muahaha... i will meet him very soon.
haha... then will figure out a way to get rid of the idiot fren
kaka...
bench press went up already. broke my plateau. haha
N0eL
post Jul 3 2009, 07:48 PM

1,479 posts

I've finally bought the Harbinger lifting straps from Ego @ RM 34.00.

Had my first try on it today doing back exercises. It's great for deadlift if your forearm no longer able to keep up with the poundage. Moreover, I was able to concentrate

more on my lower back without worrying about gripping the bar.

The added pads definitely worth the extra ringgits else i would speculate experiencing rope burning on my arms without it.

It's abit tedious to attach the straps to equip at first, it's alright once you get the hang of it. Wouldn't recommend to use it for pushing motion though, the strap is

kinda slippery sliding left and right. You might loose ur gripping position. No problem for pulling motion.

Pictures for references ~!

-Dan
post Jul 3 2009, 08:06 PM

4,382 posts

Was gonna buy them the last time I made a trip to Ego, but decided not to. I'm not lifting heavy enough to have grip problems. doh.gif
iamyuanwu
post Jul 3 2009, 09:54 PM

2,425 posts

You know, the gym I go to uses bicycle tire [inner] tubes as grip enhancers/pads.
Thin, cheap and very effective. 1 tube could be cut into 3-4 pairs of pads. I was wondering where did the pads came from for months until my bike went pancit. LOL.
mofonyx
post Jul 4 2009, 12:31 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Hi guys, any gym near Kelana Jaya that has a monthly or 3-month membership that isn't too expensive with not-so-crowded power racks? (I was thinking True Fitness Hartamas or Jaya-33 near Section 17).

The power rack at the gym I go to is bouncy, and I can't squat away from the rack because there's no space away from the rack (don't ask, odd set up with walls and pillars).

Added on July 4, 2009, 12:52 amI remember now that there is a Fitness Network @ Centrepoint! You guys had a gathering there, right?

HOW WAS IT? Good enough? # of power racks? Hammer Strength machines?

This post has been edited by mofonyx: Jul 4 2009, 12:52 AM
tineagle
post Jul 4 2009, 04:42 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jul 4 2009, 12:31 AM)
Hi guys, any gym near Kelana Jaya that has a monthly or 3-month membership that isn't too expensive with not-so-crowded power racks? (I was thinking True Fitness Hartamas or Jaya-33 near Section 17).

The power rack at the gym I go to is bouncy, and I can't squat away from the rack because there's no space away from the rack (don't ask, odd set up with walls and pillars).

Added on July 4, 2009, 12:52 amI remember now that there is a Fitness Network @ Centrepoint! You guys had a gathering there, right?

There's on at Kelana Jaya glomac. Its near the old giant, the new shoplots.
This ones called Energy Fitness and its located above a corner mamak.

They charge rm7 per entry, and membership would cost about Rm60 a month the last time i checked. Do the math and see which is more worth it according to your workout frequency. They dont have a power rack, but the equips there are pretty decent and you can do lots. Drop by for a visit, its where i workout when I'm back home on holiday away from my usual gym at uni.

Gluck
mofonyx
post Jul 4 2009, 12:28 PM

2,394 posts

No power rack, got squat rack? Glomac eh? Just around the corner!
Aztec
post Jul 4 2009, 01:33 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

wooo..markus ruhl coming to malaysia! my fav bodybuilder...but need to spend rm250 to get the passes.. sad.gif

any of u guys got extra passes to share? tongue.gif
mofonyx
post Jul 4 2009, 03:52 PM

2,394 posts

Fitness Network has a power rack and a bench. But they only have 1 bar sad.gif

If anything they should have 3 bars, a rack and a bench. Oh well. The weights are also limited (only a set of 20kg, and the rest are oddly in lbs).
shanecross
post Jul 4 2009, 04:42 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(N0eL @ Jul 3 2009, 08:48 PM)
I've finally bought the Harbinger lifting straps from Ego @ RM 34.00.

