Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

ic-klass
post Dec 16 2008, 02:07 AM

959 posts

hi everyone.

need some help here.

i planning to but a new set of tv, still can decide either to go for Plasma or LCD. Read that

LCD
colour degrade if view at diff angle
tiring on the eye
dead pixel problem
contrast not as good plasma
motion jitter with fast moving images

Plasma
burn out issue
screen get hot easy
buzzing sound when get hot
colour degrade if play at high altitude e.g condo..
higher power consumption

so far I set my target:
LCD: Samsung 46" Lcd LA46A950 Full HD
Plasma: PANASONIC 42" Plasma TH-42PV80HM (this is HD Ready..dunno what Full HD model is equivalent to it)

So, I will be glad to here any personal review for either model - I saw a few already bought PV80 at S**Q for rm 3299.. drool.gif drool.gif

thanks...
ic-klass
post Dec 16 2008, 03:45 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(bmipp @ Dec 16 2008, 02:39 AM)
Your set target was quite difference
For the LCD, it cost around RM7750
but for the plasma only RM3299
leh

If you want Panasonic FULL HD Plasma, set you eye on the PY800 series..
thanks..

care to share where i can get the lcd for 7750??

what is the current price for py800??

thanks again
ic-klass
post Dec 17 2008, 01:49 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(aiz1j @ Dec 16 2008, 06:02 PM)
Or you can go for best branded plasma, Pioneer Kuro 428XG (42" HD Ready not full HD), now you can get it for RM5,888
where can i find this KURO in KL - which shop giving the best price??
how is it compare to panny 42pv80??

anyone here can share their experience owning a KURO?? drool.gif

Yes kuro 8XG 42" now selling at $6k after nego at DHT with 5 years warranty.
Harvey Norman sell at $6999

- DHT?? is it Desa H**e Th*****

- The 5 year warranty is from DHT or from Pioneer Malaysia - what does it cover?? blink.gif

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Dec 17 2008, 01:53 AM
ic-klass
post Dec 21 2008, 03:57 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Dec 21 2008, 12:22 AM)
Is there such option? Would like to know too smile.gif
Me too..dont wanna be fool by the saleperson..
ic-klass
post Dec 23 2008, 04:39 AM

959 posts

can i know what is the best price price for 42PY800H panny now. And where can get the best deal??
ic-klass
post Dec 26 2008, 01:21 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(liew79 @ Dec 26 2008, 12:22 AM)
peninsular malaysia : 28th November - 25th December 2008 click to view PDF, part 1 (5.7MB)

i think the press advertised wrong promotion price for PV80 oledi... refer to the web...  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
saw the same add in The Star. Dont really trust CM with their sweet add - heard you end up paying twice the price with their payment scheme!! mad.gif mad.gif
ic-klass
post Dec 27 2008, 01:05 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:47 PM)
I think Plasma is bad because 1024x720 only. It's not 1:1 mapping to 720p movie. I feel sad for people who bought such resolution that is not
even half/fake HD.

Added on December 26, 2008, 10:49 pm
Astro resolution is just SD or lower (non-digital broadcast). And 46" is
Widescreen resolution. I guess the TV stretch and enlarge the pixel with
averaging algorithm. So of course the PQ looks bad. Only CRT TV will
give you good  PQ with Astro.
well then i wonder why plasma still hold so many award for PQ - e.g pioneer Kuro..

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Today went to HN sunway, speechless and amazed by how stunning and riche the PQ on KURO 50in and 42in. No wonder they wont sooo many award and recomendation - even they are only 1024 x 768 (HD Ready). So i guess it just not the pixel resolution that matter. Many forms/factors come around to give a good PQ.

IMHO, above 40in plasma win hands down (HD or Full HD). In sub 40in (37, 32, 29, 22,...) LCD win - just because there is no Plasma less than 40in!!. Then again, it just me.. biggrin.gif

Now, will need to convinved the missus (home and finance ministry) to take the 42in Kuro rather than the 40in Pv80 or 42in py800...(need to work fast, today HN showed 42in kuro at rm6399..!!)

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
ic-klass
post Dec 28 2008, 03:00 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 28 2008, 12:36 PM)
I've always preferred plasma, but the new LED backlight LCDs really give a strong fight to the plasmas. CNET is saying this technology almost reaches the Kuro's black level, and sometimes wins over in certain scenes. This LED will be turned off automatically in black areas and gives almost perfect deep black. The only issue is the number of LEDs may not be enough to turn off at the smallest pixel area, giving "blooming" effects when a bright object appears within a black background.

