post May 23 2009, 11:20 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

"Unf***withable". Genius.
kotmj
post May 25 2009, 06:30 PM

3,802 posts

Rice is like a really bad idea. They all went straight to my waist. I'm now on a low carb, high protein diet for dinner. Can't do anything about breakfast and lunch.

You're eating like the skinny person you are. I used to eat like you too. I have totally revised my understanding of what a tonload of food means. I am absolutely sure you're not meeting the generally accepted protein requirement for a weightlifting athlete.

You should look into the Rippetoe program. I'm on it myself. It's very elegant.

kotmj
post Jun 25 2009, 01:01 AM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jun 24 2009, 07:08 PM)
hai guise. one Q. how much difference will be for a barbell squat and a smith rack squat?
Just pick a reasonable weight and do two reps. Keep adding 5-6 kg each set (of two reps) until the point comes when the bar speed decreases markedly. This then is the weight you should start squatting with.
kotmj
post Jun 29 2009, 12:43 AM

3,802 posts

For some reason, I find raw eggs more palatable in quantity than cooked eggs. But generally, when I do eat eggs, I prefer to eat eggs for pleasure (half-boiled kampung eggs). For protein supply I prefer meat and milk. I cannot eat eggs in quantity.
kotmj
post Jul 1 2009, 09:11 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Jul 1 2009, 07:40 PM)
Hey does anyone know where I can get cottage cheese?
I've tried searching almost EVERYWHERE for it.  Various locations of jusco, tesco, giant, carefour, cold storage...etc

But no luck..

(i did manage to find one small tub of it at the Carefour in Tropicana Mall, but it was expired.)
I was on the same quest some weeks ago. And found a lonely little tub at Cold Storage 1U at a caviar-like price (this sort of thing is dirt cheap in Europe). Whereupon I went and bought ON Casein.
kotmj
post Jul 1 2009, 11:18 PM

3,802 posts

The protein content is low. Something like 12-14 grams per 100g. OTOH, 24 grams of casein costs RM 7.40. The price per gram of protein isn't the only disadvantage. Availability sucks. They will always be out of stock. The two advantages I see in cottage cheese is the great taste and the trace minerals.
kotmj
post Jul 2 2009, 03:04 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jul 2 2009, 12:53 AM)
You guys know that milk = casein + whey... right?
You go buy whey, then buy casein... might as well just drink skimmed milk. LOL!
You need to drink 3.5 glasses of milk to match the casein content in 1 scoop of ON Casein. That's a lot of calories, water, and lactose for your body to deal with before sleep. Give me cottage cheese anytime (especially with blackberries mixed in). Failing which, casein supplement.
kotmj
post Jul 2 2009, 05:25 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jul 2 2009, 04:30 PM)
i am suffering from back pain as well.
lower back.
due to deadlifts.
but it aint gonna stop me
the pain hasnt gone away the slightest bit since 3 days ago.
hopefully by next week it will be gone.
i cant even sleep coz its painful when i lie flat
You need to take a multi-week rest from anything that will tax your back. I had a dull pain in my spine from squats that wouldn't go away. I would feel it every morning, though it went away during the day and reappeared the next morning. I recently stopped working out for a week, and the pain completely disappeared. But this morning I felt a slight bit of it because I squatted on Tuesday. Joints take much longer than muscle to heal, or so I heard.
kotmj
post Jul 5 2009, 01:36 AM

3,802 posts

Do you guys know where I can find chalk for weightlifting?
kotmj
post Jul 5 2009, 07:45 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(che @ Jul 5 2009, 06:52 PM)
injuries are part n parcel of any training, sticky on this anyone?

injury- lower back injury (oh nooo my squat.... just when im progressing.. sigh)
what can you do while one wait for it to recover?

Try front squats. (But it's even more technical than the back squat, and you risk killing yourself if you do it wrong.)

