126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

SSJBen
post Jan 28 2009, 12:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

There are reports that Firmware 2.6 is actually bricking PS3s at the moment.... which is weird because not one on this board has complaint about it yet.

But if those reports are cited to be true, your PS3 system could be bricked. Do a factory reset first by holding down the power button right up to 10 seconds.
panda-man
post Jan 28 2009, 12:52 PM

2,691 posts

firmware 2.6 includes some of these things...

* Safe Mode
* Blu-Ray Disc Theme Support
* HDD Data can be accessed and deleted in-game
* 3-D Secure Support
* Improved System Stabilty

was wondering what is safe mode?

----

also yeah the reports of the 2.6 bricking ps3s are a bit odd. some people losing ps2 compatibility. some just their bluray doesnt work some everything crashes. strange.
yujin86
post Jan 28 2009, 12:53 PM

1,736 posts

my streamyx line is down and i wan use celcom broadband which i wan to use to connect my ps3 to internet.
i only hav normal wireless router and windows xp desktop.
so can i connect the celcom to the desktop den connect ps3 to the wireless router to share the connection?
panda-man
post Jan 28 2009, 12:54 PM

2,691 posts

apparently after one guy installed the new photo album thing he lost all video from his ps3. really is strange lah. better not install that yet. just in case tongue.gif
vorchiel
post Jan 28 2009, 12:58 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Jan 28 2009, 12:53 PM)
my streamyx line is down and i wan use celcom broadband which i wan to use to connect my ps3 to internet.
i only hav normal wireless router and windows xp desktop.
so can i connect the celcom to the desktop den connect ps3 to the wireless router to share the connection?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306126

in ics mode, your desktop ip will automatically be changed into 192.168.0.1. in the ps3 ip settings, make sure the gateway is set to your desktop's ip (192.168.0.1). and change the wireless router ip into something other than 192.168.0.1 (if it is currently using that ip).

i successfully used similar setup on celcom hsdpa usb modem -> vista desktop -> ethernet cable -> linksys wag200g -> wifi to ps3
panda-man
post Jan 28 2009, 01:03 PM

2,691 posts

celcom cannot play online though i think. right vorchiel?
vorchiel
post Jan 28 2009, 01:05 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

yup.. cannot. send/receive msg/add friend is feasible. downloading demo didnt work for me; big downloads (hundreds of MB) got corrupted and unable to install.
maskedchan
post Jan 28 2009, 01:53 PM

6,022 posts

i using firmware 2.6..
nothing wrong with the system yet smile.gif

insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 01:54 PM

944 posts

yeah i went back home where got celcom broadband cant play online ... dl and surf can ...
SSJBen
post Jan 28 2009, 01:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 28 2009, 12:52 PM)
firmware 2.6 includes some of these things...

* Safe Mode
    * Blu-Ray Disc Theme Support
    * HDD Data can be accessed and deleted in-game
    * 3-D Secure Support
    * Improved System Stabilty

was wondering what is safe mode?

----

also yeah the reports of the 2.6 bricking ps3s are a bit odd. some people losing ps2 compatibility. some just their bluray doesnt work some everything crashes. strange.
Safe mode is exactly what it says, safe mode. Similar to Windows safe mode.

The so called "improved system stability" is arguable, come to think of it I had my MGO crashed once during a match itself. Although it did not ever happen again.
danmooncake
post Jan 28 2009, 02:04 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Jan 28 2009, 10:32 AM)
a) if it is outdated, what is the problem? they bundled the firmware in the disc according to the game's requirements (corresponding to the version of sdk/functionality used), not necessarily the latest. of course, some of the firmware check can be bypassed using rfom & f1:ce disc swap trick. but do it at your own risk/discretion.

b) how can a game company guarantees a game would run on any outdated system (or clueless consumer who dont have intertubes)? sony requires them to ship the firmware with the disc. show me a game prompting an error that the game disc wouldnt run because of an outdated system, AND asks you to download it yourself from the internet.

c) as a person who keeps track of sony firmware md5 hashes since the psp days, your point is moot. all firmware are region-free (psp & ps3).

http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?p=898479
http://www.eurasia.nu/modules.php?op=modlo...orum=87&start=0
d) did you ever have a psp? how many 3rd party publishers bundled a firmware required to run their umd games?
answer = ALL

check any ps3 game disc using any pc with bd drive (or ps3 in linux mode) and you'll see firmware bundled in those games disc.

well, if you can show me some proof to refute my bolded point, i'll gladly admit that my info was wrong. but it is how it was done since psp, so i'd assume its the same on ps3.
(a) I don't think it is a huge problem.. but I do believe there is a liability and risk issue here. If I'm a 3rd party game software company, I won't want to want to mess with bundling Sony firmware on my disc (unless with explicit permission) and forcing its update to the user system. I would just state the min. requirement of this software and prompt the user to go to Sony and update their system first, and come back later to install this software.

