6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

alexwsk
post Jun 20 2009, 08:16 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 20 2009, 12:22 AM)
Oh so fast new thread already.

I just got my new HSBC card, does it requires 6 times swipe for free for life?
Im lazy to ask the guy when applying lolx
the last time i called it's 12 times a year
but it's not written black and white on the website
alexwsk
post Jun 22 2009, 04:57 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 22 2009, 09:46 AM)
I changed my DirectAccess Mastercard 3 times. I managed to get to waive the charges stating it's not my fault the chip failed. it's a manufacturing defect.

By any chance do you use it at Petronas stations often ?
3 times, u must be kidding shakehead.gif
alexwsk
post Jun 22 2009, 11:01 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 22 2009, 07:21 PM)
@alexwsk,
If the chip doesn't work it just doesn't work, so if U need to change it 10 times U need to change it 10x biggrin.gif
wah, i thk they shud change a card manufacturer rolleyes.gif
alexwsk
post Jun 23 2009, 10:43 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 23 2009, 08:44 AM)
@Michael_G, applying for credit card is not rocket science and rejection is normal. It took me around 3 years before SCB finally accepting my cc application. Bro @winner is right, just apply for all and see which bank accepts you if you are so uncertain about yourself and worry about not having 1 year @ work yet.

Bro @Michael_G, it took me 1 year back then before being able to apply for cc although my salary qualifies. Patience is a virtue and please don't treat cc as a must have item in your life. It is a nice to have convenience in life but often abused by people who couldn't control their spending habits very well. It tickles me to hear people complaining about banks charging them a lot of credit card interest. In the first place, you won't have this problem if you have been paying your bills in full every month right ?

I have a friend who survives without cc for many years and travelled around the world yet he lives comfortably without worry even in a foreign land.
couldn't agreed more, CC shud just be a TOOL to make your life more convenient

even if you do not get any rebates, you didn't lose anything

at least you don't need to carry so much cash with you (safety reason), and also able to consolidate your payment into one for the whole month + interest free period (could be up to 50 days)
alexwsk
post Jun 23 2009, 11:13 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jun 23 2009, 11:08 AM)
Just one credit card max is 5% rebate on friday and 2% on other day right?
yes, up to a max of RM600 rebates/yr
alexwsk
post Jun 23 2009, 12:05 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 23 2009, 11:55 AM)
alex & Ghz,

Have you tried using SCB Just1 at Shell? Can you check your unbilled statement online whether there is rebate for your transaction at Shell? Also, check whether SCB reimburses you with the RM50 early bird incentive. Pls update me.
confirmed rebate for Shell, but you must swipe inside the counter, the kiosk can't detect
no RM50 early bird for me as I'm existing card holder

but i think have 5000 choice points, but so far I haven't receive it
alexwsk
post Jun 23 2009, 12:23 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 23 2009, 12:08 PM)
Oh...glad to hear the rebate is applicable to ALL retail transactions and I don't need to switch to Petronas. tongue.gif
but need to swipe inside, and need to tell the cashier to press Enter to select Cr sweat.gif
so i'll always go to the same shell station from now on
alexwsk
post Jun 23 2009, 02:41 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jun 23 2009, 02:22 PM)
Hi Alex,

What is mean of CR? Means whether we need to select either debit card or credit card?
yes, the terminal will display CR and DR, you'll need to ask the cashier to select

different terminals will be different

if the cashier insert the card and din press anything, after a while the transaction will be rejected
alexwsk
post Jun 23 2009, 03:29 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jun 23 2009, 03:19 PM)
I just went to SC office in Taipan..It is possible just to get credit card only. They will not open debit account or current account..So there is no more problem lor
doh.gif like that i better cancel the debit card function of that card
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 11:19 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jun 24 2009, 09:51 AM)
if i already have SCB cc (visa business) & i want to apply for just 1 titanium, will it share the credit line or separate ?
@he-sham, it will be shared credit line
i hv scb visa business, master and justone

Added on June 24, 2009, 11:20 am
QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 24 2009, 10:17 AM)
still waiting for my justone... will they approve or will they not?
how long oledi?
if more than 3 weeks shud just call and ask

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 24 2009, 11:20 AM
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 11:44 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 24 2009, 11:34 AM)
applied last week... well, my character cards activated the same day i applied for justone...
ic, normally they'll take around 15 working days to process justone
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 02:20 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 24 2009, 01:11 PM)
Bro ... not to confuse you or anything.
Card cancellation would not be accepted through e-mail ... period. You can try this with all the 9 anchor banks and foreign banks in Malaysia and they will tell you the same answer, "No ... we do not accept cancellation via e-mail".
The only means accepted by the bank is via letter (they will verify it later with you) or call in. (Authenticated via PIN or CS ask you questions)
From my personal experience so far, i managed to cancel:

CIMB/DA - Fax
HLB - Fax
Citibank - Fax
MBB - Fax

HSBC - Phone thumbup.gif

Added on June 24, 2009, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 24 2009, 11:20 AM)
@alexwsk,
Thanks for the clarification on the shared limit biggrin.gif
np, yw tongue.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 24 2009, 02:24 PM
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 02:40 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 24 2009, 02:35 PM)
@alexwsk,
Er.. fax + email is not the same!
yup, it's different, i fax the cancellation letter instead of sending it thru post

as hye pointed out, i don't think you can cancel thru email, even if you scan the cancellation letter with your signature on it as attachment

Added on June 24, 2009, 2:41 pm
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 24 2009, 02:38 PM)
15 working days is considered as efficient?  rclxub.gif  shakehead.gif
depends on which bank you are comparing to cool2.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 24 2009, 02:42 PM
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 03:57 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 24 2009, 03:52 PM)
@cute_boboi,
muAhahAHahHAhaHAHahA......... hence I never really play nice with banks tongue.gif
hehe, hence you can see my cancellation letters to all the banks above

Added on June 24, 2009, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(hye @ Jun 24 2009, 03:09 PM)
Hahaha ... If you guys wanna make these comparisons then ... my turn
Best record from application to approval and get card ... 4 hours and the worst 2 months. That 4 hours is not even coming from HSBC or even HSBC MC Premier card application.
i bet the 2 months is MBB

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 24 2009, 03:58 PM
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 03:59 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 24 2009, 03:09 PM)
Hahaha ... If you guys wanna make these comparisons then ... my turn
Best record from application to approval and get card ... 4 hours and the worst 2 months. That 4 hours is not even coming from HSBC or even HSBC MC Premier card application.
the 4 hrs you walk in one????

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:01 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 24 2009, 03:59 PM)
@alexwsk,
I still happen to hold accounts at a few banks.  In fact, my last count, I have just too many CCs !! *grins*  Just don't know which one I should cancel and when I finally decide to cancel they decide to waive my AF and tell me to just leave it be!
i also hold accounts from multiple banks, some with RM1 in it, lazy to close, muahhahaha

yep, now i only have cc from 3 banks (5 cards in total)

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 24 2009, 04:01 PM
alexwsk
post Jun 24 2009, 04:39 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jun 24 2009, 04:31 PM)
Last year around September I bought a new car, and one day one of the Public Bank stuff came over my place and asked me to sign some documents regarding the car loan, he also offered me to sign up for credit card. Eventually I also applied for credit card, but until now 9 months have passed, I still haven't received/heard about credit card approval yet.

What can I do? Can I go over to any Public Bank and check for it?
the best is to call pbb and check whether you hv any cc with them or pending cc application with them

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:40 pm
QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jun 24 2009, 04:37 PM)
so if u compare hsbc gold and scb justone which is better ?
i would say scb justone until u hv finish all the rabates

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 24 2009, 04:09 PM)
@alexwsk,
It's good to streamline.  I have CC from quite a couple of banks but as mentioned, my primary card is Amex and Citibank.

Maybe it was at a fair like TreatsFair or something like that, that he managed to get his card in 4 hrs !
yup, must be like that, else how to send to him in 4 hrs nod.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 24 2009, 04:42 PM
alexwsk
post Jun 25 2009, 09:11 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Jun 24 2009, 10:50 PM)
hi guys, wanna ask a few questions bout CC....is it against the terms that my friend use my credit card to make any purchases?

thanks first biggrin.gif
if you trust your friend, then YES (but restricted to online payment only - no need signature)
but I would suggest you purchase on your friend's behalf, it's not advisable to hand your card to other ppl
alexwsk
post Jun 25 2009, 07:02 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 25 2009, 06:43 PM)
Factor in the admin fees for overseas spending and the 1% cash back is now negated to just 0%.

Added on June 25, 2009, 6:51 pm

JustOne product is new and probably you need to wait till next year when the 1st batch of early adopters need to renew their cards. I wouldn't be surprised if SCB refuse to waive the AF. You want good rebates and free card ? Unlikely .... unless the market introduces a similar competitor to this product, I predict SCB to stand their ground on the AF waiver condition.

Whether or not RM15K p.a spending is a lot or not .... well you guys know yourself how much you spend in a month.  hmm.gif  (Cash + credit based spendings)
oh, 1st yr af is auto waive
alexwsk
post Jun 25 2009, 11:25 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jun 25 2009, 10:25 PM)
ok thanks. but how do i print epf statement? can i print tru my kwsp iaccount? or have to go to kwsp and use the machine to print out ah??
i-account also can, they are the same
alexwsk
post Jun 27 2009, 10:26 AM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 27 2009, 12:59 AM)
@he-sham,
Just contact them and make sure they do it next month.  The only thing I don't like about all these automated system is that by default it shows ur late and hence ur interest rate increases tongue.gif

I love to see my Interest Rate level at 13.5%! But really it makes no difference to me because I pay my bill in full each month.
hehe, now that you've mentioned it, i just noticed all my 3 scb ccs are at 13.5%, even though i just applied the cards on last march and may respectively shocking.gif

is it because i used to hold their cc a few yrs back ago??

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0514sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:10 PM