4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...

shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 03:45 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

QUOTE(asfax @ Aug 21 2008, 04:19 PM)
ayo yo ..... sorry shiinkuro31, i just read your msg maybe i go survey next time .. FYI i bought 2 phottix batteries online, here confirm super expensive
last time my dad bought Keep battery rm75 per pieces.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 22 2008, 12:02 PM)
set the sb600 to slave mode...
really?somebody pls clarify.. i thought d40 cannot do CLS. n thats why i bought SC-01 cable cord.. doh.gif cry.gif
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 04:25 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 22 2008, 04:14 PM)
D40 boleh guna CLS. Why cannot? smile.gif
i mean, offshoe. How? whistling.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 22 2008, 04:15 PM)
i thought is all Nikon digital system have CLS?
no la.D40/x not equipped with it if im not mistaken..
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 04:33 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 22 2008, 04:19 PM)
Thats correct. Just that the D40 need external help to control other flashes smile.gif
SB-800 will serve as a good commander.
i mean off shoe.. sleep.gif

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 22 2008, 04:19 PM)
d40 no cls...
u need a commander to do cls...
sc-01 is the off shoe flash cable rite?
well...
even by using that...u still wont be able to do CLS...
wat u can do is off shoe triggering...thats about it...
u shud have gotten the optical slave instead...
then u'll be able to tryout strobist...again no CLS here...
by using optical slave...ur flash will fire if it detects another flash firing...
so the only way for a d40 to have CLS...
is su-800 or sb-800...=)
peace...

also..
u might be interested in wireless off shoe triggering as well..
look into pocket wizards or skyports...
NEVER....EVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRR BUY THE CHINA ONES!
they suck...

peace...
i read from flickr,they use pocket wizards, cactus trigger,etc..i dun know whr to buy n hav no xperience using ebay.. sad.gif

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Aug 22 2008, 04:21 PM)
wow V4 !!!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
ya.. Flash is poisonous !!
hehe.. it is a trick actually, the Sb600 has slave mode, but it cant be trigger by D40 alone,
I need the SU-800 optical trigger or some other optical trigger, or SB-800..

I dun have any of them,

so I put my d40 on tripod, setting a long exposure time, 10seconds,
release the shutter, i go to the flash and press the "test flash" button..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif ,
i tried few shots as i need to extremely careful not to move the flash, and i need to be fast so that my hand wont be captured.. laugh.gif  laugh.gif
doh.gif thumbup.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shiinkuro31: Aug 22 2008, 04:33 PM
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 04:37 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 22 2008, 04:33 PM)
I define Nikon CLS to be a commander unit controlling multiple offshoe flashes.

In that case, D40 or any Nikon DSLR is CLS capable because you just need to get a commander. The D40 can't function as a commander but if you use the SU-800 or the SB-800, then you can commander other slave flashes.
using commander i know, i thought using off-shoe.. sleep.gif laugh.gif
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 04:50 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Aug 22 2008, 04:41 PM)
Sadly, the price for SB600 went up since last month..
Because of Petrol hike ?? mad.gif

All shop in Subang Parade, Sg.Wang, Lowyat, Pudu Plaza is selling around RM750-800 now..
Fotokem staff offer me RM780, or above, their price is different for each branch..

I manage get my unit at Digitals Mania for RM730..

it is a little bit way of my budget.. but I am glad that i got my poison cured..  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
i bought last 2mnth at pyramd for rm699.. brows.gif brows.gif
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 04:56 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 22 2008, 04:51 PM)
skyports are dirt cheap and damn reliable...
they come in a pair...transmitter + receiver...
650 only...=)
300 for extra receivers...wink.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 05:20 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 22 2008, 05:10 PM)
u wouldnt wanna do that...
but juz wanted to show the reliability of the trigger maaa... tongue.gif
do u mind to rent ur 70-200 VR? brows.gif brows.gif
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 05:36 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 22 2008, 05:21 PM)
rent my 70-200?
what do u wanna do wit it?
wedding shooting + milf.. brows.gif brows.gif
shiinkuro31
post Aug 22 2008, 05:45 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 22 2008, 05:42 PM)
lol probably the 40 or the 60. And then hello 105mm and R1C1 tongue.gif
CSI? brows.gif brows.gif
shiinkuro31
post Sep 2 2008, 09:42 AM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Sep 1 2008, 07:07 PM)
I see, thanks. I guess after getting the D60, first toy would be that Di622. Want to get good potrait tho.
if u r not rushing. better save some more for sb600..

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 1 2008, 08:41 PM)
Not really. I used CPL yesterday and it really make the sky look even more blue. Well, kit lens of D40 is very good if you know how to utilize it smile.gif
d40/x kt lens almost produce a good image as 17-55 f2.8. i read in kenrockwell..

btw, how to take reading? i readi sumwhr, n sound sumthng like this "spotted the sky n take reading, n spotted the model n take reading. n i choose the reading btw 2 reading to bla bla bla bla.." i dun really get that.. icon_question.gif

one more, whr to get rubber grip service? my dad's d70 tear n wear.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by shiinkuro31: Sep 2 2008, 09:56 AM
shiinkuro31
post Sep 2 2008, 02:53 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 2 2008, 01:55 PM)
if you think logically.. a lens that is about 12 times the price of the other...will the results be the same? not to bad mouth about the kit lens i mean its really good for the price you pay for but once you see the really good lenses like the 17-55 that you mentioned, the results are different...maybe you wont see it under small resolution but once you go 8R you can already see quite an obvious difference..

my reply, a quote from kenrockwell..
QUOTE(kenrockwell)
In some ways the cheaper 18-70 mm and 18-55 mm lenses do the same or more and cost a lot less. This professional 17-55 just feels more solid and inspires more confidence and is a stop faster. The images aren't any different.

