Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

winner
post Sep 15 2009, 05:32 PM

2,221 posts

Damn it Citibank! I just received my e-statement and discovered that Citi didn't give me 2x reward points for overseas transactions. I queried the CS but was informed that Citi Plat cc has stopped giving 2x points for overseas retail purchases since last month. I don't find a reason to keep this card now. No cash rebates and additional points. It is actually a lifestyle card (discount for F&B) for me only. CUT IT! tongue.gif

Actually, I should use SCB VI when travelling abroad as it gives 5x choice points! biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Sep 15 2009, 06:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 15 2009, 05:32 PM)
Citi didn't give me 2x reward points for overseas transactions. I queried the CS but was informed that Citi Plat cc has stopped giving 2x points for overseas retail purchases since last month.

CIMB Bank is giving 2x bonus points for each RM1 charged to their World Mastercard overseas. As for their VISA Infinite, it will give you 1% cash back.

Actually, I should use SCB VI when travelling abroad as it gives 5x choice points! biggrin.gif
Standard Chartered has the least competitive exchange rate + admin fee though. But since your company is paying for it i guess it is alright then biggrin.gif

santaclaus
post Sep 15 2009, 07:02 PM

310 posts

Damn it Citibank! I just received my e-statement and discovered that Citi didn't give me 2x reward points for overseas transactions. I queried the CS but was informed that Citi Plat cc has stopped giving 2x points for overseas retail purchases since last month. I don't find a reason to keep this card now. No cash rebates and additional points. It is actually a lifestyle card (discount for F&B) for me only. CUT IT! tongue.gif

izzit??? damn,i juz used it last month oversea stil thinking they do offer such thing ... mad.gif

anyway , i've been told the exchange rate among banks , citibank is 1 of the lowest hmm.gif if not then really no reason for me to keep it liao ...

Added on September 15, 2009, 7:05 pmmy scb justone rebate omost finish ... now scratching my head dunno wanna apply which card ... like the amex gold cc but damn sales din submit for me vmad.gif

left with hsbc amanah ( onli 0.5% rebate ) & citi plat ( nothing special , damn )

This post has been edited by santaclaus: Sep 15 2009, 07:05 PM
andrekua
post Sep 15 2009, 07:47 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

CIMBClicks just lower their Inter Bank Transfer to RM0.50 nia. Lastime was RM2. Sometimes quite much as it only allows max RM5k and when CC bill was more than 5k, extra charge. Now at 50cent, it does not matter liao.

Just receive Citibank Shell RM62 rebate... this is the best card I ever used... each year can get RM300++ in rebate... in my 2nd year...
MilesAndMore
post Sep 15 2009, 08:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 15 2009, 07:47 PM)
CIMBClicks just lower their Inter Bank Transfer to RM0.50 nia. Lastime was RM2.
It is valid until 31/12/09. After that it will revert back to the normal IBG rate. Only Citibank and Standard Chartered offer RM0.50/IBG for all range of account, as far as i'm concerned.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 15 2009, 08:06 PM
vampbreak
post Sep 15 2009, 08:06 PM

157 posts

Is SCB JustOne card no longer available ?
tinkerbel
post Sep 15 2009, 08:31 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@santaclaus,
Thanks for the information. I'll try on Thursday. This is a bz week *grins*

@WoodStock,
Wah.. what hardcore mobile rig are you getting? RM9k+ can get you a v v v v high end mobile computer *smiles* Anyhow, I've tried requesting for a temporary increase in credit limit with my Amex Platinum Credit Card; no problemos - just make sure U call during office hours smile.gif

I managed to get them to give me additional RM20k for the weekend; and just in case, I also told them the merchant in which I will be using the card, just in case smile.gif My request was approved almost immediately.
WoodStock
post Sep 15 2009, 11:47 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 15 2009, 08:31 PM)
@WoodStock,
Wah.. what hardcore mobile rig are you getting?  RM9k+ can get you a v v v v high end mobile computer *smiles*  Anyhow, I've tried requesting for a temporary increase in credit limit with my Amex Platinum Credit Card; no problemos - just make sure U call during office hours smile.gif

I managed to get them to give me additional RM20k for the weekend; and just in case, I also told them the merchant in which I will be using the card, just in case smile.gif  My request was approved almost immediately.
buying 3 laptops, RM3k+ each biggrin.gif
arvil22
post Sep 16 2009, 10:06 AM

155 posts

Credit Agent Needed I Wan Apply Credit Card
winner
post Sep 16 2009, 12:34 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 15 2009, 06:21 PM)
CIMB Bank is giving 2x bonus points for each RM1 charged to their World Mastercard overseas. As for their VISA Infinite, it will give you 1% cash back.

Standard Chartered has the least competitive exchange rate + admin fee though. But since your company is paying for it i guess it is alright then  biggrin.gif
I don't wanna get so many cards, unless the "direct" benefits are fantastic, such as those given by SCB Just1, Alliance and Amex Gold cc.

That's true. If it is not for company purposes, I won't use SCB cc in overseas as I was shocked with the rates they charged me. Talking about the conversion fee, SCB replied me briefly in writing that the currency conversion was done by MC and they only charged 1% admin fee. But SCB refused to show me the breakdown of conversion and admin charge. However, I am totally clueless why their rate was >2% higher than Alliance's rate.

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Sep 15 2009, 07:02 PM)
my scb justone rebate omost finish ... now scratching my head dunno wanna apply which card ... like the amex gold cc but damn sales din submit for me  vmad.gif

left with hsbc amanah ( onli 0.5% rebate ) & citi plat ( nothing special , damn )
After hitting the max rebate for Just1, currently I concentrate using Alliance Younique MC (max rebate RM68.25/month for RM5k purchase + 1x point for local and overseas transactions), Alliance Plat Visa (max rebate RM68.75/month for RM5k purchase + 1x point for local and 2x points for overseas transactions), and Amex Gold cc for local telco, petrol and grocery transactions. I am gonna terminate my Citi Plat soon. nod.gif
Dannyl
post Sep 16 2009, 01:44 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Sep 15 2009, 07:02 PM)
my scb justone rebate omost finish ... now scratching my head dunno wanna apply which card ... like the amex gold cc but damn sales din submit for me  vmad.gif

Do you keep track of how much rebate you received manually? Becos I can't find any info in the statements and online banking.
winner
post Sep 16 2009, 01:52 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Sep 16 2009, 01:44 PM)
Do you keep track of how much rebate you received manually?  Becos I can't find any info in the statements and online banking.
You need to do it manually.
penanghomes
post Sep 16 2009, 06:35 PM

1,322 posts

I also want a cc agent,prefer based in Penang.

I need the cc by end of this month.

pm me
(@_@)
post Sep 16 2009, 10:07 PM

263 posts

Hi guys, i am new to credit card.
Any cards recommended?
I prefer those with rebates on dinings...
tabs
post Sep 16 2009, 10:32 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

i also need a cc agent to help me apply a credit card.. need to get it before end of the month.. let me know k?

0.0184sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:24 AM