126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

TOMEI-R
post Jan 15 2009, 02:32 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Exarkun @ Jan 14 2009, 07:43 PM)
One thing about Sharp is that I find the DEFAULT setting is already quite pleasing. I'm using the LC42A65M. Same goes with okhui26. Mebbe ask him what his setting is.
Thanks bro.. I only feel that the display with Astro is not up to my expectations (which is what I watch most of the time). Thats why wanna ask if u guys set it to something different. How's your set if u r watching astro?
Are there any settings or adjustments I can make to make it look better. I hope the installer installed everything the right way.
slk5538
post Jan 15 2009, 08:02 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(guess19 @ Jan 14 2009, 10:10 PM)
sony lcd? i think its the best . change me
It is again depends on personal taste la ....... many ppl feels that Sony & Samsung's LCD lacks colour accuracy, Panasonic's colour is more real ..

Again it is depends on PERSONAL PREFERENCE! It is your money, if you have tested / compared most TV sets in the store and decide that you like SONY the most, then go ahead and buy it ... no need to post here and challenge ppl to change your mind la tongue.gif
choontoy
post Jan 15 2009, 08:09 AM

837 posts

Agree with slk5538.For those who wanna buy either Plasma or LCD,may go to the shop to do comparision side by side.From there the decission is yourself to judge which one to choose.Best is to bring along your favourite BD movie and ask the shop fellow to change the setting to neutral for both Plasma or LCD or whichever model that you prefer from your choice.
TQ.
overfloe
post Jan 15 2009, 08:34 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 15 2009, 03:32 AM)
Thanks bro.. I only feel that the display with Astro is not up to my expectations (which is what I watch most of the time). Thats why wanna ask if u guys set it to something different. How's your set if u r watching astro?
Are there any settings or adjustments I can make to make it look better. I hope the installer installed everything the right way.
i too expected much more from astro.. but it's hopeless lah.. astro resolution is very low.. even viewing with 42" plasma doesn't yield good results.. the only improvement can be made is through calibration.. but that's only for colours.. and calibrating the tv for astro is also useless because every channel is different. it may look ok on one channel but not ok for other channels! rclxub.gif other than changing to a better s-video cable i think there's no more room for improvement.. until astro starts to broadcast in 1080p or 720p at least!
wenhsiung
post Jan 15 2009, 09:21 AM

15 posts

Comparing side by side in the electrical shop may not give you the right lead. Reason, they could use different connecting cable, from HDMI, Component, S-video to even composite.

If you visit harvey norman, try to peek from the connection setup, you won't be surprise that they do use even composite on certain models. I saw them hooking up JVC with composite, but HDMI with samsung, pioneer with components.. etc... blush.gif

A quick guess, if particular brand didn't offer good enough incentive for the retailer, why bother pushing for them. hmm.gif
okhui26
post Jan 15 2009, 09:55 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 15 2009, 02:32 AM)
Welcome to the Sharp Club, rclxms.gif

Actually the LC42A65M came with the OPC feature, it is a feature that automatically adjust the contrast based on your room environment's lighting.

Currently i am still waiting someone to send me a LCD calibration CD so that can play around the setting. tongue.gif

99below0
post Jan 15 2009, 11:30 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(volcane @ Jan 14 2009, 07:28 PM)
guys thanks for the advise... looks like I will get the LCD. Only way to change my light source was turn it off  tongue.gif The light source behind was from my plaster ceiling, to alter it will be costly.

Turn off light for Movie viewing is ok, but for Astro not my preference.
If you're going to turn off the lights or watch in a dark environment, I'd advise you to go Plasma. They are generally gentler on the eyes and look fantastic in a dark environment. LCDs look great in a lighted environment but they will strain your eyes in a dark room. If you lower the backlight power of the LCD to suit the dark environment, you may find the color starts to get rather muddy.

Just a casual observation. smile.gif
slk5538
post Jan 15 2009, 01:45 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(wenhsiung @ Jan 15 2009, 09:21 AM)
Comparing side by side in the electrical shop may not give you the right lead. Reason, they could use different connecting cable, from HDMI, Component, S-video to even composite.

If you visit harvey norman, try to peek from the connection setup, you won't be surprise that they do use even composite on certain models. I saw them hooking up JVC with composite, but HDMI with samsung, pioneer with components.. etc... blush.gif

A quick guess, if particular brand didn't offer good enough incentive for the retailer, why bother pushing for them.  hmm.gif
When we said comparing the models in the store, we don't mean by just walk in the store and look at which TV gives you the PQ that suited you the most. doh.gif

One is expected to get the shop attendant there to use the same set-up (meaning same source/player, same type of cable, same settings on the sets and etc.) to compare the TV. Pay attention to the shop's lighting environment also.

Also, one is expected to bring along your notebook, or BD or DVD even the made by Jack Sparrow one (whichever is your primary source of entertainment) to get the shop to try them for you.

If the shopkeeper refuse to do that for you, then forget about that shop and you can always look for one that will do that.

After that you can decide either Plasma or LCD is to your liking, or which brand you prefered, even Haier so what? It is your money, and your TV for you to watch. No need to cares about what others think la .... and remember some ppl has less sensitive eyes than others, that is why a lot of ppl are happy with what have ... nod.gif

This post has been edited by slk5538: Jan 15 2009, 01:53 PM
aiman04
post Jan 15 2009, 06:01 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Read this for more understanding about RGB, Deep Color and xvYCC.

HDMI Enhanced Black Levels, xvYCC and RGB

Almost all movies are using YCbCr. So if you turn on RGB, Deep Color or xvYCC some of us will see it as "better with deeper blacks", but the truth is that the color range has been expanded from non-existent source, so the "deep black" is actually the effect of color loss.

