QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 3 2009, 04:08 PM)
W00t. moderator! tahts great man. now can stop all those nonsensical one-line spammers!Bodybuilding Bodybuilding Thread V5, Lets pump some blood into some muscles
Bodybuilding Bodybuilding Thread V5, Lets pump some blood into some muscles
Mar 3 2009, 04:18 PM
1,593 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Mars |
Mar 12 2009, 11:14 AM
Mar 17 2009, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(kianweic @ Mar 17 2009, 08:16 PM) It is extremely difficult to maintain a healthy body while working in Malaysia. The hardest part is actually the food!!!! hard to find healthy food everywhere. only selected places can find foods suitable.I sometimes work on weekends, so I have to really push myself to the gym whenever I am free. oh well, just need to know how to get around it. |
Mar 18 2009, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 18 2009, 12:09 AM) any1 here got good advice on ppl planing to do HIIT? i read an article at bb.com that warm up for 5-10min than do slow jog 30sec than sprint for 30 sec and do a 7 rep. issit this good for beginner of HIIT? Depending on your condition. if thats your goal, u might wanna start out with jog 1 min, then sprint 30 secs. then jog 1 min and sprint 30 secs cycle. when u get better then u reduce the jog time to 45 secs and sprint 30 secs. and ultimately jog and sprint 30 secs.if condition not that good, then mebbe jog 2 mins and sprint 30 secs. u get the idea... |
Mar 21 2009, 01:17 AM
Yo pizza, do u still do front squats?
any tips on performing front squats better? and how to get front squat weightage up? |
Mar 22 2009, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 21 2009, 10:36 AM) I think you mean "Pig Out"? It's kinda weird that you only take two fruits a day....I think you're not training hard enough So far been doing front squats for about 4 times now... front squatting 60kgs. however i'm using the cross arm grip. still not used to the clean grip. i think my wrist is not flexible enough.. and also i'm not used to supporting the weights on my front delts.Still do it three times a week. Two max strength sessions. One more power/speed/explosive session with emphasis at the top drive to assist my clean recovery. Trying to front squat 180KG's by December. Rawr! Another 30KG'S more! If you mean better....then I guess the few cues are; 1. Keep chest really high up 2. Use a "clean grip" and push your elbows as high as you possibly can 3. Contract your thighs at the top and keep it contracted all the way down. 4. At the lowest point, explode powerfully upwards. PS: I'm not going to answer what a clean grip is, but I reckon you know what it is. Let's just call it weightlifters grip. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « with the cross grip can support on side delts which seems easier and less tiring too. also when i do the clean grip, seems like the bar is too near my throat.. feels like its choking me. hmmm.. need to work on my clean grip more. think i'll want to incorporate both front and back squat into my leg routine.... Thanks for da tips so far. |
Mar 22 2009, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 22 2009, 10:44 PM) There's a pocket when you raise your elbows up. This is where the bar should be resting upon. And yes it is EXTREMELY close to your neck, but you'll have to "tahan" the pain. Use an empty bar first, do warm-ups for about 20-30 reps. Find the position, and keep holding it there. Trust me, the clean grip will make a difference. Is the "pocket" the part with the bone? thats gonna friggin hurt.... resting the weight on muscle shd be fine... but resting on the bone is insane... otherwise, where is the "pocket"? |
Mar 23 2009, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Mar 23 2009, 12:03 AM) heheh..front squat is painful wan...till u become used to it...i wanna develop my shoulders more then the " pocket" easier to tahan the weight... cross my arms? thats the cross grip. i can do that rather ok for now.... i'm asking bout the clean grip. meaning arms not crossed.if im not mistaken...the bar is on the ridge between the clavicle and the anterior deltoid... its only visible when u cross ur arms..then lift ur arms while crossed and press them towards ur chest... incidentally...thats the position u do front squats with... oh yea...front squats require a rack...for the heavy weights.... cant seem to see how u gonna get 80kgs on your shoulders with ur arms like that................................................or am i wrong...my inferences...... the front squat is part of oly lifting. they usually clean the weights onto their shoulders then they front squat. by "clean" i mean power clean/ hang clean. can google it if not sure what cleans are. the pocket i'm asking is for clean grip style front squat |
