Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

Bankster
post Dec 1 2008, 02:15 PM

42 posts

WOah!! and i thought im the only that have a Clevo notebook in MALAYSIA!! where do you order yours from??? i got mine from xoticpc.com!! rclxms.gif

But mine is the NP5796 the 17" type.

here's some spec:

Resolution: 17" WUXGA "Glare Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright Glossy Screen (1920x1200)

Graphic Card: 1,024MB PCI-Express nVidia GeForce 9800M GTX DDR3

RAM: 4GB DDR3 1066mhz.

HARD DISK: 500GB 5,400RPM

Processor: Intel® P9500 45nm "Montevina" Core™2 Duo 2.53GHz w/6MB L2 On-die cache - 1066MHz FSB 25 watt

Optical DRIVE: Combo Dual Layer SuperMulti 8X DVDRW Drive.

Picture are in the attachment.

I wasnt able to get the BLu-ray optical drive because it was in back order so i just go with the default optical drive. damn! But hey, at least i got the 9800m GTX. I got this notebook for 1 month and the cost is around $2,606.

Nice Spec BTW!!! Its a good thing u got the BLu-Ray optical drive. thumbup.gif I really want it tongue.gif

I was kinda surprise that Clevo is not here in Malaysia when i came back here, i ask one of the reseller "do you guys have any clevo" and they like "hmm, what is that? a new motherboard?" lolz rclxm9.gif ,

the only thing that are good enough for gaming is the ASUS G70 with the SLI 8700m GT if im not mistaken.... it seems ASUS are dominating the Gaming Laptop market in malaysia LOLz biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Bankster: Dec 1 2008, 02:32 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Bankster
post Dec 1 2008, 08:18 PM

42 posts

thanks biggrin.gif but he's the lucky one, got the blu-ray optical drive as for me though i wasnt able to obtain one but i found it easy to carry around a 17" notebook because i usually carry around a full set of desktop cpu, monitor, keyboard all day around..

this notebook is my desktop replacement because i travel alot. I usually carry my desktop cpu with all the stuff that was freaking heavy..... but replace it with this simple notebook, i was satisfied.

i was thinking of buying in malaysia too, but since it is an a very damn good offer so i just try to placed an order on it. Luckily my friend also bought from the website and was satisfied with his clevo so he recommend buying through xoticpc.com which is a another good and BEST reseller ever for clevo notebook. Eventhough clevo is not a big-brand company that everyone knows like ASUS or ALIENWARE, its more like a low-profile company that is good at making a standard price highend-cooling notebook.

I really recommend getting a clevo notebook from xoticpc.com they have the best Customer Service even if you are from Asian country as i have called them when i was in Indonesia. I called once to inquire on my notebook and make a last minute changing and they are able to do without any problem!! Also they are very professional in the technical department i say. But i order mine through my friend which live in the US and brought it back here in malaysia lolz biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Bankster: Dec 1 2008, 08:28 PM
Bankster
post Dec 2 2008, 05:12 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 1 2008, 09:34 PM)

haha , another Sager user !!

woot !  so far i trust no problems with ur laptop ?  biggrin.gif 

i got mine from xoticpc too .

A real pity that there's no clevo distributor here in M'sia ...
Yeah sadly no, clevo's distributor here, if there is one then everyone can enjoy a real bargain notebook. icon_rolleyes.gif

There's no problem on my side for the last 1 month, i been playing some games to try out the graphic card and it handles all game perfectly with superb graphic showing!! I was able to play Crysis on high setting but in DX9 mode though, havent try DX10 Games yet. I'm planning to try Far Cry 2 on this system as well. The fans sound to me is no problem, it only get loud when playing games but not TOO loud since it makes the laptop much cooler. Not something to worry about since the fan sound disappear in the background when I nuke a whole base in C&C lol rclxms.gif

Your damn lucky dude, to have the blu-ray option. It makes your laptop a future-proof one biggrin.gif

How about you dude? did you encounter any problem at all? How much you paid yours? did you wait long for the notebook to arrive?

Im thinking of getting a cooler pad the ZALMAN NC2000, so i can secure the heat underneath the laptop. cool2.gif
Bankster
post Dec 3 2008, 08:03 PM

42 posts

woah 3 days??? i got mine like a week, but i ordered through my friends so i probably arrive at his place in the us within 3 days and then send it to me... lolz!!

so what games have you been trying on it?? Far Cry 2 how does it play??
Bankster
post Jan 30 2009, 08:19 PM

42 posts

Heya! its been awhile!! Busy upgrading mine np5796, actually i sold it and bought the all new updated NP5797 !!!!!!

dude corad, after i saw your second Np8860 in the image with a much better and updated spec its inspire me to buy a whole new notebook man notworthy.gif

... At first i only thought of buying the Np5797, but after pondering for 2 months and seeing that i want a notebook that will last for 3-5 years and still powerful enough to play the latest game on a high setting, SO i made a decision (which become my new years azam XD) to actually buy the NP5797 with a superb spec!!!