But now, there are only 2 LED backlight LCD TVs that I know of, a Sony which costs RM27k and another brand at really attractive price, but it's a Samsung which I'm not really favor off. They ranks at number 1 and 2 respectively for LCD TVs at CNET.

Is the Panasonic TH-PY800H really discontinued? The US version of this model is at second place in CNET ranking for plasma TVs and received the Editor's Choice tag. The newer TH-PZ850H PY locally is at lower rank because of inaccurate color reproduction. But both of them have flicker issue for 24p playback though.
correct me if i'm wrong, but i was told by several salea agent that those Panny G11 plasma with 5 year warranty all "made in Japan" - with the exception of pv80, assebled in s'pore. hmm.gif

Second, isnt the Py800 and py850 is among the recent full HD by panny?? Py850 having more extra feature than py800 e.g. RGB cinema colour??

Are those two really bad in term of PQ - i know kuro is alway no 1. But to say py800/py850 is not good than we have limited choice for plasma - samsung anyone?? cry.gif cry.gif

ic-klass
post Dec 28 2008, 11:40 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 28 2008, 11:14 PM)
That's why la. Its not even 720p. Only weird people or people who kena conned
go and by PV80  rclxub.gif  whistling.gif
Then, what say you about Pioneer award winners Plasmas. e.g. the 42in Kuro 428xg also is 1024x768. Does pioneer tried to con the critics and various magazines (including the lame as me and you) that it is "HD" ready but not HD. and yet managed to bit the crap out of every contender in the same class or above and currently hold the best PQ in flat HDTV... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif If they purposely tried (to con people), then I'm conned all the way (up to my a****). thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Like i said ealier in my previous post, the most important thing is PQ. All the pixels, connections, sizes, are add up bonuses. Hey, correct me if i'm wrong - you buy tv for watching or for what..?? I dont mind missing the 5% around the edges of the screen in 1080 resolution, or not 1 to 1 mapping. As long as the main characters/scenes/action occurs in the middle - that's the directors intention anyway, delivered through cinema/life-like quality - thats the reason to buy and watch tv. whistling.gif whistling.gif
ic-klass
post Dec 29 2008, 02:04 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Dec 28 2008, 11:57 PM)
You are right. In the near future, pioneer and panasonic will use the same panel (from panasonic). PY800 and PY850 50" confirm coming from Japan factory. With the current price, I believe it is very attractive. I think if panasonic selling the next rev at lower price might not from Japan anymore (cut cost!)

Added on December 28, 2008, 11:59 pm

If you use HTPC, 1:1 pixel mapping is a must and Full HD is useful. The font will be super sharp compare to non-HD model. If you purely talk about movie, then depends on sitting distance. Sit nearly and you can still see the edge is not as sharp as full HD tv (especially curve is not so smooth).
Thank you for your elaborated explaination. It was an educating post.

For me, I'm just looking for the best PQ display to watch movies - day in, day out. At the moment, plasma is my choice. Being contemplating the kuro 428xg or panny 42py800 - cause as u said, my watching distance is merely 4 meter (max).

For other purposes that require a "certain" monitor with "certain" capabilities, i will look for that "certain monitor". I dont really believed in the "ALL-IN-ONE" gadget - something has to be compromised in order to keep all the features, hence, it looses some..

So, help me to decide which to buy - Kuro/Panny

Next, point me to the best price/deal.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

ic-klass
post Dec 30 2008, 12:59 AM

959 posts

Here is my experience so far.

Between 428xg and pv80, tested side by side in Best Denki MV - the kuro showed more detailed black and hence the colour was more vibrant and real, py80 showed more greyish black, softer colour. Both runs thr source from a hard disc (panny demo) with same component cable. but comparing with LCD, pv80 still win hands down.

Between pv80 and py800, running "ghost rider" via blue ray and component. At 3m and above (<6m), py800 showed more detailed images - you can see the grains on the leather jacket N.cage was wearing, colour more vibrant and darker. Whereas, pv80 showed some great PQ, but the edges kinda soft/wash out compare to py800 - i guess its due to the xtra 1080 pixels.

I havent tried 428xg and py800 side by side yet. Eager to test but not free at the moment. But saw kuro playing its demo disc from blu ray - black is "ink black", but you can see the fine details in the blackness - grains/texture on the wall, etc. and whit is like "snow". I can appreciated the 3d like images from the kuro.

I havent see any of the three with s-video astro or normal dvd - the one you bought 3 for rm20!!.

My preference is with kuro, BUT, the price is almost the same as py800 - which is Full Plasma HD, x.v colour, 5k colour gradation. The warranty is the same (both are 5 years). For me still undecided, kuro 428xg or py800. if budget is limited, pv80 also a good choice - PQ much2 better than any Full HD LCD.