Apr 8 2009, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(jamis @ Apr 7 2009, 08:36 PM) Hey pep, while browsing through hola bola's youtube found this exercise call spider curl for bicep training. http://bodybuilding.com/fun/exercises.php?Name=Spider+Curl sounds interesting, but i dont think the gym here has this kind of bench thou haha. QUOTE(jamis @ Apr 8 2009, 11:21 AM) It is different from the preacher curl bench thou it is 90 degrees. haha to be honest i dun like bicep day and i dun really like to use the preacher curl bench too lol, i only do barbell narrow grip bicep curl and some time may be hammer curl. SQUAT and DL is my mandatory If u notice the pic, its the preacher curl bench, she's just using it the other way around. the preacher curl seat side is the part she puts the weight... Added on April 8, 2009, 11:23 am it is around 45 degrees for the preacher curl how low can it go Added on April 8, 2009, 11:26 am alot of fancy stuff for biceps eh... still feel that at end of the day is still just curling the damn thing |
Apr 8 2009, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(bagata @ Apr 8 2009, 05:28 PM) having some doubt here; you get both muscle and fat. how much muscle and how much fat depends on how much is the caloric excess and how is your body's nutritional partitioning and type of food you take.(calorie intake > calorie burn) + no workout = fat produced ---> (I) (calorie intake > calorie burn) + workout = muscle ---> (II) (I). excessive calorie will be converted to fat (II). we need calorie (of course and protein) to build muscle question is, what if we workout and take in excessive calorie at the same time? more than enough calorie to build our muscles. will it be converted to fat? *dunno if it is calorie of carbs i should be using in this question* *calorie is what you're concerned with. excessive calorires coming from fats also gonna make u fat. |
Apr 8 2009, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(bagata @ Apr 8 2009, 05:41 PM) ic... aiseh... susah wey... Certain types of food has a prediposition to be stored as fat in the human body. there are some research conclusions that one such food is fructose.not enuf calorie, cant build muscles, take in too much calorie, fat comes in gonna try n error then... as for body nutrition partitioning, it depends on insulin sensitivity, and also your bf%. the leaner you are, the more muscle you'll put on compared to fats. the fatter u are, the more inclined your body is to put on more fats than muscle. thats why ppl usually are adviced to lose fats first b4 going for bulking. also depending on hormons and age. teenagers put on more muscles compared to fats when they put on weight. IIRC, as for how much caloric excess, some research have mentioned that the human body can put on about average 1 lb of muscle per week. anything more than that usually turns to fats. so thats why they usually recommend a 500 caloric excess. so in one week, its 3500 caloric excess which is about 1 lb of body weight. but this is just general guidelines... sorry, i dun have the sources, its all articles i read long time ago. so if wanna bulk up cleanly, you need to eat the right kind of fats and carbs and get enough protein. and the caloric excess shd be around 500cals per day. and you shd be more on the lean side. IIRC, how lean is recommended as 8%-12% bf then your body would be more predisposed to put on muscle than fat. edit: typos. This post has been edited by Neek: Apr 8 2009, 06:03 PM |
Apr 8 2009, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(bagata @ Apr 8 2009, 06:02 PM) ok, got it... thanks for both the replies:) if u car alot about imbalance, your right hand would need to wait for the left hand.bulk then cut facing another problem, my dumbell curl, left hand is weaker than right hand... left cant complete the set, but right can... how am i going to train my left hand? train additional with lower weight for left hand or decrease right hand rep with higher weight(means left hand gets more rep)? you finish yuor reps with yuor left hand. then u cut off your training to yuor right hand when u reach the same amount. example, your left can do 10 kgs 10 times. and your right can do 10 kgs 15 times. so u do your left first, then if u can reach only 10, you right hand u stop when u reach 10 also. and use dumbells for better single arm isolation. dun use barbells. the stronger side will pull the weight up more than the left keeping the imbalance. |
Apr 22 2009, 03:10 PM
Apr 30 2009, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(uhuk-uhuk @ Apr 30 2009, 12:52 AM) I would actually prefer chicken legs compared to huge legs. Actually even a normal person can notice small legs. especially when the upper body is so significantly much bigger than the legs. i can easliy notice it too even way before i started weight lifting.But of course, working the legs is a must to maximize growth and to create a more balanced-looking body. But hey, 99% of the time, nobody notices small legs. They notice a big upper body. To bodybuilders, every aspect is looked at, not only the upper body. But, the ordinary person on the street does not see things the way bodybuilders do. A decent upper body is adequate in their perspective. That's what I think, at least. but mebbe thats just me |
May 4 2009, 02:20 PM
May 20 2009, 05:57 PM
May 20 2009, 10:18 PM
near my office in kuchai lama.
