Bodybuilding Bodybuilding Thread V5, Lets pump some blood into some muscles

~LynX~
post Mar 10 2009, 02:46 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(itypewithkeyboard @ Mar 10 2009, 01:18 AM)
thats what i tot too.
if it contains alcohol.
then it should not be advisable for sports nutrition supplement rite.
haha
well it is safe then.
haha
I don't think they put any actual alcohol in it, i'm sure they're not dumb enough to risk the many lawsuits over drunken weightlifting injuries. biggrin.gif
~LynX~
post Mar 22 2009, 12:43 AM

264 posts

Do dumbell flyes, bent over flyes, bent over barbell rows, shoulder presses etc.

Dumbell flyes are very effective for anterior delts, bent over flyes and barbell rows for posterior delts, shoulder presses for overall shoulder.

You really need to work all 3 parts, when I started out I was having problems with my anterior delts until I started doing those specific exercises for them.

Some exercises you can do:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vY-kNDusTA

This post has been edited by ~LynX~: Mar 22 2009, 12:51 AM
~LynX~
post Jun 16 2009, 01:07 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Jun 15 2009, 07:42 PM)
If you want to lose the fats around your tummy, it's best to do exercises like cycling, running, rowing, or swimming. In general, effective fat reduction involves 80% diet 20% exercise. Even if you don't exercise much, having a clean diet can also reduce body fat.
You cannot spot areas for fat reduction. If you want to see your abs, you need to get your overall bodyfat percentage down.
If it were possible to spot areas, then you'd see people walking around with ripped abs but flabby arms/legs.

Where did you get the idea that 'effective fat reduction' involves 80% diet 20% exercise?

Diet and exercise are two parts of a whole; both are equally important. You will still struggle to lose body fat if you exercise inconsistently even if you have a clean diet.You will also struggle to lose weight if you exercise consistently but have poor eating habits.

[ Q ] I cannot get rid of my lower ab fat and love handles. Is there any exercise that I can do to get rid of them?

A: While leg raise-type of exercises will work your lower abs, and twisting crunches will work your sides, these exercises only firm up and build up these muscles.

In order to get rid of your lower ab fat and love handles you just need to lose enough body fat to where the fat on this area is burned as well. Typically, this type of fat is the last to go so for women to lose it they need to go down to 12-13% body fat and males down to 6-7% body fat.

Having said that, you're cardiovascular and nutrition programs will play a huge role in helping you burn that stubborn fat.

Source
~LynX~
post Jun 16 2009, 03:41 AM

264 posts

Eh? Sorry if I sounded hostile, didn't mean to come across like that, no hard feelings ok bro? smile.gif

~LynX~
post Jun 29 2009, 03:29 AM

264 posts

Jeeeezus, WHO CARES if cooked eggs 'lose protein' or not?

If you're so concerned about that (whether true or not), then EAT MORE of it!

Problem solved!

Arguing over whether cooked food loses nutrient content or not is stupid, because people have been eating cooked food for almost as long as humans have existed.
If cooked food was so horribly lacking in nutrition, we'd still be munching on raw animal carcasses, after all why go through all the trouble to cook the food?

All this concern over loss of nutrients is simply marketing tactics made up or dramatized by advertisers to sell their products.

I've lost count of how many cooking implements that claim, "our patented product keeps more vitamins and minerals sealed into the food than competitor's products, buy our product now!"

Supplement ads also lean on this to sell their products, "cooked food loses nutrients, so you need to supplement your diet with our products!"
~LynX~
post Jul 5 2009, 01:11 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jul 4 2009, 12:31 AM)
Hi guys, any gym near Kelana Jaya that has a monthly or 3-month membership that isn't too expensive with not-so-crowded power racks? (I was thinking True Fitness Hartamas or Jaya-33 near Section 17).

The power rack at the gym I go to is bouncy, and I can't squat away from the rack because there's no space away from the rack (don't ask, odd set up with walls and pillars).

There's a small gym near Jaya One (its behind Jaya 33, opposite Section 17) called the Heritage Sports Centre, RM10 per entry. Mostly basic equipment (yes there's a squat rack there), nothing fancy, and I haven't seen it crowded with people to date.
~LynX~
post Jul 5 2009, 02:51 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jul 5 2009, 02:09 AM)
Sweet, gonna check these places out.

Thanks guys! Would love to be training with you jamis but that place is too expensive for my short term stay!

Added on July 5, 2009, 2:13 am@Lynx: Is it easy to find? I can't find any info online. I believe the place is Seksyen 13? Got an address or number I can use?

Cheers.
Yep, its in Section 13. Getting there is pretty straightforeward, its actually inside one of UTAR's campus blocks (the one directly opposite the Bosch factory, Block C) so if you know how to get to UTAR then there won't be a problem finding the place.

REYZAI also mentioned the place here.

Address:
Heritage Sports Centre
2nd Floor,
No. 3, Jalan 13/6,
Petaling Jaya, Selangor 46200

Google Map directions from Federal Highway.
~LynX~
post Jul 6 2009, 01:12 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jul 5 2009, 12:41 PM)
That's closer to Jaya One than I thought. Just needed an address! Thanks Lynx.
No problem man, let me know if you're gonna check it out. thumbup.gif
~LynX~
post Jul 7 2009, 01:49 AM

264 posts

I did my first heavy wide-grip deadlift with a belt earlier today. Holy crap, makes alot of difference. Without a belt, not too difficult, still can stand straight after each set.