It works great, which it had better do for $1,250. It feels right: it's solid metal with engraved markings. Don't pay extra for it if you're hoping distortion would be gone: the $150 plastic 18-55 mm has similar distortion at the wide end and much less distortion at the long end!

Buy one if you need to look tough and have a lens you can use for self defense. Personally I prefer my lighter 18-55mm kit lens, which gives about the same results optically for digital, even the D2X. Digital isn't very tough on lenses compared to what we did with 35mm film. I'm not particular to needing f/2.8 for low light; I use slower lenses and crank up the ISO.

this lense used to be in my wishlist. I made my opinion from people's review since I dun have chance to try this lense.. smile.gif
shiinkuro31
post Sep 3 2008, 02:07 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(' or 1=1 -- @ Sep 3 2008, 12:34 PM)
holy shit!! nikkor 50mm afs?? weee!!
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 3 2008, 01:20 PM)
Here's the link : http://nikonrumors.com/2008/08/10/new-niko...-september.aspx

EURO 650 (Around 600 - 700 USD)

Unless the new lens is something revolutionary, otherwise just get a motor-in-body camera and buy the older but very much cheaper 50 f1.4. Btw, the Sigma version is RM 1,850.

So the Nikon would prolly cost the same as the Sigma...  shakehead.gif

IMO, a stupid HSM/AF-S isn't worth the extra RM 1k.
whistling.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 3 2008, 01:50 PM)
RM2.4k for a 50mm f1.4 AFS is expensive to me. If they are really selling it at US$700.
same goes to me, better top up another model + AF version..
shiinkuro31
post Sep 5 2008, 12:10 AM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 4 2008, 11:54 PM)
cheh...no wonder people say their lenses more exp lol... and its a good thing they produce all with AF motor..then dunnit to worry about compatibility issues and at the same time can cut cost..
dats why they keep say "canon lenses are expensive" they adapted this tech 1st.. owhhhhh..
shiinkuro31
post Sep 5 2008, 12:47 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Sep 5 2008, 12:34 AM)
not all canon lenses are more expensive than nikon,

for eg.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II only around RM330
while Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.8 cost around RM350-380.

Canon 18-55mm kitlens sells cheaper than Nikon 18-55mm kitlens..

but Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM is more expensive than
Nikon AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8G VR IF-ED

actually it depends..
Canon L lenses are very expensive, fyi..
shiinkuro31
post Sep 9 2008, 12:00 PM

1,259 posts

mizivincible, lower the ISO to 200 n use smaller apeture for long exposure.. icon_rolleyes.gif
shiinkuro31
post Sep 10 2008, 01:19 PM

1,259 posts

anyone had tried close up filter before?
shiinkuro31
post Sep 10 2008, 04:29 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 10 2008, 02:24 PM)
I did, long long time ago. +4 close-up. Why?
Thanks smile.gif
any that i can refer? sumhow snap bride make up, but i think is not worth it to buy macro lens just for that purpose... n how much?
shiinkuro31
post Sep 11 2008, 12:35 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 10 2008, 04:39 PM)
Ermmm I can't remember but it was below RM100 I believe. Unfortunately I don't have any samples. Lol can't figure out which photo used the +4 filter.
owh, thanks..

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 10 2008, 04:40 PM)
juz get a 60mm macro...
so u get macro...
and a 'normal' lense... =)
sigma 70-200 2.8.. brows.gif brows.gif
shiinkuro31
post Sep 12 2008, 11:40 AM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 11 2008, 12:40 PM)
Sorry as your previous post mislead my understanding blush.gif
Trust me. If you ever play Nikkor 70-200, you won't really want to touch other 3rd party 70-200 laugh.gif
money.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 11 2008, 12:44 PM)
thats crap bro...
compared to nikon...srsly...
really? shocking.gif

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Sep 11 2008, 01:20 PM)
It's far from crap. You guys underestimate 3rd party too much. Not all people are bloody rich as you.
i think the same too..

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 11 2008, 10:25 PM)
Pop up your flash, set the flash to remote then once you press the shutter and flash, the flash will also flash blush.gif
shocking.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 11 2008, 10:38 PM)
Only applicable on SB-800 and above.
Nissin flash also can blush.gif
shocking.gif im gonna get sb 800 later.. cool2.gif
shiinkuro31
post Sep 12 2008, 03:40 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 11 2008, 10:48 PM)
Can la. You choose SU-4 pr something than you pop up your flash then it will automatic trigger already blush.gif
it will triggered sb800, rite? if we set sb600 to slave, can it be triggered by sb 800?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:02 PM