My old spec for NP5796 are:

Resolution: 17" WUXGA "Glare Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright Glossy Screen (1920x1200)

Processor: Intel® P9500 45nm "Montevina" Core™2 Duo 2.53GHz w/6MB L2 On-die cache - 1066MHz FSB 25 watt

Optical DRIVE: Combo Dual Layer SuperMulti 8X DVDRW Drive.

After selling it to a very liable buyer for USD$3,000 (its easy to sell at Ebay lolz thumbup.gif ), i set my spec as high as possible and adding a few hundreds here and there, the spec of my dream become a reality!!! and this time with a blu-ray optical drive!!! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

Here is my new spec for the NP5797 and cost around $3400:

Processor: Intel® QX9300 45nm "Montevina" Core™2 Quad 2.53GHz w/12MB L2 On-die cache 1066MHz FSB

Optical DRIVE: 2X Blue-Ray Read/8X DVDRW Super Multi Combo Drive.

Sound Card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi 7.1 Xtreme Audio Notebook Express Card

Personally, In my opinion. This is by far the very best 17" notebook that I could get which is a really big bang for buck. I'm not used to 15.4" screen because to me, its really small and arent that good for watching movies nor playing games. So i went for 17" as a desktop replacement for my computer at home!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

The NP5797 is great if you really want to replace your desktop and prefer gaming-on-the-go. Its much easier to carry around then carrying a CPU, Monitor and also a keyboard. I know how it feels to carry around so much weight... cry.gif

Actually i was targeting the Big Momma of gaming laptop which is the NP9262 equipped with Desktop Quad Cpu and Sli 9800m GTX but since it looks sooooo damn freaking heavy and bulky. I stick with the Np5797 because it aint that heavy comparing to other 17" notebook. thumbup.gif

The build quality of clevo are by far the best i have seen and you could easily prove by the numbers of many satisfying customer who really love the looks of the notebook. Many people prefer the simple look because you can actually customize the look to your own needs, no need to stick with one style of looks!! Xoticpc offered a very nice variety of custom paint job for their customer, and it looks very cool as well as promising. Although i never tried it, but at notebookreview, some of the reviewer purchase the custom paint job and were satisfy entirely!!

@corad: oh about the BIOS flash, i really dont know, it would be best to ask around notebookreview forum... they are the best in helping those in needs thumbup.gif

p/s: dude lets meet up and have a hell good lan party!! icon_rolleyes.gif L4D or TF2!! thumbup.gif
Bankster
post Feb 8 2009, 11:20 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 31 2009, 09:57 AM)
Long time no see man !

haha , extreme beast you've got there  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  (nice price also  laugh.gif  ) buyer too excited to bid on ebay ? xP good tip for us sager owners , easier to sell this laptop out later on since people will still be attracted to the specs

Yea, we should definitely do a sager outing! imagine sitting around a mamak playing Crysis multiplayer tongue.gif
btw: this sager still from xoticpc ?
aust suppliers don't have the full range of sager laptops. but if you're lucky, they might just have the one you want on smile.gif
yes! this sager are still from xoticpc, they are still the best place to get a clevo/sager notebook at a very considerable price!!

I myself was very surprised that a bidder would actually buy it on that price tongue.gif i thought of changing the price to only 2.2k if it doesnt sell well but behold suddenly someone wants it more, i also give some nice free gifts which is;
1) cooler pad zalman NC-1000
2) Pendrive 8GB
3) headphones
4) Card reader
5) Kaspersky AV 2009 original
6) mouse - rm 8 only lolz

i think that the reason someone bought it... lolz rclxms.gif

nice beast the NP9262 notworthy.gif it got a freaking SLI 9800m GTX dude!! that is a monster, of course it would be a godzilla if you got the Quad-core CPU lolz brows.gif !!!! i thought of getting one after i sold my NP5796 but since the weight are kinda a killer for me... so decided to go back to the NP5797... thumbup.gif

p/s: im from sabah~~~~~ lolz, east malaysia roxx sager world!!!!! or is it west lolz??~~`

This post has been edited by Bankster: Feb 8 2009, 11:24 PM
Bankster
post Feb 9 2009, 11:38 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(N1-C @ Feb 9 2009, 12:01 AM)
Yea its east... Lol.

