Jul 23 2009, 11:08 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 23 2009, 10:30 PM)
I think last year was in Penang.

Maybe the response is not that great. They move it back to KL this year.
Guess so... Penang ppl's buying power is lower than KL. Haha.
Shinichi
post Jul 24 2009, 10:09 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Anyone here requested bank to stop sending paper statement before?
Shinichi
post Jul 24 2009, 10:50 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 24 2009, 10:45 PM)
Why you want to do that?

To save the mother nature?
Yup, one of the reason, and second its annoying to have so many paper statements each month...
Anyway I personally prefer everything in e-copy than physical copy...
Shinichi
post Jul 24 2009, 10:59 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 24 2009, 10:56 PM)
Which bank you have? Maybank can opt for e-statement. Once subscribed to it, you'll no longer receive paper statement.

Not sure about others.
I have MBB, PB, & CIMB.

Thanks, for MBB we need to call them and change to e-statement?

Thanks. smile.gif
Shinichi
post Jul 24 2009, 11:29 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jul 24 2009, 11:10 PM)
no need. just get maybank2u and login to mystatements.
Thanks bro. spent sometime and finally found where "my statement" is. Oh ya, referring to note below:
Note: Upon acceptance of the Terms & Conditions, you will no longer be receiving your
          current, savings and credit card hardcopy statements. However, you will be able to
          view, print & download your statements online by using Maybank2u.com

May I know what format is the statement that we can save? Is there any service that bank will email our statement to us? Just curious.

Shinichi
post Jul 25 2009, 10:36 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 24 2009, 11:39 PM)
IIRC, should be in PDF format.
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 25 2009, 07:14 AM)
the e-statement is saved in PDF.

For Citibank, they will send to you the e-statement via email, and of course, the PDF e-statement is protected by password.

the email got included how's the tips of password.

Electronic Statement Standard Password is:

Thanks all.

vin_ann, are you using MBB e-statement as well? Or only Citibank.
Shinichi
post Jul 25 2009, 07:25 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 25 2009, 10:51 AM)
for e-statement, im only use for Citibank.

tht y im giving citibank example.

MBB i did not opt for e-statement.
Thanks again vin_ann notworthy.gif
Maybe I'll get MBB Amex Gold first, see if the e-statement service is good before decide to switch all my MBB statements to e-statement.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 25 2009, 12:20 PM)
@Shinichi,
The free gift is really no big deal but I figured since I was there, Y not just go get it biggrin.gif
@tinkerbel:
I think you got the wrong person tongue.gif
alexwsk was the one that ask you this question.

0.0485sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:44 AM