Had my first try on it today doing back exercises. It's great for deadlift if your forearm no longer able to keep up with the poundage. Moreover, I was able to concentrate

more on my lower back without worrying about gripping the bar.

The added pads definitely worth the extra ringgits else i would speculate experiencing rope burning on my arms without it.

It's abit tedious to attach the straps to equip at first, it's alright once you get the hang of it. Wouldn't recommend to use it for pushing motion though, the strap is

kinda slippery sliding left and right. You might loose ur gripping position. No problem for pulling motion.

Pictures for references ~!

Aren't you supposed to work the grip if your poundages can't handle them anymore? I think going on straps is a last resort. Many trainees here haven't explored their maximum potential just yet.

@Jonyeap.

You should sleep sideways then if sleeping flat on your back hurts. It worked for me.

This post has been edited by shanecross: Jul 4 2009, 04:43 PM
uhuk-uhuk
post Jul 4 2009, 05:17 PM

bulaiyan
718 posts

I would recommend True Fitnes JAYA 33.

4-month contract totaling to RM 880.00 inclusive of tax.

Good equipments. Spacious. All weights and workout machines are on the same floor. Plenty of Hammer Strength machines. smile.gif

Added on July 4, 2009, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(shanecross @ Jul 4 2009, 04:42 PM)
Aren't you supposed to work the grip if your poundages can't handle them anymore? I think going on straps is a last resort. Many trainees here haven't explored their maximum potential just yet.

@Jonyeap.

You should sleep sideways then if sleeping flat on your back hurts. It worked for me.
Sleeping sideways is the right way. My dad used to have backaches but after starting to sleep sideways, his backaches have gone away. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by uhuk-uhuk: Jul 4 2009, 05:21 PM
mofonyx
post Jul 4 2009, 07:16 PM

2,394 posts

uhuk2 sounds like exactly the place I want to be but at 4-mth RM 880, too ex!
jamis
post Jul 4 2009, 08:40 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

guess i will see u there mofonyx hehe.

Noel: actually the first time i got those straps, i dun even know how to use it properly, the guy in ego taught me tat thou lol.
mofonyx
post Jul 4 2009, 09:17 PM

2,394 posts

jamis you're at Jaya-33? I can't afford it, and it's not cost effective cos I'm not around for 4 months! more like 7 weeks!
bledig
post Jul 4 2009, 09:24 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Jul 4 2009, 04:42 AM)
There's on at Kelana Jaya glomac. Its near the old giant, the new shoplots.
This ones called Energy Fitness and its located above a corner mamak.

They charge rm7 per entry, and membership would cost about Rm60 a month the last time i checked.  Do the math and see which is more worth it according to your workout frequency.  They dont have a power rack, but the equips there are pretty decent and you can do lots.  Drop by for a visit, its where i workout when I'm back home on holiday away from my usual gym at uni.

Gluck
Yeah it's a great place. It's 70 a month now i think but hey much cheaper than anywhere else and the gym is pretty clean and ok.

I go there at night during weekdays so might see ya around if u go.
mofonyx
post Jul 4 2009, 11:38 PM

2,394 posts

Eh so awesome so many people there. Got squat rack? I tried checkin it out today but I went during their lunch break time (2pm)
jamis
post Jul 5 2009, 12:16 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

yeah buddy, i train there tongue.gif. Eh, i was there 3.30pm just now.
~LynX~
post Jul 5 2009, 01:11 AM

264 posts

There's a small gym near Jaya One (its behind Jaya 33, opposite Section 17) called the Heritage Sports Centre, RM10 per entry. Mostly basic equipment (yes there's a squat rack there), nothing fancy, and I haven't seen it crowded with people to date.
kotmj
post Jul 5 2009, 01:36 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Do you guys know where I can find chalk for weightlifting?
JonYeap
post Jul 5 2009, 01:54 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

yeah... i did sleep sideways after my injury.
now its better already.
by next week i am ready for 180kg de. muahaha
=.=

130 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:27 AM