Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

WyjSwmW
post Mar 25 2009, 12:19 AM

862 posts

Hai.. as agreed, my lappy arrived at my doorstep at 9.30pm just now when I arrive home from work.

Here are some quick snaps while I busy installing programs and games.

The first impression was fanstastic. It comes with a bag, just a normal look bag (not leather made)

The brief review:-
1st boot-up: The 1st boot-up took 50 secs, then 2nd subsequent boot-up 41 secs...
Screen: very bright and outstanding (u will notice it is like a glossy screen despite it is a matte screen)
Build Quilty: Top-notch and secured
Noise level: You cant really hear the noice, it is so low when internet browsing... but haven try gaming (let me try it after I have fully loaded my games 2-3 days later)
Fan: So far so cool in this 3 hrs..
Keyboard: Big-buttons, I think created specifically for gaming
Dead pixel: 1 dead pixel found at near the left bottom corner of the screen, but for me... i dun really care as it is barely noticeable.

Now damn lazy liao to continue my review. Maybe interested guys here can ask me questions then I answer them instead of I write the whole long essay review.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Mar 25 2009, 12:35 AM
TScorad
post Mar 25 2009, 12:33 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 25 2009, 12:19 AM)
Hai.. as agreed, my lappy arrived at my doorstep at 9.30pm just now when I arrive home from work.
Congrats !

Mind to share the specs as well ? smile.gif

WyjSwmW
post Mar 25 2009, 12:38 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Mar 25 2009, 12:33 AM)
Congrats !

Mind to share the specs as well ?  smile.gif
Thanks..

My model is NP5793, actually I did posted my specs in this thread previously.

Anyhow, here's the link http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/820915/+500

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Mar 25 2009, 12:38 AM
TScorad
post Mar 25 2009, 12:47 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

opps.. sorry, forgot about that.

seems like you're the first to get Sager from a local supplier smile.gif how was the experience ?
WyjSwmW
post Mar 25 2009, 01:00 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Mar 25 2009, 12:47 AM)
opps.. sorry, forgot about that.

seems like you're the first to get Sager from a local supplier smile.gif  how was the experience ?
Okay, let me share..

So the sales guys send my lappy to me around 9.30pm... then I took out the system from the un-opened box, we double-check the specs, tools, manuals, CDs, drivers, Windows CD to ensure it correct as per my order. He explain this and that as usual salesman... He told me he will bring the free gift (Edifier) to me this Sat as their shop is out of stock.
After confirm everything, then he left.

For email replies, I dun think it's quite prompt as per XoticPC.. Normally is I write to them today, they will only reply after 20 to 24 hrs..

The good thing I can figure out is perhaps the warranty. My lappy is covered with 3 years warranty:-
1st year: Sager and local warranty
2nd and 3rd year: Local warranty

Is XoticPC only provide 1 year warranty? Extra warranty need to pay?
havefun2night
post Mar 25 2009, 12:24 PM

19 posts

Guys.. want to know what is the different with a solo GC and duo GC? how does it improve the performance..? with the new GTX280, is it better to have a solo GTX280 or duo GC 9xxx series?

Also, do u guys think that the intel turbo memory be any use for windows 7?

This post has been edited by havefun2night: Mar 26 2009, 01:15 AM
WyjSwmW
post Mar 26 2009, 12:46 AM

862 posts

Hi guys,

Now I need your advice here.

My system is pre-installed with the official Nvidia 179.48 drivers. However, should I install the Laptopvideo2go 185.26 or Dox 185.20 driver?

N1-C
post Mar 26 2009, 09:48 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(havefun2night @ Mar 23 2009, 06:46 PM)
Hi Guys..

I am interested to buy a sager maybe from xoticpc. Been thinking about Np5797 with the GTX280M or Np8660 with the GTX260M (have to see my budget 1st.. hahaha).. So I have a couple of questions before buying the sager.
1. Do they provide u with a receipt (printed or writing) as i need it to claim to my company later? Going to use a company laptop to fulfill my most inner desiress..!!! har har harrrrr...  drool.gif  .... gaming of course.

2. I heard that sager is upgradable later. It is true? It is hard to assemble it and upgrade it later?  doh.gif

3. What are the specs that i should concentrate on as i have limited budget as to get the full Oo mighty specs. My budget is around Rm8000 including the shipping.  hmm.gif

4. Should i get the Intel Turbo Memory as i will be using vista and maybe windows 7 later?  brows.gif

5. If i buy a ram here in Malaysia, it can fit in that sager right? Unless sager have a different out of space modul right? he hhe he...

6. Should I order now or later as it is a back order until end of march for Np5797 and ETA early april for Np8660.
Thanks guys...