Anyway Bankster are you a student? If yes how do you find carrying it to school? ~1 hour carrying it with a messenger bag/backpack.
Im not in school BTW lolz biggrin.gif , but in uni and im currently at west m'sia. I never intend to bring the notebook to my classes because it just freaking huge. But i been travelling around with moving from my place to my friend's place and i find the notebook are a bit heavy to carry because my previous notebook was an asus x51r, a 15.4 inch notebook that are really light... ... About the hours, after 1 hour i still doesnt feel the heaviness however after 2 hours and so, then the heaviness started to get to my shoulder lolz... however after carrying it for like a month or so i was able to get used to the weight YEAH! rclxms.gif ... Im using a backpack rather than a messenger bag since its much more convenient for me.

I rarely carry this notebook around and usually just put it at my room/house/college. Im also hooking it up to my 28" external monitor back at sabah. But since im at west, i didnt bring my external... so im stuck with the 17" tongue.gif

The switch from a 15.4" to a 17" was amazing and the feeling was much more satisfying when im playing games on it and also watching some movies. The screen makes me indulge into the games that made it soooo realistic since its bigger. Which makes it hard for me to actually stay away from my notebook because the screen is the thing that i loved so much.... i just hope it wouldnt effect my studies lolz... rclxub.gif

Although there are one of my classmate that brings along an ASUS gaming notebook, the G70 series if im not mistaken but its an old version which only have SLI 8700m GT... lolz, the brat wanted attention so much (especially from the girls) that he is willing to bring the notebook every freaking day to class just to say this word to his fellow friends, "My notebook is the best and coolest in the world because it has two graphic card and it will much more powerful than a desktop that have a single card". As you can see from his point of view about "gaming", Two graphic cards will always dominate a single card despite whatever the graphic card is. Yes, he also believes that his SLI8700m Gt will beat a single 9800GTX and even the GTX260... WOW shocking.gif doh.gif his IT knowledge is a very sad thing.... spoiled brat whistling.gif

p/s: he bought the notebook for 9.8k exactly.... with vista ultimate..

This post has been edited by Bankster: Feb 9 2009, 11:40 PM
Bankster
post Feb 10 2009, 02:20 PM

42 posts

@Corad; My notebook IS HOT, LOLzzzz

Well in terms of temperature, it doesnt get too hot when gaming for about 1 hours and 25 minute... i always played my games at minimum of 3 hours and max 5 hours lolz... the notebook only feels WARM after 3 hours but since i got a cooler-pad, the zalman nc2000, i dont think under the notebook is hot.

Surfing the net didnt cause the notebook to become hot even after surfing for 3 hours or so... because the fans beneath it really does it job to cool the notebook. In fact i was kinda surprised the fans does the job really well!!!

Some user complaint that the notebook fans are really loud but in my opinion its not really that loud, since im always using my headphones.

So the sound of the fans disappear in the background when all i heard is only the cry of the zombies that i head-shot in Left 4 Dead. huhuhuhu.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

i heard that the NP8860 got heat issues from the notebookreview forum, and if im not mistaken its because of the HDD? The owner who just bought the notebook right after it was released suffered the heat problem but the issue was solved maybe. There are even some members of that forum claims that it depends on which reseller you bought from.

Owner of Np8860 that bought from xoticpc didnt have any HDD heat issues! which is a great thing..

@N1-C; i would recommend getting a 17" only if you rarely travel with your notebook since it is quite heavy, and if you wanted a desktop replacement because the 17" is already a great size to be portable and also when you are gaming.
Bankster
post Feb 14 2009, 01:49 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Feb 11 2009, 05:54 AM)
it's all in the 2nd post  smile.gif

haha .. have to scroll all the way to the end tho.  not much promoting on my part  blush.gif , i'm sure most of the members here would have bought the same lappie with or without this thread
Well if you didnt create tis thread i wouldnt know there are other sager user in malaysia rclxms.gif ... and the thread inspire me to upgrade my notebook!! which is something good~~ i hope my notebook last for 3-5 years or so.... tongue.gif i know sager/clevo from my chat friends who live in New York, they even give me link to the notebookreview forum where i indulge myself in all the knowledge of notebook technology and whatnot. I ALMOST wanted to bought the G70 with SLI 8700m GT and at the price of rm10.5k++++ when i wanted to replace my asus x51r, but boy, was i lucky to know about sager, it save me a whole lot of money~~~~~~ brows.gif

its a good thing that you are going to show others on the capability of the 9800m GTS, some claims that the performance difference with the 9800m GT are only of 10%. I read alot from notebook review forum and eventhough some of the user really wanted the 9800m GT, but the 9800m GTS are more than enough to handle latest games on the market at a very high setting. Its amazing though. And now the price for NP8860, since it have the 9800m GTS, have drop alot! it really is a bang for the buck...