at a coffee shop called Hong Tu Bay. eating there abotu 2-3 x a week now. lol |
May 28 2009, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(metalfreak @ May 27 2009, 05:16 PM) eh...I know probably I've asked this before Sorta like what pizzaboy said. they put their legs up to remove support from their legs and lower backbut I see some guys in the gym doing bench press with their legs on the bench...er..wrong, right? BTW, does BCAA help with recovery? You guys consume it? cos when the legs is on the bench, or lifted up, the lower back won't be able to provide force when lifting the bar off the chest. when u do bench press with feet on the floor... you can actually feel power generating from your feet support and lower back. so by removing that, its more on isolating the chest muscle. not really sure if its "wrong" or not. but if really wanna isolate chest that much, can also use machines. those shd be able to isolate the chest better. my 2 cents And on the BCAA, yeah it helps abit in my case... (on feelings basis - no proper measurements done) but not sure if its really worth paying extra. anyway, most whey protein now ald have BCAAs added into them. This post has been edited by Neek: May 28 2009, 12:27 AM |
Aug 5 2009, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(angrydog @ Aug 4 2009, 09:45 PM) LOLhypocrisyLOLOLOLOLOLOL He actually does have pics up. its in his journalYou HAVE to be a troll. You always seem to clam up and revert to this YOU DON'T KNOW ME BLAHHHHH argument whenever someone calls you out and tells you to put up a photo of yourself for people to back up your shit. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24166473 Added on August 5, 2009, 6:29 pm QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 5 2009, 01:02 PM) EDIT: While I was in the bathroom, I stretched and then I thought. If someone can leg press 320KG....that's about sixteen, 45LBS plates loaded on the leg press machine. Considering the 45 degree angle of the machine, that takes about 40% of the total weight away. So if 320KG x 0.6....that'd still be about 192KG of weights that he's actually pressing. Take away the need for stabilizer muscles which is about 15% of an actual squat, you still would need to be able to squat 163.2KG to be able to leg press 320KG. I did the math. You guys do the conclusion. These numbers are completely inconsistent. The carry over of leg press to squats isnt too greant isnt it? but even so. not sure if the gap would be this much.... This post has been edited by Neek: Aug 5 2009, 06:29 PM |
Aug 11 2009, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 10 2009, 10:25 PM) I've just received some 'unconventional' nutrition and exercise advice today: As for #3. you guys triceps dun feel tired after doing pullups?(pizzaboy, can you ask your coach about these pointers whether they make sense? Because they certainly don't make any sense to me. LOL!) 1) Drinking whey in between set during workout will put the proteins to waste. It's better to take isotonic drinks. Post workout should be something with carbs (milk, bananas, eggs), then a few minutes later---whey protein. 2) Don't take protein stuff immediately after waking up. Take some carb (fruits, honey, bread, rice, porridge, etc) or chinese style soup. Then take protein (eggs, milk, whey, etc) 1/2 to 1 hour later. 3) Chin up works the triceps instead of the biceps. Well I have lots of respect for the gym owner, but this one I can't accept. http://exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html Braindead, HL is low lactose. Probably that's why it's more expensive. If you're not lactose intolerant, then it doesn't matter much to you. well, i wont say it "work the triceps instead of biceps". but both my triceps and biceps are shot when i do pullups. so i can understand what your gym owner is trying to say. i don't really inderstand it myself... doing a pulling movement but my triceps seems to be under strain aswell... not sure how much this applies to chinups instead. |
| Change to: | 0.0375sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:24 PM |