5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

panda-man
post Sep 26 2008, 11:58 AM

2,691 posts

speaking of hdd, im thinkin of doing an upgrade, i got the sing 40g ps3, what would the best hdd drive be for a replacement, 5400 or 7200? can it support the 320g+ drives? because i read somewhere on the thread some ps3 can read only 250g drives or somethin of the sort. hope someone can help me straighten this out. now i gotta go check the price lists for them drives. heh
panda-man
post Sep 26 2008, 02:04 PM

2,691 posts

thanks for the thorough reply. SSJben

yeah the ps3 can play a bunch of media files, like mp3, mp4, mpeg. but im not sure about the rm files, the ps3 is meant to be a media centre. some people install linux into their systems to play more stuff and even run emulators. i think theres links for that on the first page
panda-man
post Sep 27 2008, 09:19 PM

2,691 posts

hey wanted to buy wipeout hd but after all the whole entropay doesnt work and stuff. the things i know is:

1. entropay doesnt work
2. ambank nextg card works for some and not for others
3. its difficult to find US psn cards.

so does is there any other way i can go about buyin the game?? other than getting a next g card. anyone in kl selling US psn cards?
panda-man
post Sep 29 2008, 09:36 PM

2,691 posts

yeah the sing one seems to work with some maybank cards and not others. so picky.

hey anyone know if i have a sing unit. can i send it to warranty in malaysia. or am i just dreaming? plus i heard blu-ray lens cost 250rm to fix here at sony centre. is that only with warranty or will it just be like that. cheaper than i thought it would be. heh...
panda-man
post Sep 30 2008, 02:31 PM

2,691 posts

you could also use tversity. other forumers seem to be playing mkv files using that method.
panda-man
post Oct 2 2008, 09:33 AM

2,691 posts

has anyone updated to the new firmware yet. ive checked it on the site and its v. 2.43. just wondering if everything is ok. im kinda paranoid after everyones ps3 kaput. after 2.40 is it safe?
panda-man
post Oct 2 2008, 04:28 PM

2,691 posts

some HDMI allow input in this is mainly for your convenience in switching channels and what not. but the audio will still play through the TV. or whatever the HDMI out is plugged into. This is how my HT is at least. and I needed to get an optical cable to connect the ps3 to the HT for the Surround sound to work. im using yamaha v363 ... i think. im sure not all HT is like this but i thought i would give you a heads up to check it out.
panda-man
post Oct 6 2008, 05:59 PM

2,691 posts

you dont need to join a team.

open life with playstation. then like hold down the square button i think. and you have to change channel to folding@home.
panda-man
post Dec 16 2008, 05:56 PM

2,691 posts

hey. on my ps3 when i start it up. the disc drive activates and keeps spinning the disc. even when i am just scrolling around on the xmb and not accessing the disc. the settings is set to "do not autostart" disc funtion. does everyones do this? now days i eject the disc everytime cause i play games like last guy and wipeout.
panda-man
post Dec 17 2008, 04:14 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ Dec 17 2008, 01:44 PM)
hey guys, i know the ps3 is supposed to be region-free for games, but i am bit confused with the note at the bottom of this page:

http://www.play.com/Games/PlayStation3/4-/...on/Product.html

Region PAL: Will play on UK and European Playstation3 only

i think they have made a mistake right?
all ps3 games are region free. their online gameplay might be region locked. in that case just create a new user account.

blu ray, ps1, ps2 and dvd's are region locked and you cannot simply play any of these games or movies on the ps3.
panda-man
post Dec 19 2008, 12:30 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Dec 19 2008, 09:11 AM)
wanna ask if i buy a asian ps3 set..what region games should i buy? and where can i send my ps3 to for the warranty?
games are region free. DLC is not.
blu rays, psone games and dvd's are region locked.
ps3 warranty is wherever it says on the warranty card bro. you bought malaysia model, malaysia warranty and likewise.
panda-man
post Dec 20 2008, 03:32 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Dec 19 2008, 06:47 PM)
so if i buy an asian ps3 set..i can send to malaysia sony for warranty?

if must send singapore then gg lo...
it depends where you bought your ps3. malaysia set or singapore set. hk set or what not. i said check warranty card above. doh.gif hahah. but i guess no warranty card. you can check the serial number. dont know too much about this. but the guy at the shop you buying from should tell you.