@N1-C: i used to be in stamford but now im in UITM shah alam, but im in my last sem!! lolz... its amazing that my notebook beat some of the desktop around here lolzzzz thumbup.gif yes im so freaking proud of my notebook, but i dont show it off, scared of thieves dude ~~~..... lolz doh.gif

Bankster
post Mar 20 2009, 03:57 PM

42 posts

sadly nooo sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif i got the NP5797 but with the 9800m GTX, wait for next month payment to upgrade mine... my cousin are helping me out to upgrade my gpu...

damm dude, sager/clevo are really updating their system with latest technology, very fast indeed.... im proud to be a sager/clevo owner!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

a rival of the NP9262?? the clevo M980NU!!

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Hands-On-Clev...ok.14554.0.html

:: Processor
Intel Core 2 Extreme X9100 3.06 GHz
:: Mainboard
NVIDIA 9400M G (MCP79MX)
:: Memory
2048 MB, DDR3 PC3-8500F, 2x1024MB, max. 8GB
:: Graphics adapter (SLI GTX 280M!!!)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280M - 1024 MB, Core: 583 MHz, Memory: 950 MHz, GDDR3 VRAM, 7.15.11.7936
:: Display
18.4 Zoll 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel, Full HD TFT, glossy: yes
:: Harddisk
320 GB - 5400 rpm, 320GB 5400rpm WDC WD32 00BEVT-22ZCT
:: Soundcard
HD Audio
:: Connections
1 Express Card 54mm, 4 USB, 1 Firewire, 1 DVI, 1 HDMI, 1 Kensington Lock, 1 eSata,
:: Networking
NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet ,
:: Optical drive
TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633A
:: Size
height x width x depth (in mm): x x
:: Weight
5.35 kg
:: Battery
68.82 Wh Lithium-Ion, 14.8V 4650mAh

p/s: so anyone wanna buy it when it come out out??? ahahahaha lolz

This post has been edited by Bankster: Mar 20 2009, 04:13 PM
Bankster
post Mar 21 2009, 10:17 PM

42 posts

damnnnnn i really want that GTX280M!! Based on notebookcheck gpu ranking, the GTX 280M is the fastest single GPU.... OMG... i really want it... but gotta be patient and wait for 2 months then i got some money to upgrade...

so damn fast sager updated their notebook... not fair dude tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Bankster
post Mar 21 2009, 10:47 PM

42 posts

yeah, the D901c, i heard about it in the notebookreview forum and was surprised the newest one which is here: http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=358804

that the notebook D900F will only have single gpu but will support the latest i7 processor... its interesting though...

patient is virtue my friend tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
perhaps you gotta make a petition for the bios support to gain clevo attention tongue.gif
Bankster
post Mar 24 2009, 02:27 PM

42 posts

supposedly the intel turbo is to make your windows booting much faster... well i only know that part lolz ~~~~ biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Bankster
post Mar 27 2009, 11:10 PM

42 posts

dude, own a sager and you will become legend!!! HUAHAHAHAHA~~~~

maybe he just want that extra power to play games once in awhile and wish to have the latest GPU, so it will be future proof... lolz biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

@WyjSwmW: Wow nice notebook!! welcome to the 17" world of sager!! lets pwnz some zombie in L4D~~ lolz!! is the design of the notebook to your liking??

This post has been edited by Bankster: Mar 27 2009, 11:18 PM
Bankster
post Mar 29 2009, 07:03 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(N1-C @ Mar 29 2009, 10:38 AM)
Sometimes game that does not support SLI will run poorer in SLI mode than single card mode.