Added on July 5, 2009, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 5 2009, 01:29 PM)
We have it but we're all the way down south. However, if you go to 1U the climbing place there or to Pushmore, you can ask them where they get their supplies. Pushmore's one is slightly more ....how should I say, it doesn't crumble that much.
Ach. I suspected it would have to be a special order track-down-the-supplier thing.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 5 2009, 08:14 PM
kotmj
post Jul 6 2009, 08:13 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Jul 6 2009, 07:32 PM)
95 kg?... shit... i can only manage 55kg x10 rep x 5 set ATG.... sick.....

i dont dare do heavier...coz i scared after i clean it up then when tired no energy to return it softly.. sad.gif

the perils of having no squat rack
If I understand the problem correctly, you can buy a pair of cheap stools to emulate the function of the safety pins of a squat rack. Not ideal, but they ought to catch the bar when you fail (you'll mostly fail at the bottom anyway, not midway).
kotmj
post Jul 11 2009, 08:16 PM

3,802 posts

Masochists, all of you.

Added on July 11, 2009, 8:22 pmmofonyx: How did that happen? Did you ignore a deteriorating form, or did something just give way all of a sudden, or did you increment the weight more than usual? Gute Besserung.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 11 2009, 08:22 PM
kotmj
post Jul 11 2009, 08:35 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Jul 11 2009, 04:24 PM)
I've stopped squatting for almost a month since I started to have lower back pain from doing squats and only squats.

I hope you get well soon.
Same thing here. Squats and only squats, not from deadlifts or anything else. Squats also affect my knees. Not pain yet in the knees, but a discomforting sensation after a session.

Added on July 11, 2009, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jul 11 2009, 08:34 PM)
kotmj I was squatting 5sets of 8reps for quite a while with regular increments. I was determined to get a specific goal before I flew back to Malaysia, and it was on track with my increments (i.e. not a big jump). I guess when the weight gets heavier, the demands for stretching increases. I do stretch it out before each workout, of course now I realise that this probably needs more attention.

I guess what broke me was that it hurt and I was training through the pain anyway because I was so determined to make my weight before I flew back to Malaysia. I did make that weight but at the cost of an injury.

I don't know how I got the pain in the first place but as far as I can recall, it was during the exam period and my head was not in the game. At the time, I was really frustrated and absent minded, so it probably hit me then and I was not fully aware of my condition. From then on, it is likely that with no proper recovery, a small injury which would've healed in 10 days was exacerbated by overenthusiasm, which leaves me to lick my wounds today.

Safe.
Ouch. I suppose operating at one's limit (PR) is inherently risky. You've probably considered this, but I heard sets of 5's allow one to keep better form. One increases the sets to keep the volume high. (Rippetoe + Pavel Tsatsouline)

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 11 2009, 08:43 PM
kotmj
post Jul 23 2009, 10:44 PM

3,802 posts

how much does that cow deadlift?

Added on July 23, 2009, 11:03 pmi've read about this breed of cow in belgium or somewhere that had natural myostatin inhibitors etc. but never in my life had i thought it would look like this. this is the ron coleman of cows man.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 23 2009, 11:04 PM
kotmj
post Jul 23 2009, 11:07 PM

3,802 posts

I want my myostatin inhibited too!

Added on July 23, 2009, 11:10 pmFor comparison, your typical indian cow

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 23 2009, 11:10 PM
kotmj
post Jul 24 2009, 12:06 AM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Jul 23 2009, 11:45 PM)

In studies of immunodeficient mice, treatment with MYO-029 has been shown to increase muscle mass by roughly 30% over a 3-month period.
You know, all that cow ever did all his life was stand around and munch on grass. Barbells are to be a thing of the distant past.
kotmj
post Jul 25 2009, 12:23 AM

3,802 posts

I sleep with the windows open even when it's -25 degrees celcius outside. Still alive.
kotmj
post Jul 25 2009, 12:29 AM

3,802 posts

It's probably irrelevant to most of you, but the place with the best air to workout in is First World Fitness, Genting Higlands. Open the sliding doors behind the Smith machine a crack and the freshest, coolest, moistest mountain air fills the gym. Wonderful. You can even have a pre WO cappuccino at a Coffee Bean. Too bad they don't have barbells.
kotmj
post Jul 25 2009, 09:20 AM

3,802 posts

Max weight dumbbell was 35 kg if I remember correctly.

No, I don't work in Genting.
kotmj
post Jul 25 2009, 10:22 AM

3,802 posts

Oh yes, you're right, lbs not kg. Sissy weights. Nice interior design though.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0415sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:21 PM