pic says a thousand words...
Bodybuilding Bodybuilding Thread V5, Lets pump some blood into some muscles
Mar 21 2009, 11:24 PM
2,531 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Land below the wind |
pic says a thousand words...
Mar 21 2009, 11:30 PM
650 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
What about your legs, are you satisfied with them?
And what's your shoulder routine like? I'm sure we're all interested in that. If it really really can't grow, ultimately it might just be because of your genetics... |
Mar 21 2009, 11:32 PM
3,649 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Somewhere over the rainbow |
Do you do shrugs?
They are right,a picture is required! |
Mar 22 2009, 12:14 AM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
JonYeap & yeezai =
pic ar?? coz i do not have my camera with me, i left it in my hometown.. h/p camera, no quality... then if borrow from fren to take pic of body, feels a bit weird... haha... will find a way soon... wallpaper89 = legs, good question, as my uni's gym lacks training equipment for legs, so i depend on cycling and swimming to tone them up lo.. my shoulder routine is more or less like the youtube video attached.. genetics... means i'm fated not to have firm shoulder?? haha pedro = i did do shrug for 1 month plus, but it makes my traps and neck thicker.. so i stop this routine, coz think i'll look weird with small shoulder but big trap and thick neck.. This post has been edited by pgboy_serdang: Mar 22 2009, 12:16 AM |
Mar 22 2009, 12:19 AM
Hehe I got opposite problem with you. I got nice shoulders but flat chest so it looks kinda weird, so I know exactly how you feel about it!
Depends what's your body type lah. And don't forget to up the weights once your muscles gets bored with it! As for building your legs, you can do weighted calf raises with dumbbells, and you can do squats if you have access to barbells and racks. Or just use a dumbbell instead haha. I'm no pro so I can't give much useful advice. Sorry! And posting a pic would help. It might be that your delts aren't really as bad as you think they are! |
Mar 22 2009, 12:43 AM
264 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Winland |
Do dumbell flyes, bent over flyes, bent over barbell rows, shoulder presses etc.
Dumbell flyes are very effective for anterior delts, bent over flyes and barbell rows for posterior delts, shoulder presses for overall shoulder. You really need to work all 3 parts, when I started out I was having problems with my anterior delts until I started doing those specific exercises for them. Some exercises you can do: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vY-kNDusTA This post has been edited by ~LynX~: Mar 22 2009, 12:51 AM |
Mar 22 2009, 08:27 AM
42 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(shanecross @ Mar 21 2009, 08:03 PM) Mate, I used to burpeewhere are you located. I know what you need. HIIT wouldn't suffice your needs for explosiveness. Ever done burpees? Ever done shuttle sprints? What about rope pullups? Stuffs like these generate explosiveness. PM me if you want to train together with us every Monday evening. This is what I have been doing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GX7pD-CeCvU I sprint a lot, sometimes overtrained without realizing it..yesterday i overtrained again and completely lose my appetite again, can't afford to gulp down a glass of milk gotta take a day off today thanks for your help mate:D |
Mar 22 2009, 08:32 AM
1,846 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(XmT @ Mar 22 2009, 08:27 AM) I used to burpee Why don't you try Yoga or Pilates in between your HIIT training? You might find the results interesting and you'll probably be more flexible and condition to handle the bouts of sprinting. You may need to try it out for at least a month to see the results though. Just a thought.This is what I have been doing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GX7pD-CeCvU I sprint a lot, sometimes overtrained without realizing it..yesterday i overtrained again and completely lose my appetite again, can't afford to gulp down a glass of milk gotta take a day off today thanks for your help mate:D |
Mar 22 2009, 08:54 AM
42 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hmm i wish i can try that, i simply having problem juggling my game and my work
i do HIIT because it REALLY increase muscle explosiveness and agility, within the shortest time |
Mar 22 2009, 11:33 AM
288 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Heaven and Hell |
I always work out till i am completely out of energy, which took about 50mins.
but still i nvr feel muscle pain... So, is this symptom good?? a lot ppl said if get muscle pain then will be more effective. |
Mar 22 2009, 01:56 PM
2,425 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
pgboy_serdang...
Aiyah... just use the camera phone lah. Cincai can already. Not that we want to see every bulu so clearly also, just want to see the shape of you shoulder only mah. *#*#*#*#*# QUOTE(Dark Lord @ Mar 22 2009, 11:33 AM) I always work out till i am completely out of energy, which took about 50mins. No such thing. DOMS (muslce soreness, it is not 'pain') will decrease after you slowly get used to the training.but still i nvr feel muscle pain... So, is this symptom good?? a lot ppl said if get muscle pain then will be more effective. Normally, I won't have DOMS anymore after about 1-2 weeks into a new workout programme. I think it's a good thing. I take it that my body is continually adapting and growing faster than the workout load. This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Mar 22 2009, 02:11 PM |
Mar 22 2009, 03:23 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Dark Lord @ Mar 22 2009, 11:33 AM) I always work out till i am completely out of energy, which took about 50mins. You have milked your newbie gains. And your body's adapted. So now the soreness is no indication of anything truly significant, except you're working that muscle part.but still i nvr feel muscle pain... So, is this symptom good?? a lot ppl said if get muscle pain then will be more effective. IF you want to have it ache some more, change your rep ranges and weight and sets around. Go from heavy to lighter with more repetitions and more sets. Or go from light to heavy with less repetitions and more sets. Change it around. Do a final set with a dropset method. |
Mar 22 2009, 05:59 PM
1,593 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Mars |
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 21 2009, 10:36 AM) I think you mean "Pig Out"? It's kinda weird that you only take two fruits a day....I think you're not training hard enough So far been doing front squats for about 4 times now... front squatting 60kgs. however i'm using the cross arm grip. still not used to the clean grip. i think my wrist is not flexible enough.. and also i'm not used to supporting the weights on my front delts.Still do it three times a week. Two max strength sessions. One more power/speed/explosive session with emphasis at the top drive to assist my clean recovery. Trying to front squat 180KG's by December. Rawr! Another 30KG'S more! If you mean better....then I guess the few cues are; 1. Keep chest really high up 2. Use a "clean grip" and push your elbows as high as you possibly can 3. Contract your thighs at the top and keep it contracted all the way down. 4. At the lowest point, explode powerfully upwards. PS: I'm not going to answer what a clean grip is, but I reckon you know what it is. Let's just call it weightlifters grip. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « with the cross grip can support on side delts which seems easier and less tiring too. also when i do the clean grip, seems like the bar is too near my throat.. feels like its choking me. hmmm.. need to work on my clean grip more. think i'll want to incorporate both front and back squat into my leg routine.... Thanks for da tips so far. |
Mar 22 2009, 09:01 PM
1,552 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
hey guys...ive just stopped sit ups alltogether..ive had back pains everytime i complete my workout..