QUOTE(BreauxBloody @ Dec 20 2008, 03:05 AM)
hi all sifus,

i need help, i just got my ps3 and i wish to hook my ps3 on my LCD monitor.

1. do u guys know where to buy cheap DVI-HDMI cable, because i see lowyat.net ppl only sell the adaptor. don't they have cable together with the adaptor?

2. I wish to buy the Y splitter to hook up my 2.1 pc speaker.what is the splitter full named called?.do u guys know where can i get it?i lived at serdang. any nearby place can buy these kind of stuff

thanks in adv
check out play-asia bro. or just go ronda jalan jalan at digital mall or lowyat.
panda-man
post Dec 20 2008, 12:48 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 20 2008, 12:38 PM)
Hello PS3 veterans, I am brand new to the PS3 gaming scene.

I have updated everything... and signed up for PSN. However, where do I download all those game demos ? I mean, everything I do something, it says "Not available in your area / region etc. etc."

I signed up with my home address... Malaysia that is. Why can't I do so ? My Internet Browser works perfectly.

I really want to get cracking on the latest game demos... etc. etc.

PS : Is it me or is Streamyx connection to the PS3 really bad... like it showed error updating my firmware and had to restart again and again. I tried it at night (about 2.30am) and it was a lot quicker and completed the update.
you need to log on to the PSN store. if you signed up under malaysia, then i dont think PSN is online yet. or is it? havent tried in a while.

you need to make a new account for singapore or hk or japan or us or something in order to access their PSN. front page should have all this stuff.
panda-man
post Dec 21 2008, 07:13 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 21 2008, 03:40 PM)
Currently, the Star reported that streamyx might be slow until end of this year. Some cable problem I believe.
really....i think you must be reading an old article. i think streamyx have had "cable" problems for years now. they trying to figure out how to join them together.

Added on December 21, 2008, 7:14 pm
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 21 2008, 06:03 PM)
guys, how do i play movie, mp3 from my external hdd using ps3? .. biggrin.gif ..
you need to convert your HDD to a format that the ps3 can read. i think its fat32. check on the front page.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Dec 21 2008, 07:14 PM
panda-man
post Dec 22 2008, 12:21 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 21 2008, 11:55 PM)
yeah.
ori and pirated.
choose your poison tongue.gif

or just get a decent upscaling dvd player smile.gif

the ps3 can play vob files(dvd files) too.

so if you have mkv files that you wish to play on the ps3,just use mkv2vob and convert it to vob.

i just tried it earlier today,plays smooth biggrin.gif
i dont recommend playing pirated dvd's on your ps3 lah bro. i dont think its healthy. heh.

so far a good upscaling dvd player is that sony one. last month i looked around 350-400.
panda-man
post Dec 22 2008, 02:39 AM

2,691 posts

ps3 is definate poison. high def is poison. LYN is poison hahahaha. oh bitter sweet poison. make sure you all take your vitamins or for sure will end up bankrupt. whispering ....'my precious' hahahah.
panda-man
post Dec 22 2008, 01:43 PM

2,691 posts

no warranty. unless someone wanna send the set to japan.
panda-man
post Dec 22 2008, 03:15 PM

2,691 posts

hahahaha. vcd play back ka? can i hook up the VCR for some tape recorder playback through my ps3? got upscaling meh? hahahahah. doh.gif would be damn hilarious.... but not impossible. ahhahaha.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Dec 22 2008, 03:16 PM
panda-man
post Dec 22 2008, 08:01 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Louisyo @ Dec 22 2008, 04:54 PM)
hey i got problem with my 80gb ps3 slot cover (the front cover beside the place that u insert cd) , i dont know how to open it. anyone know?
i wish it had that function. hahahah. i hope you didnt jam a screwdriver into it. did you? wonder why they took this function out. cant be that expensive to keep is it?
panda-man
post Dec 23 2008, 11:35 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(rythdrellion @ Dec 22 2008, 09:32 PM)
how do i go online? i have a netgear wireless Adsl modem router.. which works for laptops and computer.
well if it is all set up properly. i mean the router. then just go into ps3 settings and search for ap. should be under network.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:51 PM