126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

SSJBen
post Jan 28 2009, 06:28 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Jan 28 2009, 03:59 PM)

Could you provide me some links regarding the bolded part? Thanks.
No links really.

There are guidelines for each and every developer creating games on the PS3, one of those states that theres no need to include a firmware onto the game. Yes, sounds real stupid I know. That means it'll force people to download a new firmware if they did not know, or the absolute clueless people will think that the game is spoilt since it won't start.

IINM, David jaffe was complaining about that in one of the many podcasts he did for numerous websites. I don't remember which though. hmm.gif
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 07:19 PM

944 posts

omg my hard disk cradle damn hard to unscrew
shaznizzle
post Jan 28 2009, 07:20 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

Hello..... Yes they do provide Firmware Update software in certain games that requires the updates.

I juz bought the PS3 a month ago I believe it was 2.1... than inserted MK vs DC and it asked me to update to 2.5 and tada its updated using the Mk vs DC disc coz there wasnt any downloading.

I dont see any problem, IF the game is old and it has an old firmware it will be ignored... the ps3 wont ask you to go downgrade your firmware lol.

Than SONY released the 2.6 firmware which I downlaod using my PC and update the PS3 via USB. Now my PS3 is using 2.6 and I've installed the NEW Gallery app.

So far its working great, no bricking, no media lost, connection works fine online and what you expect from the PS3.

The only problem you need to be careful is choosing the CORRECT region firmware when you install it into your region coded PS3.
nwk
post Jan 28 2009, 07:26 PM

256 posts

err...firmware downloaded from any region will work with any PS3.
heterosapiens
post Jan 28 2009, 07:28 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2009, 06:28 PM)
No links really.

There are guidelines for each and every developer creating games on the PS3, one of those states that theres no need to include a firmware onto the game. Yes, sounds real stupid I know. That means it'll force people to download a new firmware if they did not know, or the absolute clueless people will think that the game is spoilt since it won't start.

IINM, David jaffe was complaining about that in one of the many podcasts he did for numerous websites. I don't remember which though. hmm.gif
Herm, interesting, as you put it, if that is true, it is counterintuitive. Come to think of it, how does firmware update works with downloadable games from PSN?

With regards to disc update : http://www.us.playstation.com/Support/Syst...isc_Update.html

*On David Jaffe, I'll be waiting for his new titles for PS3.
nwk
post Jan 28 2009, 07:29 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2009, 12:17 PM)
There are reports that Firmware 2.6 is actually bricking PS3s at the moment.... which is weird because not one on this board has complaint about it yet.

But if those reports are cited to be true, your PS3 system could be bricked. Do a factory reset first by holding down the power button right up to 10 seconds.
i have no problems. perhaps the ones that are bricking are the infamous 60GB PS3. they always like to brick from YOD to god knows what else.
rhys86
post Jan 28 2009, 07:36 PM

331 posts

to all the bros here...
wanna ask another noobie question

for the sound system for PS3..
can i use the Creative Gigaworks G500W or G550W?
wan other components do i need to have to connect to the PS3..
do i need a Creative external Decoder to do the job??

or can anyone advice me on wat type of speaker to use on PS3?
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 07:59 PM

944 posts

need help ... i just change the ps3 hdd ... then come out 1 page ask me to connect a controller via usb and press PS button ... i did so and it ask me to insert a storage media that has the update data ... i did so but it couldnt search ... pls help me
vorchiel
post Jan 28 2009, 08:08 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Jan 28 2009, 07:59 PM)
need help ... i just change the ps3 hdd ... then come out 1 page ask me to connect a controller via usb and press PS button ... i did so and it ask me to insert a storage media that has the update data ... i did so but it couldnt search ... pls help me
fat32 partition (a fat16 is fine too)

x:\PS3\UPDATE\PS3UPDAT.PUP

all caps

Added on January 28, 2009, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Jan 28 2009, 07:28 PM)
Herm, interesting, as you put it, if that is true, it is counterintuitive. Come to think of it, how does firmware update works with downloadable games from PSN?
i did a search earlier today. some ppl uncompiled the lair & warhawk .pkg contents from PSN (not sure demo or full game). both of them contain their required firmware. i'll find the source in a moment.

edit: here: http://www.ps3hax.net/showthread.php?t=1516&page=2

This post has been edited by vorchiel: Jan 28 2009, 08:14 PM
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 08:19 PM

944 posts

how to format to fat32? i mean how to connect to pc?
vorchiel
post Jan 28 2009, 08:25 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Jan 28 2009, 08:19 PM)
how to format to fat32? i mean how to connect to pc?
the folder structure & the fat32 info i gave you is for the usb storage
lopak
post Jan 28 2009, 08:31 PM

117 posts

about psn DL games means u already have the latest ps firmware.coz u need latest firmware to be able to connect to psn network if those firmware already been release.

disc based games mostly has firmware inside coz of not many ppl has internet n some games need certain updated version fw to run it.
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 08:44 PM

944 posts

yay i did it ... the partition the ps3 can do it lah ... but aiyah i lost all my videos and demos ...
panda-man
post Jan 28 2009, 08:50 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Jan 28 2009, 08:44 PM)
yay i did it ... the partition the ps3 can do it lah ... but aiyah i lost all my videos and demos ...
partition... are you putting linux on your ps3?

if linux is on your ps3. the linux partition is susceptible to viruses correct? even though linux hardly has any.
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 08:58 PM

944 posts

no im not gonna install linux tongue.gif ... btw whats my hard disk size if it shows 163/186gb ?
panda-man
post Jan 28 2009, 09:00 PM

2,691 posts

seems like a 200gig drive
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 09:01 PM

944 posts

wow didnt know go such size ... i know got 160gb 250gb only the closest
panda-man
post Jan 28 2009, 09:04 PM

2,691 posts

how did you upgrade your HDD and not know the size? you just pick the drive up from the road or something? hahahahah
insane.gamer
post Jan 28 2009, 09:08 PM

944 posts

no la i took it from my brothers faulty lappy ... but the sony box said 160gb
colt_508
post Jan 28 2009, 09:13 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

Ok.. before doing back-up to external drive..
do i need to create folder at external drive..

or juz do back-up.. straight away?

126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:40 PM