Everything must support this color ranges to get the benefits. The source (i.e. movies), receiver, and display must support it. But when the source is not, then no point.

That said, there are consumer digital handycams with Deep Color/xvYCC/RGB, so with this as source then you'll see the benefits.
ar188
post Jan 15 2009, 06:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 15 2009, 06:01 PM)
Everything must support this color ranges to get the benefits. The source (i.e. movies), receiver, and display must support it. But when the source is not, then no point.
used to think like this, but not anymore.. soon will have many "source" with upscaling 48bit soon from BD.. so better to start getting Video equipment with this high video bandwidth support..

just like 480p DVDs still benefit from upscaling to 720p or 1080p DVD player + 720p or 1080p TV... even though the recorded media is only 720x480..
Exarkun
post Jan 15 2009, 06:44 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Jan 15 2009, 09:55 AM)
Welcome to the Sharp Club,  rclxms.gif

Actually the LC42A65M came with the OPC feature, it is a feature that automatically adjust the contrast based on your room environment's lighting.

Currently i am still waiting someone to send me a LCD calibration CD so that can play around the setting.  tongue.gif
Yeah the OPC feature is great. I'm using it too for most of the time. Only when I want full brightness do I switch off OPC.
aiman04
post Jan 15 2009, 07:01 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 15 2009, 06:39 PM)
used to think like this, but not anymore.. soon will have many "source" with upscaling 48bit soon from BD.. so better to start getting Video equipment with this high video bandwidth support..

just like 480p DVDs still benefit from upscaling to 720p or 1080p DVD player + 720p or 1080p TV... even though the recorded media is only 720x480..
Agreed. Just that, for now don't turn on all those advanced color range yet. biggrin.gif

My BD player, AV receiver and TV does support xvYCC although not turned on. thumbup.gif
ar188
post Jan 15 2009, 07:06 PM

9,206 posts

hehe! smart.. future proofing..

hope they don't go and make some HDMI1.5 or something later.. haha!
aiman04
post Jan 15 2009, 07:18 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 15 2009, 07:06 PM)
hehe! smart.. future proofing..

hope they don't go and make some HDMI1.5 or something later.. haha!
They will. Guess we'll never win. But that's fine, upgrading is part of the fun of this hobby. laugh.gif

CES 2009: HDMI Introduces Next Generation Specification
Posted January 7, 2009 11:55 PM by J.C. Ribera

CES HDMI Licensing, LLC – the agent responsible licensing the High Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) specification – has announced five key capabilities and features that will be introduced on the next version of their HDMI technology, which will launch in the first half of 2009.

"HDMI has reached an installed base of more than 600 million devices and now touches almost every consumer device that plays HD content. We want to give the industry a preview of where the HDMI specification is headed as we continue to innovate and meet the needs of this dynamic marketplace," said Steve Venuti, president of HDMI Licensing, LLC.

In the upcoming spec, HDMI will address key industry trends, which will include five innovative features, such as 3D capability, Ethernet connections, and increased resolution performance.

* Networking
o Consolidation of HD video, HD audio and now high speed data with the addition on Ethernet in the HDMI cable.

* Audio Return Channel
o Elimination of a S/PDIF cable by allowing for a TV to send audio streams upstream to an A/V receiver for processing and playback over the HDMI cable.

* Performance
o 4K x 2K and 3D are high performance features to be met by increasing the upper limit of the HDMI link.

* HD In Your Car
o New connector specification for the auto industry as the world's largest auto makers move to digital HD video and audio for 21st century cars with HDMI.

* Smaller connector
o New, smaller 19-pin connector

ar188
post Jan 15 2009, 07:25 PM

9,206 posts

where';s the Wireless HDMI?
mig29n
post Jan 15 2009, 10:00 PM

32 posts

off topic sikit

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thu...icle/index_html

KUALA KUBU BARU: Three men hijacked a lorry laden with LCD television sets worth RM1.7 million at a rest and recreation stop in Rawang yesterday morning.

Which LCD tv factory is at Sungai Petani ?
Jediknight8820
post Jan 15 2009, 10:42 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(mig29n @ Jan 15 2009, 10:00 PM)
off topic sikit

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thu...icle/index_html
Which LCD tv factory is at Sungai Petani ?
i think its Sharp Roxy. whistling.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jan 15 2009, 10:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Jan 15 2009, 09:55 AM)
Welcome to the Sharp Club,  rclxms.gif

Currently i am still waiting someone to send me a LCD calibration CD so that can play around the setting.  tongue.gif
If it comes with the OPC feature...cant we just adjust the settings of the OPC? Wy do we need a LCD calibration cd to adjust the settings? Maybe when you have the cd you can provide me with a copy.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(Exarkun @ Jan 15 2009, 06:44 PM)
Yeah the OPC feature is great. I'm using it too for most of the time. Only when I want full brightness do I switch off OPC.
Can u guys teach me how to use the OPC feature ....starting to play around with the settings already

Hey...should we have a Sharp LCD club thread so we can discuss settings and other stuff relating to Sharp LCDs?

Added on January 15, 2009, 10:54 pmMy dad's SONY Bravia 40' full hd lcd displays ASTRO quite well because he installed a scaler to boost the astro images....thats why Im considering if I were to install a scaler too...

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 15 2009, 10:54 PM
ic-klass
post Jan 16 2009, 01:34 AM

959 posts

and, where can we get this astro "scaler" ?? rclxms.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jan 16 2009, 01:57 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Maybe u can check it out here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/895042
One of our forummers here is selling or U can visit Desa Home Theater to check out this so called scaler 'IF' u have never heard of it before.

126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:02 AM