May The Force Be With You...  bruce.gif
1. Yes

2. Yes but provided Sager support them in their bios.

3. Pick the best screen as they are the hardest thing to upgrade, to be specific, get the WUXGA screen for the NP5797 but as for the NP8660, WUXGA on 15.4" is overkill IMO, stick with the WXGA. Almost all games out there will be playable on the P8400 (Except GTA IV as far as I'm concerned... but don't even bother playing that game on PC), 2GB of RAM is enough for normal use and gaming and Go for the biggest storage.

4. As far as I'm concerned, the answer is no. The ITM 2.0 will shave away a few seconds of startup time of program that you specific but it's driver is far unstable and they don't work on all program under the sun.

5. They are the same provided you get the correct model.

6. I'll recommend you to wait for the 260/280M GTX.

QUOTE(havefun2night @ Mar 25 2009, 12:24 PM)
Guys.. want to know what is the different with a solo GC and duo GC? how does it improve the performance..? with the new GTX280, is it better to have a solo GTX280 or duo GC 9xxx series?
Also, do u guys think that the intel turbo memory be any use for windows 7?
There performance is around 150% +- depending on how well a certain game scale on multiple gpu.

The 280M GTX itself is just a smaller, faster 9800M GTX but no, 9800M GT SLI and onwards will out perform a single 280M GTX provided the game supports SLI. Not sure about GS and GTS though.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 26 2009, 12:46 AM)
Hi guys,

Now I need your advice here.

My system is pre-installed with the official Nvidia 179.48 drivers. However, should I install the Laptopvideo2go 185.26 or Dox 185.20 driver?

Personally I did not notice any performance increase in either side. So I'm sticking with Nvidia one.

Try search around in notebookreviewforum or google and please don't take what I said as guaranteed smile.gif .

havefun2night
post Mar 26 2009, 09:10 PM

19 posts

Thanks for the answers N1-C.

Due to some unfortunate events.. i might have to lower my scale on what to have on a sager.

Is the hardisk on sager is the same as other notebook hardisk?
N1-C
post Mar 26 2009, 09:59 PM

126 posts

Hey no problem, I'm glad to help and sorry to hear that.

Yes , they're standard. Provided you get the one with the right connector but it's less likely that you'll get the wrong one.

What is your budget like now? Where are you buying from? And to be specific, which model do you decide to buy?

I might be able to help you out more if you could provide me with a little more information.
havefun2night
post Mar 26 2009, 10:24 PM

19 posts

My budget right now might be around Rm6500 including shipping. Hope this time my boss will approve it.

Not sure where to buy from yet but thinking of buying from xoticpc.com. Or maybe buy a backbone from Rjtech with cpu & graphic card. Survey the price of hardisk & ram here in Malaysia are more cheaper.

Thinking of buying NP8662 but might have to let go if not affordable.

Ofcourse need a new one with receipt so can claim later.

hmm.gif Unless you have a better ideas? brows.gif

This post has been edited by havefun2night: Mar 26 2009, 10:40 PM
N1-C
post Mar 26 2009, 11:40 PM

126 posts

The base configuration of NP8662 @ Xotic PC is not bad at all and its well within your budget range even after adding a copy of Vista Home Premium and including shipping fee.

Rjtech will also be a good idea but I have little information about them.

Of course, go for whichever option that appeal you more.
kirakun
post Mar 27 2009, 12:01 AM

697 posts

QUOTE(havefun2night @ Mar 26 2009, 10:24 PM)
My budget right now might be around Rm6500 including shipping. Hope this time my boss will approve it.

Not sure where to buy from yet but thinking of buying from xoticpc.com. Or maybe buy a backbone from Rjtech with cpu & graphic card. Survey the price of hardisk & ram here in Malaysia are more cheaper.

Thinking of buying NP8662 but might have to let go if not affordable.

Ofcourse need a new one with receipt so can claim later.

hmm.gif  Unless you have a better ideas?  brows.gif
Gosh your boss must be 'very generous' to buy u a laptop costing 6.5k shakehead.gif tongue.gif . As for mine so far all i got was a hp compaq presario and currently using toshiba satelite m200 for office works, soon will upgrade to dell latitude E series tongue.gif. Makes me wonder what kind of job u are into to have such a boss. laugh.gif thumbup.gif
havefun2night
post Mar 27 2009, 10:03 AM

19 posts

I wouldn't say that he is 'very generous' b'cause he already turn me down on a better specs deal of a laptop. And that it isn't confirm that i get the 6.5k yet.

I mean that u have used 2 laptops already and getting a new one which altogether combine would cost almost Rm8k - Rm10k right? Well i'm trying to save his as* and money (if he realise it) by building a laptop that could last longer than others. Not to mention far better than any laptop u can get in Malaysia.