But when I wear a belt, feel like dying after each set and start to see stars. Found out that my back tended to hunch abit without the belt (probably due to back sprain I had a few months before), using the belt helped correct my form.
~LynX~
post Jul 7 2009, 03:03 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jul 7 2009, 02:31 AM)
that means with belt its harder?
Yes, at least for me. tongue.gif
~LynX~
post Jul 12 2009, 04:46 PM

264 posts

Ouch mofonyx, hope you get well soon! nod.gif

Know how you feel man, I sprained my lower back several months back due to doing squats and deadlifts on one day, then the next day martial arts and mountain climbing... took many months to recover from that. sweat.gif
~LynX~
post Jul 14 2009, 12:53 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Jul 13 2009, 07:26 PM)
Hello to all seniors here, I have been doing bodybuilding for few weeks, now I would like to ask is this my bone or my abs muscle? thanks
Lol.... if it was so easy or fast, everyone here who's been working out for more than a year would be huge, ripped and competing in Mr Olympia ady. sweat.gif
~LynX~
post Jul 15 2009, 02:34 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(babysiiaozz @ Jul 14 2009, 11:12 PM)
hey guys, i'm bck.. that tabata squat made me barely walk stand =( but i didn't feel any fitter x.x need to work harder huh?

one thing.. will my muscles be more* flexible or stiff-er ?
cause i'm dancing you know = = stopped, but i don't
want to have difficulties to dance after my spm (continue back) ><"
Squats might help a little with flexibility, but if you want to improve or maintain it, you still need to do your stretching. Doing squats won't impair dancing; in fact, it will help you become a better dancer since you're strengthening your core muscles.

Your body just hasn't accustomed itself to the exercise, so keep doing them and you'll eventually develop enough muscle conditioning. Then you'll be able to do it without breaking a sweat in no time.

PS what kind of dance do you do?

This post has been edited by ~LynX~: Jul 15 2009, 02:35 PM
~LynX~
post Jul 16 2009, 12:27 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(babysiiaozz @ Jul 15 2009, 11:13 PM)
lol, no time la.. everyday at home n school only, my sat n sun used to be 'freedom day',now thanks to tuition n ah1n1.
latin dance  smile.gif  okay, i just want to reduce my fats around my body..  rclxms.gif

@stich
good luck in your training  thumbup.gif
Cool, keep it up! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ Jul 15 2009, 11:20 PM)
Salsa?  drool.gif
Bachata better. brows.gif
~LynX~
post Jul 24 2009, 03:05 PM

264 posts

An article about heaty & cooling food.

Personally, i've also noticed that taking whey or eating meat will increase my body temperature, but its only really noticeable at night.
~LynX~
post Aug 11 2009, 11:29 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Aug 10 2009, 12:43 AM)
Yeah and he's fukking skinny like dental floss and pretty much like your typical ah beng. I had multiple past histories of quarreling with him in the past, now I'm just chill with him and now he is stirring things up again.

Anyway your arm wrestling suggestion is a good idea, this would shut his mouth pretty good without the risk of being expelled/sent to police lockup. Sometimes with all the rage and anger my mind I couldn't think of anything to counter his shit coming out from his foul mouth.

You might call me a bit sensitive but it's my hard work his insulting.
People who're jealous will try their best to put you and your achievements down. Classic ego-protection-reflex action of someone who has self-esteem issues.

Don't let people like this get to you and make you angry or upset, if you feel the need, you can respond by smiling and directly pointing out his game by saying, "haha, you jealous is it?" in a joking manner.
~LynX~
post Aug 12 2009, 03:46 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Aug 11 2009, 11:50 PM)
Yeah, it's called a defend mechanism. They make a something unacceptable and turn it into something acceptable in their minds.

He was my housemate last year. There was once he was asking me how to gain weight and stuff, and at the same time he asked me to boil eggs for him everyday when I'm cooking my own eggs. I was like "WTF you want to gain weight and you ask me to cook for you?" and instead of taking back his statement he said "I'll buy the eggs and you cook for me." I said "Fvck you. NO." Then he was like aiyo small things also cannot help then he get all angry like a 5 year old boy who can't get his sweets. He always asks people to do crazy things for him and when he gets rejected he'll use that aiyo small things also cannot help line.

That are you jealous line was a really good idea! But what if he says no i'm not jealous?

If he say that, you can go on the offensive, "If so then you wouldn't feel the need to bring it up and talk trash, so do yourself a favor and keep your piehole shut if you've nothing constructive to say."

Or if you'd like to keep a relatively conflict-free relationship with him, smile and laugh as though he said something extremely dumb and absurd (and he did in fact do just that), and ask him who told him that. And then you can explain that there's a big difference between bodybuilding and powerlifting, but even bodybuilders get considerable gains in strength through training.

If it comes down to it, challenge him to prove that your muscles 'are just for show', by going to the gym right there and then, no excuses. It puts him in a catch 22 situation, where if he accepts, you'll make him eat his words, and if he declines, he'll look like a *****.

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Aug 12 2009, 01:05 AM)
full body workout mean do only one routine for one muscle rite?
Full /= one.

This post has been edited by ~LynX~: Aug 12 2009, 03:47 AM
~LynX~
post Aug 21 2009, 06:03 PM

264 posts

I think you guys missed this part:
QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 21 2009, 03:21 PM)
But have any of you actually tried Pro Complex before dissing it in yr ignorance? Have any of you take it consistent? Those in Team Pro Complex will know the secrets of Pro Complex. Look. I dun want to insult you penny-pinching whey drinkers, but Pro Complex is more than whey. Yes, it contains sodium, but only because the salt harvested from the armpit of ON founder really acts as a catalys to EXPLOSIVE muskel growth!

Please only reply if u member of TEAM PRO COMPLEX

TEAM PRO COMPLEX
tongue.gif

0.0284sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:33 AM