(b) Ahem,.. no..my dear.. I think you're the one who needs to show me the
proof because I don't believe Sony REQUIRES them to ship the firmware with the disc.

You said, show me a game prompting an error that the game disc
wouldnt run because of an outdated system, AND asks you to download it yourself from the internet.

Wait a minute, so if the firmware is ON the disc, why does it need to prompt to you download from the Internet?

Ok.. I understand maybe some situation when there are min. requirement for a game to run is say.. firmware 1.5x or higher, a few revision higher than the factory default and some MAY have shipped with the disc provided they have the permission from Sony, but I never heard of them being required (as in mandatory) as bundled on any game disc. Personally, I have never seen any of those games given me any prompt.. I guess my system is always up to date and I don't have any virgin system to try this anymore.

c) & d) As for PSP firmware, I don't have PSP, maybe that's how it is being done on PSP but I believe we can really generalised that' a universal practise by Sony for PS3 even they may have done so for PSP.

So, if the firmwares are region free, is it universally apply to all different models across the globe? I would rather err on the side of caution on this too because even Sony Tech Support themselves discourage its users from downloading its firmware if it is NOT from the correct region on its web site. I think it is just best practice, you never know what those crazy coders would sneak into their software.. bits and pieces there, it could be enough to brick one system.

See this link:
http://www.asia.playstation.com/sg/en/supp...pdateMethod_PS3
This update is for customers who own PS3™ systems sold in SCE Asia area, including Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thai, Singapore, Malaysia. DO NOT update your PS3™ system through this Web site if you own a system purchased in a region other than SCE Asia area, including Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thai, Singapore, Malaysia. There is no guarantee of proper operation with other models of the PS3™ system.

http://www.us.playstation.com/support/systemupdates/ps3
This update is for customers who own PS3™ systems sold in North America. DO NOT update your PS3™ system through this website if you purchased your system outside North America. There is no guarantee of proper operation with other models sold outside North America.

Yeah.. do show me your PS3 game discs with BD rom drive listing that PS3update firmware.. I love to see it too.
That would be news to me. nod.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 28 2009, 02:14 PM
binary
post Jan 28 2009, 02:17 PM

PreBeT_LaPok
1,535 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 28 2009, 02:04 PM)
(a) I don't think it is a huge problem.. but I do believe there is a liability and risk issue here. If I'm a 3rd party game software company, I won't want to want to mess with bundling Sony firmware on my disc (unless with explicit permission) and forcing its update to the user system. I would just state the min. requirement of this software and prompt the user to go to Sony and update their system first, and come back later to install this software.

proof because I don't believe Sony REQUIRES them to ship the firmware with the disc.

wouldnt run because of an outdated system, AND asks you to download it yourself from the internet.

Wait a minute, so if the firmware is ON the disc, why does it need to prompt to you download from the Internet?

Ok.. I understand maybe some situation when there are min. requirement for a game to run is say.. firmware 1.5x or higher, a few revision higher than the factory default and some MAY have shipped with the disc provided they have the permission from Sony, but I never heard of them being required (as in mandatory) as bundled on any game disc. Personally, I have never seen any of those games given me any prompt.. I guess my system is always up to date and I don't have any virgin system to try this anymore.

c) & d) As for PSP firmware, I don't have PSP, maybe that's how it is being done on PSP but  I believe we can really generalised that' a universal practise by Sony for PS3 even they may have done so for PSP. 

So, if the firmwares are region free, is it universally apply to all different models across the globe? I would rather err on the side of caution on this too because even Sony Tech Support themselves discourage its users from downloading its firmware if it is NOT from the correct region on its web site. I think it is just best practice, you never know what those crazy coders would sneak into their software.. bits and pieces there, it could be enough to brick one system.

See this link:
This update is for customers who own PS3™ systems sold in SCE Asia area, including Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thai, Singapore, Malaysia. DO NOT update your PS3™ system through this Web site if you own a system purchased in a region other than SCE Asia area, including Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thai, Singapore, Malaysia. There is no guarantee of proper operation with other models of the PS3™ system.
This update is for customers who own PS3™ systems sold in North America. DO NOT update your PS3™ system through this website if you purchased your system outside North America. There is no guarantee of proper operation with other models sold outside North America.