Personally I would pick single card over SLI any day due to reliability/stability and Nvidia over ATI due better driver support. I've seen Nvidia and ATI's cards that are suppose to be the same in term of technical specification but ATI's perform slower due to driver instability and also the fact that most of the games in the market built on Nvidia's card.
that is true, a SLI graphic card is a mix bag of performance. and a single gpu is much better performing and OCing. However a user in the notebookreview forum have a SLI 7950GTX and still can play all the latest game with higher graphic setting, this prove that SLI system can make your GPU future-proof!! but hey they are still a some game that doesnt support SLI nvidia/ATI

to me, SLI, is like a gimmick that manufacturer wishes to use in order to make the notebook look menacing like the desktop version. A notebook is still a notebook and the limitation of its component are still there and have not yet crossed the line of the desktop. it doesnt have any custom cooling system like the desktop which is a bad thing... since cooling is good to well-balance your system performance.

besides, SLI will only make your notebook lifetime shorter... well that is from my perspective. Its not like i dont like SLI, i just dont find it good for a notebook to have a SLI. Nevertheless, it does increase your performance in gaming by a lot!!! biggrin.gif thumbup.gif soo yeehaaa the graphic!! icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Mar 29 2009, 02:40 PM)
This should answer your question:

wow, i never knew that... ahahahha blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

This post has been edited by Bankster: Mar 29 2009, 08:06 PM
Bankster
post Apr 6 2009, 11:35 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Apr 3 2009, 02:57 PM)
Erm... my target is Sager np5797... (that one come with nVidia GTX280m..., super heater huh?)
wuhuu!! good luck with your GTX 280M!! man, it will be a blast to have that card~~ i wonder how well it would perform lolz!! your system will be a beast dude!! huahahahahhaa!!!

about the HDD~~~

its great to have a 7200RPM HD only the cost it will be the heat~~ some 320GB 7200RPM, have a very bad heat consumption therefore your notebook will get warm alot.
however a good brand HDD is the solution, WD to me, is the best brand to put out some heat around the HDD.... but nevertheless very fast loading for gaming and multitasking application!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

whereas a 500GB 5400RPM would have less heat and power consumption~~

as for the speed differences; some conclude that a 500GB 5400RPM HDD have the same speed as the 320GB 7200RPM because of 500GB at 5400RPM, when combined with the increased areal density on each platter, ends up performing at least on par with the 320GB 7200RPM drive. Since the higher capacity also contribute to the speed... but 320GB/7200 rpm is a little bit faster.

If you will notice it in real life is another story. During normal use it will be very hard to notice the differences in speed actually but during heavy multi tasking it will be possible to notice a whole lot different performance between these two speed and the HDD capacity..

now if you argue on the matter of either HDD or SSD that is a whole different story~~~ anyone are getting the SSD for their sager? i thought of getting one~~ lolzzz

Bankster
post Apr 10 2009, 10:47 PM

42 posts

we seriously must have lan party when more people are getting sager~~ even non-sager can join lol hahahaa XD

anyone ever own an SSD?? i was wondering if its really really worth buying it for my sager~~~

sleep.gif" GTX 280m is still long to reach~~ i will probably diet my wallet this whole month just to upgrade it~~~ lolzzz

This post has been edited by Bankster: Apr 10 2009, 10:48 PM
Bankster
post Apr 12 2009, 09:56 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Apr 12 2009, 01:30 AM)

Well all of us(sager owners who ordered from xoticpc) here can't see our laptops or feel it 'physically' before buying too, but in the end we still bought it right? Use your logic bro. thumbup.gif
well said! i remember trying to order mine and keep on thinking will it really feel or have no error at all as mention by other sager owner~~~ i worried like i was having a freaking child for 2 weeks straight without getting enough sleep dude biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ahh~~ the good old days, and then when the shipment arrive, IT DOES felt good and really really have no problem just like sager user said thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif xoticpc is good place to put entirely your trust on!! have you guys seen the new website? it looks much more organize now and cool.
Bankster
post Apr 21 2009, 11:15 PM

42 posts

wow, nice screenshot and good performance, it sure is a good thing that you are satisfy with your lappie wuhuu!~~ lolz

i havent tried GTA4 on my lappie yet but will do soon after final exam, ahaha, how the graphic card handle the game in a town with lotsa people???~~... thats a DX9 or DX10??

here is an update info on the clevo latest 18.4" notebook. Thanks to Kobalt!!

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=373344

This post has been edited by Bankster: Apr 21 2009, 11:19 PM
Bankster
post Apr 26 2009, 10:17 PM

42 posts

here is the benchmark for GTX280M, for anyone that are interested, like me!!!!!! WUHUU!!! cant wait for this baby to be install on my lappie~~~~ biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=370928

So there is a two version of GTX280M!!!! i always wonder if there is a catch for it!! LOLzzz

There are 2 types of the GTX 280M, MXM 2.1 and MXM 3.0. Memory clock speed for 2.1 is 800 mhz stock, while memory clock speed is 950 mhz for 3.0. Clevo M570TU/ETU uses the MXM 2.1 version, Clevo D900f and M980nu use the MXM 3.0 version. The M980nu supports SLi GTX 280M.

0.0402sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:46 PM