All he kept saying is "..bla bla bla..cut less, more profits...". And he said he just bought a Sony laptop only for Rm3xxx ++ for himself. (i know when he said this, he must be wondering why mine cost a lot more than his).

i work as a web designer and a little bit less of a programmer at his company. And he's trying to let me work on a stupid laptop.
kirakun
post Mar 27 2009, 12:55 PM

697 posts

QUOTE(havefun2night @ Mar 27 2009, 10:03 AM)
I wouldn't say that he is 'very generous' b'cause he already turn me down on a better specs deal of a laptop. And that it isn't confirm that i get the 6.5k yet.

I mean that u have used 2 laptops already and getting a new one which altogether combine would cost almost Rm8k - Rm10k right? Well i'm trying to save his as* and money (if he realise it) by building a laptop that could last longer than others. Not to mention far better than any laptop u can get in Malaysia.

All he kept saying is "..bla bla bla..cut less, more profits...". And he said he just bought a Sony laptop only for Rm3xxx ++ for himself. (i know when he said this, he must be wondering why mine cost a lot more than his).

i work as a web designer and a little bit less of a programmer at his company. And he's trying to let me work on a stupid laptop.
Well that's true but then those i used were from different projects and span along few years of working. Totally incomparable to yours getting your 1st(or is it your 1st company laptop?) company laptop with high end specs and cost a bomb.

It is normal actually for bosses/managers to maintain the cost or budget for a project therefore u can't entirely blame him also. U'll understand when u climb to a post as same as his tongue.gif sweat.gif .

My boss is currently using dell latitude e series laptop so are all other managers as the company limits the purchases of new laptops pending position and max to a certain spec doh.gif . As we don't dealt with high level of graphical application only autocad therefore the company decided to put a cap on our company laptops doh.gif .

Anyway there are not many laptops 'far better' in fact even comparable to np8662 not to mention np5797(equipped with world fastest gc and an option to get extreme processor) u can get in m'sia. Except for dell xps 1730,cost a bomb too with 9800mgtx in sli, i dont see any other laptops available locally which can even come close to np8662. shakehead.gif thumbup.gif
havefun2night
post Mar 27 2009, 03:04 PM

19 posts

Well that's true but then those i used were from different projects and span along few years of working. Totally incomparable to yours getting your 1st(or is it your 1st company laptop?) company laptop with high end specs and cost a bomb.
Yep, it's my 1st and wouldn't dream of getting a 2nd laptop if i get a sager. rclxm9.gif

It is normal actually for bosses/managers to maintain the cost or budget for a project therefore u can't entirely blame him also. U'll understand when u climb to a post as same as his tongue.gif  sweat.gif .
Well, that's true... vmad.gif But if i were my own bos, i would give myself a superb laptop.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway there are not many laptops 'far better' in fact even comparable to np8662 not to mention np5797(equipped with world fastest gc and an option to get extreme processor) u can get in m'sia. Except for dell xps 1730,cost a bomb too with 9800mgtx in sli, i dont see any other laptops available locally which can even come close to np8662. shakehead.gif  thumbup.gif
I would actually say there are only a few high end laptops in malaysia which cost almost the same price or more than the price compare to Np8662. For example Asus G50 cost about Rm6999 which is a bit more than Np8662 and the specs sucks.. whistling.gif

BiBima
post Mar 27 2009, 03:37 PM

96 posts

Ur boss very generous oledi able to provide u Sager system.. Many companies especially Chinaman firms only provide low specs system. My staff currently only uses Pentium 3, 32GB hdd, CRT 14" monitor, 64MB Ram...
havefun2night
post Mar 27 2009, 05:00 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(BiBima @ Mar 27 2009, 03:37 PM)
Ur boss very generous oledi able to provide u Sager system.. Many companies especially Chinaman firms only provide low specs system. My staff currently only uses Pentium 3, 32GB hdd, CRT 14" monitor, 64MB Ram...
Actually he hasn't yet provided me any. Right now i'm trying to get the budget from him. sweat.gif
N1-C
post Mar 27 2009, 07:31 PM

126 posts

Good luck with it... and don't mind I ask, aren't the system you're looking for a little overkill for what you're doing? Programming aside, don't you think that a powerful processor (Quad) and a decent Quadro will be sufficient for web design (Assume you're doing the painting part)?
Bankster
post Mar 27 2009, 11:10 PM

42 posts

dude, own a sager and you will become legend!!! HUAHAHAHAHA~~~~

maybe he just want that extra power to play games once in awhile and wish to have the latest GPU, so it will be future proof... lolz biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

@WyjSwmW: Wow nice notebook!! welcome to the 17" world of sager!! lets pwnz some zombie in L4D~~ lolz!! is the design of the notebook to your liking??

This post has been edited by Bankster: Mar 27 2009, 11:18 PM

125 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:59 AM