Yeah.. do show me your PS3 game discs with BD rom drive listing that PS3update firmware.. I love to see it too.
That would be news to me.  nod.gif
When I want to play WE2009 after bought my PS3 last week, it did prompt me to update my firmware and to my surprise that Konami did include the firmware (although it's not the latest) into their BD.
shahreza2000
post Jan 28 2009, 02:23 PM

62 posts

i still remembered Ratchet N Clank: TOD...added support for DS3 ... prompt to update FW...
vorchiel
post Jan 28 2009, 02:24 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

i bolded that part because it never saw such thing happened before.

you are right about the disclaimer. they have always say that do not update from other region to cover their asses. nevertheless, the md5 hashes doesnt lie. and of course i cant prove the agreement/source that the pubs MUST bundle firmware with all discs. but your "I doubt Sony would license their firmware to be distributed by 3rd party other than their own game company: SCE" is already be refuted because apparently from the previous page, WE2009 has it in the disc, and all umd games has it. i wish i still have a stone-age ps3 and insert all my game disc one by one to check for the prompt to update. too bad i have the habit of upgrading on every day-1 of new fw release.

my linux partition on ps3 is already lost when upgrading to new hdd last year. will post a screen whenever i reinstalled back linux on my machine in my next hdd upgrade. quite lazy to repartition and to lose hundreds of GB of media in the process. but i will surely get back to this matter.
SSJBen
post Jan 28 2009, 02:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 28 2009, 02:04 PM)

c) & d) As for PSP firmware, I don't have PSP, maybe that's how it is being done on PSP but  I believe we can really generalised that' a universal practise by Sony for PS3 even they may have done so for PSP. 

See this link:

That would be news to me.  nod.gif
a) Any game within development and before going gold, a policy from Sony development is that all games needs to be working on a firmware from within the game's dev time and before it goes gold. Its a policy Sony holds since they launch the PSP, and continues with the PS3 although with one change: it isn't compulsory to include the firmware. Most if not all(I don't think theres any though) includes the firmware from within its development time until it being gold, or if the developers are even hard working enough will include the latest firmware released then.

b) Explaied in a.

c) Ever since firmware 2.0 for the PS3, every firmware patch since then has been universal. Like it or not, they are. They are even the same files for god's sake, no matter what Sony says really. Download the firmware for 2.6 from all Japan, Europe and US. They're all the same, EXACT same files. Yes still take a caution note as we never know when Sony will change the md5 hash for the firmware.
rhys86
post Jan 28 2009, 03:05 PM

331 posts

to all the bros here...
wanna ask another noobie question

for the sound system for PS3..
can i use the Creative Gigaworks G500W or G550W?
wan other components do i need to have to connect to the PS3..
do i need a Creative external Decoder to do the job??

or can anyone advice me on wat type of speaker to use on PS3?

This post has been edited by rhys86: Jan 28 2009, 03:11 PM
vorchiel
post Jan 28 2009, 03:08 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

firmware update file in lost planet disc

ctrl-f -> ps3updat.pup

taken from: http://www.ps3-hacks.com/forums/post-55851.html#p55851

i'm looking forward to browse all my ps3 discs once i put linux on my box though (or when i get a bdrw drive for my desktop)

heterosapiens
post Jan 28 2009, 03:59 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 28 2009, 09:40 AM)
b) Games companies most of time are clueless on the effect of the firmware on owners' hardware. Only Sony is fully aware of any side effect because that's their software.

d) I doubt Sony would license their firmware to be distributed by 3rd party other than their own game company: SCE.
b) Wow, what a big mouth you have there. Are you sure about what you just said or you are 'just' saying it? For the sake of your integrity, is there any slightest proof/article to support your claim?

d) Your doubt are plain wrong, it has been distributed by 3rd party companies. *Read other posters claim wink.gif
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2009, 02:29 PM)
a) Any game within development and before going gold, a policy from Sony development is that all games needs to be working on a firmware from within the game's dev time and before it goes gold. Its a policy Sony holds since they launch the PSP, and continues with the PS3 although with one change: it isn't compulsory to include the firmware. Most if not all(I don't think theres any though) includes the firmware from within its development time until it being gold, or if the developers are even hard working enough will include the latest firmware released then.
Could you provide me some links regarding the bolded part? Thanks.

This post has been edited by heterosapiens: Jan 28 2009, 04:01 PM
aboogee
post Jan 28 2009, 04:33 PM

1,090 posts

Hullo all smile.gif

First of all, many thanks for the various explanations, and some of you even had the courtesy to PM me your condolences (LOL).

I still havent gotten any word on the status of the machine yet but im gessing its bricked. Perhaps i didnt wait long enough, and restarted it at my own cost. But its a lesson well learnt, although having said that, the blank screen took some time, and didnt look like it was gona come back anyways.

Ill definitely post the problem once i know what it is...but that doesnt look like its gona happen any day soon ... hopefully by saturday.

Good thing though ... got exams coming up in the next week ... with my 'Jessica' (I call my PS3 - Jessica) away at the doctors, ill be able focus a little bit more then biggrin.gif In every bad, theres a good !!
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 28 2009, 04:40 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Wow just logged in. Hope Jessica gets well soon.

Using 2.6, no problem here.

Oh ya, btw my friend was playing TDK on his PS3 and it defaulted to stereo. The same disc on my PS3 had no problem outputting in 5.1. Any ideas?

126 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:40 PM