now im doing sumthing called ....renegade dumbell rows.... hehehehe....dem... u guys should try this....hahahhahahahahahahhahahahahah |
Mar 22 2009, 10:43 PM
pgboy_serdang, try posting your usual routine for shouders. What exercises, how many sets, how many reps, what's the weight, how much rest do you have in between? Form and proper speed is also important so that the exercises you do are actually hitting your delts, AND encouraging them to grow. Any vids? How often do you work the shoulders? What's your diet like?
And i think ~LynX~ meant reverse dumbbell flyes, he just missed out the 'reverse' word. |
Mar 22 2009, 10:44 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Neek @ Mar 22 2009, 05:59 PM) So far been doing front squats for about 4 times now... front squatting 60kgs. however i'm using the cross arm grip. still not used to the clean grip. i think my wrist is not flexible enough.. and also i'm not used to supporting the weights on my front delts. There's a pocket when you raise your elbows up. This is where the bar should be resting upon. And yes it is EXTREMELY close to your neck, but you'll have to "tahan" the pain. Use an empty bar first, do warm-ups for about 20-30 reps. Find the position, and keep holding it there. Trust me, the clean grip will make a difference.with the cross grip can support on side delts which seems easier and less tiring too. also when i do the clean grip, seems like the bar is too near my throat.. feels like its choking me. hmmm.. need to work on my clean grip more. think i'll want to incorporate both front and back squat into my leg routine.... Thanks for da tips so far. QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Mar 22 2009, 09:01 PM) hey guys...ive just stopped sit ups alltogether..ive had back pains everytime i complete my workout.. They get pretty normal after a while. Then you can try bear crawls. That's one heckofva upperbody workout.now im doing sumthing called ....renegade dumbell rows.... hehehehe....dem... u guys should try this....hahahhahahahahahahhahahahahah Added on March 22, 2009, 10:45 pmAND WHAT? Nobody has anything to say about this? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/973070 This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 22 2009, 10:45 PM |
Mar 22 2009, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 22 2009, 10:44 PM) There's a pocket when you raise your elbows up. This is where the bar should be resting upon. And yes it is EXTREMELY close to your neck, but you'll have to "tahan" the pain. Use an empty bar first, do warm-ups for about 20-30 reps. Find the position, and keep holding it there. Trust me, the clean grip will make a difference. Is the "pocket" the part with the bone? thats gonna friggin hurt.... resting the weight on muscle shd be fine... but resting on the bone is insane... otherwise, where is the "pocket"? |
Mar 23 2009, 12:03 AM
heheh..front squat is painful wan...till u become used to it...i wanna develop my shoulders more then the " pocket" easier to tahan the weight...
if im not mistaken...the bar is on the ridge between the clavicle and the anterior deltoid... its only visible when u cross ur arms..then lift ur arms while crossed and press them towards ur chest... incidentally...thats the position u do front squats with... oh yea...front squats require a rack...for the heavy weights.... cant seem to see how u gonna get 80kgs on your shoulders with ur arms like that................................................or am i wrong...my inferences...... |
Mar 23 2009, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Mar 23 2009, 12:03 AM) heheh..front squat is painful wan...till u become used to it...i wanna develop my shoulders more then the " pocket" easier to tahan the weight... cross my arms? thats the cross grip. i can do that rather ok for now.... i'm asking bout the clean grip. meaning arms not crossed.if im not mistaken...the bar is on the ridge between the clavicle and the anterior deltoid... its only visible when u cross ur arms..then lift ur arms while crossed and press them towards ur chest... incidentally...thats the position u do front squats with... oh yea...front squats require a rack...for the heavy weights.... cant seem to see how u gonna get 80kgs on your shoulders with ur arms like that................................................or am i wrong...my inferences...... the front squat is part of oly lifting. they usually clean the weights onto their shoulders then they front squat. by "clean" i mean power clean/ hang clean. can google it if not sure what cleans are. the pocket i'm asking is for clean grip style front squat |
Mar 23 2009, 12:18 AM
aights.... my bad..
wouldn that hurt ur wrist.... oh yea..any procedures to train ur wrist?..im doing forearm curls...do they help with wrist strenght too? |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:47 PM |