Afraid that if i put my money on pv80 - I'll regret not buying Kuro.
Afraid that if i buy Kuro - i'll missed the full hd features.
Afraid that if i buy py800 - i'll missed the PQ of Kuro....
That's my dillema... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
ic-klass
post Dec 30 2008, 04:48 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(cdmpro88 @ Dec 30 2008, 05:18 AM)
Hi IC-klass,
What is the price Best Denki quote you for 428xg and PV800? Just order one 42PV80 and was thinking of getting another one just like your case  rclxub.gif still undecide between kuro or panny full HD? Anyone what is the best price for PV800 and Kuro 428xg? I am getting PV800 one thousand plus more cheaper than Kuro.
the cheapest i was quoted for py800 is from one "imsobloody..." cant really remember the nick. But he has a shop in Kajang. You can checked it at Garage sales..

for 428xg, so far HN quoted the cheapest at 6399 - but that was during boxing day. dunno their price now.

May be can do bulk purchase for 428xg or py800.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 30, 2008, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(yeeck06 @ Dec 30 2008, 04:33 PM)
I just checked mine. Time - 00211.45 and Count - 0000209

When you get your new plasma, check again the month of mfg lor..... smile.gif If not the latest month, reject it...... biggrin.gif
how to check manufac date??

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Dec 30 2008, 04:50 PM
ic-klass
post Dec 30 2008, 06:03 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 30 2008, 05:29 PM)
Wow... if that's the case, many poor shops will have their new unopened set being returned for no apparent reason. Opened box is not easy to make it as new. The unopened box normally has one layer of tape only and all the manual and remote are in plastic bag. Most are sealed. Then, you can always check the condition of the box before accepting it. Just my 2 cents.

I thought PY800 is being replace by PY850?
how much you selling py800/old model?? brows.gif
ic-klass
post Dec 31 2008, 08:03 PM

959 posts

sorry, off topic Q - what is "HTPC" ??
ic-klass
post Dec 31 2008, 08:17 PM

959 posts

is the kind that "a bit beaf-up pc - but without the normal pc monitor", hooked up to a lcd or plasma??
ic-klass
post Jan 1 2009, 05:38 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(fsn jester @ Jan 1 2009, 03:22 PM)
i just got my 42PY800H today - got it for rm59xx.was considering the kuro for rm57xx from bakoxp but decided with the PY800 instead for the minor price difference smile.gif
mind sharing where u get this acttractive price??

ic-klass
post Jan 4 2009, 12:15 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(fhandrew @ Jan 3 2009, 06:41 PM)
well just tested my pv80 with local dvds, and local tv. i am totally satisfied with the PQ!!! no complains. haven't tested with hdmi cable yet, can't wait to see how better it can get.
Good to hear that. PV80 is one of my choices. Mind sharing what is ur set-up (and probably a pic/pics of the PQ)
Really tempted to buy this model - but having second thought after reading "HD should be 1366x768" by one of the forumer here.
May be u can posted a first-hand review (PQ at normal-self-living-room kinda..)

P/s: Head on to AVS forum - a lot of tweaking to improve PQ..PX80 user (PV80 here..)
ic-klass
post Jan 4 2009, 05:02 PM

959 posts

wow..got ir/burn in issue so soon with pv80...
i know both are issue on plasma, but so soon with G11 panel - Should call for warranty.

anyway, i have read that, there are DVD that can repair the burn in/ir issues at the early stage of the panel live. Mostly due to the "immaturre" phosphorus gases in the cells. Read around about plasma panel breaking, especially the first 100 hours - there are DVD iso and Jpeg image that you can download via torrent - or any other method.

Basicly, there are 2 ways of doing it - play/looping the DVD for 100 hour or play the DVD in between viewing. You can read/google it for the details

After that, there is picture tweaking. Also advisable that the 1st 100 hour to limit the brightness and contrast setting - also more details can be found by googling it.

These are the tips i gather from AVS forum - a US base techy forum. Over there pv80 = pz80u, py800 = pz800u, and py850 = pz850u. Do you know that the pz850/py850, and pz800/py800 have this "THX" certified setting for colour/brightness/contrast/etc...Only that they(panny) dont label it as "THX" certified.

