D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...
Sep 9 2008, 09:18 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Except for shots in low light conditions I think...cuz I get flares too with my UV filter on, in low light. it's either remove it or use a better one, like a CPL filter (I might be mistaken
Sep 9 2008, 09:34 PM
3,114 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
yup...a better filter will be thinner thus reducing the chances of flare... if you wan optimum results then of cuz take off yr filter lar but not really necessary in most of the cases...
Sep 9 2008, 09:40 PM
1,940 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Soviet Sarawak |
does the flare happens with all UV filters or just higher chances of catching flares on cheapo filters? I have a HOYA Pro1 Digital UV filter and yet to experience flare with it.
Sep 9 2008, 10:35 PM
753 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: k hell |
QUOTE(edministrator @ Sep 9 2008, 09:40 PM) does the flare happens with all UV filters or just higher chances of catching flares on cheapo filters? I have a HOYA Pro1 Digital UV filter and yet to experience flare with it. UV can affect meh ? i thought about it also but i lazy until until leave both the UV and CPL filter on all the time maybe because i m lazy and got this shot, but i think its still alright i guess ![]() Low shuttle and low ISO is a must lor ![]() This post has been edited by maxh3h3: Sep 9 2008, 10:38 PM |
Sep 10 2008, 05:58 AM
2,477 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(zio @ Sep 9 2008, 05:09 PM) Just to revisit this by mindkiller. I tried the lens out at FRIM, and yes, it does have the problem mentioned. The composition changes as you turn the focus ring. does it really affect the compo much ?? i guess can just fix that by cropping in PP after that.. QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Sep 9 2008, 10:31 AM) our D40 got pre-flashes (flash fires few times) when set to TTL mode ?? and answering my own question,i test my bro Sony A200, when flash is set to TTL mode, the flash fires few tmes.. even red eyes turned off. D40 does have TTL monitor preflash, it is fast and only flashes once.. to try it.. set your flash mode to TLL and REAR, set your shutter speed to 1 second or longer.. and shoot, u notice that it flashes 1 time at the beginning of the exposure (that's the preflash), and flashes again at the end of the exposure(that's the REAR flash).. when u change the flash power to Manual and REAR, it only flashes one time at the end of the exposure.. comparing to my bro's Sony A200, it flashes 2 times before the real flash kicks in.. |
Sep 10 2008, 06:12 AM
taking off UV filters when shooting at nights (with lots of lights) is just a rule of thumb.. not necessary it will create flares.. but if u see it.. just try taking it off..
i remember i didn't remove the UV filter too when i took this pic.. ![]() |
Sep 10 2008, 06:17 AM
QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Sep 9 2008, 10:35 PM) UV can affect meh ? i thought about it also i saw a flare in the first picture, it is from the bright windows i guess..and can be easily PP out..but i lazy until until leave both the UV and CPL filter on all the time maybe because i m lazy and got this shot, but i think its still alright i guess » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Low shuttle and low ISO is a must lor » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « ![]() |
Sep 10 2008, 06:22 AM
3,114 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(edministrator @ Sep 9 2008, 09:40 PM) does the flare happens with all UV filters or just higher chances of catching flares on cheapo filters? I have a HOYA Pro1 Digital UV filter and yet to experience flare with it. higher chance... |
Sep 10 2008, 08:39 AM
4,637 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
now i dont bother using filters for my shooting. i dont care if it is a b+w or a heliopan or a singhray.
i will never use UV filter anymore they are a piece of joke |
Sep 10 2008, 12:31 PM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Sep 10 2008, 05:58 AM) does it really affect the compo much ?? Nope, it doesn't really affect the composition. And you can probably adjust it as you turn the focus ring. I don't find that a problem. I don't know but Mr Rockwell tends to nitpick on things. i guess can just fix that by cropping in PP after that.. and answering my own question, D40 does have TTL monitor preflash, it is fast and only flashes once.. to try it.. set your flash mode to TLL and REAR, set your shutter speed to 1 second or longer.. and shoot, u notice that it flashes 1 time at the beginning of the exposure (that's the preflash), and flashes again at the end of the exposure(that's the REAR flash).. when u change the flash power to Manual and REAR, it only flashes one time at the end of the exposure.. comparing to my bro's Sony A200, it flashes 2 times before the real flash kicks in.. QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 10 2008, 08:39 AM) now i dont bother using filters for my shooting. i dont care if it is a b+w or a heliopan or a singhray. See, ifer's philosophy affected me. I dont use UV filter as well i will never use UV filter anymore they are a piece of joke Anyway... I went to Hanoi for my company trip and well, street shoot opportunity aplenty. I am going to chronicle Day 1, 3 and 4 of my trip with Day 2 being the Halong Bay series up in the Travel section. I will limit myself to 10 photos of each day to bring you the Hanoi flavour, hopefully. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « All shots taken with Nikon D40 and 105mm. This post has been edited by zio: Sep 10 2008, 01:04 PM |
Sep 10 2008, 01:08 PM
540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kuala Lumpur |
TTL, by nature, fire pre-flashes. First flash to judge exposure, then the 2nd flash comes after the camera has got exposure information from the first flash. On all cameras, TTL flash will work that way. Setting your flash to REAR, has got nothing to do with this.