So, making things short, more info can be found in the AVS forum - AVS Forum
- plasma break-in period methods
- tackling IR/Burn-in issues
- picture calibration

Also, if you wanna jump straight on - here it is Plasma Tips

here is the official from Panny website - Panasonic Global FAQs

Sorry if i offended anyone. dont mean to sound like sifo or what's not. Just wanna share the info.
may be somebody care to comment. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Jan 4 2009, 05:10 PM
ic-klass
post Jan 5 2009, 05:34 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 4 2009, 06:06 PM)
just a general reply.. my 2 cents..

actually you all are micro analysing all these too much...
sometimes to learn how to swim you need to get into the pool.. how much you read about swimming and horrors about drowning, sucking into the deepend.. will never get you started in the 1st place.

all these burn in la.. etc.. CRT also got burn in issue, never seen anyone complain also? cos it's not a big issue! I have my plasma for over 3years, few months was viewing it at 4:3 mode astro 10-12hours a day... when switched back to 16:9. sure the part with black bars previously was not matching the brightness with the other middle section of the screen...
but after a few days viewing back at full 16"9 stretched mode, the problem went away.. it's reversible.. of coz I can't say if you leave it on for 6-12months is how la.. but 2months I did it..

last time also like that when I bought the panasonic LCD projector, on AVS also got people complain panel misalignment la, dust blob la, smoothscreen microlens not sharp la.. dead color polarizers la.. noisy fan la..
and till now still serving me dutifully..
Finally put my bet on 42PV80. I know..I know, some of you may be asking why i didnt go for 42py800 (or Kuro 428xg - darn expensive la...may be some other time)

The reason being:

- My whole set up are "old timer" spec - still with component, coaxial, and optical. No HDMI yet. Even my trusted projector is connected via component since I have no source that comes with HDMI.

- Since i relay all of my AV stuff through my old and trusted RX-V2400 (also no HDMI), I believed i still can get GOOD PQ and SOUND STAGING from it. Hence, no need to replace this "commamnder" yet..

- HD source (blue ray disc and player) is still consider to be luxury items, cant fully commit to this yet (got other commitment at the moment) cry.gif cry.gif

- Because I still "old timer"-tech (watching Astro and DVD video) and our only mass broadcast is astro (only SD maa!! ). But watching astro and OTA broadcast e.g. TV3 on 42py800, i can truelly say that you need not worry much about PQ ( if you get the viewing distance right). Sorry for those LCD with astro - LCD dont stand a chance at astro..

- Dont really planning to get an update on my setup yet - it has served me well. Most of them from years back (2002 atleast!!) But I still believed it can give the run for its money with current AV product in the market (Those thar come in dvd-av-speaker package)

So that all, in an nut shell. Really like the PY800. But the aboved reasons steered me away from it. Definately will be looking for it the next time I'm looking for a QUALITY display!! (save 1 for me imsobloodysick!!!)

Cant wait to test the display later..( hope no accident happend during/along delivery and no dead pixel!! - fingers cross !!
Will do some break-in and calibration later with AVIA GUIDE TO HOME THEATRE DVD and BREAK-IN DVD by EA..(despite what others might say - i still believed in break-in period/warm-up when it comes to AV)

Next need to order a good quality component - QED QUNEX SR-CV1 Silver Reference Component Video, anyone.. whistling.gif whistling.gif

and one more thing - where to get/Can anyone post the key sequence to check how long the plasma panel being use... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Added on January 5, 2009, 5:54 pm
QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 5 2009, 11:11 AM)
heard plasma's colour are not as vibrant as lcds, but it's faster and u wont get those lagging trails of fast moving objects on the screen. lcd's the opposite, brilliant colours but slow so u get those shadows thingy. but nowadays lcd's improved much, so i dont know.
I beg to differ. IMHO, plasma colour is natural, vibrancy depend on the brand..
LCD colour is saturated - like when you do oil painting where you smacked several layer of same colour on top of another..( if you like everything to be BRIGHTLY colour, then i suggest u go for lcd.

Improvement in LCD is LED, but it comes with price (go for samsung series9 LED, the 42 inch is selling at <rm8k now!!)

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Jan 5 2009, 05:54 PM
ic-klass
post Jan 6 2009, 12:32 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Jan 5 2009, 10:01 PM)
Funny thing is, the display unit that I got had the stickers on the top right edge showing the features of the PV80 and also the "SDHC Here" circular sticker at the bottom of the panel. Then when my brand new unit arrived, it didn't have those stickers at all. Hence, I would've thought the stickers were only meant for the display units only and the brand new units wouldn't have them. What about the rest of the PV80 owners here? Anyone care to share the conditions of the brand new PV80??
mine didnt have any sticker on it (why would you want stickers stuck to the side?? - ) I would rather have the clean piono-black finish ..untouch!! icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0443sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:25 AM