If you set the flash to manual, then obviously it's no longer TTL flash. You are telling the camera to how powerful the flash is going to be, hence no pre-flash to get exposure information. |
Sep 10 2008, 01:19 PM
1,259 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: North Blue |
anyone had tried close up filter before?
Sep 10 2008, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(zio @ Sep 10 2008, 12:31 PM) Nope, it doesn't really affect the composition. And you can probably adjust it as you turn the focus ring. I don't find that a problem. I don't know but Mr Rockwell tends to nitpick on things. nice series of photos.. really makes me understand their lifestyles more.. See, ifer's philosophy affected me. I dont use UV filter as well Anyway... I went to Hanoi for my company trip and well, street shoot opportunity aplenty. I am going to chronicle Day 1, 3 and 4 of my trip with Day 2 being the Halong Bay series up in the Travel section. I will limit myself to 10 photos of each day to bring you the Hanoi flavour, hopefully. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « All shots taken with Nikon D40 and 105mm. QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 10 2008, 01:08 PM) TTL, by nature, fire pre-flashes. First flash to judge exposure, then the 2nd flash comes after the camera has got exposure information from the first flash. On all cameras, TTL flash will work that way. Setting your flash to REAR, has got nothing to do with this. i see, but my bro's Sony A200 has more pre-flashes.. 2 times before the last one get expose if I am not mistaken..If you set the flash to manual, then obviously it's no longer TTL flash. You are telling the camera to how powerful the flash is going to be, hence no pre-flash to get exposure information. I set it to REAR so that i can see the pre-flash in action, it is too fast in normal flash mode for me to see.. |
Sep 10 2008, 02:16 PM
12,505 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Triumph in the Skies Status:In LoV3 Again |
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Sep 10 2008, 01:36 PM) nice series of photos.. really makes me understand their lifestyles more.. Canon dSLR also has that 2 times pre-flashes i see, but my bro's Sony A200 has more pre-flashes.. 2 times before the last one get expose if I am not mistaken.. I set it to REAR so that i can see the pre-flash in action, it is too fast in normal flash mode for me to see.. |
Sep 10 2008, 02:24 PM
Sep 10 2008, 03:07 PM
729 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hello all, a quick question.
I snapped pictures at FINE quality so the average jpeg file will be around 4mb. What programs do you guys use to resize the photo without much loss of the quality of the photo? I tried some programs and suffered a lot of image quality loss. Edit: And I most are using FLICKR as a online storage. Any reason for that? I'm currently using photobucket as it gives more space and has direct image HTML link which is a lot easier for me to post on my blog. thanks in advance. This post has been edited by kenlimfornication: Sep 10 2008, 03:09 PM |
Sep 10 2008, 03:15 PM
I use Flickr mainly because its easy to use, and it has a great community of fantastic photographers
As for resizing the pics, well Flickr does that automatically as well! |
Sep 10 2008, 03:26 PM
729 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(zio @ Sep 10 2008, 03:15 PM) I use Flickr mainly because its easy to use, and it has a great community of fantastic photographers Thanks for quick reply. But as far as I know, Flickr only has 100mb free storage. And 4mb per file takes a little too long to upload.As for resizing the pics, well Flickr does that automatically as well! Anyone uses other methods? |
Sep 10 2008, 03:32 PM
7,214 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kamino |
if u want to upload faster..
then juz save it ot ur own server la. basically unlimited bandwidth...unlimited disk space... all u need is to install a web server... and u can access ur pics from anywhere... |
Sep 10 2008, 03:39 PM
| Change to: | 0.0218sec
5 queries
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:07 AM |